Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

La Joya Merida Historical Center

La Joya Merida Historical Center

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 8 Sleeps

This beautiful colonial house combines the old colonial architecture with

extensive modern functionality.

Interior patio with terrace.

Three rooms, one studio, air conditioning in all areas. plus big

swimming pool with a palapa on the side.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Swimming pool
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english

Reviews

business
La Joya Merida Historical Center
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7038174
-52 999 9241997
Merida Yucatan
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Great cas and excellent location

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at La Joya for the month of February. We loved the house and the mix of modern and colonial designs. Much thought was put into the property. The kitchen was well appointed with all that we needed. Especially liked the stove top and the cast iron 'plate' used to heat tortillas.

The casa's location is perfect for exploring the historical centro of Merida. Just a short walk to the main plaza, Santiago and Santa Ana markets, museums and restaurants. A car is not needed. The home comes as advertised. Availability of hot water and water pressure were excellent.

The home is very clean and included weekly visits from a housekeeper, pool cleaners and gardener.

The pool and outdoor areas are magnificent. a great variety of fruit trees, bougainvillea and hibiscus. We especially enjoyed the different birds that would come to visit each day including parrots.

We found the property manager very easy to communicate with and when necessary any minor issues we encountered were dealt with in a timely fashion and to our satisfaction. We highly recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
La Joya Merida Historical Center
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7038174
-52 999 9241997
Merida Yucatan
Logan, UT, USA
5

Sanctuary in Merida

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was excellent - lovely, clean, spacious, good location.

Two courtyards with large screened windows/doors allowed a nice breeze. The house felt very spacious and comfortable for our group of 8. The pool was great for a refreshing dip after walking around town.

Location is just blocks from several plazas, avenues with historical points and restaurants, etc.

The refrigerator had some problems and the owner replaced it with a brand new one within a day. Very responsive.

Highly recommended. Next time we are in Merida, this will be our first choice.
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
La Joya Merida Historical Center
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7038174
-52 999 9241997
Merida Yucatan
New York City
5

Hidden Paradise

  • 5 of 5
La Joya is truly a hidden gem, from the outside it looked plain, but when I opened the door it was paradise. I loved this home and have inquired a few more times since my visit, but it was unavailable at those times - understandably, it is precious. I was greeted by Omar upon arrival with a walk through of the house and he explained the appliances, air conditioning, wireless internet, pool and everything else. He gave me his personal phone number and showed me how to use the phone to make local calls - which was great. The house is HUGE, it must be 5,000 square feet. The first room near the street has a queen bed(usually loud in other colonial homes in Merida)but was quiet because Calle 66 is not a very busy street. The Merida English Library is right around the corner, centro a few blocks. Two bedrooms are Huge with gorgeous minimalist-designed private bathrooms and queen sized beds. Yet another bedroom is smaller with a bathroom right outside it's door - queen or double bed, can't remember. The living room is a delight and the entire home is a thoughtful combination of minimalist chic and refurbished colonial architecture (ie flat screen tv, grey plush sofa, fine wooden dining furniture, stainless refrigerator...so nice, the living area gives a "loft-like" feeling, w/an open layout which includes the living room, dining and kitchen. The bathroom in the 3rd huge bedroom at the rear of the house has a door that opens to the patio/pool. Outside of the kitchen is a comfortable seating area with chair with comfy cushions. The pool was delightful. In January, it was not that hot, but a couple of days were hot enough to welcome the pool, which was not heated and did not need to be heated. Another wonderful aspect of this home is the palapa roofed area next to the pool, with hammocks and seating area, dining table...My group consisted of myself and 3 others, including creative writing professors I had invited to Merida for an event. EVERYONE loved this house and there was more than ample room for a lot of privacy. All in all, my experience was wonderful and I look forward to coming back again to casa La Joya. We never had a problem in 10 days. The washing machine is up a flight of stairs outside the backdoor and that made life easier as well. The home owners have a modest artistic flair that at once functional, beautiful and warm. Thanks so much, Omar, sorry I didn't write my review sooner and sorry La Joya won't be available next January when I am in Merida!
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Sheila, it was my pleasure to have you and company as guests, I look forward to have you as a guest.

Omar Fuentes
business
La Joya Merida Historical Center
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7038174
-52 999 9241997
Merida Yucatan
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1

Do not rent it!

  • 1 of 5
The house is nice, spacious and confortable, as seen in the pictures,it's closed to main attractions, but we had not a good experience with the management of this house, the swimming pool was for most of the time dirty, by management's orders they did not clean it and put the appropiriate treatment to it so half of our staying the water was green, I do have pictures of it and the person in charge of the swimming pool maintenance told us about it.
At the end of our stay, the administrator informed us that we have to pay a ridiculous amount of electricity because of the electricity of this house was connected to the next door house (so basically you have to pay the electricity for both houses) I am a mexican citizen and I know the cost of electricity, it was absolutally ridicoulus. We confront him about it and then he wanted to charge us for a stain on the kitchen's floor that was already there. Do not rent this property unless they change the management. It's such a pitty that the owner do not know about this, the house is nice but these type of incidents makes it not worth staying.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Isela, I'm very sorry you had so many problems with the management, we will address inmediately the company/people who manages this house, however I was informed that you asked for a rate in which you would handle the services and pay for them yourself, I suggest in the future you leave this for the managers, on my part I will not offer the option to handle cleaning of pool by renters it becomes extremely dificult, specially on summer when storms are frequest and mantaining the pool is a chalenge. As for the electricity, the house counts with two meters indeed, it is just a house with a divsion in the facade but is the same property, it is perfectly legal and used commonly in Mexico to reduce the power rate. I will make this clear to future renters.

Best

Gabriela

Location

Activity and Interests

Tours to Chichen Itza, Uxmal and other Mayan sites close to the city.

45 minutes from Progreso beach. Located in the center of Merida which

gives the occupants the

opportunity to enjoy festivals, art exhibitions, folklore and more;

everything at a walking distance.

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$1,500
From
$3,200
 

Notes


  • Rates: Weekly ($800-$1500 USD per week)
    Monthly ($1850-$3200 USD per month)
    Depending on number of guests and season.
    Please contact for more info.
    Special rates for longer periods

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • pets considered

Bathrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4

Notes:

  • High speed Internet Connection Cable TV with HBO and English spoken news channels Large swimming pool Close to theaters, restaurants, parks and markets 2 DVDs and 42" and 30 Flat Screen TV Stereo Dish washer Washer and dryer for clothes AC in al rooms and interior areas Three blocks from Zocalo
Email Manager Contact Me Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.