Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental

Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Oct 31, 2014
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

"Vacationing Relaxed at its Best"!!

Circa 1871 historic cottage rental of Canadian Soprano Maria Rekrut, Niagara Cottage is just a few minutes walk to the Old Town centre. This 2 bed/2 bathroom cottage with pull out futon great for 2-6 guests.

Niagara Cottage features original pine floors, doors and windows. When you enter Niagara Cottage you take a walk back into history enjoy your very own, private historical cottage experience

Your all inclusive package includes a light self serve continental breakfast. All of this is to be enjoyed at your leisure in the privacy of your own cozy cottage.

Get pampered with our Luxury High Four Poster Queen and King Size Beds, Down filled duvets, pillows, luxury Egyptian linens, Turkish cotton towels, and spa bath amenities.

Spa bath amenities provided, include fluffy terry cotton bathrobes, slippers, and hair dryer. All bath amenities provided; all you have to do is bring your toothbrush.

Niagara Cottage is centrally located in the historic old town and walking distance to shops, restaurants, theatres and wineries.

This non-smoking, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage, features a full kitchen!!

Ideal Old Town location, only steps to the three Shaw Festival live theatres, restaurants, shopping, galleries, golfing and Lake Ontario. Victorian garden, and antique decor.

Niagara Cottage offers a patio, deck, BBQ and is found on a bicycle path only

minutes to Niagara's award winning wineries, farm markets, historic Fort George, Niagara Falls and the Casino.

Relax on the patio or deck, enjoy the BBQ, and surround yourself with the tranquility of our private, unique organic Victorian garden.

We have bird feeders throughout the garden that attract many species of birds, great for the bird watchers.

This Historic Cottage rental is highly recommended by all of our guests. Long and short term rentals available. The property is open all year and is great as a summer retreat or winter getaway destination.

Discover Canada's Prettiest Town in the comforts of your own historical Cottage Rental.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your lovely cottage with us this weekend. We enjoyed the special amenities you had chosen for us. That was a sweet and special touch. We look forward to returning next year. On a scale of 1-10 it's a definite 10++. We'll be back.



Our thanks again,



Tracy and Mark and

Phelps and Karen

From Ontario and Rushville, NY
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
5

Fantastic Cottage Rental Getaway

  • 5 of 5
We just checked out from Niagara on the lake Cottage Rental and this was our second stay here. We are celebrating a birthday and heading out for a wine tour.

Maria made our stay warm and inviting, what I love about the cottage is it's private, you're on your own property you're not sharing your space with any other guests.

This cottage has become our second vacation home without any of the up keep just the pleasure.

A light self serve breakfast is provided so we got up when we wanted to, and prepared our own breakfast. I loved sitting outside hearing the birds singing and sipping our coffee in the back yard!!

We have all the space and privacy to feel like we were at home. Can't recommend it enough. Already planning our next stay here.
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Toronto
5

Niagara Cottage Rental what an amazing place to visit

  • 5 of 5
Niagara Cottage Rental what an amazing place to visit!

I just loved our time at this amazing cottage rental. What a great place for my family and I to spend a week in Niagara on the Lake. We've been coming for the past 4 years, and the cottage gets better and better, every time. Maria Rekrut, the owner, always has a surprise for us, she treats us so well, she has excellent customer service.

The beds are so comfortable we sleep in every time we stay there, and the self serve complimentary continental breakfast, that Maria, leaves us is so convenient and handy, we don't have to run out for breakfast, so we can get up at any time to get breakfast. Pure bliss, so very relaxing, Maria you think of everything.

The bathroom had Lavender bath products, very relaxing and the towels are so fluffy, we also appreciated the bathrobes and slippers left for us. We have abundant hot water and the water pressure is just fine.

The wireless internet works fine and we love sitting out in the backyard looking at all the flowers and trees that are on the property. You feel like we're up North with the over abundance of trees. It's a paradise for anyone who loves flowers and trees.

We'll be back again next year, we already booked our dates. I highly recommend this cottage for anyone who is looking for a great place to relax.
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi MayLou,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at my cottage rental. It's a pleasure having repeat guests, such as yourself coming back year after year. We're celebrating 13 years in business this year and it's been a pleasure meeting guests personally and getting feedback from them, it only improves our customer service.

We now can accommodate up to 6 guests with our pull out futon in the sitting room.

Have a great fall and see you next year.

