Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Nov 16, 2014
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Beautiful 2BR/2BA BEACH FRONT Condo (sleeps 6)

Conveniently located just 2 blocks east of the Highway 59 & Beach Blvd. intersection - within walking distance to shops, restaurants, pubs, etc.

Relax on the spacious balcony and enjoy a spectacular view! Our condo

is a peaceful retreat after a day of swimming, shopping, or sightseeing.

Spend your evening eating in and watching TV or sample the fare at one

of our many local restaurants and then go to the movies, out dancing, or

attend a concert.

Our complex has an outdoor pool with landscaped waterfall plus an

exercise room. Castaways is a low density complex ideally located near

the center of town where restaurants, gift shops, the zoo, mini-golf,

and water and amusement parks are just blocks away.

Our spacious 1250 sq. ft. condo is appointed with all the conveniences

of home. Your pleasure and comfort during your stay is important to us.

We provide luxurious linens on the beds, plenty of plush towels in the

bathrooms, a fully stocked kitchen, TV's, DVD players, free internet

access, and a washer/dryer.

Our beautifully decorated beach front condo is convenient to stores,

restaurants, golf courses, water and amusement parks, mini golf,

marinas, and theaters. There is so much to do and see in the area!

Watch the dolphins early in the morning, the waves breaking on the white

sandy beach during the day, and the twinkling lights of the shrimp boats

at night. You will find that our condo is very comfortably furnished for

your enjoyment and relaxation. The spacious master bedroom has a king size

bed, large 21' TV, sitting area, and walk in closet. You can recline

in bed and watch all the beach activity through the large 5' picture


Our darling second bedroom also has a sitting area and is furnished

with two twin beds. Also, the living room couch can be pulled out and

made up as a queen size bed.

Each bedroom has a private bathroom with double vanities. The

tub/shower and toilet area in each bathroom is privately situated

behind a second bathroom door.

There is plenty of seating in the living room to watch a show on the large

27' TV or to just relax and listen to the sound of the waves breaking on

the shore. Besides a spacious fully equipped kitchen, there are VCR's,

DVD players, an iron and ironing board, and a washer and dryer.

Luxurious linens (300 thread count) and plush towels (egyptian cotton)

are provided. The floors and balcony are all tiled.

If you are considering a vacation to the Gulf, our beach front condo

is beautifully and comfortably furnished to provide you with many

enjoyable days at the beach.

We welcome you to come and stay for a memorable vacation!

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2014

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed in this beautiful condo from Dec 21-26, 2008. The view is one of the best, absolutely beautiful! Condo is comfy cozy for the entire family.All the comforts of home, and very nice beds. We will be back, definitely! Thank you so much, Lou, for letting us rent your beautiful condo. See you soon, Deb
Feb 2009
  • 1 of 5

25 Reviews

based on 25 traveler reviews

Write a Review
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
metropolis il

castaways condo

  • 5 of 5
nice place.. great location... old style t.v....good person to deal other visitors have said the only down fall is the parking... its a little tight..i would recommend this to any beach lover... great view...
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
branson mo

family vacation

  • 4 of 5
we had a great time at the castways condo the condo was very nice some we had a great time we got to watch dolphins swim while we eat breakfast it was awesome walking distance to shop and to eat out the oyster bar was really good place to eat we are going to make it a yearly vacation thank you for letting us use your condo to make memories we will be back see soon
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast

Castaways Condo

  • 5 of 5
Castaways is a very nice condo to stay in. It has an awesome view. The description online was very accurate. The worst part was the parking. The lot is small and it was packed so we had to park across the street. Sea and suds is just down the beach and a very good place to eat. I would recommend to friends and family.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast

Condo & Complex Did Not Meet Expectations

Condo & Complex Did Not Meet Expectations
  • 1 of 5
We we very disappointed in our stay here. The condo and complex didn't meet expectations. Here are the reasons why we were dissatisfied.

A review of the Castaways complex:

1) The parking lot is cramped and crowded. It is difficult to get in and out. Barely have room to open car doors.

2) Lack of luggage carts. During the course of the week, we were ony able to locate 2 for the whole complex. This was an issue at check-in and check-out times.

3) The trash bin for complex is directly across from elevator. Anytime you arrive or leave, there is a strong smell of trash. The heat & humidity compound the smell as you ride the elevator. The strong smell also carries over into parking lot.

4) The complex is close to the main public beach. I wouldn't recommend this area for families unless you enjoy the party crowd.

A review of the condo itself:

1) While the condo did have plenty of room, the balcony is small and cramped. Do not plan on relaxing in chairs from this balcony.

2) The master comforter was dirty and had not been washed. We asked the condo owner about this, and she confirmed that the cleaning crew had not washed it because of a time constraint. This was completely unacceptable.

3) The shower curtains were mildewed. This unacceptable considering that they are $3 or $4 bucks for a new one. There was a constant dripping from bathroom/shower faucet in master bath. The master bath flooring is weak. It felt like we would fall through the tub every time we took a shower. The master bath toilet seat was loose. The hand towel rack in the master bath was loose & falling down. All of these are easliy repaired, but had been neglected.

4) The DVD player didn't work with any disc.

I wouldn't recommend this condo or complex to anyone until changes are made for the better. It's worth spending a few more dollars of hard earned money and find a more recently built, better designed complex and a condo that is kept clean and in good repair. We will not be staying here again nor would we recommend to family or friends.
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Maintaining my condo so that guests have a pleasant experience is very important to me. All my emails and correspondence ask guests to please contact me if they have any problems so that they can be addressed immediately. Unfortunately, I was not able to do so with the items on your list that I had control over as I was not made aware of any problems until you emailed me requesting a refund days later.

Yes, I agree the parking spaces are tight for larger vehicles.

