Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature

Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature


Property Details

Updated: Oct 20, 2014
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 5 Sleeps

The Sunshine Cottage is appropriately named for it's abundance of

windows and skylights! With cathedral ceilings throughout the open-

airy tree top feeling is exilerating! There is a cozy private deck

with a 4 person hot tub and a large covered screened porch on the

front of the cottage. There is a private king bedroom and a large

full bath. The cottage also has a second sleeping area with a futon.

The cottage has satellite TV with over 150 channels. Take the five

minute walk to the top of the mountain for a great view. Exclusive

Lake Summit is a three minute drive away for a day full of fun.

Sleeps up to 5. Cottage is Non-Smoking. Give us a call for more


Nestled on a mountainside less than a mile from Highway 25, our

cottage lets you escape the day-to-day and provide you with a

memorable mountain experience. Four miles to historic Flat Rock, 10

minutes to Hendersonville, 30 minutes to Asheville.

Open the windows and smell the pines...

  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hello Sandra,

We had a wonderful time at the lovely Sunshine cottage. It was very clean, well stocked and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay in the area. My kids loved the gem mine.

We hope to stay at Cranmore Cottages again many times.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 5


Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Durham, NC

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at the Sunshine Cottage. We loved the cottage and it's open airy feel. We arrived at the cottage and it was very inviting and well staged with music playing, ceiling fans on and warm lighting. We drove into town nightly for dinner (about 10 to 15 minutes away). Mezzaluna was our favorite on Main Street. We hiked the waterfalls at DuPont State Forest, Pisgah, and Chimney Rock Park. We highly recommend this cottage and it's location.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Augusta, GA

Heavenly Sunshine!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I were celebrating our 5th year anniversary and we had an experience of our lives. It was so wonderful and relaxing. This cottage is close to everything we wanted to see. We enjoyed the cottage and the atmoshpere. We went white water rafting down the Green River and I would tell you to do the LaZoom Tour of Asheville. We had everything we needed in this cottage. I would recommend it to everyone.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed it and hope you will return again for another aniversary if not sooner.
Dean and Sandra Cloer
Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area

Budget rental

  • 3 of 5
At this price it is less than a hotel. My expectation was that it should be clean and in working order. It was. This is an older rental and you should not expect luxury at this price.

The entrance to this rental is from a busy road onto a gravel drive. Doubt that 2 cars could pass on this drive. My rental was the first on the drive and my parking area was separated from the drive by a tree. If your car is bigger than an accord, I would reconsider as it would difficult for you to turn around and too dangerous to back out on main road.

The entrance is up wood and dirt steps. You then enter into hallway with alcove where TV , futon and roll-a-way are located. Entrance to enclosed porch is to the right. There is a half bath as well on this entrance level. Up approx. 10 steps to main level. Bedroom, living area, kitchen and full bath. I do not consider this a 2 bedroom as second sleeping area is the futon area on entrance level.

There is no central air but there are 3 window unit. In mid afternoom it was slighty muggy however we were not uncomfortable. There are plenty of towels, washer/dryer and detergent available. Appliances worked however, there were coffee filters but not first day coffee available. (This has been available at other rentals). There are sky lights in the bath and bedroom. It was not a problem for us as we are early risers. Hot tub we did not use. The washer appears to only pull hot water. Bed is okay could stand to have a foam topper added for more comfort. Might consider ear plugs for A/c noise.

This is 3rd VRBO rental for us this year and we choose to do budget rental for this trip. This was clean and in working order and meet our needs for this trip.
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! As stated in your review, we do try to keep our rates low compared to hotels so the amenities you receive make it a good value. Thank you also for noticing the cleanliness and that all was in working order. The hot tub is a favorite among our guests, sorry you did not have a chance to use it. The drive (Cranmore Lane) is a one lane gravel road but we feel that adds to the charm. Thank you again!
Dean and Sandra Cloer
Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Spot for Respite

