Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.

Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.


Property Details

Updated: Apr 27, 2015
House, 5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Prepare to unwind, decompress, and connect with nature, at our exquisite beachfront residence, Casa Cay, located in the beautiful Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. Built in 2007 and embodying the exotic character of Costa Rica, our home was meticulously designed and furnished to capture the quintessential essence of the Costa Rican experience. Situated on one of only seven beachfront lots in the exclusive 4500 acre working ranch that is Hacienda Pinilla, this home offers complete privacy yet is only minutes from restaurants, nightlife, and a multitude of outdoor activities. Major jet airline access is available at nearby Liberia International Airport, 45 minutes away. The charming coastal fishing village and surfing destination of Tamarindo is a short 15 minute drive from the home and offers a gourmet grocery store, outstanding international cuisine, shopping, and vibrant nightlife.

Hacienda Pinilla, the largest privately held landholding in the area, has become a vacation destination in its own right. The working ranch, with three miles of virgin Pacific beaches, a championship 18 hole golf course and clubhouse, tennis facilities, and award winning equestrian facility has something for everyone. The recent addition of the flagship J.W. Marriott Five Star resort on Playa Blanca at Hacienda Pinilla ensures that a full service spa and several world class restaurants are only 3 minutes away! Concierge service is available through Hacienda Pinilla and the J.W. Marriott to arrange a myriad of activities including surf lessons, world class deep sea fishing expeditions, scuba diving & snorkeling, river rafting, canopy tours, naturalist guided hikes, and bird watching experiences .

The heart of Casa Cay is the Great Room with its imported bi-fold doors that open three walls to the outdoors. Ocean breezes waft continually through the central living area with huge custom seating area, Balinese dining table with seating for 10, and gourmet kitchen with center island and additional seating. The flat screen television, Bose surround sound audio system, and wireless internet access are available if you want to maintain contact with civilization as you know it.

Casa Cay encompasses a total of 5 bedroom suites, including two master suites with private balconies, a powder room, and an outdoor bathroom. The attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms offer direct access to the exterior spaces. Intricate craftsmanship, the use of indigenous wood and stone, and the incorporation of concrete and glass tiles is evident throughout this special home. The entire complex is centered around the ocean view vanishing edge pool, with outdoor dining area and lush tropical landscaping, and is completely private.

Hacienda Pinilla has recently opened a beautiful Beach Club. The Beach Club is located on Playa Avellanas and is a few minutes drive or 15 minute walk from the house. The Beach Club offers a large vanishing edge pool, restuarant / bar, and a spa. Full details of the Beach Club and the Hacienda Pinilla development can be found on their web site.

Keywords: Casa Cay, Hacienda Pinilla, Beachfront Home, Costa Rica

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2015

5 Reviews

based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
-+506 2653-0073 x 106
Tamarindo Guanacaste

Fantastic stay and awesome house

  • 5 of 5
We just completed a week long stay with two families (10 total, kids 8-13) and loved the house.

The house is very much as represented in the pictures & video. Very up-to-date and modern. Everything was in working order and was well maintained. The layout is perfect for two families, with two very spacious master suites. The kitchen and great room are perfect and plenty large for all 10 of us to hang out comfortably. the house wraps around the central pool area, which was in use full-time with the kids and adults.

- great pool and indoor/outdoor space (great room opens up to the outdoors, weather permitting)
- modern touches (flat screen tv, cable, speedy wifi, bose stereo system, etc.)
- very safe, private location (two security gates to get to property, manned 24hrs/day)
- nearby beach club (5 min drive away), which had a great pool, killer beach, workout room and a very good restaurant.
- small market 5 min drive away with the basics you may need
- golf courses right there (we did not play, but looked really nice)
- horse stables 5 min drive away (we did this. great staff and horses. rode along the beach)
- tennis courts are a 5 min drive away and looked nice (we did not play)
- JW Marriott is a 5 min drive away (can walk there via beach in ~15-20 min) and has a few restaurants available
- house mgmt. team (maria & josh) were very attentive and helpful with any questions

