Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets

Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Apr 23, 2015
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths,Sleeps 4A/4C 12 and under

Tropical SPECIAL!! Rent one studio suite, get 75% off the 2nd of 2 studio suites on this romantic cottage with gorgeous landscaped, full tropical on beach acre. Available all year, sale on FALL dates. Call now, or email us. This ever popular and conveniently located cottage had great privacy, amazing views and just steps to the actual ocean. No streets to cross, we are right not the beach! Yes, our charming Coquina Cottage sits right ON its own Captiva private BEACH, located at the start of Captiva's desirable Gold Coast. The romantic and private old Florida style cottage has two private studio suites set within the one Cottage building and beautiful private beach gardens.

The cottage is surrounded by a full acre of the most beautiful TROPICAL beach GARDENS, coconut grove and ever blooming variety of tropical plants... only a few steps and you're in the Gulf of Mexico - with all the beach and sun you can soak in and NO streets to cross. There is no property closer to the gulf waters, with as much privacy and convenience.

The SUNSETS are awesome, the endless views phenomenal, LAZY DAYS on the beach so easy ... and life is beautiful.

Our Coquina Cottage is pleasingly comfortable, some guests call it 'shabby chic' and we are very accommodating. Our staff service level has been called 5 star by so many guests! The cottage has two separate COZY studio suites (upstairs and downstairs) with each 400 sq.ft. under A/C. Both sleep up to two adults and two kids with a queen size bed and a queen size sleeper sofa, the upper studio sleeps 3 kids under 12 & 2 adults.

But you won't want to be inside, as our beautiful acre of beach garden with its large sea grape canopy invites you to all kinds of OUTDOOR activities. Read a good book in the HAMMOCK, explore the Gulf of Mexico, enjoy your dinner at our sandy dining room in the shade, or just gaze at the evening stars in our big elevated private SPA. Lighting leads the way for a nighttime beach walk or a MOONLIGHT swim.

If shelling, body surfing, fishing, and sunbathing is too tame for your memory book, take a short walk to Sanibel's Santiva Village or drive to Captiva's PICTURESQUE historical village with rental boats, kayaks, sightseeing & shelling charters, sport fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, restaurants, shops and more.

Sanibel's famous Ding Darling National WILDLIFE Refuge is only a 10 minutes drive south; you pass it on the way here.

Our Coquina Cottage offers a unique and very romantic setting. The UPPER SUITE is elevated a single flight of stairs with the most beautiful UNOBSTRUCTED VIEWs of the Gulf, beach and gardens. It has higher ceilings, an additional 200 sq.ft. of elevated deck and a small breakfast kitchen with a BBQ on the deck.

The LOWER SUITE has a large kitchen, full laundry and a large ground level deck. This suite is wheelchair accessible.

Packing for Coquina Cottage is EASY, as we provide for our guests: iron, ironing board, hairdryer, high quality bedding, bath linens, beach towels, a starter kit with dishwasher soap, dish sponge and soap, paper towels, trash bags, toilet paper, bar soap, shampoo and conditioner. We aim to go ABOVE AND BEYOND expectations, and continuous improvement is our mantra.

Experience Coquina Cottage and find out why our guests come again and again...

Our RELAXING GETAWAY is about a 45 minute drive from Fort Myer's Southwest Regional International Airport, a 1 hour drive from Naples, and 2 hours from Tampa, Fort Lauderdale and Miami.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

The week went by too fast! My husband and I stayed in the upper suite and my parents stayed below. Everything we needed was provided to us and we enjoyed almost all of our meals out on the patio together. The dolphins swam by on many occasions. We loved the birds at Ding Darling and all of the friendly people on the island. My aunt and uncle came to visit us on two evenings, and we stayed outside and played the ukulele and sang songs while we relaxed and chatted. Everyday we were amazed at a different beautiful sunset. On Sunday night, we made a pile of snacks and watched the Super Bowl up here, that was a treat. We enjoyed the hot tub, the hammock and the seashell hunting nets, but most of all relaxing with the view and the warm weather. We head back to snow and subzero temps today- but I wish I could bottle this place up and take it with me.
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 93

34 Reviews

4.8
based on 34 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Canton,Ct
5

A fantastic family vacation !

