Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Long Lake Hideaway

Long Lake Hideaway


Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Very private summer home located on 3 acres / 225 ft of frontage on

beautiful all sports Long Lake (5800 acre Lake).

2-docks to fish off of and a private lagoon. Fishing is excellent

and so are the water sports (skiing & tubing). New DNR boat launch

around the corner. Home includes 3-bedrooms, 1-full bath 1-1/2 bath,

living room, kitchen, and laundry room.

No phone, make sure to bring your cell phone.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english

5 Reviews

Long Lake Hideaway
+1 -248-625-0724
Alpena Northern Michigan
Wylie, TX

Beautiful home with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful experience at the Long Lake Hideaway. On the inside, the cabin had an awesome kitchen equipped with everything we needed for our stay as well as excellent sleeping arrangements. But we did not spend much time in the house. The yard is very spacious with a gorgeous view of Long Lake. We saw some very pretty sunsets. The house is set back in a very private cove of the lake which made our stay very peaceful. Overall, it was an awesome summer vacation that included everything you could ask for.
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Long Lake Hideaway
+1 -248-625-0724
Alpena Northern Michigan
Rockford, MI

Great Stay with a Great Price

  • 5 of 5
A Great House with great views of the lake. We had 5 people in there and stayed very comfortable, plenty of hot water and an EXCELLENT value for the $$$ spent. I have paid way more at previous Long Lake Locations.. We caught so many fish and had fires all night supplied by the owners. Highly recommend and will be back with the guys next year! The negative reviewer should be dismissed from this as she is obviously not very intelligent, wants a Hilton for the price of a motel 6 and clearly doesn't understand the meaning of a relaxing vacation.

Thanks Don and we will see you again!
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Long Lake Hideaway
+1 -248-625-0724
Alpena Northern Michigan
Davisburg, Mi, USA

Awesome Fishing

  • 5 of 5
The home was way more than I expected. Very clean and spacious. My wife and I with our 3 kids and 2 of the their friends had a wonderful week of fishing and sitting by the fire. The owner was very friendly and prompt to return calls while I was setting up the dates for rent. The owner even set me up with a hoist for my boat. My wife and I plan to go up again soon with a couple of our own friends (without the kids)and enjoy some more peace and quiet!!!
I would recommend this to everyone who likes peace and quiet and fun on the water!
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Long Lake Hideaway
+1 -248-625-0724
Alpena Northern Michigan
Leonard, MI

Not Worth the $$$$$

  • 1 of 5
This house is grossly misrepresented and not worth the price. We have rented cabins in this area for several years and paid the same price and got a much nicer home than this one. Things started off poorly when the owner of the property couldn't seem to get the reservation dates correct. When we arrived, we were saddened by the condition of the house. It was not clean. There was grease or something on everything in the kitchen that made all the surfaces sticky. The house smelled musty. There appeared to have been a roof leak at some time, and the solution was to put drywall over the damaged ceilings. The bathroom is old and very much in need of a remodel. There were dead flies and spiders in the windows, duct tape on the screens, and one window was broken and appeared to have been that way for a long time. The grill was absolutely disgusting, nasty fish guts on the deck, and the hot tub was frightening.

On our last full day there (Saturday), there was a knock at the door, and we found the housekeeper wanting to come in and clean the house. She said she had to get it ready for the next guests who were arriving that afternoon. When I explained that our reservation went to Sunday, she was confused and said she would try to contact the owner. After numerous attempts to contact him, we gave up and just decided to pack up so that the next group wouldn't have to have a bad start to their vacation. So we stayed in a hotel in Alpena that night. Since we never heard back from the owner of the property, we contacted him when we returned home and explained what happened. He sent us a check for $60 of the $94.89 for our hotel expenses, but refused to refund the prorated amount for the day of the rental that we lost. My husband talked to him several times, and he promised to refund our money, but then stopped taking his calls.

