Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago

Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Dec 18, 2014
House, 6 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, 30 Sleeps

Completed in 2008, ultra-luxury, custom 5000 sq ft, private beachfront Dream Retreat offers exceptional value! Located on a quiet, cul-de-sac street, corner lot, and only house on the corner. Unlike so many other beachfront rentals that have a neighbor on each side and zero privacy, our closest neighbor is 350 feet away!

See our website for more picturesfor more pictures, detailed info, rates, policies, availability (we fill up VERY fast!), and our many unique features & amenities.

Calling all nature lovers, family reunions, hikers, sun seekers, water-sport enthusiasts, beach goers, shoppers, gamers, and entertainers seeking a large, ultra-luxury beachfront, private retreat...

-Only 35 min from/to Chicogo; 5 min from South Shore train station

-Closest beach-side community to Chicago!

-Only a sliver of National Park Dunes and sand trail separates you from the best "semi-private", sugar-sand beach on Lake Michigan! No rocks, no muck, no algae, no undertows, no rip currents. Knee-high sand bar out 150’ is perfect for our little ones to swim safely in the crystal-clear, warm waters of Lake Michigan.

-Completely private (8' fence with privacy lattice) from street and neighbors. Hear only birds, wind, and waves...

-Lake Street Beach boat ramp (1/3 mile from home) for jet skis, sail/motor boats (Peak Season Only)

-Miles of hiking and mountain biking trails throughout Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore

-Top floor 1200 sq. ft. master suite: steam room with rainfall & massage shower heads & Eucaplytus oil reservoir, huge jetted tub, 10'x8' closet, travertine marble fireplace (not operational), custom silk draperies, wrap-around decks, four skylights

-Juliette balcony overlooking Loft & Great Rooms

-1200 sq. ft. outdoor deck living space: 6-person Jacuzzi with waterfall & Chromatherapy LED lights, outdoor shower (Peak Season only), gas grill, & plenty of comfortable patio furniture and hammocks/swings (Peak Season only) to melt your stresses away...

-Premium Bose/Jamo sound system

-Fenced-in yard for our 4-legged friends

-Gourmet chef's kitchen: hand-made cherry cabinets, double farm sink, stainless steel double-door refrigerator w/auto-ice maker, double electric baking ovens, 36" Pro 6 sealed-burner range & gas roasting oven, Pro range hood, warming oven, dishwasher, garbage disposal, red wine cellar (55 degrees), cold beverage Fridge for soda, white wine, champagne, etc. (39 degrees)

-Double island with Pietra Cardosa (Italian soapstone) countertops, prep sink, & seating

-Xenon under-cabinet & toe kick lighting

-Two-story Great Room/Loft with soaring (28') wood ceiling w/ studio lighting and huge 18-bulb, wrought-iron chandelier

-Five skylights & 16 huge patio doors/windows shower the rooms with sun & showcase the Lake & dunes

-Premium Bose Lifestyle music system with iPod dock and Jamo amplifiers fill the inside and out with music--remote control works through walls and outdoors (radio frequency not infra-red)

-Pro sand volleyball court (Peak Season only) is set to Woman’s Olympic specifications

-Lower Level Rec Room has huge walk-in wet bar with fridge for all your mixers, beer, etc. and large poker/game tables, home theater and dual reclining love seat

-Three other large bedrooms have queen-sized beds, dressers, Cable TV's, DVD/VHS players, ceiling fans, independently controlled remote A/C units, stand fans, hangars, alarm clocks & large closets. Some have private balconies & wood-burning fireplaces (not operational)

-Three & one half other marble tiled baths & custom vanities will pamper you like royalty!

-Maytag Neptune washer and dryer. Deep utility sink, cabinets, & Pietra Cardosa counters

-Ample driveway & overflow street parking & outdoor video surveillance

-Seven independent, remote-controlled A/C units

-Antique Oak hardwood flooring

-Attached/Separate Guest House (additional cost): Two queen sized, private bedrooms, marble-Jacuzzi bath, fully loaded & stocked kitchen w/semi-custom cherry cabinets, Fridge w/auto-ice maker (non winter) , range, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, coffee maker, toaster oven, toaster, blender, washer & dryer (detergent, bleach, fabric softener provided), island w/seating, 16' vaulted ceilings w/skylights, private deck with propane grill & extra tank, large closets & remote-controlled A/C & ceiling fans

Best value for your dollar on Lake Michigan!

