Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: May 20, 2015
2 Bedrooms, , 1 Bathroom, 6 Sleeps

Newly remodeled. Newly available.

Very large living room. Cathedral Ceiling. Window wall.

So close to the beach you can often hear the rush of the waves, this peaceful cottage features a living room with a high cathedral ceiling, a window wall, large sectional sofa and another sofa.

Bedroom walls are stained wood and tropical blue drywall. Sleeping arrangements are 2 queen beds in the 2 bedrooms, plus 2 sofa sleepers in the living room. Maximum occupancy is 6. The bathroom is normal size with a cabinet sink, commode, and shower.

The kitchen is equipped with stainless steel refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher.

Outside is a deck around 2 sides of the house. A porch swing is in the grassy back yard.

You don't cross any street to get to the beach. We are the 3rd house off the beach; that is, two houses are between Sea Oats Cottage and the beach. We are less than 1 block from a public beach access, which is an elevated wooden walkway that starts on our street and crosses about 50 feet of dunes before ending on the beach.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

13 Reviews

4
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Ormond Beach
4

Good location.

  • 4 of 5
It was in a great location. The only complaint I may have is that I thought the yard was fenced for my dog and it wasn't but no big deal. We loved walking across the street to Sundae's where the food was fantastic. Will come back again.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have never advertised a completely fenced in back yard. I guess it was assumed from the pictures.
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
1

Wish I would have rented from someone else!

  • 1 of 5
We stayed here while on the island for a wedding. I called Ted before our arrival to see if we could check-in an hour early. Ted advised that the house was available (no one had stayed the night before), but in order to check-in 1 hour early, we had to pay an additional $20/hr. Due to the tight timeline we were under, we opted to pay the $20 (wedding rehearsal at 3pm...and check-in at 3pm, something had to give!).
I am hoping that Ted uses the additional $20 wisely. Here are some ideas:
*Kitchen towels - you will only get ONE small kitchen towel...pack a dishrag, as there aren't any.
*Wifi - you'll need to mooch off of the neighboring house's wifi (coral house). The wifi unit that was plugged in was a NetGear, although Ted's instructions tell you to use "Belkin". I suspect the NetGear unit in the living room no longer works, and is just for show. Be sure you have enough data on your phone, as the neighbor's wifi is s..l..o..w
*Ironing Board - if you plan on ironing anything, you'll need to either balance the board on the counter or the dining room table. The legs to the ironing board are broken off. If you have items that need ironing (like dress shirts for a wedding rehearsal or ceremony)....you're going to have to be creative.
*Pillows - The listing states that the house sleeps 6. There were only 4 pillows. There were 2 body pillows, but there were no pillow cases on them...ick! We used some of the decorative pillows, and found some pillow cases lying willy-nilly on the floor in the closet.
Unfortunately, we didn't get everything we paid for.
Wifi is kind of a big deal. It's in the ad as provided, Ted should pay for wifi for this property, not rely on the neighboring houses.
The ironing board isn't normally a big deal when on vacation, but this time it was essential.
Having to use a bathroom washcloth for a kitchen rag wasn't awful... but the ad says towels provided. I didn't pack any towels. If you choose to stay here, you'll need to pack a dishrag.
Pillows...having enough would have been nice.
The college event "Orange Crush" was going on during the weekend of our stay. Tybee police brought in 100+ officers from Savannah to help with crowd control. Normally, this kind of event doesn't bother me, but if noise is an issue for you...you need to know that this house is VERY close to highway 80. You WILL hear all of the highway traffic, etc.
Overall, the island itself was beautiful.
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Every confirmation that I send out contains this statement:
“Because the cleaning service needs to plan their schedule in advance, please do not arrive early or leave late.”
I have an agreement with the cleaning service that I will not interfere with their schedule. The $20 fee is for the purpose of discouraging interference with that schedule. In spite of my request to not arrive early, this guest informed me just a couple of hours before they arrived that they needed to come in early. She was unhappy with the $20 fee and consequently entered with a bad attitude. I will address her complaints one by one.

WIFI. The house next door is mine. Nobody is mooching off anybody else’s wifi. The Netgear box in this house is a booster box which boosts the signal from the Belkin router in my house next door. The 2 houses are just 20 feet apart and separated by a 6-ft privacy fence. We have the highest-speed internet that Comcast cable provides.

DISHRAGS. We don’t advertise dishrags, and we don’t provide them. We provide dish towels, kitchen sponges, and a roll of paper towels. We also provide a dishwasher.

TOWELS. The comment about towels is confusing. We provide plenty of towels. The reviewer’s comment is “… the ad says towels provided. We didn’t pack any towels.” If she was referring to dish towels, she admits that one was present. That should have been enough for her 2-night stay.

