Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Apr 5, 2015
Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

NEW LISTInG; This is a true 3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom Penthouse at the top of one of the most popular Vacation Rental destinations in Costa Rica with high ceilings and a feeling of luxury throughout. The terraces and balconies with many beautiful plants make you feel like you’re in your in a castle with your own lush gardens.

You can’t get any closer to Tamarindo Beach and from anywhere in this gem you see memorable panoramic views of the ocean, beaches and coast of Guanacaste. Relax; get enjoy the Pura Vida culture that makes Costa Rica famous.

Stand on your balcony and feel at peace as your finally enjoying that vacation you’ve been promising the family for years. You’re in Tamarindo , the Riviera of Central America and you can feel the excitement. You will be amazed at how warm and friendly you find the people of this wonderful Country. The 175 M2/1850 S.F. Penthouse affords everyone the space they need to enjoy themselves and really feel they’re on vacation.

You will find the large free-form all tile pool with its incredible waterfalls the perfect place to refresh yourself. You are right on the white sand beaches of Tamarindo and can walk for miles on the wide rockless coast. You will agree that these 5 star accommodations beat a small hotel room by miles and are more affordable than you ever thought. Our guests sense we care about them and the quality of their stay with us. We provide a level of service that is hard to beat and we are available 24/7.

Stay with us and get the TLC you deserve.

Keywords: oceanfront, penthouse, ocean view, luxury condo, tamarindo condo, 3 bedroom penthouse for rent

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

I am still very active in my profession but will some day retire to this wonderful property. I am as close to the sea as you can get. I can fish, surf, play golf or scuba dive, all the things I love to do.

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, spanish
Calendar last updated:
April 5, 2015

Guestbook comments from the manager

To whom it may concern: As of May 1 2014, VRBO 376921 is being managed by the Stay in Tamarindo Vacation Rentals. Lucas, Danielle or Jen will be responding to your inquiries and we want you to know we are committed to provide an excellent service. Looking forward to having you stay with us!
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Lake Oswego, OR

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
We just stayed in this glorious place for the 2nd time and we loved it again. Right at Tamarindo Beach and we never needed a car. We were a party of 6 and were very comfortable. We love the pool. We barbecued several times and this wonderful place was affordable. We looked forward to the sunsets on the balcony and terrific views. We never stayed at a better place and the pool is awesome. We’ll be back next year again.
Ted S
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste

Sunrise Condo Tamarindo

  • 5 of 5
We just stayed in VRBO #376921 and nobody solicited this response we felt compelled to make it after looking at some of the others. First of all we’re 4 engineers from Wisconsin. We all agree that none of us have ever had a nicer vacation. One of the people in our group had stayed at the Sunrise Condos before. He enjoyed this one more because is was a front row penthouse with killer views of the ocean from every window. You really could not have a better location. The beach, shops, and fantastic restaurants are all within easy walking distance.

The manager greeted us on arrival and took us to the condo. We went wow when we walked in and he proceeded to tell us about a lot of places of interest and the best places to dine. He whipped out a map labeling some nice spots to eat, shop, etc. The pool was extremely nice. We would typically go to the pool in the morning before the beach. There were nice showers by the pool to rinse off before heading back up to the condo. We had a lot of fun at the pool. No the furniture was not fancy however we stayed here because of the great location and we found the beds and other furniture comfortable. We had drinks ate, barbeque and lounged around a big patio from our Penthouse that gave us awesome views of the ocean , beach, mountains and whole coastline. We did have our own parking spot but it was not needed. Everything was within walking distance and we had Joel arrange transportation to and from the airport. Joel also arranged a day trip into Arenal to go ziplining, white water rafting, and to see some hot springs. Both worked out really well and the trip to Arenal was probably the highlight. The Costaricans that drove us around were the nicest people you can imagine. They were also very knowledgeable. Ask for Doug.