Our guests are mostly repeats & often book the same time year-after-year. Theyseek the ultimate spa-like-experience, finest & numerous amenities, spacious outdoor living, Jacuzzis, Gourmet Pro-Chef Kitchen, Walk-in-wet-bar, Game Room, Sand volley ball & Master Suite that rivals the Ritz!

Catch some warm, afternoon rays on the sugar-sand beach, swim in clear Lake Michigan waters, or stroll in the surf at dusk & capture a snapshot of the setting sun or Chicago Skyline. No matter what the season or occasion, stay with us for the ultimate in relaxation!

More Details
  • Sleeps 30
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 5 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014

Guestbook comments from the manager

Met with a bunch of girls who all Scrapbook. That's what we did from Thursday until Sunday in Nov. 2011. Beautiful home, beautiful location, beautiful times!! Would I do again? In a heartbeat!! Oh and did I mention the hot tub. This would be a great place for a small family reunion or maybe a New Years Eve party. Very lovely--hoping to make plans to do it again.
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 1

27 Reviews

business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
4

Wish there was more time

  • 4 of 5
We had a great time wish there was more time. Jim was great, very pleasant to deal with. Had looked at this house for years and finally got to stay here, The walk to beach through dunes was as easy as he said. We did have concerns about it, we have a 14 year old lab with arthritis but she did fine. House was very clean, and had plenty of kitchen amenities to make cooking easy. Only 1 thing go to Meijer for grocery's PLEASE. Thanks for having us. We will return.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Tim & Lor: I am glad everything worked out so well for you! For your convenience, we do provide a binder at check-in full of useful information such as the BEST grocery stores, fine and casual dining, shopping, casinos, outlet malls, Indiana Dunes National Park hiking trail maps and other info, golf, historic landmarks, etc. Look forward to seeing you again real soon! Thank you! Jim & Hilary
business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

(Too) Short & Sweet Very Memorable Family Vacation

(Too) Short & Sweet Very Memorable Family Vacation
  • 5 of 5
My large (25 person), extended family and I stayed at the Dream Retreat a few weeks ago for an all-too-short two nights but had such a splendid time, we have already booked a full week next Summer! Grilling out and eating dinners on the deck with the IN Dunes Park and Lake Michigan as a backdrop were breathtaking. When not at the beach, our kids played a lot of volleyball—Hilary mentioned during the tour that it was Olympic grade.

The house was spacious and had all the things we needed. In most vacation rentals we’ve stayed at in the past, we usually have to bring our own beach towels, trash bags, spices, foil, paper towels, extra propane tanks, etc. Not here; they had it all!

The ladies loved how clean everything was inside and out, as well as the décor and furnishings. The pull-out sofa in the Guest House was the most comfortable ever—it’s actually a Temperpedic Memory Foam like the one we have at home.

Upon arrival, the owners, Jim and Hilary, patiently gave us a tour (some of the kids had been in the car way too long), answered questions, and pointed out the relevant and fun stuff to do in the area in the House Binder.

Being designers ourselves, we were happy to see some of the ongoing renovations—new themed rooms, paint and furniture in several areas of the home.

For us, this felt like home, we didn’t want to leave and can’t wait until next Summer at the dream Retreat!
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roy: It was great meeting you and your wonderful family. Glad you were able to find your golf balls in the dunes! See you in 11 months!
Jim & Hilary
business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
3

