Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Feb 5, 2015
House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Old-fashioned New England summer house: 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living/dining area, screened-in porch, mountain view, meadows, walking distance to Chocorua Lake.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 5, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time. Enjoyed great fishing and boating, the fireplace, and, most of all, the great library. Thanks for the memories.
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 6

5 Reviews

based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Chocorua NH summer house
+1 -(603) 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains

Chocorua view carriage house

  • 5 of 5
This charming old homestead is lovingly maintained. The listing description is totally accurate and the owner is a delight to work with. It's a place that is perfect for a large gathering or a smaller group interested in relaxing and reading on the breezy and large screened porch that looks out to Mt. Chocorua. The location far off the road makes it wonderfully safe for your pet. If you're not one to sit still, there's shopping and lots of activities in North Conway, driving the Kancamagus Highway, taking in a play at the Barnstormers theatre, and visiting the Remick Country Doctor Museum. The dirt road is lovely for long walks and there are many lakes nearby for swimming and kayaking, or for the more adventurous, a day hike to the summit of Mt. Chocorua.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. We couldn't have a better endorsement for my family summer house where, as children, we did so many of the activities that you describe so well. I really appreciate your wonderful list of all that the house and the area has to offer. Thank you!
Chocorua NH summer house
+1 -(603) 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains

Our Favorite Summer Place!

  • 5 of 5
This was our fourth year staying at this lovely country home on Lake Chocorua. Having been coming to Tamworth for over 40 years we felt very lucky to have found a home that so perfectly captures summer in New Hampshire from the cozy wood paneled rooms to the large airy porch with captivating views of Mount Chocorua. Swimming and kayaking is just a short leisurely walk past meadows awash in wildflowers and blueberries. The great room and long dining table easily accommodate our large family and visiting friends as well as our annual family reunion dinner. The kitchen is well stocked with all that's needed for cooking and baking. The spaciousness of the home offers privacy for guests while being cozy at the same time. The location is perfect for access to hiking trails, and the beautiful town of Tamworth with its scenic country farm museum and The Barnstormers Summer Theater. The owners are a joy to work with, very helpful and always accessible. We look forward to next summer already!
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Chocorua NH summer house
+1 -(603) 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains

We love this house!

  • 5 of 5
We just finished a two-week stay at the house and we could not be happier! This is our third year renting the house and we look forward to going back in 2015. The layout works perfectly for the two families that stay there (one from MN, one from CA). Each family has its own "wing" (bedrooms and a bathroom). Of course, we spend most of our time together in the beautiful living room and on the charming screened porch. And we adore the gorgeous, huge dining room table! It comfortably seats our whole crew and leaves plenty of room for guests. The cabin-like feel of the place brings me back to my many wonderful summers at camp. The house is also very kid-friendly - it even comes with toys and beach paraphernalia! We have many happy memories of the house, and we look forward to making more. Thank you for letting us make this lovely place our home!
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Chocorua NH summer house
+1 -(603) 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains

Dark and Uncomfortable House

  • 2 of 5
Though this house has a nice location, it was very uncomfortable for our stay. The house is extremely dark, making it nearly impossible to read in the evenings. Due to the staircases, falls are also possible. In addition, every bed in the house is shot. After a long hike in the mountains, one craves a good night's sleep, though this is difficult on old, damaged beds, all of which need to be replaced. In addition, the house has a mold and a mouse problem. There is a very unpleasant odor.

With a bit of maintenance, the owners might make this a more comfortable property.

The owners require renters to drive garage to the dump; the drive is at least twenty minutes away.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The last negative reviewers of the house are those who left the house trashed and damaged. It is hard not to believe that this review is not petty revenge for the fact that we very strongly objected and and charged them for the extra cleaning costs and the damages. The review says more about them than it does about the house The contract requires them to leave the house in the condition they found it. With the garbage, everybody in the area takes their garbage to the dump. This is the country. Nobody has ever objected to that before. It is one of the conditions for renting the house. If they don't want to take out the garbage, they shouldn't rent the house. It is an old house. We keep it not to rent it, but because it is very dear to our family, and for this reason, we keep it as we remember it, and much of the furniture is old. Many people think that, with the barn, meadow, and Chororua mountain in the background, it has the loveliest view in the area. The vast majority of our renters find the house and the property very charming. The property itself has real historical significance. Abraham Lincoln's son stayed there many times. In the country mice are not uncommon. All houses in the area have the problem and we battle to deal with it. Bears have been seen very close to the house. What would they do in that case? It is hard to believe that somebody who in the country is bothered by mice can get very far up any mountain. This is not at all an expensive summer rental property. This in not a Holiday Inn, which for a week would cost substantially more and wouldn't remotely have the equivalent view. The telltale is that the reviewers, while identifying the property, remained anonymous themselves, so as to avoid taking personal responsibility, behavior we find consistent with their treatment of the house.
Chocorua NH summer house
+1 -(603) 323-8122
Tamworth White Mountains

Poorly maintained, dirty and a mouse problem

  • 2 of 5
Having rented many vacation properties, in my opinion this house is not in a suitable condition for renting. It is shabby, damp and really requires some attention spent on it. From the outside it looks lovely, but the interior is not well maintained or properly cleaned. I did not expect new furnishings, but I did not expect blinds that were held together with staples, holes in curtains, flaking paint and water/mold stains on the ceilings. We arrived to find a mouse nest in the hutch (and one very surprised mouse) and mouse droppings all over the kitchen work surfaces and cupboards, in and around the china, cutlery and coffee filters. While there, we set traps and caught 4 mice. Living in the country myself I understand the problem, but little seemed to be being done to rectify the situation. The mouse traps in place were old and dusty and looked like they hadn’t been touched in ages. The bed linen was stained and despite looking in the linen closet, we couldn’t find more items that weren’t stained. Many of the pillows were old, lumpy and heavily stained too. One of the beds had a wooden board under the mattress and it still sagged terribly. In general the house required significant cleaning as there were layers of dirt and dust all over the place with cobwebs inside the pots in a cupboard. Due to the mouse activity and unclean condition of the cooking pots and utensils we decided to eat out. The bathrooms were newer and clean. No fire alarms or CO2 detectors were installed. The location of this house is perfect for families with children being set back of the road and also an ideal location for all the sights of the White Mountains.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that these renters felt this way. The house is an old summer family house. It is not a hotel. It has been lived in and enjoyed by many satisfied renters and family members. The furnishings are not new, but adequate and acceptable. Previous renters have found charming what these renters objected to. The cleaners come between rentals and leave it in good condition for the next family. We are constantly trying to update the house. Last year new bathroom fixtures were installed. This year, there will be a new living room floor. We do have a (family friendly) pest control plan with Orkin, but apologize for any mice that get through. We really want the house and the renters to be well-matched. As you can see from the other very positive reviews, that is the case.


Activity and Interests

Hiking, swimming, boating, theatre, contra dancing.


Rental rates


  • Weekly Rate: $1000 - $1000

    Monthly Rate: $1800 - $1800

  • 2014 Rates
    $1000/ week or $1800/ fortnight

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Feb 5, 2015


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Family


  • pets considered


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5


  • Linens, dishes, washing machine, dryer, dish washer, fire place, large porch with beautiful view of Chocorua Mountain, access to small private beach shared with neighbors.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.