The 1843 House

The 1843 House

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Come enjoy the Finger Lakes year round while staying at 'The 1843 House'. It is a single family, 4 bedroom, home located on the west side of Cayuga Lake, just minutes from Seneca Falls (13 miles) and Ithaca (25 miles). It is close to the wineries on both Cayuga and Seneca Lakes. Built in 1843, it has old world charm with all the modern conveniences. You can find many antiques and period furniture as you move from room to room.

The house is completely furnished with 2 bedrooms downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There are 2 full bathrooms, one on each floor, a first floor laundry room with washer and dryer, a newly remodeled, eat-in fully equipped kitchen with new appliances including a

dishwasher, a large formal dining room and living room. The living room has a sleeper sofa which can be used if additional sleeping accomodations are needed. A door in one of the downstairs bedrooms opens to stone patio that is completely fenced in. There is plenty of parking, a red barn, a huge yard with several mature trees to shade you from the sun, 3 stone patios, picnic table and chairs, and front porch.

Across the road and 50 steps down, you will find 218 feet of lakefront with a shale beach, a new dock with a ladder, a canoe with paddles and a row boat with oars for your use, and a large deck with picnic table and chairs overlooking the water. Enjoy a campfire on the beach or in the fire pit on the side of the house.

There is no telephone land line but cell phone reception is excellent. Smoking is prohibited inside the house. Conservative use of the septic system, water and electricity is appreciated. Although the house is not child-proof, children are welcome.

Occupancy is limited to 10 maximum on the property.

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Barbecue
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much. We had a wonderful time even in the rain. If it is still for rent in 2015 we will give you a call. Certainly a little bit of heaven! Thank you again.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 26

Reviews

business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
New York, NY
4

Great vacation!

  • 4 of 5
This was our first time renting the 1843 house. The guest list: my wife and me, my brother & spouse w/two pre-teens, other brother with spouse, and my dad and wife. Speaking for everyone, a great time was had. The house itself is beautifully kept yet very comfortable. The modern kitchen is well appointed (three frying pans!)with modern conveniences and has a nice open layout to accommodate multiple cooks. The beds were all extremely comfy with extra pillows and blankets.

The grounds around the house are beautiful. We were pleasantly surprised with the patio furniture, modern and well-suited to the space. The beach area has a raised deck with picnic table and chairs. While access to the beach is adequately described on the website, the 50+ stairs can be daunting for older folks or those with mobility or health issues.

The other really positive about the place is access to touristy thing-to-do. Wineries everywhere, a state park (Taughannock Falls) with a beautiful waterfall and gorge for hiking, a goat farm (great cheese!), a brewery and a bunch of nice, informal restaurants.

If your looking for a resort experience with four-star dining and exciting night life, this ain't for you. If you want low-key, uncomplicated days with friendly people in some of nature's most beautiful surroundings, make your reservation today. We will surely be back!
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We really appreciate this review. We strive to give our renters the best possible experience while staying at our lake house. The house has all the modern conveniences but with the charm of a home built in 1843. When you stay at the house all you have to bring is your own linen, towels, food and personal items. Everything else that you may need is there. There is even a canoe and life preservers for our guests to use.

Come spend your vacation with us during the summer or a weekend during the fall, winter and spring. The house is also available by the month during the off season. We'd love to have you!
business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1

Functional but not clean and in poor condition

  • 1 of 5
We enjoyed our week at Cayuga Lake in spite of our disappointment in this cottage. The band at the winery next door was great & we also loved hiking at the state park.

We carefully read through this cottage's reviews available to us before booking this cottage; we also requested additional pictures in order to feel we would be sure to be getting what we were paying for. Unfortunately it was not the case.

The cottage had dozens of cobwebs, multiple ant traps in most rooms as well as on the kitchen counter and food on the kitchen floor from previous tenants. We found to difficult to believe the cottage is being cleaned on a weekly basis between tenants, as we were assured. The upstairs toilet was barely functional (we needed to pour water to ensure flushing) and the showers were not in good working condition. There was a crack in the kitchen window, paint and wallpaper were peeling throughout the house. The frame of the entrance door was broken so the door did not close properly without using force. The spindles on several dining room chairs were broken or taped with masking tape to hold together. The outdoor chairs were worn out and the white plastic chairs for the beach area were utilitarian at best.

Although there was a sufficient quantity of cookware, there was only 1 useable fry pan; i.e. without multiple scratches. We did not expect we would need to purchase a fry pan and spatula, as we did. Although the instructions indicated the fire pit should be used for fires away from trees, the fire pit is located on a cement block beside many trees. The house had a damp musty odour which was not very inviting and was the first sign upon entry that we were being excessively overcharged for the accommodations to be offered.