Cheers

Maria
business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Dalton, PA
3

Spent 4 nights - just OK - won't be back

Spent 4 nights - just OK - won't be back
  • 3 of 5
Here are the pros and cons. You make up your own mind based on what’s important to you.
Pros:
Good location – just a few blocks from downtown NOTL in a quiet neighborhood.
Clean
2 bathrooms – with only 2 bedrooms that’s hard to find
Beds were comfortable
Washer/dryer – I wouldn’t normally use this on vacation but it happened to come in handy
Nice quality towels and linens
Cons:
No internet service as advertised. This was a big con for us. One of us had to be connected several times a day and having to get to a Tim Horton’s to do this was quite inconvenient. There was some explanation as to a storm that had knocked it out the week before but we spoke to a number of locals about this and none of them thought that made any sense. Neither did we. After multiple inquiries we gave up. Then after we had already checked out on Sunday, we received a text saying she would look into getting it fixed.
No space to put your things in the king bedroom. We had to put our suitcases in the sitting room and our little things on the dining table. If you had to use the sitting room as a bedroom, it would be quite tight.
Televisions are only in the bedrooms. We would have liked a tv in the stting room to watch the news in the morning or when we all got home at night. We didn’t use the bedroom tvs, which were taking up valuable space for our things!
Very tight shower in the main bath and poor water pressure.
The front door sticks – they left WD40 for us to spray it. Really?!?!?!?
The $250 value gift basket is just coupons that can be found in advertising brochures around the area and coupons for complimentary wine tastings that are pretty much complimentary anyway if you buy anything at all at each winery so we didn’t see this as a perk.
This place is probably an allergy-sufferers nightmare – fur, feathers, throws, pillows, fake flowers everywhere. Fortunately, none of us suffer from allergies but if you do, you may want to consider this. In general, there was just so much “stuff” everywhere making the place feel rather cramped.
The yard was quite unkempt. We didn’t spend much time out there so it wasn’t a big deal for us but the photos on HomeAway are definitely not current. I laughed when I looked back on Homeaway at the photo of the “lovely summer blooms in the window boxes”. In reality, the window boxes are full of sad fake flowers.
So for basic functionality, this accommodation did the job for us but we won’t be back.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you won't be back, we can't please everyone, we try our best to improve our service every year. We've been in business for 13 years and have many customers returning who enjoy staying at our cottage rental. GUEST CONCERN: No internet service as advertised. OWNER RESPONSE: We called the Cable company numerous times and they had a different reason why the internet wasn't working each and every time we called. We have changed cable companies. I'm happy to say that the internet is working fine now. GUEST CONCERN: No space to put your things in the king bedroom. OWNER RESPONSE; We have closet space enough to hold 2 suitcases, in both bedroom closets, and we have 2 suitcase holders in each closet. There are dresser drawers in both bedrooms where guests can put there clothes. GUEST CONCERN: Televisions are only in the bedrooms. ONWERS RESPONSE: We don't have space in the sitting/dining room for a TV, that's why the TV's are in the bedrooms. GUEST CONCERN: Very tight shower in the main bath and poor water pressure. OWNERS RESPONSE; No one has mentioned about the shower being tight and poor water pressure. The shower is called a "Rain Head" and it has a very soft flow it's used for relaxing in the shower. there an adjustment on the shower head that you can use if you want more water pressure and a stronger shower, it's on the shower head. We have pressurized showers, which means that if water is being used in the other bathrooms or kitchen, the shower still works at full capacity. GUEST CONCERN: The front door sticks OWNERS RESPONSE; Yes the front door sticks because of the humidity and we have found the trick of spraying WD 40 on the door to make the door open up smoothly. GUEST CONCERN: The $250 value gift basket. OWNERS RESPONSE; Please note that wine tastings are not complimentary at the wineries, unless you purchase a bottle of wine. We leave from 15-20 wine tasting passes, I don't think any guest will want to go to 20 wineries for tastings and have to pay or be forced to purchase a bottle of wines GUEST CONCERN: This place is probably an allergy-sufferers nightmare OWNERS RESPONSE; Please note that all of our bedding is Hypo allergenic. GUEST CONCERN: In general, there was just so much “stuff” OWNERS RESPONSE; View our website to see the cottage, it's 1000 sq ft.
business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Phelps, NY
5

Quaint, cozy, comfy!