dreamretreat

  • 3 of 5
The grandkids enjoyed the stay, wanted to stay the whole summer. You have a nice place however it needs a little maintenance. The outside deck needs some attention. Maybe sweep it or blow it off. It also would benefit if you would refresh the stain or replace some of the planks, broke a rotten board. The weeds around the deck and in front of your place should be pulled or use some roundup. Screens needed cleaning right along with the windows. The master bathroom vanity tops need to be updated. The house was hard to keep cool and was very loud.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hilary and I pride ourselves on making our Miller Beach Dream Retreat the BEST vacation rental on Lake Michigan and always strive for continuous improvement. We’ve had an unusually rainy June that has made it difficult to do certain planned maintenance activities. However, by early July, everything was back to excellent!
****Between Guests, the maids wash ALL the windows and screens and we personally blow off all decks starting from Level 6 down. Whenever it rains, it is difficult to get ALL the sand off the multi-level decks. (after all, we ARE a beach house).
****In May, we replaced 246ft of wooden deck and railing and are waiting for them to “dry-out” first so we can re-stain the entire deck system which we plan to do in late Autumn.
****Being right on the Indiana Dunes National Park, weeds LOVE us. Three times during Peak Season, we pull ALL the weeds on the entire compound. We then spray the root systems as long as it doesn’t rain for 48 hours to keep them from coming back. Once the “dry-spell” hit, we were able to spray in our usual fashion and eradicate all weed from the premises.
****We take heating and cooling very seriously and stopped by to check on things and found four windows and two doors wide open WITH all eight (8) A/C units running. We always explain to our Guests that in order for the house to stay cool, all the doors and windows need to be closed or all the cold air goes right outside.
****We built the Dream Retreat on a quiet, cul-de-sac, low traffic street and is the only house on a large corner lot. There is nothing but beautiful dunes, beach, and Lake Michigan to the North and East. Our closest neighbor is 350ft away to the West. When you have ten adults and 16 grandkids at one time, I suppose any house would be loud.
business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
St. Louis, MO
5

Beautiful house, gracious hosts!

  • 5 of 5
We just returned from a weekend spent with 4 other couples at your home. We had such a great time together and really appreciated all the amenities and comfortable set up. The website was very accurate. The views of Lake Michigan and the dunes were beautiful. The beach would be wonderful to enjoy in the summer. Hilary greeted us, gave us a thorough tour and lots of good information. We had some concerns about the hot tub, but she assured us it was ok and we ended up enjoying it so much - even with the cold, windy weather. We can tell you put a lot of thought into the furnishings, both in function and design. Thanks for the opportunity to gather and enjoy a weekend of fun! A few small suggestions ( you said you wanted them): could have used a few more hangers in some of the bedrooms, there were no dish towels in the kitchen, noticed some cobwebs and dust bunnies/dog hair that was missed. I don't suppose you can do anything about the potholes in the surrounding streets! :)
These are small things and we loved our stay, hope to do it again!
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Gail: Thank you for your compliments and suggestions! Hilary and I always strive for continuous improvement in making the Miller Beach Dream Retreat Indiana's Best Beachfront Vacation Rental!
Since your stay, we have made sure that each closet has at least 10 sturdy, matching hangers. We always provide six black dish towels in the Main House and Attached Guest House Kitchens (two near the large double-bowl, under-mount Farm Sink, two near the Island Prep Sink, two near the large double-bowl Island Sink).
Due to our increased popularity and bookings of the Dream Retreat, we now do a Deep Clean of the entire compound every three (3) months, instead of our usual six.
Thanks again and see you this Summer!
Jim & Hilary
business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
Eight of us decided it was time for a girls weekend for movies, knitting, food and fun. Fortunately, we found the Dream Retreat! Jim and Hilary have a lovely, charming and comfortable home. They are gracious hosts, providing us with useful information at check in and a binder for reference. The layout of the house is perfect: four bathrooms and queen beds in every bedroom. The views are spectacular, the house is clean and amazingly well equipped. The information on the website is spot on. We enjoyed our time at the Dream Retreat VERY much. I recommend this property to anyone looking for a great vacation rental at a fair price with excellent service.
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Debbie: Thank you! It was our absolute pleasure hosting you and your friends on your "Girls weekend". As you know, Hilary and I are constantly updating our furnishings and fixtures and always strive to make the Dream Retreat an even better and more comfortable place to create lasting memories. We will most certainly have even more surprises on your next visit. Our calendar is almost full for Fall 2014, so be sure to call me to book soon. Thank you again!
business
Ultra-Lux Beachfront - Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7037776
-7732641000
Miller Beach Indiana
Arkansas
5

Dream Retreat better than ever!!

  • 5 of 5
This is the third time staying at the DR, as we like to call it. This year, we were pleasantly surprised by all of the updates to the home. It’s always been lovely, but they just updated all of the bedding and added new furniture and tv’s. It seems like renovation is the air, there are new trails and a complete transformation of the lakefront, which wasn’t quite finished when we stayed last year. Very nice and we really enjoyed our daily walks through the dunes.
We always appreciate the personal service from Jim and Hilary—they take great pride in their home and we look forward to seeing them every time.
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Oh thank you Ginna! We love it when our repeat guests notice our upgrades. We are on a roll and updating many fixtures and amenities to make the Dream Retreat even more comfortable and relaxing for everyone. See you and your family next August!

