Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House

Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 9 Sleeps

This authentic Maine cottage has created wonderful beach memories

for several generations. Ideally located on a small spit of coast

that locals call "South Point," the house is on the edge of a

picture postcard sandy beach that stretches for 3 miles. It is also

a 5 minute walk from a rocky section of coast ideal for exploring

tidal pools or watching birds.

  • Sleeps 9
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7029508
+1 -(239) 207-1375
Biddeford Pool Southern Coast of Maine
1

Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5
My family and my brother's family rented this property in August. We rented through vrbo,.com, but the owner removed the listing from the site, so I couldn't leave a review there.

We have rented in BP for 10 years and have never paid so much for so little. The house was as advertised from a space perspective, but in our opinion, the condition was not as expected. The house was not clean, and was in disrepair, according to our standards.

As always we had a wonderful time in BP, thank goodness, the weather was impeccable, so that we could be outdoors all the time.

We did contact the owner with our complaints, who said our opinion was subjective and promised a refund of some sort, which we never received. They say that they had surveyed the other summers' tenants who had great things to say about the property. Perhaps they didn't survey the person above.
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7029508
+1 -(239) 207-1375
Biddeford Pool Southern Coast of Maine
Durham, NH USA
5

Great Access, Easy Beach living

  • 5 of 5
Perfect beach house for me and my family this summer. Loved the location, especially the wooden walkway through the pines and over the dunes to get directly onto the beach in an easy 3-4 minute walk from the back door! Makes pushing a stroller or dragging a wagon with all the beach gear super easy, plus we could hop back for the bathroom, a snack, or to make a business call -- no car needed and we did not have to all leave the beach together, which is a rarity. Our tweens loved the freedom to sleep late & meet us on the beach later, lol. We brought our small dog (one end of this beach allows pets all day), and appreciate that although pets are welcome, the house was clean and showed no sign of other animals staying there (no "doggie" smells, no damaged furniture, pristine grass in yard for barefoot frisbee playing). The outdoor shower made it easy to clean dog & kids & keep all the sand out, too. The open plan kitchen/dining area is super - room for everyone to help out and eat meals together, with everything you could possibly need, dishwasher, blender, griddle, grill, lobster pot, even muffin tins -- also used extra kitchen w/ fridge in the adjacent apartment for overflow platters and back up provisions. When multi-generations and friends gathered it was nice being able to entertain just like we do at home, rather than having to get everyone off the beach early, showered, and in the car to go to a restaurant. House cleaners were super efficient - had a small issue with previous tenants leaving mess behind, but 1 call to owner and it was taken care of next day while we were enjoying stunning cliff walk at nature preserve a few blocks away. This is not what I would call a luxury rental, it's a classic Maine beach cottage that is inviting and comfy, where you can put your feet on the coffee table, play marathon Monopoly games for days at a time, cook up a huge clambake feast for 12 people, savor a glass of wine on the deck with friends, and the kids can safely play tag on the lawn, walk down to the rocky cove to look for sea glass, or ride bikes to the general store for ice cream. Wish we could stay all summer -- we will come back!
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7029508
+1 -(239) 207-1375
Biddeford Pool Southern Coast of Maine
5

Lovely and very comfortable house

  • 5 of 5
House comfortably supported 6 people (4 adults, 2 children) -- very easy walk to the beach, fully furnished with usual amenities (including chairs/beach stuff) and a fully stocked kitchen with all working appliances (not always a given when we've rented). Bathrooms and kitchen were immaculate when we arrived and very easy for us to maintain. Nicely decorated, but not over the top -- all in all, exceedingly comfortable and an excellent value for what we received. Recommend this property highly.
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Across from the Beach-Welcoming Family Beach House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7029508
+1 -(239) 207-1375
Biddeford Pool Southern Coast of Maine
montreal quebec canada
1

Great location - loved Biddeford Pool

  • 1 of 5
This "welcoming family beach house " was well located and spacious. It was our 1st trip to Maine and we loved discovering all that Biddeford Pool had to offer. From the description of the house given by the homeowner we were expecting our accommodation to be comfortable and family oriented, certainly not 5 star as we were there for a simple family holiday with our children and grandchildren. Our excitment soon turned to disappointment when we entered the house. While it accommodated our family very well, we found it to be very dirty and in poor repair. There was food under the table from the previous tenants, the floors were in such bad shape that we hesitated to walk on them in our bare feet and the furniture was so stained that we were uncomfortable sitting on it. The kitchen cupboards were in complete disarray with everything just thrown in and disorganized. The outside shower was used quite a lot because the tub and shower in the main bathroom were disgusting. Thankfully the weather was good, the beach was beautiful and many happy memories were made dispite the poor accommodations.
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are puzzled and upset by this review. This is our family vacation home. We stayed there just a short time before these tenants and while the floors are old, neither the floors, bathrooms or furniture were stained or dirty. Furthermore, professional cleaners were there the day these renters moved in. Maybe the cupboards were organized differently than these renters might have liked. However, none of the other renters (neither this summer nor in prior years) have made remarks like this. It is possible that these renters had unrealistic expectations despite what they say. Or we suspect these renters are angry because we caught them doing something they shouldn't have. Notably they never complained during their stay.

We have years of rental history with happy renters returning year after year and writing wonderful comments to us. We have never solicited online reviews and thus the contented and positive comments sent directly to us are not reflected here to balance this one.

Location

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Activity and Interests

Because of its proximity to the beach, the house is ideal for all

manner of beach activities, including sunbathing, swimming,

surfing,snorkeling, kite-flying etc. Since the house is also only a

5 minute walk from a rocky stretch of coastline, fishing, kayaking,

birdwatching, daydreaming or dogwalking are all easily arranged.

The South Point neighborhood of Biddeford Pool is a small family-

oriented, enclave-within-an-enclave. An ice cream truck wanders

lazily through the streets each afternoon, its music summoning

children from surrounding cottages. The entrance to a scenic

Audubon nature preserve is a short stroll from the cottage. The

walking trail in the preserve features classic Maine scenery--bold

rocks, graceful pines, and a dramatic view of the nearby Wood Island

Lighthouse.

A 15 minute walk takes you into the picturesque village of Biddeford

Pool, complete with general store, lobster pound and post office.

The small harbour (the "Pool") is ideal for kayaking, sailing or

watching lobstermen.

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$3,400
 

Notes

  • Weekly Rate: $2300 - $3400


  • May 31 - June 28 $2300 per week.
    June 28 - August 30 $3400 per week.
    Pets ok with owner's permission, additional charge of $150 per week
    per pet.
    Mandatory housekeeping fee is required.
    Maine sales tax of 7% of the total amount of rent is required.
    Property is also available for long term winter seasonal rental
    running from September to mid-May at lower monthly rate.

    All rates are subject to change until confirmed by owner.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Suitability

  • pets considered

Bathrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3

Bedrooms

  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5

Notes:

  • The house combines the charm of bygone summers with the conveniences of an easy, casual vacation. A large, sunny living room provides a great place for board games and puzzles. Or, read a book or tell a ghost story in front of the wood-burning fireplace. A bright eat-in kitchen contains the usual amenities, including a microwave and dishwasher. The kitchen opens onto a deck with two eating areas with umbrellas and two charcoal grills. Upstairs there are four sunny bedrooms (king, double,double, and single) with two full bathrooms. In addition, there is a separate guest apartment which is attached to the main house. The apartment has its own living room, eat-in kitchen, and another bedroom (queen) with its own full bathroom.
Email Owner Contact Me Email Owner Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.