  • 5 of 5
Our stay with our 17 and 15 year old sons and small dog was awesome ! The first observation when we arrived was the beautiful White Gardenia and Jasmine that I smelled.The landscaping is incredible. Also, outside there are a few seating "nooks". They have a whimsical and enchanted feeling to them.Privacy around the property is absolute.The beach is right down your own path and the water was so warm. We swam,collected shells and in the evening watched beautiful sunsets and saw Dolphins ! The house is very comfortable and had everything we needed. The boys stayed upstairs and we stayed downstairs.I would recommend this rental and we would definitely rent this house again.
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Another wonderful family providing another great 5 star review; thank you. This beachy cottage is two distinct studio suites right on the beach with a path through the landscaped beach dunes. You can't get closer to the gulf than this cozy cottage.
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

A little bit of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
This Olde Fl. style house was small and cozy; a true beach house. No glitz, quaint and easy; great outdoor spaces.

Very artistic, perfect location, awesome tropical gardens, right on the beach and just about everything we needed from toys to kitchen supplies and accoutrements.

One of my favorite things was relaxing in the hot tub under a coco palms and bathed in bright stars at night; all in total privacy So close to the gulf you smell the sea air, hear the surf crashing on the shoreline and the awesome sunset feels so close, you can reach out and touch the sunset.

The staff were responsive, available and couldn't have been nicer. Thank you Nacho, Randy and Kirstin. :)
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Not much to add... total relaxation or active outdoors; your choice. :)
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Sanibel, Florida
5

Unrivaled relaxation and beauty, our second trip back, 5 stars every time.

  • 5 of 5
I can't say enough wonderful things about this cottage, it is SO cozy, adorably decorated and lovingly cared for. The garden is like a botanical paradise, the owners have a very green thumb, I saw plants and flowers I've never seen before and the owner stopped by to welcome my family back to the cottage and we chatted about all the different plants and wildlife.
My kids loved the twin loft bed above the queen bed in the upstairs suite. I liked the bathroom upstairs, because the shower is separate from from toilet/sink, two people could use the bathroom in privacy. I'd never seen a set up like that before. We used the kitchen downstairs as it was bigger than the kitchen up stairs and we also used the washer/dryer that is downstairs as well.
You would never know this cottage is on the road, the plants/foliage/trees buffer all noise, and block the home next door. It really does feel like you are on your own private island. The beach feels like it is all yours, and the SHELLS!!!!!! oh heaven on earth!
The last time we came we brought our dog, she has since passed on, but our next dog will accompany us to Coquina Cottage and we will continue to build family memories here. These Florida beach cottages are few and far between nowadays, it seems every rental is a mcmansion with no character. Coquina Cottage is ALL character and we simply adore it.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: 'nuff said!
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Beach Person's Paradise

Beach Person's Paradise
  • 4 of 5
My wife and I recently stayed at Coquina cottage for a week. The cottage is truly that, a beach cottage with a few quirks to get use to. First of all it is what it is, you are staying here for the beach and the sunsets not the cottage. The stairs to the bottom floor is outside so it did take a day to get use to it. The real kitchen is downstairs while the better living space is upstairs with the great view of the water. The cottage was clean enough, again you are in a beach cottage! You are there for the great beach and the beautiful sunsets. We had one small problem and the owner immediately took care of it. We enjoyed the beach and sunsets so much we only went out once (late) for a burger. We stocked up at Bailey's with food and never wanted to go anywhere. We did rent bikes and it was well worth it. Great bike trails in the area and the weather was perfect.
A couple of words of advice, the sand gnats are everywhere and aggressive. Bring lots of bug spray and you will be ok. Stock up on food so you don't miss the sunsets, Baily's has great shrimp which they will steam up for you. We enjoyed them a few nights while watching the sunset. Before you book make sure you realize it is a cottage on a beautiful beach, not the Ritz. It is what it is and you are there for the beach. If you love the beach and water like we do, you will love this place.
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The cottage has acre of tropical beach gardens and property; up to 800 Sq. Ft. of air conditioned living space and is closer to the Gulf than any other property on these islands. The cottage is for beach lovers, shellers, sun worshipers and offers the best sunset views anywhere. It is all about the view, the tropical plantings and an outdoor experience. Clean, neat and artsy, this cottage is well equipped and not palatial. This is an Olde Florida experience and is lbeloved by a long list of followers. :)
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
1

A disappoin week

  • 1 of 5
I was VERY disappointed in the property
The kitchen was poorly equipped I had to ask for two pans because the pans there were disgusting with burned on food and peeling Teflon, we did not go upstairs, the bathroom and shower there were sub standard putting it kindly. Depressing is the word. We paid top dollar, we looked at other properties while there and we were definitely over paying for what we got.
Frankly it should be torn down and start over. We will not recommend it to anybody nor will we return.
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were shocked, to say the least, that a single complaint was both greatly exaggerated and rectified immediately. The pans mentioned were not as bad as depicted, but could nonetheless have been removed by the staff. Pam spray often cooks onto the exterior and we generally get that off. But, in any event, we replaced them immediately with brand new ceramic pans . This fact went unmentioned in the harsh and unfair review. Almost every review, both on VRBO and elsewhere, are 5 star. The few reviews which were not, were 4 star reviews and those guests have been repeat guests nonetheless.