We are planning on coming back to this Penthouse next year. It seems like some of the issues with the place have been worked out. The internet worked well and Joel was good to work with for arranging transportation and day excursions. The price is very reasonable for what you get. I would highly recommend this place for the location and views. Like I said the furniture is not the greatest but you have everything you need in the condo and it is clean. We had four but it will sleep more. 5 star

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Those are kind words. Some adverse reviews have come our way because in one case mistakes were made however there is no better location in Tamarindo for this Penthouse that sleeps 8 and provides memorable reviews from every place in the property. You are a few steps from the best beach in the opinion of many in the country and can walk to everything. The pool is a masterpiece of engineering; large free form with an amazing water falls. It is spacious and comfortable.

During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Austin Tx

Stay at Sunrise condo Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I and 5 older children just stayed in this penthouse condo for 7 nights in Costa Rica. It was better than expected. The views were outstanding and the location could not have been better for our family. We could walk to the surf in 4 minutes. The kitchen really is a chefs dream , it has at the utensils you need for any meal, we saved alot of money by cooking in the condo. We had a small problem with one of the toilets but Joel Hookerman had a guy out within an hour to fix it. We give it great reviews and a great price for size , location, style, and views. We will for sure stay there again next year on our visit. Thanks Joel for all your help. Gary and family.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These are very generous unsolicited positive comments. I respectively request that anyone thinking about staying here read all the reviews on this listing. Out of dozens of properties i manage only 2 have ever been less than 5 star and they're both appear at this listing. Let me say this; in both cases i tried to pacify both parties unsuccessfully. I honestly believe that neither review was valid in any way, shape or form. I have dozens of excellent reviews from the many properties I manage that are shown on this site. We go out of are way to try to make a guest feel good about they're stay with us. I check them in personally and tell them my opinion on the best places to dine writing them down and marking the location of each on a map. Our people don't go home at 4 PM. We answer our phones 24/7 and can provide needed service any time it's required.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Holbrook, NY

Misrepresented!!! Know before you go!

  • 2 of 5
We arrived at the condo, our party of 6, hot and tired from our journey from NY only to learn that it was still occupied by the previous tenant. Apparently, the manager had given her three additional free days! This after personally speaking with him on the phone only 3 days prior because he failed to answer my email. After a couple of hours, during which the manager disappeared, the previous tenand and her 2 guests agreed to leave and he found her another place to stay. I can't begin to explain my utter terror at bringing my grandchildren to another country with no place to stay. That being said, the condo itself is not as pictured. There is no wrap around porch, nor a double bed. There is one king in the master bedroom, but both other rooms have twin beds. The condo had everything needed and the balcony was great for breakfast and relaxing. It did stay cool as it was shaded. Being located in Tamarindo was both good and bad. We could walk to everything but the noise from 2 bars was unbearable. My son actually went to see the guard at the gate at around 1am one morning. that was a drawback. The pool was great and we all enjoyed that, as was the beach. My major complaint was with the property manager. I felt his handling of his error was extremely unprofessional. He did not even send a cleaning lady to prepare for us. My daughter in law and I cleaned and changed the beds. Tamarindo is beautiful. There is something for everyone. But do your homework! Know before you go!
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest is correct we did book the family into the Penthouse when another guest was still there for a few more nights, however there were changes to the booking which mitigated my error. I apologized to everyone concerned while immediately finding the guest, still in occupation, another property at considerable expense to me. I then paid for their dinner of the people who moved out at one of the best restaurants in Tamarindo therefore the complaining guest had no loss whatsoever. The noise they heard was a holiday festival and not an every night occurrence. The configuration of the bedrooms is a king, 2 single beds and a bedroom with twin bunk beds. The property sleeps 8.

After checking them in I asked them to call or email me if they needed anything after arrival. I never heard a peep, nothing in the way of communication. The property is right next to Tamarindo Beach, it is one of the best locations in Tamarindo with an incredible large all-tile pool with a waterfall. There was never a "wrap around balcony" nor was there any picture(s) of one at the listing. These were photos taken of the property. I can't help if they were misinterpreted by the guests. I never said there was this type of balcony. The art collection the guest referred to are all original oils done by some of the best known artists in South and Central America and are not in bad taste. Had the guest communicated with me I would have been glad to cover them.

