Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn

Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
Cottage, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 3 Sleeps

Savannah's "Bed - No Breakfast" Inn

817 E. 41st Street - Savannah, GA. 31401

*A Fully Furnished Carriage House Apartment in a

Classic Downtown Savannah Neighborhood.

*We made your kitchen so you could make your own breakfast - at

your leisure. Coffee pot w/ filters and coffee provided.

*Smoking not allowed inside the unit, but smoke all you want on your

private covered porch overlooking the back yard garden.

  • Sleeps 3
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7015452
+1 912.201.9897
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Roanoke, VA
5

Great Value

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon three years ago. We enjoyed Savannah and Abby’s enough that we are coming back again in May.

When we booked the first time, we were a little concerned that the apartment was not right in the historic district. This turned out not to be an issue. There is free parking in the historic district about 5 minutes away. In addition, the neighborhood has nice parks and historic old homes around it which is great for walking our dog.

When traveling we always stay in vacation rentals, so when seen several. When everything is considered, including the price, we feel this is one of the best vacation rentals we’ve stayed in.

This carriage house is quaint, charming and very private which we always appreciate.
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7015452
+1 912.201.9897
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Buffalo, NY
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I have stayed at this carriage house twice and are planning to come again in April. We first stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it. This accommodation is nicer than it appears in the pictures.

Our month long visit a couple of years ago was excellent. Not only did we escape from the nasty New York winter weather, we enjoyed the hospitality and courtesy of our hosts. We enjoyed their company, and getting to know them.

We recommend this property and the proprietors.
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7015452
+1 912.201.9897
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Jackson, MS
5

Private Retreat

  • 5 of 5
We highly recommend this property.

We've visited three different times, for business and pleasure, including a month long business trip. The apartment is clean, comfortable, well maintained, and has everything needed for short or long term visits.

My wife and I found Chris (the owner) very helpful; she went out of her way to make us comfortable.

I look forward to our upcoming visit.
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Abby's Hep Yo' Sef Inn
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7015452
+1 912.201.9897
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Birmingham, al
1

Horrible stay. Do not go

  • 1 of 5
THis place was horrible. DVD player was broken. Owner did not offer to replace or tell me it was broken until I called to tell her and had Already bought 5 DVDs. Also, owner told me to not use the air conditioning while staying to cut down on energy. They monitored energy use and if you used too much she placed a sticky note on the door telling me to use the windows instead of the a/c. Upon leaving it took over 2 weeks to get less than half my security deposit back. When I did not get my full deposit back, I got an email explaining the bogus charges after We had talked several times thinking I was getting my full deposit back. The landlord accused me of breaking a kitchen panel and gluing it back on. Which I absolutely did not do. When I addressed the concern after multiple attempts to reach the landlord by phone, she refused to budge and insisted I was the one who broke the panel. I had no way to prove this so I did not get my security deposit back. DO NOT stay here. They will rip you off.
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: This is a response to the off-season, month-to-month tenant that claims she was “ripped-off.”

The damage was done on her watch, plain and simple.

At best, this was a difficult tenant. The issues began day one. She didn’t check in on the day scheduled, and then wanted a 2 AM check-in the next day, which we accommodated. The due on arrival rent (contract requirement) was paid two days late, as was the next payment. The contract required check out on a certain day and time. The tenant also did not check out as agreed to. She was told at the time she contracted with us and reminded again days in advance of her departure that someone was checking in the day she checked out.

She is correct about the air conditioning. In beautiful 70 degree weather, the air conditioning was left running with no one home for days on end. Although we never asked her not to use the Air Conditioning, we did ask for her help in energy conservation. We are a small mom and pop establishment; in the rare instances of abuse such as this, we ask tenants for their cooperation. (Most of our tenants are very considerate and this is not a common problem.)

We did not know that the DVD player was not functioning. Perhaps because we have HDTV with the Direct TV Premium Channel package including hundreds of premium movie, sports, news and educational channels to choose from, no one has noticed it before. Or, it's possible that previous tenants were pre-occupied with free Wifi through our secure in house network.

We’ve had this rental for 10 years in March. In that time, monthly tenants’ security deposits were returned 92% of the time. There are four instances where portions of security deposits were kept. Then, only as a result of direct damage to the unit or contractual breech.

Rip-offs? The vast majority of our tenants have been delightful or at least weren’t problematic. It’s impossible to avoid bad tenants completely. In this instance, we clearly made a mistake by not enforcing the contract.

In the 10 years we have had visitors stay with us and the 6 years we have been listed with VacationRentals.com, we have NEVER had another bad review. You decide?

Note: This was not a vacation rental customer. We don’t charge security deposits for vacation rentals, only off-season monthly rentals.

Location

Activity and Interests

Neighborhood Features:

* Located downtown, 1.5 miles from Historic/Landmark Downtown sites, including Forsyth

Park, River Street and City Market.

* 2 blocks from Daffin Park, home of Savannah's minor league baseball

team with walking trails, fountains, tennis courts, basketball

courts, etc.

* 20 minutes from Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport.

* 15 miles from Tybee Island Beach and Historic Lighthouse.

* 6 miles to historic Bonaventure Cemetery.

* Close to major Shopping Centers

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$130
From
$130
From
$735
 

Notes


  • $130 - $120 per night - 2 night minimum
    $530 - Five Night Special Pricing.
    $735 - $700 Per Week depending on season
    No cleaning fee for short term visits!

    Off season monthly rates: $1,200 - $1,025

    Some holiday and special event rates may vary
    Extra person allowed with small fee.
    Pets accepted at owners discretion with small fee.

Amenities

Property Type

  • cottage

Suitability

  • pets considered

Bathrooms

  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1

Notes:

  • Living Area Features: *French Door Entry w/deck. *Queen size bed with Down pillowtop.(twin rollaway also available.) *Full walk in closet w/loads of shelves. *Reading chair w/lamp. *Plantation blinds for privacy. *TV/212 channel satellite/ DVD player/Wireless internet. connection available. *Free Wireless High Speed Internet (secure password protected connection) *Heating/Air Conditioning. *Full bath w/skylight. *Fully outfitted kitchen w/dishwasher, two burner stove, convection/microwave oven/ coffee pot w/ coffee & filters/toaster and refrigerator/freezer. *All linens, towels, dishes pots and pans provided
Email Owner Contact Me