Location

Activity and Interests

Retreat is centrally located and has something nearby for everyone to do! All attractions are within a 45 minute drive or train ride. Shoppers and gamers paradise!

-Grocery/liquor stores

-Factory Outlet malls (120 stores)

-West Lake two-story mall

-Candy factory tours

-Fine/casual Dining

-EZ train to Chicago: (Loop, “Magnificent Mile” shopping, museums, convention center, airports)

-Scenic drives

-Fall foliage tours

-Flea markets

-National Park visitors center: hiking/biking trails and classroom discussions

-Casinos (10 min to Trump, Ameristar, Majestic, Harrah's, Horseshoe; 30 min to Blue Chip)

-Wells Street & West Side Beaches

-1/3 mile from Lake St. Beach boat ramp for jet skis, sailboats, motor boats, etc. (seasonal)

-5 minutes to Wells Street Beach and West Side Beach

-Ten minutes to Merrillville--retail hub-- restaurants, activities, boutiques, etc.

-Two-story Westlake shopping mall

-Five minutes to the best pizza this side of Chicago at Flamingo Pub

-Miles of hiking and mountain biking trails (Marquette Park trails and nature center)

-Plenty of dunes to climb, explore, and views that will take your breath away!

-Several Water Park and Amusement Parks (Deep River, Splashdown, etc.)

-Sightseeing (Amish Country, Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore)

- Saugatuck and Fennville Winery tours

-Twelve Golf courses

-Portage Marina

-Waterskiing

-Fishing

-Kayaking

-Jet skiing

-Sailing

-Kite boarding

-Swimming

-Wildlife viewing (deer, foxes)

-Bird watching

-Boating

-Snorkeling/Diving

-Antiquing

-Cinemas

-Live theater

-Live Concerts at Star Plaza

-Shelling

-Sledding

-Chesterton's "European Market"

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Dec 18, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$1,253
From
$1,253
From
$5,349
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $428 - $1253

    Weekly Rate: $2018 - $5349

    Monthly Rate: $0 - $0


  • 2 night minimum, 3 night minimum for holidays.
    See www MillerBeachDreamRetreat. com for current pricing, availability, policies, up-to-date pictures, amenities, and other detailed information.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4
  • Bathroom 5
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Bedroom 6

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • -Top floor 1200 sq. ft. master suite: Steam room with rainfall/massage shower, (dry cedar sauna not operational), two-person Jacuzzi peninsula tub, 10'x8' master closet, travertine tile fireplace (not operational), wrap-around decks, four skylights, Juliette balcony which overlooks Loft and Great Room below and desk workspace -1200 sq. ft. outdoor living space: 6-person Jacuzzi, outdoor shower (Peak season only), gas grill with extra propane, plenty of patio furniture & hammocks (Peak season only) -Premium Bose/Jamo sound system (indoors and out) -Fenced-in yard for your 4-legged friends -Gourmet chef's kitchen: Custom cherry cabinets, stainless-steel fridge w/auto-ice maker, double electric baking ovens, Pro-range (six sealed burners) & 36” gas roasting oven & Pro hood, warming oven, dishwasher, garbage disposal, red wine cellar (55 degrees), cold cellar for soda, white wine, champagne, beer (37 degrees) -Double island with Pietra Cardosa countertops (Italian Soapstone), prep sink, knives butcher block, and Xenon under-cabinet & toe-kick lighting -Two-story Great Room/Loft with soaring 28' wood ceilings w/ studio lighting & huge chandelier -Five skylights & 16 huge patio doors/windows shower the rooms with sun & showcases the views of lake & dunes; 37" HDTV w/ HDMI DVD player -Rec Room: Huge custom wet bar w/ fridge, poker/game tables, 42" HDTV Plasma Home Theater -Three other large bedrooms have Queen-sized beds, fine linens, dressers, Cable TV/DVD, fans, AC, leather chairs--private outdoor balconies & fireplaces -Four marble tiled baths & custom maple-glazed, claw-foot vanities -Pro sand volleyball court set to woman’s Olympic specifications (Peak season only) -Fully furnished home with all bed linens, towels, kitchenware, specialty glassware, spices, fire wood (Non-Peak Season only), laundry soap, bleach, fabric softener, 300 DVD/VHS movies and documentaries, 600 CDs, 150 Books, 25 games, etc.
Email Manager Contact Me Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.