PILLOWS. The pillows referred to are king pillows not body pillows, and the pillow cases were in the closet with the pillows. Since they found the pillow cases on the floor, I feel sure that the pillow cases fell on the floor when she pulled the pillows off the shelf. One of the beds has regular pillows, the other bed has king pillows, and 2 king pillows are in the closet for the sofa sleeper.

IRONING BOARD. The cleaning service is very good about keeping me informed about any problems or repairs needed in my properties. They had not noticed that anything was wrong with the ironing board and neither had I. If the reviewer had told me, I could have had another one there within 30 min. A new one is there now, of course.

ORANGE CRUSH NOISE. This is a beach party for the college-age crowd. It occurs once a year on a single Saturday afternoon. They can get noisy. Most of them are gone by nightfall; more than 90% are gone by midnight. We also have a few parades during the year that can be noisy. Otherwise highway 80 is pretty quiet.
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Loved Sea Oats Cottage

  • 5 of 5
Loved Sea Oats Cottage,from the Jasmin covered entrance to the to the great deck area for cook outs.The decor was beautifully done ,with a light and spacious feel.Bedrooms were cozy and comfortable..And the cottage was immaculately clean. Ted was always available and friendly,no matter how many times we peppered him with questions.
Would highly recommend this cottage to anyone lucky enough to visit the island.
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Suwanee, Georgia
3

Comfortable Cottage at Tybee

  • 3 of 5
We have stayed here before. Comfortable accommodation at a great location.
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Comfortable, cozy, and very relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
We were delighted at the cozy and comfortable feeling of this cottage! The big living room/family room in the front definitely gives the feeling of a much bigger house and was just perfect for relaxing after a long day! The house had everything we needed and the big back yard and porch was perfect for the evening barbeque or just sitting out and relaxing. Our dog was welcome which was very nice as we can't travel without her any more, as she is older and will not stay in a kennel. Don't hesitate to rent this lovely cottage as Ted is so nice and easy to work with and you will not be disappointed!
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
business
Sea Oats Cottage, 3rd House Off Beach, Pet-friendly
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p3478382
-+ 912-398-7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Asheville, NC
5

Wonderful Time on Tybee Island!!

  • 5 of 5
First of all we arrived at the house and opened the door to the sound of Classical music. The house smelling fresh and clean.

This was my mother and my annual girls get away-week. The house is a great location with a short walk to the beach.....which was gorgeous!! Everyone had told me to stay on the south end of the island. After being there I completely disagree. The beach here is not near as crowded and with a perfect view if the shipping lane. Between watching the dolphins, birds and ships I barely read at all!!

It was very clean and perfect for our needs! It is within walking distance to Sugar Shack (we enjoyed the ice cream) and Sundae Cafe (lunch & dinner). Which I recommend!

And we can't wait to head back to Tybee!!!
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Savannah at 20 Miles Nearest Barpub : Sundae Cafe at 0.1 Miles Nearest Golf : Wilmington Island Club at 10 Miles Nearest Train : Amtrak at 20 Miles Nearest Motorway : Hwy 80 at 0.2 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Sundae Cafe at 0.1 Miles Nearest Beach : Tybee at 0.1 Miles Car: not necessary

Within 4 blocks of this home, you will find 6 restaurants, a post office, convenience store, liquor store, a fresh seafood store, an ATM, a pharmacy, 5 bars, a bike rental shop, a surf shop, 2 clothing/gift shops, and a wide, white-sand beach. Pedicab is just a block away. This is like a small horse-drawn carriage except that it is powered by an enterprising biker instead of a horse. (The Crab Cab is the island taxi service) A short walk to the north is a large park with ancient live oak trees and a gazebo beside a stream. A short walk to the south is the library and another park with picnic tables. A YMCA is adjacent to this park.

Availability

From $99 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak season
May 1 2015 - Sep 6 2015
1 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Mid Season Fall
Sep 7 2015 - Oct 31 2015
1 night minimum stay
$150
$880
 
 
Off season 1
Jan 1 2016 - Feb 29 2016
1 night minimum stay
$99
$599
$1,900
 
 
Mid season Spring
Mar 1 2016 - Apr 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$150
$880
 
 
Peak season
May 1 2016 - Sep 4 2016
1 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • Cleaning Fee $75.00 + Tax
  • Tax Rate 13.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 20, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Budget

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet

Kitchen

  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Suitability

  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village

Attractions

  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • toilet, cabinet sink, shower, no tub

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The living room has 2 sofa sleepers, 1 queen and 1 full. (Maximum occupancy for the house is 6.)

Outside

  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.