Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!

Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 26, 2015
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is a two-story, non-smoking unit with two full bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, living room, and lanai. It can easily accommodate two couples plus kids or a family of six or seven. Probably the best feature is a two-story, open-beam ceiling living room, and lanai. A two-story, glass wall opens to a breathtaking view of the ocean.

As you plan your ultimate Maui vacation, do not settle for a 'partial ocean view.' The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite looks out on a huge ocean view and the pool, surrounded by meticulously-kept grounds. In the distance is the ancient Haleakala Volcano.

The Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is handsomely decorated with a Japanese-Hawaiian flair so consistent with the island's culture. The upstairs bedroom enjoys an open view of the ocean through the two-story windows. You can even see the ocean from the upstairs shower! The living room and lanai have a spacious feeling that literally mirrors the deep blue Pacific Ocean.

The kitchen is fully-equipped with everything you will need for a quick breakfast or a gourmet dinner served out on the lanai. All the appliances are new including microwave, toaster, coffee grinder for fresh Kona coffee, and a four-speed smoothie machine so you can enjoy all the incredible tropical fruit available here on Maui.

The Ma'alaea Kai is simply the best maintained and most beautiful condominium-hotel along the Ma'alaea Bay coast. A huge, putting green-style lawn and bright blue pool are the only things that separate you from the ocean. Palm trees sway in the tradewinds and gorgeous tropical flowers bloom everywhere. Unlike most other resort areas on Maui, Hauoli Street is a short (one-fourth mile) tropical walk to Sugar Beach. Just north, a two-minute walk takes you to Ma'alaea Bay small boat harbor and shopping at the Ma'alaea Harbor Village.

Sugar Beach is just a five-minute walk from the Ma'alaea Kai and is probably the quietest beach on Maui, and one of the longest. You can walk or run along this beach for miles and pass only a few other people. Sugar Beach is great at sunrise or sunset or for catching rays midday without another soul in sight. Because it is tucked around the bay, Sugar Beach is an ideal place for children to enjoy the ocean where waves and undertow are always safe.

The Ma'alaea small boat harbor is one of only a few such harbors on Maui. This is the island's main launching point to the crystal-clear, tropical waters of Maui. Snorkeling trips, deep-sea fishing, and sunset cruises all begin right here and you do not even have to park. Above the harbor is the Ma'alaea Harbor Village, a small but quaint shopping area with four excellent restaurants. The Maui Ocean Center is also located here and a visit is highly recommended. The General Store has reopened and has excellent food and almost anything you need for cooking meals. It has great coffee and pastries, I always enjoy shopping at the store.

The Seascape Restaurant is my choice for lunch and hosts a stunning open-air view of the harbor and ocean. A new Italian restaurant opened and the food is fabulous. Beach Bums is a great addition to the Harbor, you can have breakfast, while chatting with the local boat captains. The food is great and the price is great too. They also have a really nice Happy Hour...Mai Tai's are $3.50!

Sunrise from the Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite is an experience in itself. Pre-dawn light brings the chatter of a thousand birds and iridescent blue waters. The trade winds ruffle the palm trees and caress your senses as you sit with your first cup of Kona coffee in the huge lanai. As the sun breaks over the ancient 10,000-foot Halealala Volcano, your face and your world are bathed in sunlight. Your penthouse is illuminated with a bright warmth that leaves you glowing. It is time to think about the day's activities or simply sit back and have another cup of coffee.

Ma'alaea Bay is Maui's most quiet, secluded, best-kept secret. It is truly the most centrally located vacation area on all of Maui, lying at the ocean front and between two volcanoes that formed the island. The old whaling port Lahaina is 18 miles to the north. Bustling Kihei is eight miles to the south, and it takes just ten minutes to drive from the airport to the Ma'alaea Kai Penthouse Suite.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
  • Sleeps 7
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

We both work in education, and try to get to Maui any chance we can!

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 26, 2015

10 Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic penthouse oceanfront condo. Great bang for your buck!

  • 5 of 5
My group of 4 lifetime friends and colleagues enjoyed this picturesque oceanfront condo in Ma'alaea. Having breakfast on the lanai while watching huge turtles and WHALES was priceless! The condo was spotless, stocked with clean linens and was equipped snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs and snorkeling equipment. The condo community is within a 5 minute walk to great restaurants, bars and whale watching cruises just steps from your door. Centrally located on Maui and almost everything is located with a 15-30 drive to all that Maui has to offer. Todd and Stefani were very attentive and responsive. It was like crashing at a family member's house. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We shall return.
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise! Mahalo, the Clark's
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
2

Christmas visit

  • 2 of 5
The condo was in a nice location, quiet, right on the ocean so the view and complex were great. We were disappointed to arrive and see pigeons roosting on the lanai. They had pooped all over the furniture and the lanai. When we asked the owners, they were not very helpful. We bought a water gun and chased them away every night but still had to contend with pigeon poop clean up each day. The other issue was the condo was not very clean, bathrooms were dirty as was the kitchen. A thorough cleaning would be really helpful in getting the condo to an acceptable standard. We have rented many places in many locations through VRBO and this is the first time we've been disappointed. Lots of potential but needs a lot of TLC.
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review contained two concerns, pigeons and cleanliness. The pigeons were a total surprise to us as well as our building management. You'll see in many years of reviews, no mention of pigeons. We did in fact respond immediately by calling our building manager who contacted Terminix. Their first attempt was traps on the roof which failed and then they came up with a treatment to the outside beams which has proven successful. Short of shooting the birds, which is strictly forbidden, I don't know how we could have resolved the problem any quicker.