  • 5 of 5
Our annual December trip to Niagara on the Lake was our most comfortable ever. This sweet, cozy cottage is the perfect location no matter what your plans may be. Whether it's strolling the shops of NOL, enjoying the wine trail or just some R & R, we loved our stay. The owner has thought of everything a traveler may need from the bathrobes to the bathroom spa supplies to the complimentary breakfast items -- there's nothing she hasn't thought off. We'd love to visit in the summer time when the grounds are in bloom - wintertime doesn't do it justice. We loved the quaintness of the cottage and, in our time there, felt like it was our own. We even talked about how we would rearrange furniture and make the diningroom a cozy livingroom with a fluffy sofa in front of the electric fireplace. It just felt like home and that made it homey and comfy. We're excited for next years' trip and know that we've found the perfect cottage for our annual trips! Thank you to the delightful owner who ensures a perfect stay!
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
London
5

We had a great Time

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time. The cottage is very quaint, very comfortable bed and we enjoyed the treats
you left. The cottage had everything we needed and then more.

Hope to be back next year.

Dan and Helen
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7043917
+1 -905-980-0346
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Thank you for sharing your cottage with us

  • 5 of 5
Maria,

I want to thank you for sharing your cottage with us. It is so
quaint and cozy, so much nicer than staying in your regular run of the
mill sterile hotel. We had everything we could have wished for and more,
your nice homey touches were very much appreciated.

You really did think of everything. We were sorry to leave after our weekend and thought the cottage was so cute, we couldn't bear to leave it messy. We love Niagara on the Lake but our Wishing Well Cottage stay made it all that much more enjoyable.

Again thank you so very much and you will definitely be seeing us again
sooner rather than later.

Regards,
Nancy & Jeff
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

Location

Activity and Interests

Activities include:

Shaw Festival Theatre, Live Classical Music Festival and Concerts, golfing, bicycling, swimming, roller blading, dining, cooking classes, and shopping.

Wine Tours and Tastings, Sightseeing, Hiking, Boating, Fruit Picking, Recreational Trails, Walking Tours, Horse Back Riding, Tennis, Lawn Bowling, and Antiquing.

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Updated: Oct 31, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$350
From
$350
From
$2,450
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $150 - $350

    Weekly Rate: $1050 - $2450

    Monthly Rate: $0 - $0


  • Niagara-on-the-Lake Cottage Rental:
    2013 - 2014 SPECIALS -
    Rates start at: $150-$350 a night
    1. PAY FOR 2 NIGHTS GET 3RD NIGHT FREE, Birthay and Anniversary Special
    This special includes:
    Our "PASSION FOR LIVING WELCOME GIFTS" containes: Signature Welcome Gift Basket valued at $150.00. Complimentary self serve continental breakfast included with this special!!
    BOOK EARLY --LIMITED AVAILABILITY (January, February, March, April, May, October, November, December)

    2. PAY FOR 5 NIGHTS GET 6TH NIGHT FREE
    OFFER VALID: Sunday to Friday (applies all year)

    3. PAY FOR 7 NIGHTS AND GET THE 8TH NIGHT FREE
    (applies all year)

Amenities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Downtown

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • We have various amenities for the the discerning guest such as: This 2 bed/2 bathroom cottage with pull out futon great for 2-6 guests. * * Luxury High Four Poster Queen and King Size Beds, featuring Down filled duvets, pillows, luxury linens with 1000 count Egyptian cotton. * * Fluffy, turkish bath towels, and spa bath amenities. Terry robes, slippers, hair dryer all spa bath amenities intended to make your stay that much more luxurious, and comfortable. All you have to bring is your toothbrush. * * The Cottage has been updated to include: Central Air conditioned/air purified rooms, Forced Air Gas Heating. * * Free local phone calls, Cable T.V, CD, DVD/VCR Players. * * Two Fireplaces are provided for those romantic evenings in the winter time. * * Enjoy the beautiful unique lush organic perennial garden in a tranquil setting with a Bird Feeders are located in our gardens for you to enjoy the wide variety of birds found in our organic gardens. * * Deck, patio and BBQ lead into a lovely perennial victorian garden featuring an assortment of flowers and fruit trees for you to enjoy at every season. We have bird feeders that attract birds for you to do your bird watching. * * Steps to shopping, Shaw Theatre, fine dining, wineries and town centre. We are on bicycle/wine route, open year round. Wonderful winter retreat. Special packages available for longer stays, by request.
Email Owner Contact Me Email Owner Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.