As it was last summer, one can only find positive reviews on line. For a period of time we were not able to post our review since the cottage was promptly removed from the rental site where we found it. We believe it is important to advise the owner, as we did, and to post this information for all to see before making a decision about a holiday.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: This is in response to a “courtesy” email of “disappointing aspects” we received last year and then a year later, the review on Craigslist.
If we had been contacted at the beginning of their stay we would have brought the cleaning service back into the house, fry pans would have been replaced and dining room chairs would have been switched with other chairs. We offered to compensate them but were informed that it was too late.
The charm of the house in part is due to the fact that the house was built in 1843. We, as well as previous owners, have made improvements and had renovations done to the structure, but it is still historically accurate and filled with many antiques. That being said, there are minor problems associated with a much older homes than that with modern homes. Even though the house is vacuumed and dusted regularly, cobwebs return. We spray the perimeter of the house but ants still manage to come in, hence ant traps. If we were to update the house to modern standards, we would severely impact its charm.
We feel we offer a decent value for the price; a stay in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine country in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom historic house with private access to over 200 feet of Cayuga Lake front.
As far as the upstairs bathroom toilet not being functional, sometimes the handle sticks and needs to be jiggled to allow water to fill back up. When not done, the toilet can't be flushed.
The patio chairs were faded due to being in the sun all summer but their structure and seats were not compromised. Since we’ve found plastic chairs in the lake and wooden picnic table benches used as firewood, the beach furnishings are utilitarian. The fire pit is placed on the cement block so the grass can be mowed around it. It is not heavy and can be moved to different locations around the perimeter of the house. If we had been asked about it, we could have clarified this.
Since last summer fry pans have been replaced, dining rooms chairs have been replaced, the bathroom wallpaper that was peeling has been removed and the walls have been painted, a new ceiling light fixture has been installed, the kitchen door frame has been filed so the door now closes properly, patio chairs have been replaced, etc.
We have been renting this house for the past 7 years and this is the first negative review we have received.
business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
Buffalo, NY
3

Not Quite What We Expected

  • 3 of 5
A group of friends and I stayed at the 1843 house for a week to reunite from miles apart. We had a wonderful time due to good company and shared laughter, but the house and our experience with the owners were not exactly what we had expected or hoped for due to a number of circumstances.

While the owner did notify us that the house was located on a busy street and the ad did state that the water was "50 steps down," we were surprised by the cars zipping past at 60+ mph and the three and a half flights of steep stairs that we had to climb up and down to get to and from the water.

The house was also smaller than we expected. It was loaded with plenty of old world charm but comfort was lacking and it felt more like a cabin than a relaxing retreat.

About a week after our stay I contacted the owner via email to inquire about our security deposit and received no response. A few days later I received a portion of it in the mail with a list of 10 reasons why we lost $75. While I do believe 2 reasons were legitimate and worth the $75 (kitchen not clean enough and excessive recycling), others on the list were shocking. The list was comprised of several statements about items not being put back exactly where they were found and it mentioned excessive garbage although we left much less garbage in the outdoor pail then was there when we arrived.

Another item on the list stated that "there seemed to be more people staying at the house than previously designated." but when I spoke with the owner before renting the property I informed her that there would be 5-6 of us staying the entire week and possibly a few more staying for a few days. On the day the owners came to unlock the barn which we accidentally locked with our bikes inside it, we had 8 people on the property, 1 of which was only visiting for the day. The "special visit" to unlock the barn was also included on the list even though we were assured repeatedly that it was not a hassle for the owner and her husband to visit. We even offered to call a locksmith and replace the lock ourselves.

I would not recommend renting this property to a friend because it was not worth the hassle. If you do choose to make the 1843 house your vacation destination be prepared for the busy street, the stairs, and to put dishes and blankets away in the exact cupboards they were found in.

Good Luck!
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We began renting the 1843 House at the end of 2007. Since then we have had over 50 summer weekly rentals as well as several fall rentals. We even had a long term rental (several months) while the family looked for a house to purchase. This was the first complaint we received and only the second time we had to deduct some money from the security deposit. I was out of town on vacation when her email was written and did not spend time checking emails until I returned home on August 7.

Before finding out that we took $75 off of their $500 security deposit, for the cost of a housecleaner and removing several large bags of recycling, the following was written in our guest book. “We had a wonderful time celebrating our milestone birthdays (30! Oh my!) Your house is gorgeous and the lake was well enjoyed. Thank you.” This was signed by 9 people. I included several other things on the list of why they did not get the entire security deposit back even though no money was deducted for those items. This did not include “putting dishes and blankets in the exact cupboards they were found in”.

