Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'

Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 8, 2014
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 20-24)

'The Real McCoy House' is the perfect place to spend your vacation. I have a breath taking view of Lewis Smith lake no matter which way you look. Walk out onto the 12'X 50' porch upstairs or down. Walk off the porch on a deck that connects to a 4 person tram car and rides down to a deck which connects the ramp onto your floating covered boat dock with a swim deck. Fishing is great. Bring your Seadoos and boats. You have a 6-8 person hot tub for your relaxation under the stars.

This wonderful vacation retreat is private and set up for a large family or business getaway. This lake house was new in 2008 and has hardwood floors upstairs and tile downstairs. You are about a mile out of the city limits of Arley. It's a small town and has most anything you need. Arley is approximately 30 minutes from Jasper or Culman and not far from Birmingham. There is a gourmet kitchen that has all stainless steel appliances with all granite counter tops and a bar downstairs. You have gas fireplaces upstairs and down for that perfect evening. Downstairs you have a big screen TV great for those ball games, or catching your favorite TV shows.

3rd cleanest lake in North America.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details
  • Sleeps 23
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Wheelchair access

Recent Review

About the Owner

I own Mortgage Team 1 in Mobile Alabama and I am President Elect for the Alabama Mortgage Brokers Association. I have been in the mortgage business since 1993. I have 2 children and 3 grandchildren. This lakehouse is a wonderful place to bring a family and enjoy lake life. I own Dream Catcher Pointe which is right across the water. I have 19 lake lots for sale, 12 are on deep water. They have approved floating boat dock permits, the road and utilities already put in so you are ready to build your new lake home.

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
Florida
5

A Must See. We Loved it.

  • 5 of 5
Our group stayed at the Real McCoy this year from 9/14/13-9/21/13 for the first time. We found the home to be neat, clean, and well decorated. We had a diverse group of 15. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. All the beds including the bunk beds were comfortable. We had elderly in our group and it was so nice that they could ride the tram down to the lake to enjoy it with the rest of us. We were surprised that the kitchen had all the pots and pans we needed to cook with.We were pleased that the downstairs had no moisture problems and was not musty smelling. Also, very pleased that there was no problems getting our deposit back . We are considering returning to this area next year and would definitely stay at the Real McCoy if we do.
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
Guntersville, AL
2

Weekend Getaway

  • 2 of 5
A few weeks ago, we stayed at The Real McCoy. The house was the perfect size for our group; however,the cleanliness of the downstairs bathroom left a lot to be desired. Black mold covered the shower curtain and part of the ceiling. More importantly, the tram to the lake did not work, so we were unable to access the lake as promised (the specs on the house mentioned a "walkway to the lake" but there was none). The maintenance man did come out but was unable to repair it. After that weekend, we emailed the owner of the home to discuss the fact that we could not get down to the lake, which was the main reason we chose to stay at that location. We never received a response from the owner. Not only did we pay full price for half of what was promised, but we never even received an apology or a promise that this wouldn't happen again. Based on the lack of response and concern from the homeowner, we would never rent from them again.
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Northern Alabama has some particularly violent lightning storms and this was the reason the tram quit working. We dispatch a local caretaker anytime our quests contact us to help remedy any problems or concerns. When lightning hits electrical systems it usually takes a day or two to remedy the situation. We have arrangements with our neighbor to allow use of their new walk-way and boat dock when and if the tram has an issue(3 issues in 5 years). When we send the deposit back a letter requesting you to notify us of any problems or concerns is inserted in every envelope. We want to know what your concerns are so that we can fix anything needed so that your stay is enjoyable and as care free as possible.
We apologize for any short comings due to our schedule, which this summer has been almost a continuous stream of quests, leaving very little time for maintenance other than cleaning the house, bedding, linens, hot tub., and fixing things that can and will often break down.
All guests before arrival are sent via email all contact numbers for caretakers, owners, and emergency responders. Every guest is given security codes, tram instructions, and keys. Every guest is given a list of instructions for almost any situation and is located both up and down stairs.
Not to be defensive, but this case was a lightning strike which put the tram out of commission on the last night of their stay. The quests were instructed when and how to access the lake, which yes was not as convenient but still accessible. Hopefully all our quests, if receiving no response from us via email, would call our contact numbers.
business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
Florence, Al, USA
5

The Real McCoy

  • 5 of 5
Had a wonderful experience; house had plenty of room for our group of 10 adults and 2 children to spread out. Enjoyed the covered decks and the tram down to the boat dock - was very nice not to have to climb up and down stairs. House had everything we needed. Not too far from golf for the guys and shopping for the women.
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
Birmingham, Alabama
4