This is not a case of "having a bad day." This house is not worth the rental fee, and I'd sincerely warn you to not waste your money.
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: SCAMER!!!
We have rented out Summer Home since 2000 and have been with Vacation Rentals since 2004. In 12 years we have not had an issue. We supply phone numbers to our Housekeeper, Grounds Care Taker and my home and office number so if there ever is a problem our guest can get a hold of someone. When they arrived we had just finished installing a new linoleum floor in the laundry room and a new washer and dryer. The kitchen was remodeled a year ago, with all new appliances (except the frig). The roof does not leak and ceiling was never patched. The Windows were 2 weeks old when they arrived. What the real reason is why she left me a nasty review is because they tried to extort money from me. My Housekeeper did get confused and knocked on the door. She called me and I called them back and told her that she made a mistake and there's no one coming in tomorrow (no a big deal). When I called he said that it's been raining for the last 2 days and that they were going to leave. They left on there own free will. We charge a $50.00 cleaning fee if the home is left messy, They left and did not bother to do one thing. My housekeeper informed me of this. 2 weeks later He calls me and wants me to refund the day the that he left, It is not my fault that they decided to leave early because of the rain. I decided because of the rain I would reinburse them for that day and not charge them for the cleaning fee. I thought it was settled. A week goes by and he calls me again and wants me to pay for his Hotel bill, I didn't even know he went to a hotel. Of course I said no. So they wait 8 months and then decide to send a nasty review. Believe me its because I would be taken advantage of. We offer a big place on 3 acres with 225' of lake frontage, we have 3 docks and a private lagoon. We have a very private stting. The home is nice inside and we improve on it every year. We do not rent our home year round because we use it and 70% of our rentals are from people that have been renting from us for the last 5 years. Our rate is the same as others with 50' of frontage and no privacy. One other thing to mention, they never called my Housekeeper or the Care Taker or me. I did not hear a word about this until I refused to send them any more money. They were looking to recoupe some of their money back because of the rain days, it's not my fault it happens. I guess it was bound to happen that we would finally get one bad guest in 12 years.
Long Lake Hideaway
+1 -248-625-0724
Alpena Northern Michigan

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
I was on this website, getting ready to book my Labor Day 2012 week again and saw the previous review and needed to respond. This will be our 3rd year and looking forward to it. We have noticed constant updates every year. The home is spacious,clean and comfortable. My kids love the lake for watersports and the firepit for nitetime bonfires. Its a very private setting, not on top of each other like most rentals are. This rental gives you a big bang for your buck, you won't be disappointed. To bad the other party didn't enjoy himself, must have been having a bad day!!!
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children


Activity and Interests

Long Lake is well known for its great fishing. Fish include Large

& Small Mouth Bass, Pike, Walleye, Perch and Blue Gill. If you like

fishing on Lake Huron for Lake Trout, Steel Head and Salmon there

are 3 very close harbors where you can get a charter. Water sports

are great, you can rent pontoon boats, waverunners, and power boats


the 2 marinas on Long Lake. Snowmobile trails are close by and so is

Thompson Park which follows the shore line of Lake Huron,

provides beautiful scenery and is great for hiking and cross country

skiing. Downtown Alpena is only 10 minutes away, there you have movie

theaters, shopping, and great restaurants. There are also 3

beautiful Golf Courses in the area.


Enter your travel dates
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay


  • Weekly Rate: $800 - $1300

  • Weekly rentals June through Labor Day $1200.00
    Holiday Rates: $1300.00 weekly
    Sept. thru May: Weekend (3 nights) rentals-$500.00
    Security Deposit $200.00
    Security Deposit required to book / Balance for rental due 30 days
    prior to arrival / Must have 30 days notice to cancel or deposit


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Family


  • pets not allowed


  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Half Bathroom


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3


  • Summer home includes gas grill on outside deck, Large fire pit with chairs by the beach. Picnic Table 2- benchs, Paddle boat, and 14ft fishing boat. Living room includes TV + DVD & VCR with large movie selection, and stereo system. Large fully equipped kitchen including coffee maker & microwave. Laundry room includes washer & dryer. 2- bedrooms have a queen size bed, 3rd BR has bunk/ double on the bottom single on top. Bed linens included (bring your own pillows) You also need to bring your own bath & beach towels.
Email Owner Contact Me Email Owner Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.