Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"

Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"


Property Details

Updated: Jun 25, 2010
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Aloha and E komo mai. Welcome to Hale Sweet Hale, our “Home Sweet Home.” Once a private, multi-generation family residence, this charming dwelling built in 1939 is lovingly cared for by the original kama’aina, (local) family and is now offered for your enjoyment.

Entering upon a lava rock driveway, this home strikes a nostalgic note with its sprawling lawn and double gable roof. Original family pavers lead you inside to experience this historic one of a kind, charming Hawaiian beach house.

This home has three bedrooms and one bath. The rooms are light and airy with 10-foot high ceilings and original crown moldings throughout. The décor and ambiance merges informality with elegance reminiscent of past generations of local gentry who truly lived the "good life". The embracing feeling of the home can be felt in the vintage style bark cloth cushions and chairs that truly invite you to relax and read a book.

In the uniquely appointed bedrooms, lovely colors and simple accents encourage tranquility and family togetherness.

Our Home is merely steps away from one of the most stunningly beautiful beaches in Hawaii’i, just waiting for you to frolic in.

Truly a charming experience, please make yourself at home and enjoy Hale Sweet Hale as generations before have done.

Keywords: Home

More Details
  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

The location was great. It was less than a 5 mins walk to the most beautiful beach in Oahu (in my opinion)! It was a fantastic location for a low-key vacation and away from all the hustle of Honolulu/Waikiki area. My dad fished at the shore, my nephew swam at the beach, and my husband and I layed out everyday. It was about a 30 mins drive to Waikiki and the touristy area. The house itself was quaint. It was hard at times with 6 people and 1 bathroom. The kitchen was somewhat spacious with 2 dining room tables. There are 2 small TV's in the house - but, when you're in Hawaii, do you really want to spend time watching TV? :)

There's a hike in Lanikai, the Pill Box, great hike with great views. We ate at Zippy's a couple times.. it's convenient, yummy, and cheap.
May 2010
  • 1 of 1


Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu

England to Oahu

  • 5 of 5
I choose this property to rent because it was older and had character. I read the reviews and did wonder about the one bathroom but loved the location. Four of us travelled over 7,000 miles and arrived at this house at almost midnight. Lights were subtle and quiet music welcomed us along with a gift of goodies. Nothing could have prepared us for the way the warmth of this home wrapped itself around us and made us welcome.

The family and their friends were truly lovely and included us so we gained the experience of Hawaiian life that we could not have had in a hotel. If we had a problem or needed information nothing was too much trouble and all done in a non intrusive way. Just ask.

The one bathroom proved no problem for four adults, we just communicated.

We could cook, wash, eat, relax, paint, read, walk or just pop over to the ocean or go off sighseeing in our own time and at our own pace and return home to the welcome of this quirky wonderful home.

The beds were so comfortable, the house was clean.

We had an amazing holiday enhanced by this home and this family.

I hope to return one day.
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu

Home Sweet Home

  • 5 of 5
Fabulous island style home. Lovingly decorated which gave us the feeling of being in Hawaii. Friendly experience from beginning to the end of our stay. It has a very large front yard and best of all it's across from Lanikai Beach. Would like to come back again as our children loved the home and location.
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu
Gresham, Oregon

Truly An Aloha Experience!!

  • 5 of 5
Staying at the Hale Sweet Hale was an amazing experience for me and my family. This home was just perfect from the time that we arrived at the door. We were greeted by warm and loving locals who made us feel like neighbors rather than visitors. It was very refreshing to not be greeted by someone in a uniform. Lori took the time to acclimate us with the house and answer questions about Kailua town. The home had everything we needed including beach toys for the kids and a fully furnished kitchen. I mean who thinks to have spices readily available in the cabinets? Just all the little touches made a big difference in us feeling at home. This was truly a "home sweet home" and met all my expectations. I will be referring this home to my friends and family and of course I will be back someday soon.
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu
Sammamish, WA

Home Sweet Home

  • 5 of 5
Great location. One block to the most beautiful beach on Oahu. Clean house. Stocked with everything you need. Perfect for families. In a more secluded area, yet only a short drive to restaurants, activities and honolulu. Would definately return again!
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu

We'll be back!!!

We'll be back!!!
  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this home, it was just that a "home". We have been to Hawaii before and were looking for a more personal feel to our vacation experience this time. To feel what it's like to actually live there. This is the least that we have ever driven on our vacations there and we could not have been happier. To wake up and walk to the beach was a real treat and oh the beauty of this place! Lanikai is just a dream. This was our most RELAXING vacation yet. I doubt that I will ever rent a hotel again, this is the only way to go! To play all day then relax at night in the peaceful simplicity of this home...priceless!! We'll be back for sure!!
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Stop! Take a Look at "Home Sweet Home"
+1 -800-749-4205 Ext 1
Lanikai Oahu


  • 1 of 5
To be succinct, this place had bedbugs. Two individuals who stayed here got bitten and the mattress was infested, The blue wicker living room set was where we found one bedbug. The bedroom mattress had droppings underneath it. None of the windows locked so the property is not secure either. The dryer does not work. There was no vacuum even though the place was dirty. The bathroom is quite old. Do not recommend this for anyone with kids or anyone who wants a vacation. The damage control ruined my vacation and the owner inadequately compensated us for our time lost, replacement items, extermination and the damages.
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beware of this individual as this may have been a well planned scam on their part to stay in a home and then ask for a full refund the day before checkout. What started as an issue with bug bites has grown to a string of complaints that were made or made up when the guest realized that they would not receive a full refund. They called me a week before check-in and wanted to cancel because they said they wanted a bigger home which was not available. They arrived and commented how they loved the home, large yard and proximity to the beach. They day before check out only one of them claimed to have gotten bites on their body. We inspected the home with them and found no infestation but then they suddenly picked up an old dried bug from the rattan couch. The home was inspected professionally and have a written report of the inspection with no evidence of bed bugs or infestation of any sort found. Very odd how they could have stayed in the home for over a week and on the last day they made claims of bites. The home has a washer/dryer combo (all-in-one) which is only 2 years old. Upon arrival we did show them how to use it, and that it is operated by 110v so it will take longer than normal for a complete wash and dry cycle. As always we try our best to please all guests, and did much to address the claims that this guest really could not substantiate. We fully expected them to post a negative review. We were more than happy to submit a response instead of having it removed. This home is well received as evident in past reviews. Visitors find it to be very relaxing and enjoyable glimpse of nostalgic hawaiian living.


Activity and Interests

Car: recommended

Kailua Beach is in walkable distance and has 3 miles of white sandy beach. Mid Pacific Country Club a fantastic private country club & favorite among local & PGA Pros is just a few minutes away and we can assist with tee times and preferred rates.

Farmers market is every Thursday night from 2-7 pm.


Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Jun 25, 2010
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Rental rates


  • From $320-$480nt
  • US Dollars
  • Peak Season Dec 14 to Mar 1 & June 1 to Aug 31 & Nov 16-30 Please Inquire
  • From $320nt Please Inquire as rates vary depeneding on time of year
  • Taxes: 13.96%
  • Security Deposit $300 & $45 for a $3000 Accidential Damage Protection
  • Cleaning Fee: $275, Processing Fee: 4%
  • Reservation Payment: 30% of Total Reservation.
  • Full Payment: 60 Days Prior To Arrival.
  • Only One Booking Allowed Per 30 Days Due To Zoning Laws.


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic


  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster


  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Location Type

  • Mountain View


  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1
  • 1


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)


  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.