Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: May 20, 2015
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 6 Sleeps

This charming 800 square foot cottage is located just a block from

the beach and only one short block from downtown Cannon Beach on the

West side of Hemlock Street. This cottage has two bedrooms. One

bedroom has a queen-size bed. The second bedroom has two twin

beds.

There is a large queen size sleeper couch in the living room. The cottage sleeps six people comfortably. There is a full size kitchen with a dishwasher and microwave. The kitchen is completely furnished with all the basics for cooking. Both the livingroom and master bedroom have TV/Blue Ray Players and are hooked up to digital cable. The second bedroom has a TV/Blue Ray Player. A large deck surrounds the front of the cottage.

You can hear the ocean roar while sunning on this deck.

From the cottage, you're a few minutes walk to the beach and about a

mile from Haystack Rock. At night, walk down to the beach and make

a fire! This quiet cabin is located in a quiet residential

neigborhood just steps from downtown.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

10 Reviews

4.2
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
BC, Canada
4

Amazing location

  • 4 of 5
In terms of location, this cottage is amazing. We were there for the beach, and this is two blocks away from it. You can't walk straight up Taft to access the beach, but it's just up Taft and down S Laurel and you're there. I also loved the fact that the place is right at the edge of town, so it's super easy to walk out and get access to shops and restaurants. We practically didn't need our car during our 3-night stay.

The place itself has two bedrooms (one queen bed, and two twins), a living room with two couches, a dining room with a huge table and 8 chairs, and a fully stocked kitchen. Everything you need to make a homemade meal is available from pots and pans to utensils and kettle and blender--you name it. There's even sugar and flour and some basic seasoning. There's a deck in the backyard, and a deck in the front with a BBQ and patio furniture. The bathroom is great with a huge deep soaker tub and washer/dryer.

So why the 4 stars? Here's the deal. I have no problems with the self-cleaning. Dwight made it very clear when we booked the place that it's a part of the deal. Ok, cool. The thing is, when a place is self-clean, you're really at the mercy of the previous renter. When we arrived, the rug in the living room and the two-twin-beds room are covered in dog hair and human hair, and the bathtub had a layer of sand on the bottom. There were little things left behind like a man's ring and a pair of ladies sunglasses. So if you are ok with taking a chance on a previous renter's cleaning abilities, this place is perfect!

Also, there was only one roll of toilet paper in the bathroom for our 3-night stay. By the time we realized that there was only one roll, we needed another roll in a hurry. As suggested by the little labels around the cottage, we accessed the attic to see if there was more. As soon as you step up the ladder to the attic, you'll notice the rodent droppings. There was a cardboard box that might have contained toilet paper, but it was chewed up by rodent and we didn't want to touch the box.

Would I recommend this location? Absolutely! Just bring your own tp and be prepared to clean the place to your specs upon arrival.
  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
1

Birthday Bummer

  • 1 of 5
We stayed here for a to celebrate my birthday over a long weekend in January. We had several problems with this stay and many of the promised amenities were not available. The refrigerator didn't work, nor did the laundry, making the "cleaning policy" very challenging. The Wifi didn't work, nor did the cable or DVD player(s). Granted we were at the beach- but when night rolled around ,it would have been nice to have what was promised to be available.

The rates were low-which was great, however this was because of the cleaning policy. The concept is great, if you clean properly. This house was very dirty. Dust and grime. Needed a deep cleaning. Tried to air out the space, but the sliding screen door fell off when we opened the slider.

The owner was very apologetic, but never made it right with us. HIs neighbor was very nice though and even offered to help with laundry.

This cottage looked great on paper, has lots of opportunity for improvement.
  • Submitted: May 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of your stay in January.
I am sorry for the all difficulties that you had during your time in January at my cottage. I addressed all of the issues that you have raised. My goal is for all my guests to have a 5 star experience with a reasonable price.
During your stay the cable-internet became disconnected at the pole due to work done on the pole by the utility company. This was discovered by the cable repair person who was requested when I was notified of your difficulty. Unfortunately they could not get to my property till after you left. The refrigerator was frozen over and subsequently defrosted. Still it was not sufficient and I replaced it with a new refrigerator. The cottage has been deep cleaned since your stay and is scheduled every six months. Finally, the dryer malfunctioned due to a power surge that fried the control board. This has been fixed and I have subsequently replaced the feeder panel in the cottage. I know that my local manager took care of your linen washing and drying as the dryer was out until I got the dryer control board replaced.

I would hope you would give the cottage another try!

Dwight
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
5

Wonderful beach vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
Perfect Cannon Beach cottage. So close to the beach and town. It was nice and quite during our stay and the weather was wonderful. The neighborhood is quaint and friendly.
The cabin was clean and had everything we needed.
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your review with my potential guests. I am glad you had a good time and found the cottage a 5 star experience.

Dwight
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
4

Very good!

  • 4 of 5
Very good, we shared this rental with my folks. The rental is easy to find and well stocked. The owner has thought of everything. Description is accurate. We stayed two nights and went to Mo's for dinner. We were there off season so parking was no problem, however parking could get interesting in the busy summer months. All in all it was a great place and would do it again.
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.
You are right. My property only has two off street parking spots. If you choose to drive to other parts of Cannon Beach like Tolivanna you may encounter difficulty parking. Thankfully the cottage is in downtown Cannon Beach so my guests can walk to most everything.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others!