The better of the 2 suites in the cottage is upstairs, but some elderly people often choose not to do the flight of stairs. Nevertheless, the upstairs is roomier, higher ceilings and deliberately separate commode and shower. The guest chose not to climb the stairs for their stay and apparently never noticed the separate, indoor shower room, not unusual in beach cottages.
The weather was unseasonably colder than normal and it was reported to our full time gardener/handyman that they had travelled here for warmth and sunshine and they were disappointed in the weather.
We seldom have bad weather in March, but it is beyond our control and shouldn't reflect on the property. When guests discuss their issues, we can rectify them; even to the point of changing accommodations. For almost a decade, we have been pleasing guests with the least expensive beach-front property. This almost one acre on the beach property is the only available cottage in it's price range whilst still being beach-front.The price differential between beach and bay are day and night, apparently a fact the guest did not realize.
business
Coquina Romantic/On Beach Cottage, Gold Coast-We love pets
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7026560
+011 -Toll Free (888) 395-0852
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Minneapolis, MN
5

We Fell in Love with Coquina Cottage on Captive Island, Fl

  • 5 of 5
From the lush, whimsical, gardens and landscaping, to the direct beach access down a soft sandy path, and the addictive shelling, the amazing sunsets and the relaxing hot tub under bright stars at night as well as the totally privacy -- all combined to make Coquina Cottage a true paradise. The house was very comfortable including the bed. The decor was lovely w/o being upscale or fussy. We stocked groceries so we didn't have to leave except to have dinner out once. Coquina Cottage is a true gem and we fell in love with it all. Also appreciated the attentiveness of the management staff and property owner. 5 Stars for the property and our experience there.
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : RSW/ Ft. Myers at 34.4 Miles Car: recommended

Biking, Golf, Tennis, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Shopping,

Restaurants, Live Theater, Cinemas, Sightseeing, Swimming, Snorkeling/Diving, Boating, Sailing, Surfing, Windsurfing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling... more!

Availability

From $360 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 11 2015 - May 22 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
Memorial
May 23 2015 - May 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
Summer
May 30 2015 - Jul 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
July 4th
Jul 4 2015 - Jul 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
 
 
Summer
Jul 11 2015 - Aug 14 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
Value Season
Aug 15 2015 - Sep 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Labour Day
Sep 5 2015 - Sep 11 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
 
 
Value
Sep 12 2015 - Nov 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2015 - Nov 27 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Value season
Nov 28 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,525
 
 
Holiday
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 1 2016
7 night minimum stay
$4,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • Pet Fee $100
  • Property Damage Protection $59
  • +Cleaning Fee<5 nights $200

Nightly Rate: $300 - $780
Weekly Rate: $2400 - $4500
Monthly Rate: $9000 - $21000
Call for discounted rates on last minutes stays!
Rates $2,000 to $3,000 for one suite, check for deals for both suites; based on availability, occupancy and seasonal discounts. Lower end of rates range based on occupancy of no more than 2 adults and 2 children in a single suite.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Apr 23, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

From the Owner

Lots of beach and parking, close to water village of Santiva (Sanibel and Captiva), Marina, grocery and restaurants. Less than 5 miles to Ding Darling, Shell museum and CROW, convenient to churches, grocery stores, super markets, yet very private and secluded. Many seating venues great for weddings, etc.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • 25'x 9' deck to enjoy those lazy afternoons or take in a fabulous sunset. Elevated hot- tub on private deck, FREE local & long distance phones, Free, beach toys, FREE NETFLIX, FREE high-speed Comcast internet, Each suite has own Central A/C, Satellite Hi-def TV's (2 large), 2 ovens & 2 microwaves , 2 refrigerators,2x4 burner stove, 2 coffee makers,1- Dish washer, 2 gas grills (BBQ) ( 1 above and 1 below)No Smoking. Linens provided, towels provided, shelling, nets and coolers provided, umbrellas, beach chair, beach carry cart, etc. Pet Friendly-Dogs accepted up to 50 pounds. Pet Fee required ($100 non-refundable) per dog Limit of 2 adults/ 2 children 11 and under per suite, please call or email for more information.

Partner Offers

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.