- the beach in front of the property is not swimmable. more tide pools for walking/exploring. this likely would have been a consideration for us in selecting the house, but in hindsight, was not a big deal (the beach club beach is incredible)
- you will need a car, as the house is a bit remote (tamarindo ~20 min drive away, main market was ~20 min drive away, beach club is not walkable)
- there were some bugs/mosquitos at night...bring some spray
- bikes at the house were not in great working order

we also brought in a private chef for a few dinners and breakfasts (frank at Frank was awesome and he even did grocery shopping for us for a nominal fee (even had the house stocked for us upon our arrival). very highly recommend.

we used swiss travel for a couple excursions which were very fun (sensoria and something called the adrenaline tour). they arranged for transportation to/from the house in a very nice van. highly recommend.

overall a great trip and really great house!
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
-+506 2653-0073 x 106
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Seattle WA USA

Awesome stay at Casa Cay

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Casa Cay during Christmas week. Our family consisted of 3 generations and we all found the house perfect - there is a main house that is a great gathering spot for the family. Upstairs is a huge master suite with nice views. The guest house has 3 bedrooms downstairs and then another master suite upstairs. The configuration allows for everyone to have their space and privacy.
We used the beach club often and really enjoyed it - the beach is one of the best in the area. Wide sandy beach, nice waves and not crowded. If you like long walks, i highly recommend the beach walks. You can go out the front of the house and walk either to Playa Avellanas in one direction or to Playa Langosta in the other direction.
The house was well taken care of and very clean. The rental company was very professional and checked us in and out and at the last minute, was able to arrange transportation for some of our party from Liberia.
Overall we highly recommend this home and this rental company.
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
-+506 2653-0073 x 106
Tamarindo Guanacaste
The Woodlands, TX

Beware - a beautiful home that is not being taken care of properly by either owner or manager

  • 1 of 5
Beware of the details in the contract. Listed below in " ".
"As the renter, I understand that the property owner has made a good faith effort to accurately present the properties, and is responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the property including but not limited to appliances such as air conditioning, furnishings and linens. However, I understand that the property owner shall not be liable for any inaccuracies in such presentations, or changes in the conditions of the accommodations or the surrounding environment or the condition thereof, or for any temporary defects or shortages/ stoppages in supply of electricity, gas, water, or plumbing, etc., which are out of their control."

We arrived Saturday 3/8 and found the A/C unit in the kitchen living area not working. We were told they would fix Sunday. Property manager said the owner would credit use for one night for the inconvenience (as of 3/18 still no credit). They could not fix Sunday, they needed to order a new compressor which would be installed Wednesday. The temperatures were 80*-90* with no A/C in the living/kitchen area which required us to open all the doors for ventilation AM&PM which allowed the bugs, mosquitos, bee's etc. into the living area which lead to multiple mosquito bites. I requested consideration by owner for 4 nights, in 3 emails & was ignored.

In addition, we witnessed a beautiful home that is being neglected by either the property manager or owner. Outside the staircase to the guest house is a large pile of poop from something pretty large and had flies, bugs on the roof of the garage.

