Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

'Shake Down' Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views

'Shake Down' Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views


Property Details

Updated: May 19, 2015
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Book now for discount before peak rental season begins!

Rare near-Gulf-front property on the number one beach in the United States (as determined by 'Dr. Beach') with breathtaking views of both the Gulf and the bay. The home sits about 50 yards from the beach, with a short walk (about 50 yards) between two other homes to the surf on a wooden boardwalk. One of the closer homes just got relocated (moving elsewhere to higher ground) so the view just got even better!

'Shake Down' gets its name from the charming shake siding on the home. The home has been newly painted and renovated and boasts a light, airy decor with lots of windows. The views are unbelievable, the house totally comfortable. Book early before all the availability is gone. You will want to be just steps from the crystal waters off the pristine St. Joe Peninsula, home of St. Joe State Park and the best nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, kayaking, snorkling, biking, motor boating and other activities in the 'Forgotten Coast,' which is also close to the nearby historic Apalachicola (fine dining, antiques, boutiques and market shopping) and Panama City and Mexico City (for those with a wilder side). Great golf is minutes away in Port St. Joe.

The features and amenities of Shake Down include:

* Ground Level: Large driveway, underneath parking, and outside shower. Boardwalk to the beach.

* First Level: Newly renovated, full kitchen (open to living and dining areas), master bedroom and bath with a TV (with integrated dvd/vcr) and Jacuzzi tub. Tiled flooring throughout the cathedral ceiling living area. Living area has two sofas, many comfortable chairs and tables, and French doors leading out onto an open deck with a great view of the ocean. Living area has a LCD flat screen TV with dvd and vcr players and stereo. Screened porch and charcoal grill.

* Second Level: Bedroom with two sets of bunk beds (will sleep four). Bedroom with a queen-size bed and TV. Full bath. Open sun deck with gorgeous views of both the Gulf and bay.

* Home is professionally managed by the area's largest and most respected management company (complete with maintenance staff and housekeeping). FREE WIRELESS INTERNET AND LONG DISTANCE CALLS! Beautiful screen porch.

Leave the city stress behind and enjoy the serenity of Shake Down on the Cape!

Keywords: Oceanfront House

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

I still remember my childhood days frolicking in the surf with my dogs. This is the best beach where I can do that freely.

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015

3 Reviews

based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'Shake Down' Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views
-(302) 622-7160
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Dallas, Rexas

Great layout and access to beach

  • 5 of 5
My family stayed here the week of 6/29/13. We were pleasantly surprised that the house is actually much closer to beach than anticipated with great views from the two decks. It has a great layout and we were very comfortable. Having a store just across the street camr in very handy. We would definitely like to return.
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
'Shake Down' Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views
-(302) 622-7160
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Atlanta, GA

Awesome views, great location, but Frat House conditions

  • 2 of 5
Perfect location & beach access, but re: the house, I'm not sure where to start. The furniture, carpets & floors didn't appear clean when we walked in. The furniture & carpets required a cleaning company to come steam clean during our stay. Silverware was old, falling apart & gross. It needed to be replaced and was. Kitchen was not cleaned well before our stay. There were stains, food particles, and dried food on the counters & the grout on the tile counter was nasty & awful. There were broken knives in the droor, plus the coffee maker was broken too. I picked up a nasty case of athletes foot on 8 of my toes, which was surprising as I forgot to put on shoes once during a short trip from the bedroom to the kitchen. 15 paces without something covering my feet - I couldn't believe it. My feet bothered me the entire week. None of the linens were very comfortable & felt clean. The lack of comfortable deck furniture was diappointing too - just a bunch of random plastic chairs. There was food left in the cabinent from a previous renter above the microwave.

The property needs to be sanitized. It's an older home, which we didn't mind, but the fact the home wasn't cleaned thouroghly really added to our apprehension staying there. Walking up to the door and seeing the blinds were broken & cut up gave me that 'oh no' feeling.

We had friends that rented places that were newer & better kept for the same amount of $. Overall we were disappointed with the property, but loved the location.
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: This is a darn shame. We always receive very favorable reviews, but this review apparently resulted from our decision to deviate from policy and rent to underage minors (who apparently left the place in disarray), and then having a local cleaning company (we live in Delaware) fail to properly do their job (for which they are paid handsomely each week). As a result, we fired our cleaning company and immediately took curative measures: new blinds (and actually entirely new French doors to the patio and outside with new blinds on them), new coffee maker, new silverware (and other utensils), etc. I would appreciate all renters to email me immediately with comments and a full report so that in the future, any problems are immediately addressed and do not linger. We sincerely apologize for this. We really want this place to be the "Wow" rental it has been. I have a management company monitor the property and their website has many reviews of this place--all extremely positive. I can send you that list of reviews. .... It is now a year later and so I am updating this. We have had numerous satisfied renters. We replaced all the furniture and silverware, etc. Please check our listing on other sites (e.g., Pristine Properties) for a list of favorable reviews.
'Shake Down' Spacious Newly Renovated Gulf Front Great Views
-(302) 622-7160
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Memphis, TN

July 2010 Stay at Shakedown

  • 4 of 5
We stayed here for a week in July 2010. As the other review said, the location was ideal -- steps to the beach and yet, the BP was also very near for a gallon of milk, beer, whatever. The views of the beach were great also, as was the outdoor shower and the deck that faced the beach. The home was full of light, and had an open feeling to it, and the kitchen was large and bright. My disappoint though was the following - wanted a screened porch, because the bugs are bad at night; there was a screened porch, but it had a large tear in one of the screens and the deck / porch furniture was dollar store quality and minimal. There was no TV in the master bedroom as advertised, and I called the rental company, left a message, but no response. The TV in the bunk bedroom also did not work. The living room furniture has seen better days.

Overall for the price, this is a decent rental, but with a few improvements, it could easily go from an okay rental to a WOW rental.
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children


From the Owner

I chose this house to buy because it is directly across from the Bp station and convenience store. There are obviously many beach properties, but few that offer the freedom to walk to purchase some ice cream, sundries, reading materials or even beer, rather than getting into the car. This facilitates the easygoing spirit I enjoy so much on the Cape.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Tallahassee at 30 Miles Nearest Beach : at 30 Metres

dolphin watching and much more!


From $243 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
off season
Sep 9 2014 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
prime season (summer)
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 19, 2015


From the Owner

It is such a short walk to the beach (or the store)! The screen porch provides the perfect respite from any nightime creatures!

Property Type

  • house


  • Away From It All
  • Family


  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront


  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • reefs
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Convertible bed(s)
  • Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (4)


  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck


  • 3 tvs, DVD and VCR, All Cooking Utensils provided. Almost beachfront--just 50 yards on dedicated boardwalk (no streets to cross).

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.