Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps

An “English Cathedral Barn,” preserved with its original structural materials:

Native stone, hand hewn massive timber beams, rafters and posts 8%u02BCx 8%u02BC windowed cupola

4000 square foot living space on 4.2 acres. On 3 levels: Living/dining space, 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths,

kitchen, informal dining or family room, garage, flagstone mud room entry, two

decks, 2 fireplaces. Main room fireplace soars 25 feet

Nearby Hunter and Wyndham skiing and winter recreation centers

2.5 hours from New York City

Original renovation by architectural writer Ernest Burden, documented in his book.

Living Barns in America, New York Graphic 4ociety, 1977.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2014

2 Reviews

2 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Jewett Barn Hunter/windham ski areas
Hunter Hunter Mountain
Orlando, FL, USA

Weekend at Jewett Barn

  • 5 of 5
I recently spend a weekend at this property with 5 other friends. The house was beautiful and was the topic of discussion among the group several times. The house is very unique and has a whole lot of charm. While at the house, we spent most of our time in the main living area. The high ceilings and amazing fireplace made for a comfortable feeling to the whole area. The dining table was plenty large for dinner time and the kitchen and barbecue let us pull together a few good meals. The bedrooms were all great size and we all had more than enough room. The pool table and the deck were other great additions to an already great house!

We were planning on snowboarding this weekend, but the weather did not cooperate. The area has some nice hiking and a bit of golf, but the focus is certainly on Hunter and Windham. It was just a few minutes drive to the local supermarket where we were able to find whatever we needed for the weekend. No real complaints there.

The owner was a real pleasure to work with. He was very courteous and was clearly concerned with us enjoying our weekend. The house was in great condition upon our arrival and he just requested that we leave it the way we found it. Overall we enjoyed our trip very much and will be sure to look up this property next time we are headed to the area!
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I was worried that there was not enough snow for them to snow board. They had made the reservation months before. However they took it stride and made use of the other possibilities on the mountain. They told me they did some hiking and some golf and some relaxing times in front of the fireplace.
They left the Barn in great condition. Wonderful tenants.
The Jewett Barn Hunter/windham ski areas
Hunter Hunter Mountain
Haddon Township, NJ. US.

Jewett Barn Hunter/Windham Review

  • 1 of 5
I stayed at this rental for a week in beginning of March 2012. This place is truly a barn, with lots of potential which the owner has not tapped into. The kitchen is not much to look at and was extremely dirty. Mice droppings everywhere in the closet where dishes and cups were stored, in the drawers where utensils kept and other areas of kitchen. I had to wash and clean everything after arrival. The water smelled like sulfur (egg smell), no filtration system was installed.

I have stayed at other places in area and Poconos this was by far the worst place ever stayed. Other places I have stayed, it felt like someone's house and owners maintained it that way, this place is truly a rental unit, there is no address directions are that its at the corner of this/that intersection. There is not one piece of furniture that matches, not one dish or cup that matches. The place looks like it was furnished from a bunch of different garage sales. Any paint job or finish work was just slapped together so pathetic if stay there you will know what I mean.

Owner came over after talked to him with filter system for the kitchen but he didnt install it cause he said water didnt smell and said that we needed to put food away. Duh it was dinner time food is out when preparing, it was sad cause water smelled like that all week when washed dishes, brushed teeth, took shower, it just stayed with you wherever you went it seemed. If stay here bring water!! He also said they have had problems with mice before. A couple of nights we had fun watching mice chase each other around in the rafters. A couple morning we awoke to the screetching sounds of a squirrel in the main room. The place is very very drafty so we had fire going all the time. The windows and doors just simply do not seal, the door to deck is held in place with an 8 foot 2X4. This explains the various animal sightings in the house.

Bedroom layouts are not ideal and one bathroom has a weird standin shower but seems like they did what could be done with barn layout. The main room seems nice if some thought was put into fixing it up. Electrical outlets are basically extension wires from poorly placed outlets. Bathrooms are old and the work down was obviously slapped together.

Location was great to Hunter and Windham ski resorts and the dogs have no problem fitting into this place for obvious reasons.
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: This is a review that seems angry and vengeful and is inaccurate and you can see yourself by reading the other reviews. Note the review that was just one week before this renter. I have asked the present renter who came directly after to write their own review as well.

I believe this renter was upset because I confronted him to the fact that the booking was made for three adults and 4 children and when I came to respond to his complaints there were six cars and his son who was definitely not a child told me there were 12 people staying there.

This is an incredible barn in the country and yes there might be some
creatures that find their way in the house especially when open food
is left out and yes there is no white pickets fence with a mailbox in
front of it. anyone with a GPS will find it easy to get to.

Thank you


Activity and Interests

The Jewett Barn is located in the Catskill Park and Forest Preserve in Jewett, New York. The area

offers panoramic views, clean air and water, historic villages, parks and forests and pristine

rivers and lakes rich farmland, museums and galleries and is known for its recreational activities.

A variety of activities in all seasons include downhill and cross country skiing, rock and ice

climbing, canoeing, fishing, fall foliage viewing, biking, camping and bird watching. There are

numerous mountain hiking trails. Kaaterskill Falls, NY States highest waterfalls is 10 min away.

The barn is conveniently located 6 miles from the Wyndham Ski Center and 5 miles from the Hunter Ski

Center. The barn is a 2 hour and 20 minute drive from New York City. It is 30 minutes from the exits

20 or 21 on the NY Thruway and 40 minutes from the Amtrak station in Hudson, N.Y.


Rental rates


  • Nightly Rate: $350 - $500

    Weekly Rate: $1500 - $2000

    Monthly Rate: $3000 - $4000

  • We accept the following payment methods:
    money orders
Enter your travel dates
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities


  • pets considered


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Half Bathroom


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4


  • TV DVD fully equipped kitchen 2 fireplaces 9' pool table view of Hunter MT ski slopes from back deck 6 miles to windham Ski Slopes

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.