Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!

5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 3 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps

If you're looking to be in the Jacksonville Beaches area, then the Surf Shack is the place for you. It is located walking distance to all Jax Beach Nightlife, across the street from the ocean, and at the same time is very private. It is the perfect place for that special event such as a wedding, birthday party, or any special occasion that calls for an elegant, relaxed setting. There are numerous decks and balconies with ocean views, and plenty of areas for outside entertaining, eating, or just soaking up the Florida sun by your OWN pool. No condo rental can come close to offering what this

home offers. The master bedroom is upstairs with its own jacuzzi tub and fireplace, and it has its own private balcony so you can hear the waves at night or get the ocean breeze. There are 2 bedrooms downstairs along with a game room and 3 different living rooms that can easily be converted to sleeping areas. There are 2 kitchens, 1 upstairs in the eastern part of the

house with oceanviews, and one downstairs near one of the living rooms. Some other features this amazing property has: Your OWN complete workout facility with a T.V. and stereo, bikes in the garage, a crows nest with amazing ocean and panoramic views (I guarantee you spend at least one sunrise or sunset up there!), a couple of fireplaces, unbelivable marble and stone architecture, multiple level decks, a beautiful fish tank, steam room, outdoor shower and bathroom next to pool,

pool table, and a television in every room of the house.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms, 2 Half Baths
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Wheelchair access

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
62%
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2014

6 Reviews

business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Richmond, VA, USA
1

90s relic - overpriced

  • 1 of 5
This house was clearly built and decorated in the 90s and has been poorly maintained since. The front door keys didn't work, I had to buy the fish food for the tank the second day I was there because none was stocked, the second fish tank promised was not working. The fish tank that was working was so dirty that someone had to come clean it while we were there - it smelled like rotten eggs the rest of our time there. The pool got cloudy 4 days into our 7 day stay and smelled. Sure - the owner called the pool guy out a day early to come clean it but with average use it seems weird that it got cloudy to begin with. There were towels stuffed into the recessed lighting cans in the shower - possible fire hazard?? And no lights were functioning in the shower. The towel bar in the master bath was broken, as was the jet action on the tub. All the TV's were those big CRT ones - you cant even buy those anymore. The surround sound didn't work and has no auxiliary input for and mp3 players. The house wide speaker system is also a 90s relic and has no auxiliary input. I paid a sizable cleaning fee just for the owner to tell me that he is keeping my additional security deposit for some cigarette butts he found outside. I paid a lot of money for something easily swept up - it's ridiculous. This house is outdated and poorly decorated (unless you are really into sponge paint and bulk pier one commercial crappy art). Not worth the money and it was embarrassing to have people over
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was written by a disgruntled guest who lost their deposit due to damages to the home. It was rented to a group of 8 military personnel ( a military discount was provided) which quickly turned into a group of 14 guest.

The home was so damaged and left in such a state it prompted us to take it off the market and rent it out on a long term basis. We have since made improvements and the home is now better than ever !!

The home is breathtaking by anyones standards and we pride ourselves on taking care of our guest as if they were our family and friends. Any and all are welcome to visit the home prior to renting the home to see that this review is simply not true. The cleaning fee is nominal for a 5000 square foot home.

Warmly,

J.R. Rushing
Owner/Manager
business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Springfield, VA USA
5

Wedding Rehearsal dinner & family stay for wedding

Wedding Rehearsal dinner & family stay for wedding
  • 5 of 5
What a great place!!!!!! VERY nice. JR was a WONDERFUL host. Stayed there for my daughter's wedding. Me, my wife, son & his wife + 2 grandkids. Plenty of space. Incredibly nice inside & out. Had a rehearsal dinner there, 40 people, at the house. Used kitchen to have entire meal cooked & served. Great kitchen!! Real nice neighborhood for walks to the beach (1 block). Plenty of room for everyone to eat & enjoy. Crow's nest gave a great view of the Atlantic. Super pool, couldn't get the kids out. Amenities have to be seen - they were great!! Pool table & steam room were well used and real nice!! If you see this - rent this! I live just outside DC and we all loved it. We'd go back anytime!! My son & wife loved hitting the entertainment & bars nearby.
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Douglasville, GA
5

It just doesn't get any better!

It just doesn't get any better!
  • 5 of 5
The Surf Shack is amazing! It is definitely a luxury home; the pictures don't do it justice. The house was spotless when we arrived and well maintained.

We were a party of 10 women; 50+ years old, enjoying a girls getaway. We left the house to go to the spa, run to the grocery or walk to the beach. Otherwise, we were thrilled to hang out and enjoy this wonderful home. Open the triple sliding glass door and let the ocean breeze through the house. It is perfect for entertaining. The pool is inviting, although the water was too cold to enjoy. Plenty of beach toys in the garage.

This is a great place for families with teens as both floors offer a kitchen, family room, bedrooms and baths. 1 - 3 couples would find this house a great place to vacation together as there is plenty of room and privacy yet great common areas. It is perfect for a girls getaway. Trust me, we will be back.
The Surf Shack would accommodate families with disabilities or elderly that have a difficult time with stairs due to both floors being fully furnished.

In my opinion, it just doesn't get any better. Thanks, RJ! You Rock!
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WOW !!!!!

Thanks Terri for your kind words !!

