Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: May 14, 2015
2 Bedrooms - 2 Baths - (Sleeps up to 4 guests)

Experience the Spirit of Aloha in our home on the Big Island of Hawai'i!

Our island home, situated on the slopes of Mauna Loa in South Kona, offers over 180-degree views of the Pacific coastline and spectacular sunsets. Described by one of our guests as a 'jewel in the hillside,' our island home offers the beauty, peace and serenity that is Hawai'i.

Adorned with art and unique furnishings from local and international artists, we have thought of everything that you could possibly need to make your island stay comfortable and enjoyable. From linens and towels, to a well-equipped kitchen, to guidebooks in the library, Hale Mele Kohola has it all!

In the daytime, you can go to the beach a couple of streets below and play in the tidal pools. Or hike along the coast and investigate a cinder cone. Discover secret coves! During season, watch whales and dolphins swim by. Or maybe you will go sightseeing or snorkeling and swim with the turtles and multi-colored fish. Perhaps you will just stay at home and read. Or enjoy a freshly brewed cup of Kona coffee as you relax in one of our Indonesian sling-back chairs on the lanai.

In the evenings, you can watch the sun dip toward the sea, painting the skies in brilliant hues of reds, oranges, pinks, purples, and blues. Soothing breezes fan the trees, sending up scents of plumeria. Soon the evening stars appear and the surf is heard above the hush that follows the setting of the sun. Night falls and the coastline becomes dotted with lights.

For dinner, you might decide to go to one of the restaurants in a nearby town or venture down to Kailua for more choices and a little nightlife; although it would be lovely to stay and eat in. The kitchen can accommodate even the most enthusiastic chef! Enjoy the dining set made from three hundred year-old roots from a jungle in Thailand. Afterward, sink into one of the sofas and feel the inviting softness of the hand-knotted rug from Tibet under your bare feet. Select a movie to watch from the DVD collection in the teak armoire. Or listen to music played on a high quality stereo.

Finally, as night settles over the island, slip into the cool, comfortable bed and let the sound of the surf and the night wind be your lullaby.

Your island home is waiting for you! Come to stay at Hale Mele Kohola!

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

While we were in college we would take day trips either to Shenandoah in Virginia or to Sugarloaf Mountains in Maryland. At other times we would go to Ocean City. We would talk about how wonderful it would be to live in a place where both features existed side by side. When we came to Hawaii we saw that this dream could come true. Our children agreed as they also love the mountains and the sea. Buying an island home to where we could come for rejuvenation has been one of the best decisions of our life.

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 14, 2015

28 Reviews

5
based on 28 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Beautiful, peaceful Hawaiian retreat

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay at Hale Mele Kohola -- it just wasn't long enough! This is a lovely home perched in a hillside community about 45 minutes south of Kona. We had spent the first few days of our vacation staying in Kona, and were very happy to escape the crowds and big resorts at this lovely, quiet spot where you really feel like your'e in Hawaii. We knew we were someplace special when we walked in the door and spotted a large bowl of tasty local fruit, a beautiful Hawaiian floral arrangement and lovely artwork on all the walls. The well stocked kitchen was much appreciated , allowing us to cook the amazing variety of local seafood and produce and enjoy our meals on the spectacular lanai. We were fortunate to visit during a peak whale activity period, and saw whales every time we looked out over the sea! Everything about the home is comfortable and it has clearly decorated with much care and love by the owners. It is very clean and well maintained. There were only two people in our party, but this house is set up perfectly for two couples, or a small family.
We found this location to be a very good starting point for exploring the Kona Coast area and the south and east side of the island, and Mauna Loa volcano. Some of the best of the best snorkeling on the island is to be found in some of the bays just north of the house. We enjoyed beach days and snorkeling at Ho'okena, Napo'opo'o and Keauhou Bay. On our visit to the volcano, a hike through the crater was fascinating and one of the highlights of the trip. Another highlight was snorkeling with spinner dolphins. We went on a guided trip with Dolphin Discoveries (a small and friendly company) and swam with large groups of dolphins circling around us.
Lastly, our host Nanette is just lovely. We communicated several times before the visit and she was always quick to respond and extremely helpful, providing all the information we needed, along with many tips on how to best enjoy our vacation.
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Perth, Western Australia
5

A beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
We loved staying at Hale Mele Kohola. It was our first time (me, my wife, our 17yo daughter and her friend) to Hawaii, and the view that greeted us when we drove down to this location was absolutely breathtaking. The place was very large and more than suitable for us (although perhaps two single beds in the second bedroom may have been better), with everything we needed. The view from the Lanai was spectacular, and this was where we ate and socialised a lot of the time. Breakfast was particularly memorable, though it seems we were one of the unfortunate few who didn't see any whales from there in our 5 days! The place is well stocked with books, maps and suggestions as to where to visit. The only negative (which admittedly for some wouldn't be) was its distance from Kona and any good eating options. Given we had never been to Hawaii we were forever driving here and there and so its distance was a bit of an issue, but I can see where this wouldn't be an issue for some. Nanette was particularly friendly and helpful. Oh, and the driveway is rather steep for a large SUV, but we did manage it, you just have to take it slowly!!!
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When our guests enjoy their stay, we view it as very high compliment, indeed. Thank you for choosing Hale Mele Kohola for your holiday. We'll be sure to include more restaurants that are not too far from the house (there were five in the list that we sent) so one would not have to travel as far as Kailua. Perhaps when you return there may be whales!
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
johnstown ,pa
5

artistically decorated and comfortable cottage

  • 5 of 5
This lovely cottage was comfort and beauty. our party of four arrived late at night and felt a little timid traveling down the hill and finding the home, beware little lighting along the road. But the home upon arrival was great. so prettily decorated with the artistry and furniture, this home is a home away from home. Although we didn't hear the whale song nor see any dolphins, we enjoyed a daily breakfast on the lanai overlooking that spectacular ocean view. This home is well equipped with bathroom toiletries and kitchen condiments. The furniture was oh so comfy. We were 4 55 years and older travelers who enjoyed the black sand beach down the road from us, it was almost a private beach. We were near enough to Kona to find the beer brewery company there and enjoyed the tour and pizza. This home is a welcome beacon to travelers, down to the fresh fruit, coffee and lovely flower arrangement on the lanai.
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nothing pleases us more than to have our guests enjoying their stay at Hale Mele Kohola, their home away from home. Mahalo nui loa for choosing our island home for your holiday. We look forward to your return. Perhaps, you might even hear the whales singing and see them from the lanai!
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Our second stay at Hale Mele Kohola

  • 5 of 5
Returning with our grown children a year after our first stay was a delight. I "echo" the previous reviewers superlatives. The view from the deck is wonderful and the home interior is tastefully done and comfortable. Take a walk on the "Kings Highway" trail south of the beach if you want exercise, grand views and solitude (wear tennis shoes!).
We were lucky to see a dozen spinner dolphins when we snorkeled in the bay next to Place of Refuge. This bay also has amazing coral heads and plentiful fish. There is a wonderful, non profit, botanical garden between Place of Refuge and Kealakekua Bay called Paleaku Gardens Peace Sanctuary that is worth visiting.
Thank you for the coffee, fruit and a wonderful stay!
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always our pleasure when guests enjoy their stay at Hale Mele Kohola, our island home, and we take it as a great compliment when guests choose to return. Mahalo nui loa for coming back and we look forward to your return.
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Wausau, WI
5

Wow! Aloha Kona Paradise!!