In response to the paragraph about cars zipping passed at 60+ miles per hour, we have no control how fast cars go on a state road. They knew there were 50 steps down to the lake which means they would have to climb it each time. If you have to climb down 50 steps to get to the lake you should know that the lake is down a steep hill.

In response to the paragraph about the house being small and like a cabin, the house is over 1900 square feet with 4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, large eat-in kitchen, dining room and living room. Even though the house was built in 1843, it has been well taken care of and modernized. This includes a newly remodeled kitchen with brand new appliances and hardwood flooring.

Location

Activity and Interests

-Swimming

-Boating (bring own or rent)

-Hiking (several State Parks)

-Great Fishing

-Antique shops

-Fabulous Restaurants

-Wineries

-Chiropractic College, Cornell, Ithaca College, Wells College

-Golf and miniature golf

-Biking

-Skate Park in Ithaca

-Winter sports

-Outlet Mall and Finger Lakes Mall

-Theater

-Cinemas and Drive-In

-Museums

-MacKenzie-Childs

-Concerts

-Farmer's market

-Amish Craft Village

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$450
From
$450
From
$1,950
From
$1,800
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $300 - $450

    Weekly Rate: $1200 - $1950

    Monthly Rate: $1200 - $1950


  • The 1843 House is available year-round with a 1 week minimum stay from
    June 24 through Labor Day. During the rest of the year, the house is
    available by the night, weekend, week, month or long term.

    Rates are "Housekeeping Ready". You must bring your own linens and
    towels (blankets and pillows are supplied) and clean the house to
    the same or better condition you found it in. Due to a few requests,
    we can sometimes provide linens and towels and clean after you leave
    for an additional fee. Please inquire. Trash bags and cleaning supplies
    are provided.



    **************************************************2014 Rates*****************************************************


    January 1 - May 11: $1200/week (Sunday - Sunday), $300/night weekdays, $350/night
    May 25 - June 22: $1500/week (Sunday - Sunday), $400/night weekdays, 450/night weekends

    June 22 - September 7: $1950/week (Sunday - Sunday), add Labor Day for $400

    September 7 - October 26: $1500/week (Sunday - Sunday), $400/night weekdays, $450/night weekends(holidays)

    October 26 - December 31: $1200/week (Sunday - Sunday), $300/night weekdays, $350/night weekends, $1800/month plus utilities, except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years


    ***************************************************2015 Rates******************************************************
    January 1 - May 10: $1200/week (Sunday - Sunday), $300/night weekdays, $350/night weekends, $1800/month plus utilities, except graduation weekends

    May 10 - 24: $1500/week (Sunday - Sunday), $400/night weekdays, $450/night weekends, except graduation weekends

    Ithaca Graduation: $1200 for 2 nights, $400 each additional night

    Cornell Graduation: $1800 for 3 nights, $400 each additional night

    May 24 - June 21: $1500/week (Sunday - Sunday), $400/night weekdays, 450/night weekends

    June 21 - September 6: $1950/week (Sunday - Sunday), add Labor Day for $400

    September 6 - October 25: $1500/week (Sunday - Sunday), $400/night weekdays, $450/night weekends(holidays)

    October 26 - December 31: $1200/week (Sunday - Sunday), $300/night weekdays, $350/night weekends, $1800/month plus utilities, except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years
    A 50% (non-refundable) deposit due at time of rental, balance (also
    non-refundable) due 3 weeks prior to rental (bank checks or money
    orders only) along with a $500 security deposit. If cancel reservation, money will only be refunded if the house can be re-rented. A signed rental agreement is required.
    Please inquire about monthly rentals.

    Security deposit will be refunded within 30 days after rental provided
    no damages or excess cleaning is required.

    The summer rental week goes from Sunday to Sunday. Check-in is 3 PM and
    check-out is 10 AM.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Internet

Suitability

  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • -Fully equipped kitchen -Fans for all the rooms -Direct TV with DVD and VCR in living room -Wireless Internet Service -Sound system with CD player -Washer and Dryer -Iron and ironing board -Dishwasher -Microwave -Toaster oven -Coffee maker -Books and games -Canoe and rowboat -New dock with ladder -Deck, patios, porch -Four bedrooms - 1 queen, 2 double, 1 double with bunk beds -Full bath with shower and bathtub on first floor and full bath with stall shower on second floor -Picnic tables -Gas and charcoal grills -Fire pit -Oil heat -Electric decorative stove in kitchen
Email Owner Contact Me