Dwight
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
Seattle
5

Excellent, but be prepared

  • 5 of 5
This is my second stay at the Cannon Beach Cottage. The description is very accurate. The location is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen is well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. The fridge has complicated instructions, and it didn't keep our food cold. The cleanliness of the home is very dependent on the guests who stay before you. On one stay, the cottage was very clean. This time it was ok -- we needed to wash the mattress pad on one of the twin beds due to a urine smell. We also vacuumed (I suspect that a white dog had recently stayed). However, the price is right -- not paying a cleaning fee makes this place very affordable. You do have to plan most of the morning that you leave for cleaning (and maybe some time after you arrive, depending on your preference for how clean you like the cabin/how well the guest before you cleaned).
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our Cannon Beach Cottage and for being one of our repeat guests. In an effort to keep our rent costs affordable we do ask our renters to do the cleaning.

In the past ten years, we have had two less than desirable outcomes. Unfortunately yours is one of the two. I wish you had called me when you discovered the issue with the linen as I would have had someone come and fix this for you. I am sorry this situation occurred. I do have the cottage professionally deep cleaned every 6 months to assure as clean and hypoallergenic stay as possible for our guests.

Since your recent stay I have replaced the refrigerator with a new frostless model to prevent the refrigerator problem from reoccurring.

I appreciate your 5 star rating of our Cottage. We always work to provide the best and affordable experience for our guests every time they stay.

Dwight Thompson
Owner
business
Cannon Beach Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7003927
+01 -2063999477
Cannon Beach Coastal Oregon
Vancouver, Canada
5

The perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
This is the perfect rental home. Our family of six has rented numerous rentals in various destinations and this one is at the top of our list. Extremely clean, very quaint, and very well-stocked. We have rented this home a few years in a row, and it has yet to disappoint. Comfortable beds and plenty of quilts and pillows. The kitchen is well stocked. No spiders,etc. as per the last review. The location can't be beat. Right downtown. There is nothing better than waking up early in the morning to sit out on the oversized deck with a cup of coffee. Very private. The owner is very accommodating and takes very good care of his rental and his renters. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. Absolutely no complaints. We've already booked for next year again!!
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Portland International at 70 Miles Nearest Barpub : many of these at 50 Metres Nearest Golf : In Seaside at 8 Miles Nearest Train : Portland AMTRAK at 70 Miles Nearest Motorway : US 101 at 0.5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : EVOO at 10 Metres Nearest Beach : Cannon Beach at 100 Metres Car: recommended

Cannon Beach is one of the most popular beach destinations on the West Coast and is often rated in the top 10 by Sunset Magizine. It is only a 1 1/2 hour drive from Portland and just 4 hours from Seattle. Many people believe that Cannon Beach has one of the best ocean beaches and oceanfront communities in Oregon and the West Coast.

Haystack Rock, a giant monolith, is located just a short walk away.

This rock draws thousands of tourists as it is home to starfish, sea

urchins, sea birds, and many other sealife of the Oregon Coast.

The City of Cannon Beach is known for its art shops, local live

theatre and friendly atmosphere. Stroll down the main street and you will find many clothing and speciality shops. Excellent restraunts are just a stroll away featuring a full variety of foods from informal

hamburger and pizza places to fine Northwest cuisine dining.

Seaside, just seven miles away, boasts an outlet mall, a

cineplex, and many shops and restaurants. The kids will enjoy the

arcade and bumper cars located in heart of downtown Seaside. Mom and dad will enjoy the antique and speciality shops which are throughout the city.

Availability

From $99 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Mar 6 2015 - Jun 12 2015
2 night minimum stay
$125
$725
$2,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 13 2015 - Sep 5 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
$4,000
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$125
$725
$2,500
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2015 - Mar 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$99
$595
$2,500
 
 
Spring
Mar 5 2016 - Jun 12 2016
2 night minimum stay
$130
$725
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • Pet Fee $40.00 + Tax
  • Tax Rate 7.0%

Guests must clean the cottage upon departure. Cleaning includes washing and drying of all linens and making the beds. I suggest that on the day of departure that you wash your bed sheets when you get up as this process is what takes the longest to complete. A cleaning checklist and supplies are provided.
Check-in at 3PM. Check out is at 1PM.
No refunds for cancellations within 30 days for all dates except July and August. For July and August there are NO refunds within 60 days.
PAYPAL can be used otherwise I accept checks.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 20, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View

Attractions

  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing

Floor Area

  • 800 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • We have a roomy bathroom with a deep tub for a cozy cabin.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen Bed Sofa Foldout in Living Room. Very firm and does not use springs.

Outside

  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Oceanfront Nearby (walking distance) Non Smoking Pets Considered Two decks Digital Cable TV High speed internet - WIFI Gas barbecue Freezer 2 Wide Screen LED TV 1 VCRs 1 DVD Players 1 BlueRay player

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.