Christmas Family Gathering

  • 4 of 5
The Real McCoy turned out better than we expected. Our family of 22 had a delightful time Christmas week. There are two large gathering areas . . . the lower level has a 72" television for the cousins to enjoy and the main level has plenty of space for adults to have conversation. The location is rather remote, so it provides for a nice "get away" for the family. The kitchen had all that we needed. Yet, renters must bring everything (I mean everything) that you need to prepare meals---condiments. The house has a broadband eternet connetion for one computer, but does not have wifi. That was somewhat of a disappointment. Otherwise, it's a wonderful place to just be with family for the holidays. Most of my family flew into the Birmingham airport, so it was no more than an hour and a half for them to drive to The Real McCoy.
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
5

A Perfect Honeymoon!!!

  • 5 of 5
After our beach wedding, I wanted to give my new hubby something he would enjoy...time on Lewis Smith Lake as our honeymoon. After dealing with another rental owner all throughout the day and jumping through hoops to please her, she announces at the last moment a list of "conditions" not to mention that the hottub didn't work. I found Linda's property online in Cullman, AL. She was wonderful to work with, and accomodated our every need at the last moment. Not too many owners will do that. WOW!!!! Linda has an absolutely beautiful home! We never left the bottom floor except to cook upstairs. The home is beautifully decorated and her kitchen is a cooks' dream. Two expansive decks, a hot tub built into the rock bluffs....simply breathtaking!!!! We spent our days fishing on the covered dock and having the time of our lives. We will be back! A perfect retreat....enjoyed visiting the small towns nearby...and enjoyed the tabby cat who kept us company (and our small dog)...fun times!!!!! While we enjoyed seeing all the steps down the bluffs from the other homes nearby....we rode the tram!!! Can't beat that!!!!
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you got to experience the luxury lake house we built for our family to enjoy. We wanted it to be a Dream Catcher for the people who came there. We developed Dream Catcher Pointe across the water right after we built this house with the idea that alot of people would come and build their dream homes. We come up twice a year and bring our whole family and enjoy summer fun on the water and in the winter we come and enjoy the hottub and a great book by the fire. The lake is more beautiful in the winter because you can see the lake, deer and wildlife better. We thank you for the gifts you left. It was a pleasant surprise. We had one couple bring their whole family and actually get married there. The McCoy House is fast becoming a special place for many people. I do hope you come back soon. It was a pleasure having you.
business
Luxury Lake House with Tram to Your Boat Dock 'The Real McCoy'
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p235375
(251) 610-0494
Lewis Smith Lake Alabama Mountains
naples florida
4

Good week at the Real McCoy

  • 4 of 5
This is a big house and the tram to the water is a life saver. Two large open decks and nice bedrooms. Boat ramp right across the lake was great. The only bummer was the late afternoon check in. 3 pm is the earliest to get in the house so a whole day is lost. Other than that a great house for big families.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Location

From the Owner

I live in Mobile and after Katrina, I decided to find a place far enough from the Gulf Coast to find reguge from the yearly storms. I know many others who felt the same way so I looked for a place to start a community to bring a huge family when they wanted and needed to get away. I wanted luxury while away from our homes. When I found Smith Lake, it was like a little peice of heaven and the best kept secret. I named our subdivion Dream Catcher Pointe.

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

You are within minutes from the Bankhead National Forest

Availability

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Email Owner Contact Me
Updated: Sep 8, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Rates
Oct 1 - Apr 30
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,505
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,254
 

Additional information about rental rates

Checks only.

Memorial Day, Jul 4th, Labor Day $400 /night or $2400/week (3 night min)

Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Yrs. $350/night or $2000/week (4 night min)
Additional costs
Cleaning fee 15 guests or less $175, or 16 plus is $275
$500 DEPOSIT CONTACT BY EMAIL for instructions, security codes, and keys.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Spa
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All

General

  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Dialup Access
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Hair Dryer
  • Paper Towels
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper

Kitchen

  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • Dining

Entertainment

  • Games
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Books

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Hot Tub

Suitability

  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Location Type

  • Waterfront
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Rural
  • Town

Attractions

  • museums
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • playground
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina

Leisure Activities

  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseback riding
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • snorkeling/diving
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • fishing

Floor Area

  • 3300 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower, Master Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower, Master Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Masters are ceramic walk-in open showers.

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 23
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king, 1 baby crib
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 5 - 2 queen
  • Bedroom 6 - 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 7 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • All bedding and bath linens supplied

Outside

  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Deck
  • Boat Dock
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals
Email Owner Contact Me