The 1843 House

The 1843 House

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Oct 22, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Come enjoy the Finger Lakes year round while staying at 'The 1843 House'. It is a single family, 4 bedroom, home located on the west side of Cayuga Lake, just minutes from Seneca Falls (13 miles) and Ithaca (25 miles). It is close to the wineries on both Cayuga and Seneca Lakes. Built in 1843, it has old world charm with all the modern conveniences. You can find many antiques and period furniture as you move from room to room.

The house is completely furnished with 2 bedrooms downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There are 2 full bathrooms, one on each floor, a first floor laundry room with washer and dryer, a newly remodeled, eat-in fully equipped kitchen with new appliances including a

dishwasher, a large formal dining room and living room. The living room has a sleeper sofa which can be used if additional sleeping accomodations are needed. A door in one of the downstairs bedrooms opens to stone patio that is completely fenced in. There is plenty of parking, a red barn, a huge yard with several mature trees to shade you from the sun, 3 stone patios, picnic table and chairs, and front porch.

Across the road and 50 steps down, you will find 218 feet of lakefront with a shale beach, a new dock with a ladder, a canoe with paddles and a row boat with oars for your use, and a large deck with picnic table and chairs overlooking the water. Enjoy a campfire on the beach or in the fire pit on the side of the house.

There is no telephone land line but cell phone reception is excellent. Smoking is prohibited inside the house. Conservative use of the septic system, water and electricity is appreciated. Although the house is not child-proof, children are welcome.

Occupancy is limited to 10 maximum on the property.

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for a great couple of weeks. The house was just what we wanted - all the kids had a blast.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 29

Reviews

business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
-5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
4

A wonderful family vacation

  • 4 of 5
We found the listing accurate and thorough. Amenities and lake equipment were good. Having a row boat and canoe available to us was very nice. It was great to have a deck near the beach. The dock is more of a fishing pier than a boat dock, but served our needs.

We had 6 adults and two children on our family vacation. Plenty of room and a nice large table for dining.The outside property was spacious and well kept and provided a nice gathering area on the patio.

There is no air conditioning, but wasn't a problem for us, since the weather was cooler.

Well supplied kitchen. Generally the house was clean and comfortable. Owners were pleasant and responsive.

Because the house was for sale, there was a house showing while we were there. We knew that might be a possibility but it was awkward leaving, having to have the house in order and our belongings left behind. We left for the afternoon.

All in all, our week stay was a great location for our family vacation. We would recommend the house to others.
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I want to apologize again for having the house shown during your vacation. We really appreciated your leaving during that time. It was nice to read your kind words and the fact that you recommend our house to future renters.
business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
-5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
New York, NY
4

Great vacation!

  • 4 of 5
This was our first time renting the 1843 house. The guest list: my wife and me, my brother & spouse w/two pre-teens, other brother with spouse, and my dad and wife. Speaking for everyone, a great time was had. The house itself is beautifully kept yet very comfortable. The modern kitchen is well appointed (three frying pans!)with modern conveniences and has a nice open layout to accommodate multiple cooks. The beds were all extremely comfy with extra pillows and blankets.

The grounds around the house are beautiful. We were pleasantly surprised with the patio furniture, modern and well-suited to the space. The beach area has a raised deck with picnic table and chairs. While access to the beach is adequately described on the website, the 50+ stairs can be daunting for older folks or those with mobility or health issues.

The other really positive about the place is access to touristy thing-to-do. Wineries everywhere, a state park (Taughannock Falls) with a beautiful waterfall and gorge for hiking, a goat farm (great cheese!), a brewery and a bunch of nice, informal restaurants.

If your looking for a resort experience with four-star dining and exciting night life, this ain't for you. If you want low-key, uncomplicated days with friendly people in some of nature's most beautiful surroundings, make your reservation today. We will surely be back!
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We really appreciate this review. We strive to give our renters the best possible experience while staying at our lake house. The house has all the modern conveniences but with the charm of a home built in 1843. When you stay at the house all you have to bring is your own linen, towels, food and personal items. Everything else that you may need is there. There is even a canoe and life preservers for our guests to use.

Come spend your vacation with us during the summer or a weekend during the fall, winter and spring. The house is also available by the month during the off season. We'd love to have you!
business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
-5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1

Functional but not clean and in poor condition

  • 1 of 5
We enjoyed our week at Cayuga Lake in spite of our disappointment in this cottage. The band at the winery next door was great & we also loved hiking at the state park.