The concerns of cleanliness were never mentioned to us during their entire stay. We have a personal attachment to our beautiful Hawaiian condo and work closely with our cleaning team to maintain high standards. If guests should arrive and find something wrong, we respond immediately and send the cleaners back to make things right. Most VRBO owners count on guests to report problems, otherwise how would we know. What is so ironic about this review is that we checked in the same day they left and found everything in perfect order.

We are a family owned condo and take great pride in providing our guests with a beautiful and well maintained Hawaiian living accommodation. I'm sure you will find ours to be very appealing.
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
Cottonwood, California
5

So Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
I stayed and this beautiful ocean view condo in February 2014. I'm currently booking another trip in January 2015. This lovely place has everything you need and if you have children all the water toys you need such as boards, snorkel, fins, beach towels etc. I happened to travel by myself and it was the most relaxing place I have ever been to. 5 minute walk to sugar beach, deli and restaurants and shops just minutes away. Really no need for even a rental car - Once you are on these grounds you really don't want to leave. I didn't - Going back again in 2015 and can't wait - Todd and Stefani Clark are excellent hosts - Mahalo
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you will be returning in January. Enjoy and Mahalo! Stefani & Todd
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
Vancouver, BC
4

Exceptional View

  • 4 of 5
The accommodation was very comfortable. The kitchen is equipped with everything and we found the location to be very central to get to most places. Maalaea is windy but we like because it takes the edge off the very hot temperature we experienced on our last day in Maui.
Stefan and Todd were very quick to answer any questions we had. We could not have chosen a better place. Thank you for sharing your penthouse with us.
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Mahalo!
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
5

IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS!!!!!

IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS!!!!!
  • 5 of 5
There aren't enough superlatives about our experiences and the cooperation of
Todd and Stefani. We were married in Maui and knew nothing about where we were going or where we were going to stay, as we had never been there before. Todd & Stefani were/are GREAT! Their help and cooperation eased any apprehension we might have had. Our stay was so fantastic that we have booked another trip so we can let everything soak in one more time. When you put a great trip together, include a fantastic condo (loft, lanai, view, ect.), an unbelievable peaceful central location, the love of your life, and heaven on earth..Do we need to say anymore? We realize that everyone's preferences are different but as far as we are concerned, it will never be where will we stay but when! Mahalo, Todd & Stefani for being such GREAT people
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo~ Enjoy! Todd & Stefani
business
Oceanfront Penthouse Suite~Perfect Location 2 free nights, with a 7 night stay!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p77624vb
-(530) 275-5242 (California, USA)
Kihei Maui
Trinity Village CA
5

North Kihei, Condo review

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I had the experience of our life staying at the Ma'alea Kai Penthouse suite. We were on the Island to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and that we did!
Upon arrival we took notice of the lavish decor on the walls of the living room, the 2 story windows with an awsome view of landscape and water both and the inviting Lanai. We stayed in the upstairs room. The bed was not only beautifuly carved wood, but like sleeping on a cloud. One thing that is so cool about this place was there are stunning views every where you look, even from the shower..I kid you not.
Our morning's started with beautiful sunrises and great coffee on the Lanai while we watched the whales flip and flop and sometimes breech right there in front of us. Amazing! Not that you ever need to leave because everything you need is right there, green green grass, heated pool, gas and charchole grills, blenders, and ice etc.. we did leave a couple of mornings for a short walk up to Beach Bums where they serve deliciouse breakfast's. Because this Penthouse is so centrally located getting to afternoon or evening activities is quick and easy. I just can't say enough about this place. There is so much to do on this Island. We were torn each day about stayin at the condo or going out. So which ever you choose to do, do it from Ma'alea Kai Penthouse Suit.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

From the Owner

Future retirement home, we love Maalaea!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Kahului at 10 Miles Nearest Barpub : Beach Bums at 0.3 Miles Nearest Beach : Sugar Beach at 0.2 Miles Car: recommended

Whale Watching, Ocean Kayaking, Sunbathing

Availability

From $300 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Whale Season
Jan 1 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 - Aug 31
2 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Holidays
Nov 1 - Dec 31
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • Cleaning fee $150
  • Tax Rate 13.34%

50% down with signed contract. Final payment due 45 days prior to your stay. We take personal or cashiers check. Wire transfer is also available. HI Tax ID # W30140160-01

Enter dates to see total
Updated: Feb 26, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

From the Owner

Relaxing by the ocean reading a favorite book, snorkeling, dip in the pool, and our very favorite is taking a boat trip, we love being out on the ocean! You will enjoy our home!

Property Type

  • condo

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • jetted tub

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 1100 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • King size beds (1) Beautiful hand crafted oak king size bed, Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) our sofa is also a convertable bed ; we also have one futon mat

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 beach chairs

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Boogie Boards, Snorkeling gear, Fins, Fishing Poles, Hand Weights and beach toys for the kikis!

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.