There are at least 4 luggage carts at the. I have no idea where they were when you were looking for them. Maybe guests did not return them to the area as requested. Locating a luggage cart is probably a common issue on the weekends when people are arriving and departing. That issue would be found anywhere you stayed as I have experienced it myself in other places, including hotels.

The trash chutes on each floor make it easy for everyone to dump their trash rather than hauling it downstairs on the elevator. The dumpster is enclosed in a room behind a door. The city does not offer a daily pick up service, which would reduce odor.

The balcony extends across the width of the living room as clearly pictured on the web site you booked from. It is large enough to hold a patio table with 4 chairs, plus allows extra room for standing to enjoy the view.

My cleaning crew said they had noticed the bedspread was dirty around the bottom edge, but there was no time to take it to a laundry to be dry cleaned. It could have been removed, cleaned, and then delivered the next day, but I was not even aware of the issue until I read your email.

They should have definitely changed the shower liner, but apparently missed this. They could have returned and changed it, had you called me. I always stock shower liners and light bulbs under the kitchen sink in case they are needed.

The annoying drip was taken care of after you emailed me about it, along with the loose toilet seat and towel rack.

I had no idea that the DVD player did not work. I would have had a new one brought to you within a few hours.

Between the initial discount and the refund I sent because you were disappointed, your 7 night stay during Peak Season totaled what a 5 night stay would have cost.

I know that after saving for a vacation no one wants to feel like they have been short changed. Again, I’m sorry and wish you had enjoyed a better experience.
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast

Beach Bum Heaven!

  • 4 of 5
My family and I had a wonderful stay. The condo was comfortable and the beach was lovely. Had little mix-up with the parking pass,but the owner took care of that right away.Condo could use some updating, but its still a great value for the money. We walked to restaurants nearby and made good use of the fully stocked kitchen. Would recommend to friend and definitely stay here again
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
November $85 Beach Front 2 BR Castaways Gulf Shores
+1 -(770) 616-1216
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Tuscumbia, AL

The Browns - Tuscumbia, AL

  • 5 of 5
We absolutely had a ball! We had never been to the beach in February before but it was very nice. We found tons of shells, every size, shape and color. The weather was cool, but we walked thru the water to a sand bar and it was great! We enjoyed the condo it was very clean and convenient to everything. You were very nice and easy to deal with. Your kitchen was extremely well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, glasses and anything else you could need. The master bed was AWESOME, slept so good! We would definitely stay there again and recommend to any of our friends!
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


Activity and Interests

Gulf Shores is situated within minutes from Orange Beach, AL and

Perdido Key, FL. Castaways is a low density complex located near the

center of town where restaurants, gift shops, the zoo, mini-golf, and

water and amusement parks are just blocks away.

Play golf at several local golf courses. Fish all day in the gulf,

river, or bay. Shop for antiques or at the Tanger Outlet Mall 15

minutes away in Foley. Visit the Navel Air Museum on the base 20

minutes away. We are about 45 minutes from Pensacola, 1 hour from

Mobile, 3 hours from Montgomery, and 6 hours from Atlanta.

- Hike or bikealong the trails of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge located just a few miles away.

- Visit the fitness center and work out, use the steam or sauna rooms, or just enjoy a swim in the large indoor pool.

- Visit the historic Fort Morgan and then take a car/passenger ferry over to Dauphin Island. From there, drive around and tour the battleship USS Alabama before heading back to the beach.

- Spend an afternoon free of charge at the exciting museum on the navel air base near Pensacola that explores the history of flight.

- Enjoy a morning at the Gulf Shores Zoo, featured recently on a PBS.

- Take the kids to the waterpark, miniature golf course, or go-cart track.

- Shop at the outlet mall or in many of the local gift shops.

- Eat some great seafood at one of the many local restaurants.

- Head out fishing and catch some of that great seafood!

- Go to the movies, dance to the music of a local band, or attend a concert at the Wharf.

Most importantly - have fun at the beach!


Enter your travel dates
Updated: Nov 16, 2014
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay


  • Nightly Rate: $100 - $240

    Weekly Rate: $600 - $1710

    Monthly Rate: $0 - $0

  • SPRING: MAR 01 - MAY 14 $165/night $990/week
    HANG OUT MUSIC FESTIVAL: MAY 15 - MAY 18 $400/night (4 nt. min.)
    LATE SPRING: MAY 19 - MAY 30 $240/night $1440/week
    SUMMER: MAY 31 - JUN 27 $1620/week (Saturday to Saturday)
    PEAK SUMMER: JUN 28 - AUG 8 $1710/week (Saturday to Saturday)
    LATE SUMMER: AUG 09 - SEP 05 $175/night $1050/week

    FALL: SEP 06 - OCT 31 $120/night $720/week
    WINTER: NOV 01 - FEB 28 $100/night $600/week

    Pay For 6 Nights, Get The 7th Night Free!

    ADDITIONAL CHARGES: $20 Parking Pass, $100 Cleaning Fee, 11% Lodging Tax,
    $250 Refundable Security Deposit


Property Type

  • condo


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic


  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool


  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2


  • Outdoor Grill


  • Our condo has free WI-FI (Wireless Internet), 2 TV's: 27' (Living Room) 21' (Master), 2 DVD players, and a VCR. The balcony has a bar height patio table with 4 chairs. Our complex has a beautiful heated beach front pool with a landscaped waterfall. The L-shaped pool extends up under our building so you can retreat out of the sun. Sunbath in a lounge chair available on the pool decking or relax out of the sun on the spacious decking under building furnished with plenty of tables and chairs. Restrooms are conveniently provided near the pool. Enjoy working out on the machines in our new fitness center. Charcoal grills are located on the grounds for your use.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.