We carefully read through this cottage's reviews available to us before booking this cottage; we also requested additional pictures in order to feel we would be sure to be getting what we were paying for. Unfortunately it was not the case.

The cottage had dozens of cobwebs, multiple ant traps in most rooms as well as on the kitchen counter and food on the kitchen floor from previous tenants. We found to difficult to believe the cottage is being cleaned on a weekly basis between tenants, as we were assured. The upstairs toilet was barely functional (we needed to pour water to ensure flushing) and the showers were not in good working condition. There was a crack in the kitchen window, paint and wallpaper were peeling throughout the house. The frame of the entrance door was broken so the door did not close properly without using force. The spindles on several dining room chairs were broken or taped with masking tape to hold together. The outdoor chairs were worn out and the white plastic chairs for the beach area were utilitarian at best.

Although there was a sufficient quantity of cookware, there was only 1 useable fry pan; i.e. without multiple scratches. We did not expect we would need to purchase a fry pan and spatula, as we did. Although the instructions indicated the fire pit should be used for fires away from trees, the fire pit is located on a cement block beside many trees. The house had a damp musty odour which was not very inviting and was the first sign upon entry that we were being excessively overcharged for the accommodations to be offered.

As it was last summer, one can only find positive reviews on line. For a period of time we were not able to post our review since the cottage was promptly removed from the rental site where we found it. We believe it is important to advise the owner, as we did, and to post this information for all to see before making a decision about a holiday.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is in response to a “courtesy” email of “disappointing aspects” we received last year and then a year later, the review on Craigslist.
If we had been contacted at the beginning of their stay we would have brought the cleaning service back into the house, fry pans would have been replaced and dining room chairs would have been switched with other chairs. We offered to compensate them but were informed that it was too late.
The charm of the house in part is due to the fact that the house was built in 1843. We, as well as previous owners, have made improvements and had renovations done to the structure, but it is still historically accurate and filled with many antiques. That being said, there are minor problems associated with a much older homes than that with modern homes. Even though the house is vacuumed and dusted regularly, cobwebs return. We spray the perimeter of the house but ants still manage to come in, hence ant traps. If we were to update the house to modern standards, we would severely impact its charm.
We feel we offer a decent value for the price; a stay in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine country in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom historic house with private access to over 200 feet of Cayuga Lake front.
As far as the upstairs bathroom toilet not being functional, sometimes the handle sticks and needs to be jiggled to allow water to fill back up. When not done, the toilet can't be flushed.
The patio chairs were faded due to being in the sun all summer but their structure and seats were not compromised. Since we’ve found plastic chairs in the lake and wooden picnic table benches used as firewood, the beach furnishings are utilitarian. The fire pit is placed on the cement block so the grass can be mowed around it. It is not heavy and can be moved to different locations around the perimeter of the house. If we had been asked about it, we could have clarified this.
Since last summer fry pans have been replaced, dining rooms chairs have been replaced, the bathroom wallpaper that was peeling has been removed and the walls have been painted, a new ceiling light fixture has been installed, the kitchen door frame has been filed so the door now closes properly, patio chairs have been replaced, etc.
We have been renting this house for the past 7 years and this is the first negative review we have received.
business
The 1843 House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7009401
-5852716706
Romulus Cayuga Lake
Buffalo, NY
3

Not Quite What We Expected

  • 3 of 5
A group of friends and I stayed at the 1843 house for a week to reunite from miles apart. We had a wonderful time due to good company and shared laughter, but the house and our experience with the owners were not exactly what we had expected or hoped for due to a number of circumstances.

While the owner did notify us that the house was located on a busy street and the ad did state that the water was "50 steps down," we were surprised by the cars zipping past at 60+ mph and the three and a half flights of steep stairs that we had to climb up and down to get to and from the water.

The house was also smaller than we expected. It was loaded with plenty of old world charm but comfort was lacking and it felt more like a cabin than a relaxing retreat.

About a week after our stay I contacted the owner via email to inquire about our security deposit and received no response. A few days later I received a portion of it in the mail with a list of 10 reasons why we lost $75. While I do believe 2 reasons were legitimate and worth the $75 (kitchen not clean enough and excessive recycling), others on the list were shocking. The list was comprised of several statements about items not being put back exactly where they were found and it mentioned excessive garbage although we left much less garbage in the outdoor pail then was there when we arrived.