You guys were great guests and left the place spotless !!!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR CHOOSING THE SURF SHACK AS YOUR TRAVEL DESTINATION !!
business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Douglasville, GA
5

It just doesn't get any better!

It just doesn't get any better!
  • 5 of 5
The Surf Shack is amazing! It is everything the pictures indicate and more. We rented the Surf Shack for a girls getaway. 10 women, 50+ years old. We left the house long enough to go to the spa on Saturday, run to the grocery store and go to the beach. Otherwise, we didn't want to leave the beautiful surroundings. This place is great for entertaining! Multiple decks, terraces and balconies. Open the triple sliding glass door and let the ocean breeze through the house. It would be great for families with teens, 1 - 3 couples, family reunions or a romantic getaway. RJ goes the extra mile to make everything perfect.
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Hoover, Alabama
5

Amazing!!!!

  • 5 of 5
Our family of 8 had an amazing vacation at the Surf Shack! The house is beautiful! The location was perfect, There was plenty of room, the house was very clean, the view from the crows nest was breathtaking! Everyone loved the pool and the game room! And the teenage boys enjoyed the gym! The owner went out of his way to accommodate our group and made sure we had everything we needed for a dream vacation! I would highly recommend the Surf Shack to anyone!!!! We WILL be staying there again next summer!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 mi from Mayo, 4,500 Sq. Ft. 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7039787
-9049937873
Jacksonville Beach Northeast Florida
Hoover, Alabama
5

Amazing!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
Our family had a wonderful vacation @ the SURF SHACK. Everything was amazing! The house was very clean, the views from the crows nest were breathtaking, and the location was perfect! The owner went out of his way to accommodate our group, and made sure we had everything we needed for a dream vacation! We would highly recommend the Surf Shack to anyone!!! We WILL be back next summer!!!!
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Location

Activity and Interests

Basically, if you are looking to spend your time at the beach the right way this is the place for you. Take advantage of your opportunity to stay in one of the nicest houses in all of Jacksonville Beach with every amenity and luxury item you can think of while also having the advantage of being in a fun centralized location. Fishing Pier - longest ocean pier in Florida walking distance to all of beaches nicest restaurants and clubs

Adventure Landing Water Park only a 5 minute drive

Mayport naval station 15 minutes

12 minute ride to TPC at Sawgrass

15 minute ride to St. Johns town center mall

40 minute ride to St. Augustine Florida

2 hour drive to Disney World

30 minute drive to Amelia Island

PLEASE NOTE: TOWELS AND LINENS ARE PROVIDED!!!!WE ALSO PROVIDE A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF SOAP,TOILET PAPER, PAPER TOWELS, DISH SOAP, ECT... ONCE THIS PROVIDED AMOUNT IS DEPLETED WE WOULD POLITELY SUGGEST YOU PURCHASE YOUR OWN TOILETRIES...... THANK YOU!!!

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$650
From
$650
From
$4,000
From
$10,000
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $500 - $650

    Weekly Rate: $3000 - $4000

    Monthly Rate: $10000 - $10000


  • $500.00 per day with a three day minimum, $2200 for a five day stay, or $3000 per week. $500.00 dollar security deposit is required and is fully refundable within (15) days of departure. 13 percent sales tax and $300.00 maid service is also required. If you would like to secure your dates (placed and held on the calendar) the refundable security deposit, cleaning fee of $300.00 as well as 1/2 rental fee is needed in advance to secure your specific calendar dates. The remainder of the funds which will include the remaing balance of rental fees and the 13% sales tax (based on lease amount and maid fee) are due 30 days prior to taking occupancy of the home. Finally, an executed copy of the rental agreement is also required to secure the calendar.
    ****CANCELLATION POLICY****
    We offer a full refund of all deposit monies as long as a "cancellation letter" is provided 60 days prior to your arrival date. There will be a $300.00 cancellation/administration fee for any cancelled reservations.

    All Surf Shack guests have full privileges to the Ponte Vedra Lodge & Club as well as The Ponte Vedra Inn. There is a fee of $300.00 to be to the facilities that will allows the entire household (10-12 persons) to enjoy these two 'Five Star' resorts. Feel
    free to visit their web site at PV Resorts to view their facilities and/ or contact Diana Stevens at Membership Services. Thank You.

    **Special rates apply to any and all holidays and or special events such as TPC, Fla/Ga weekend, July 4th, Labor day etc...

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Ocean View

Bathrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4
  • Half Bathroom
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • The surf shack stands alone in Jax Beach as it offers full membership priveleges for all staying guests to the Lodge and Club and Ponte Vedra Inn and Club. Access to both of these five star resorts is available for just one hundred dollars!! This fee covers your entire group and is simply a deal of a lifetime. You can also play golf at Resort Prices! Go to PVRESORTS on the web to see what is available to you. Besides this VIP offer the Surf Shack offers the following: A gorgeous private pool, steam room, workout facility, 2 car garage, plenty of parking space, indoor fountain, a crows nest with 360 View of Jax Beach and Ocean, 2 Kitchens with gourmet utensils and everything you need for a fun beach week, big grill, outdoor grilling area, sun decks, bikes and surfboards, walking distance to nightlife and restaurants, lifeguard patrolled beach access, internet access, cable, DSL, entire house is wired for surround sound, also has an intercom.
Email Owner Contact Me Email Owner Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.