  • 5 of 5
A week was not long enough!! We picked up our rental car & headed 45 minutes south (instructions from Owner so precise!). The complimentary fresh fruit plate & Kona coffee were a real treat! The beds were so very comfortable. Ceiling fans in every room keeps the home cool! The living area was very comfortable & plenty of room to never feel crowded. The 2 bathrooms stocked with body wash & shampoo, so you can travel light! The kitchen was an amazing surprise, everything we needed plus spices! The chilled , filtered water perfect for our day trips (bring along refillable bottles). We enjoyed eating outside on the lanai as well as the one of a kind dining inside! Chose this vacation home with confidence! There is a (feels private) public "pebble beach" down the street with terrific snorkeling & swimming. We had calm summer seas! Many mornings we were the only ones on the beach (thank you for the chairs & umbrellas)! The complimentary laundry facility such a perk! This home has everything to make you feel at home, but lounging on the lanai with full ocean views & island breezes and you know you are far from home!! The Big Island has so much to offer, don't think you can see it all in one trip! Our helicopter tour with Safari Tours was a hi-light as were Two Step snorkeling, the local fresh fruit/apple bananas, Mac nuts & Kona coffee, and the variety of different beaches nearby. Coming back will be an easy decision!! Our time spent with our family was priceless, such great memories! We admit, we wimped out and left our car parked at the bottom of the driveway & walked up! We didn't mind, needed to walk off all the good meals!! Thank you for the many recommendations! We picked some fresh limes, (thank you!) and enjoyed the beautiful flowers around the property. Thank you for sharing your home with us! Our family of 4 left relaxed & looking forward to planning our return trip! From all of us - MAHALO!!
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hale Mele Kohola. It is our goal to make our island home as comfortable as possible so that you will feel that it is your home away from home. Mahalo nui loa for choosing to stay at Hale Mele Kohola, our island home. We look forward to your return.
business
Hale Mele Kohola - A jewel on the hillside
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p209133
- (330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

A charming home with a fabulous view!

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here at the end of Jan. 2014. The house is beautiful, with comfortable furniture, and an incredible view of the ocean. There is one caution, be prepared for a lot of steps leading up to the entry doors. The owner is a delightful woman who will send you loads of helpful information, and the local caretaker is equally delightful. You'll find the caretaker's Kona coffee waiting for you, a platter of local fruit, and fruit trees from which you can pick more. I will definitely stay here again!
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your comment about the stairs made me smile and brought to mind the first time we climbed up those very same steps and wondered how many more there might be. At the top we were rewarded with a view that took our breath away! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return. We look forward to that day. Mahalo nui loa for choosing our island home for your holiday.

Location

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

From the Owner

While in the military, we lived on Oahu for three very short years, then our tour was up and had to go to the next station. Before we left, we did have a chance to visit the Big Island. We had heard that it got cold in Volcano and that the mountains would be snow capped in winter. We were intrigued so we went for a weekend and sure enough, Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa had snow on their peaks! In the morning there was frost on the windows. There are sixteen micro-climates in the world and fourteen are on the Big Island; is that not astounding? You can go from alpine to semi-arid in a matter of a few hours! We fell in love with the Big Island and secretly wished that someday we would return. We liked its slower pace of life. We go on holiday to get away from it all and we can do that here. When we look at the sweeping views of the coastline and the beautiful sunsets and the way the moon shimmers in the water; the schools of dolphins and pods of whales that swim by - all from the vantage point of our lanai, we know that we made the correct decision to buy a vacation rental here.

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Other Activities: Boating, Shopping, Kayaking, Parasailing

Availability

From $175 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Dec 1 2015 - Jan 1 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

  • Cleaning Fee $175.00 + Tax
  • Tax Rate 13.42%

RESERVATION IS CONFIRMED WHEN PAID IN FULL. We accept VISA or MASTERCARD. RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE UNTIL CONFIRMED.

FOR PRECISE QUOTE AND SPECIAL OFFERS, please, CONTACT OWNER.
Weekly and monthly rates are available for LOW-SEASON ONLY - please, inquire for details.
For returning guests: 8th night free when booking for 7 nights (low season only).
Member: HAWAII VISITOR AND CONVENTION BUREAU
HI Tax License: W30163242-02

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 14, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

From the Owner

More than just a rental, Hale Mele Kohola is a real home!

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Romantic

General

  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View

Attractions

  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 1000 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • The master bedroom has an en suite bedroom. There is another full bathroom ready to accommodate guests.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Each bedroom may host up to two (2) guests.

Outside

  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.