Another item on the list stated that "there seemed to be more people staying at the house than previously designated." but when I spoke with the owner before renting the property I informed her that there would be 5-6 of us staying the entire week and possibly a few more staying for a few days. On the day the owners came to unlock the barn which we accidentally locked with our bikes inside it, we had 8 people on the property, 1 of which was only visiting for the day. The "special visit" to unlock the barn was also included on the list even though we were assured repeatedly that it was not a hassle for the owner and her husband to visit. We even offered to call a locksmith and replace the lock ourselves.

I would not recommend renting this property to a friend because it was not worth the hassle. If you do choose to make the 1843 house your vacation destination be prepared for the busy street, the stairs, and to put dishes and blankets away in the exact cupboards they were found in.

Good Luck!
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We began renting the 1843 House at the end of 2007. Since then we have had over 50 summer weekly rentals as well as several fall rentals. We even had a long term rental (several months) while the family looked for a house to purchase. This was the first complaint we received and only the second time we had to deduct some money from the security deposit. I was out of town on vacation when her email was written and did not spend time checking emails until I returned home on August 7.

Before finding out that we took $75 off of their $500 security deposit, for the cost of a housecleaner and removing several large bags of recycling, the following was written in our guest book. “We had a wonderful time celebrating our milestone birthdays (30! Oh my!) Your house is gorgeous and the lake was well enjoyed. Thank you.” This was signed by 9 people. I included several other things on the list of why they did not get the entire security deposit back even though no money was deducted for those items. This did not include “putting dishes and blankets in the exact cupboards they were found in”.

In response to the paragraph about cars zipping passed at 60+ miles per hour, we have no control how fast cars go on a state road. They knew there were 50 steps down to the lake which means they would have to climb it each time. If you have to climb down 50 steps to get to the lake you should know that the lake is down a steep hill.

In response to the paragraph about the house being small and like a cabin, the house is over 1900 square feet with 4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, large eat-in kitchen, dining room and living room. Even though the house was built in 1843, it has been well taken care of and modernized. This includes a newly remodeled kitchen with brand new appliances and hardwood flooring.

Location

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

-Swimming

-Boating (bring own or rent)

-Hiking (several State Parks)

-Great Fishing

-Antique shops

-Fabulous Restaurants

-Wineries

-Chiropractic College, Cornell, Ithaca College, Wells College

-Golf and miniature golf

-Biking

-Skate Park in Ithaca

-Winter sports

-Outlet Mall and Finger Lakes Mall

-Theater

-Cinemas and Drive-In

-Museums

-MacKenzie-Childs

-Concerts

-Farmer's market

-Amish Craft Village

Availability

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Email Owner Contact Me
Updated: Oct 22, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 26 2014 - Oct 26 2014
1 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
Spring
Mar 20 2015 - Jun 20 2015
1 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
Ithaca Graduation Weekend
May 16 2015 - May 17 2015
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
Cornell Graduation Weekend
May 23 2015 - May 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,800
Flat fee
 
 
Summer
Jun 21 2015 - Sep 6 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

50% deposit to reserve the house (bank check or money order)
Balance plus a $500 security deposit due 3 weeks prior to arrival

Nightly Rate: $300 - $450 (excludes summer)


The 1843 House is available year-round with a 1 week minimum stay from
June 24 through Labor Day. During the rest of the year, the house is
available by the night, weekend, week, month or long term.

Rates are "Housekeeping Ready". You must bring your own linens and
towels (blankets and pillows are supplied) and clean the house to
the s

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library

Suitability

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Lake View
  • Lakefront

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Floor Area

  • 1900 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 double, 2 twin/ single

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • -Fully equipped kitchen -Fans for all the rooms -Direct TV with DVD and VCR in living room -Wireless Internet Service -Sound system with CD player -Washer and Dryer -Iron and ironing board -Dishwasher -Microwave -Toaster oven -Coffee maker -Books and games -Rowboat -New dock with ladder -Deck, patios, porch -Four bedrooms - 1 queen, 2 double, 1 double with bunk beds -Full bath with shower and bathtub on first floor and full bath with stall shower on second floor -Picnic tables -Gas and charcoal grills -Fire pit -Oil heat -Electric decorative stove in kitchen
Email Owner Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.