Two nights we heard noises that sounded like someone was tearing a hole in the roof. The next morning we witnessed tiles on the roof that had been turned over that were OK the night before. Apparently there are howler monkeys or raccoons that are pooping on the roof and also searching for bugs or something under the tiles and move them around to get what they want during the night and leave a BIG mess. On the guest house side the hot water only worked one night. Most of the faucet fixtures in the guest house would come off in your hand at the sink or the shower and were not screwed in (we had A/C guy correct some). There is a sprinkler head that sprays water on a window with a wooden frame by the kitchen that has a large stain on it and the wooden frame is getting damaged for some time and no one cares to fix it. Simple fix, use a soaker hose. SAD2SEE.
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Dear Gary,
We apologize that you had problems with the a/c in the kitchen area. We sent a technician on Sunday as soon as we heard and the owner, who is very proud of his home, immediately authorized us to purchase a brand new a/c system for the kitchen. We ordered it right away, and installed it as soon as we got it on Wednesday morning. The a/c was working in all the bedrooms, but we're sorry that you were so upset and will of course send the refund that the owner promised for your inconvenience. I believe that our accountant has already contacted you to find out the best place to send the funds.
Though we do regular deep cleaning and maintenance weekly, twice per year Casa Cay gets a full week of maintenance to ensure it's kept in good order for our guests. During the last full maintenance week we retiled the pool, repainted the interior, put in all new towels, new curtains, new cushions in the living area etc. Casa Cay is scheduled in April for another maintenance week. We will certainly check on the loose faucets. Thank you for letting us know about them.
As for the animals, most of our guests find visits from the local wildlife - howler monkeys, pizotes, racoons, tropical birds - to be part of the charm of Costa Rica. If the poop is on the terrace, in the pool or other living areas, we would send someone to clean it right away. However, we don't normally clean roofs when guests are in house.
I should also mention that the photos and video in the ad were taken after the last maintenance and are about six months old, so are an accurate representation of the condition of Casa Cay.
Lisa Simmons
Rental Manager Casa Cay
Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
-+506 2653-0073 x 106
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Naples, Italy

Incredible Experience

  • 5 of 5
Most luxurious home we have ever experienced, and we are extremely well traveled. Very private. Sunsets and wildlife were amazing. Beach front was good for exploring but not necessarily to set up camp for the day. There were several other beaches in the community that were outstanding and in June, we were the only people there. The neighborhood beach club, pool and spa services were also top notch with good food and again, very high end furnishings and details. Easy drive over from Liberia airport - just be careful driving on the last stretch of dirt road. Zip lining, horseback riding, great surf conditions, all very easy and close by. We loved this place and the value was outstanding.
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Exquisite Beachfront Home in Private Gated Hacienda Pinilla.
-+506 2653-0073 x 106
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Richmond, Virginia USA


  • 5 of 5
My wife and I, our two sons and their wives, my daughter and her fiance' and my best friend and his wife spent a fantastic week at Casa De Amor de Sol in Hacienda Pinilla. The house was extremely family friendly, with spacious bedrooms containing their own bathrooms and beautiful ocean views. The kitchen, dining and family area was open and spacious, and the doors opened to the outside to give that true "island feeling". The property was close to the ocean and provided easy access to the beach. The infinity pool looking through the foliage directly towards the ocean was a great gathering place. Hacienda Pinilla is a great community with two hotels, excellent restaurants and a separate beach club (one hotel and the beach club are within walking distance of the house by way of the beach). We played golf one day on the course in Hacienda Pinilla and it was an enjoyable round. Challenging, but not too difficult, with magnificent ocean views on some holes. The trip to nearby Tamarindo was easy and we went there to enjoy the bars, the restaurants and the great ocean views, especially at sunset. There is a nice grocery store there where you can stock up on anything you need for eating at the house. Be sure to get a good rental car at the airport for the drive to Hacienda Pinilla and so you can drive around Hacienda Pinilla or into town whenever you wish. This was definitely one of the nicest vacation houses we have ever experienced and that made our trip very enjoyable.
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Daniel Oduber International Airport Liberia at 30 Miles Nearest Golf : Signature Golf Course in the Community at 0.5 Miles Nearest Beach : Beachfront Home

Our beautiful home is ideally situated beachfront in famous Hacienda Pinilla - a 4,500 acre beachfront golf community with 3 miles of beaches, 18 hole Audobon certified Mike Young golf course, equestrian facilities, J.W. Marriott Hotel, and beachfront club with spa, pool and restaurant. We are conveniently located just 15 minutes south of vibrant Tamarindo beach, and 45 minutes from the International Airport at Liberia.


From $700 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mid Season
Jun 1 - Aug 30
3 night minimum stay
Low Season
Sep 1 - Oct 30
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

  • Booking Fee $50.00 + Tax
  • Property Damage Protection $59.00
  • Tax Rate 13.0%

50% non- refundable payment to reserve. 50% the day prior to check-in.

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Apr 27, 2015


Property Type

  • house


  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool


  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Beachfront


  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4
  • Bathroom 5


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Queen size Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (2)


  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.