Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit

Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit


Property Details

Updated: May 18, 2015
Two bedrooms, One bathroom. Sleeps 6

Kula Kottage is an eco-friendly vacation cottage located Kula, Maui's premier bedroom community. Constructed from beautiful red and yellow cedars, cherry hardwood floors. 180 degree view of central Maui, including North and South shore.

Twenty minutes to the beach and twenty minutes to Haleakala National Park. 15-20 minutes to Kula and Makawao forest reserves.

Beds are natural latex, linens and towels are also natural fabrics. Furnishings are from re-cycled teak.

Visit our web site for more info and downloadable forms.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 18, 2015

23 Reviews

based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui

Romantic get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
Kula Kottage is the best if you like to be away from the crowds and neighbors. It has a lot of privacy which my husband and I really like. I really liked the shower, it is roomy and great. This was our 25th anniversary trip and treated it like we were newlyweds so the privacy was great! We weren't that far from anyplace we wanted to go and traveled all the roads. Up country is a little cooler than the beach places but didn't bother us. It was clean and well-maintained and Debra is a gem, brought us a battery charger when our car didn't start one morning. I highly recommend this cottage.
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: i am so happy you enjoyed your anniversary surprise visit to Maui. Come again!
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Moscow, ID

Perfect for our first trip to Maui

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I rented this Kula Cottage for 4 nights on our recent, first trip to Maui. We found the cottage to be very clean and contain everything we needed. It could easily accommodate another couple of guests as there was one bedroom that we did not use. The views were spectacular and it was a great base to all the activities that we chose to do including visiting the volcano twice (trying to find the perfect weather to hike across it) and kayaking at Makawena Landing. If you like to be away from the "maddening crowds", as we do, Kula Cottage will work very well for you.
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui

Stay on Maui

  • 4 of 5
All went well until the last day, when we somehow inadvertently put in the wrong date of departure. We don't know whose mistake this was, as our flight out was booked on the proper day. The owner was downright rude, and intimated that we were trying to pull something, and offered no help in our quandary, except for an expensive extra night option with double cleaning fees. In fact, it seemed he couldn't wait to get rid of us. We spent that night in a very expensive hotel.

Other than that, the house was fine except the beds were too small for two people. I would have highly recommended this place except for this misunderstanding which we feel was very poorly handled.

Any one who rents this property should deal with Jeremy and steer clear of Ben.
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: First let me apologies for any miscommunication. The records indicate that you intended to checkout on the 2nd and didn't until 4pm, we had others checking in a that time. The checkout time was 11:00 am. because people checking in we're friends, the offered to spend their 1st nite in the main house, so you could stay an extra nite. My offer to you was to pay the rate for the extra nite, but you would have to pay a 2nd cleaning fee. Keep in mind the maid had already started cleaning before your return and we paid her three hours overtime. Again I am sorry for the miscommunication. Aloha Ben
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Oahu, Hawaii

Perfect getaway weekend in Up Country

  • 5 of 5
This is a great location and could nt ask for a better value with the quality of this rental. Had a small issue with WiFi that I only mention because of how quickly someone arrived to resolve the issue. The cottage had a stale almost smoke like smell upon arrival(could be from all the wood), not sure if it was just from being closed up with no air circulation prior to our stay. We opened the windows and by day 2 it had improved but still noticeable. It would not be a reason that I would not return or recommend this great property though. Looking forward to returning for another peaceful weekend retreat in the future!
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Millwood, N.Y.

nice looking place with issues

  • 3 of 5
Nice looking home outside and inside. Good location for seeing all of Maui. Unfortunately the outdoor grill didn't work, no roasting pans provided so we had to bake in a pot. Only two bath towels provided for three people, we found a couple more hidden in a bag in a closet but they were old and stained. There were three roach sightings in the kitchen despite us keeping it clean, after seeing them we didn't use the kitchen anymore. When it gets dark swarms of waterbugs hang out outside the home. The only soaps provided are liquid hand soap and a little dishwashing soap. If you plan to cook keep in mind nothing is provided in terms of salt, spices etc. Expect the house and not much more in terms of amenities though there was a beach umbrella and chairs. Also the Wi-Fi is unpredictable.

Haleakala is nearby.
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry for your experience, could debate your comments, but that won't change your conclusions. There baking dishes are in the cabinet and the cabinet in bath had 4 sets of towels. We do not spray with chemicals, so keeping it clean is very important. County health rules will not allow us to furnish any foodstuff such as spices. Having a negative review like this is extremly dissappointing and we hope others will consider all the other positive reviews
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
+1 -808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Alamo, CA

Away from the crowds!

  • 5 of 5
We really wanted to get away from the crowds and the Kula Cottage was great for having a real Maui experience. It was cleaned and well maintained and I would totally recommend it to a friend or family.
The cottage had all the amenities we needed to make us feel at home. It was quiet, with the exception of the neighbors poor little goat who was tied up in the sun with no water. The goat was bleating and it was not a normal goat bleat, it was more like a scream. I was stressed out about this for two hot days, so I politely went and talked to the neighbor about the goat and they moved the goat into the shade, gave it some water and it stopped bleating.

Other than that small issue we had not one "bad" thing to note about the cottage. The location is great, the nearby towns are awesome, and the crater is close by. Just make sure you keep it clean because the bugs in Hawaii are busy and big!
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway


Activity and Interests

Upcountry Maui is Maui's premier bedroom community. It overlooks the isthmus of the island with views of both north and south shores. Upcountry consists of the communities of Makawao, Kula, Keokea, and Pukalani. Above Makawao, we have the forest reserve and to the west, we have Kula forest reserve. Our temperture is moderate. Hiking, and biking in the forest or Haleakala National Park. And much more.

Other Activities: Zip lines


From $239 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Feb 6 2014 - Jul 31 2015
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

  • Cleaning $125.00 + Tax
  • Property Damage Protection $59.00
  • Tax Rate 13.42%

1-2 people 3-4 people
$199.00 per night $249.00 per night

$125.00 Cleaning Fee
$49.00 Property Damage Proction

Call for last min deals!

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 18, 2015


Property Type

  • cottage

Accommodation Type

  • Guest House


  • Romantic


  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television

Onsite Services

  • Housekeeper


  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Mountain
  • Ocean View
  • Rural


  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 800 sq. ft.


  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main Bath - toilet, shower
  • Our bathroom sports a very large walk-in shower. It has hand held shower plus multiple jets for an wonderful experience.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Main - 1 double
  • Guest - 1 double
  • Living Room Sleeper - 1 queen, 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Our bedrooms are furnished with recycled teak and Natural Latex beds from the Organic Mattress Company. Cool quiet luxury. The bed linens and towels are all natural fabrics.


  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.