On contacting them and offering them a generous cash payment for withdrawing their complaint, even though I saw no wrong conduct on my part, they refused calling it "a bribe". Again if they had just picked up the telephone after their arrival- they had my local number and/or emailed me, I would of happily responded to any complaint they had however they never said a word (there was no communication) other than to write this punitive review.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Overland Park, KS

Good Experience

  • 4 of 5
The property is well located in the town of Tamarindo. Shops, restaurants, grocery stores, spas, yoga, surf board rentals and other services are very close by. The beach is an easy walk. It also has a nice view of the beach and ocean. This unit’s balcony is always in the shade (this is not true for other units in the same complex) and makes for a good place for breakfast and family card games. Inside, it is fairly well maintained and has granite counter tops. The kitchen has about everything you would expect a kitchen to have. The bathroom windows need some cleaning attention and the toilet lids need replaced. Some people could be offended by the topless women depicted in the paintings, but it is all done in good taste and our family had fun joking about them. Of course, we are from Kansas City (see earlier CA review). You will hear some party noise from the street most nights, but it seems to dissipate by around midnight. We believe this unit is the best one of all of the units in the four buildings due to shade, height and size. The complex has a nice common pool area with a huge set of waterfalls. It is also nice to know that there is security checking people in and out of the complex.
The property manager, Joel, met with us first thing and did a nice job highlighting the town map on where to go and things to do. He also arranged a fantastic full day tour for us. Most of the time, he was responsive by email or phone to any issues or questions we had during our stay. However, we only had two keys to the unit for six people (he promised us more) and we never did get any Kleenex or paper towels. There was also a mix up on the mid-week maid service and requested laundry soap. The WIFI was down for almost a day despite his assurance that he would be all over any issue day or night. Towards the end, he made a nice catch where he corrected our flight time out – we had the time wrong. The owner showed the unit once during our stay to a prospective buyer. Overall, Joel is a decent manager who is more available than most.
All things considered, we would definitely stay is this unit if we had it to do it all over again.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Oceanfront Penthouse on Tamarindo Beach
+1 -754 223-0031
Tamarindo Guanacaste


  • 5 of 5
Our family stayed in this residence for a month and enjoyed every minute of it. We were leery prior to our stay due to the one negative review but found that to be a misrepresentation of both the accommodations and the management. We loved the location and we never grew tired of the views. Absolutely stunning. Being right on the beach was perfect for our active family. We could leave, rent a surf board on the way to the beach and be surfing within minutes. This condo was wonderful to come home to at the end of the day and we saw many gorgeous sunsets right from the balcony. The manager made sure we had our footing in the town and made sure we were comfortable before leaving us on our own. He was always just a phone call away. We would definitely stay here again and will be forever grateful for our Costa Rica adventure!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.


From the Owner

I'm in a Penthouse, right on Tamarindo Beach. Out of every windo and from my balconies and terraces I see the ocean and the coast and mountains.

Activity and Interests

surf lessons, surf tours, volcano tours, national parks tours


From $200 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
April Season
Apr 6 2015 - Apr 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
Spring Season
May 1 2015 - Jun 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
Summer Season
Jun 16 2015 - Aug 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
Green Season
Aug 16 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
Low Season
Nov 1 2015 - Nov 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 21 2015 - Nov 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
Medium Season
Nov 29 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Apr 5, 2015


From the Owner

The vaulted ceilings give you the feeling of lots of space and in 60 seconds I'm surfing in front of my property. I can walk to everything and never need a car. There is no other condominium that has a better swimming pool and at the end of every day i swim laps.

Property Type

  • condo


  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront


  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping

Local Services & Businesses

  • fitness center

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • 2


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bunk Area
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1) Double bunk beds sleep 4, Twin or Single Beds (2)


  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.