  • 5 of 5
My daughter and I planned a long weekend in the mountains and were not dissappointed in our stay!
The Sunshine Cottage was perfect for us. We loved the vaulted ceilings and sky lights. Talks with morning coffee on the screened porch were perfect. We really connected here and laughed alot. We look forward to our next trip to the mountains.
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you. It is always a pleasure to have folks like you stay with us. Hope to see you again!
Dean and Sandra
Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area
charleston, sc

definitely NOT worth the money

  • 1 of 5
We were extremely disappointed with this rental. The listing is extremely misleading. There were not two bedrooms. The futon is in the downstairs entry way which was musty and dark. We had a difficult time finding a place for our two small children to sleep. One had to sleep in the bedroom with us which meant none of us got any sleep all week. Our bed was so uncomfortable and noisy that it woke him up when we rolled over. Also, this cottage is on a busy driveway that is parallel to a busy road. While sitting on the screened porch, which was the only living area, it was hard to relax and have a conversation with the traffic noise and people walking by. The listing said it was private but you could easily be seen by neighbors while getting in and out of the hot tub. Luckily, we didn't fall on the mossy deck. Overall, the house was dirty and in disrepair. The grill was rusty and moldy, the furniture and ledges were very dusty, windows were dirty in the "sun room". There was really no place to relax and hang out. The only TVs were in the bedroom or futon area. There was also a huge hole under the door that was letting in bugs. We chose this house over other listings because the description and pictures made it seem worth the money. It definitely was not and I would not recommend it to anyone. The owner also did not return my calls or emails but I see that she did charge my credit card without my authorization.
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very proud of our rentals and take care of all guest issues as soon as we are notified of them. We take general pictures of all our cottages and don't embellish any of them so as no one expects more than they receive. There are several places to "hang out" including the upstairs living room, the "futon TV room" downstairs, the screened porch, and the hot tub porch. We always replace items in disrepair if a guest notifies us. One reason we chose to purchase this cottage was it's location. It is on Cranmore Lane which is a gravel one lane road with 5 other summer home. The main road (hwy 225) is one of the most scenic drives in North Carolina and there are several summer camps in the area because of it's beauty. Let's all take a nap.
Mountain Sunshine Cabin, hot tub, deck. Nature
+1 -828-275-8056
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Richmond, VA

Beautiful Location for our Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
Our trip to the Smokies for our 20th anniversary was one of the best we've ever taken. A big factor in making it so great was our cottage. The cabin was extremely clean and very well decorated. The location was great. It is close to all of the attractions. Yet it is far enough away that it gives you a sense of isolation. The information book provided by the owners makes it seem like you have your own personal tour guide. There is information on restaurants, hiking trails, attractions in the city, and places to shop. The directions provided by the owners helped us avoid wasting time and sped up our trip. We can see ourselves going back here in the future.
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway


Activity and Interests

Area Attractions: Smoky Mountains... Blue Ridge Parkway, Pisgah

National Forest, DuPont State Forest, Lake Summit, Hiking,

Waterfalls, Sliding Rock, Biking, Picnic Areas, Biltmore Estate,

Chimney Rock Park, Historic downtown Hendersonville, Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, Historic Flat

Rock & the Flat Rock Playhouse, Carl Sandburg Home, Folk Art Center,

Golf, Tennis, Fishing, Hunting, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding,

Shopping, newly opened 12 screen cinema, Restaurants, Museums,

Sightseeing, Swimming, Boating. And easy day trips to Harrahs Casino,

the Cherokee Indian Reservation (90 minutes).


Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Oct 20, 2014

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay


  • Nightly Rate: $115 - $140

    Weekly Rate: $725 - $795

    Monthly Rate: $0 - $0

  • January - February $99 any night
    March - Dec: $115 Sun-Thurs $130 Fri-Sat $725 Week
    Holidays $140 Nightly $795 week

    see below for other fees, taxes and holidays

    * $75 Cleaning Fee per stay.
    * 11.75% State & Local Tax.
    * Pet fee: $15 per pet per night or $100 max per pet.
    Call us for 1 night or last minute stays!

    * 3 night minimum April - October.
    *Single nights in Jan & Feb available upon request
    Email us about monthly and 1 or 2 night rates during season.


Property Type

  • cabin


  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities


  • Air Conditioning

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub


  • children welcome
  • pets considered


  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Half Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2


  • Outdoor Grill


  • Amenities: Air Conditioning, Heat, Hot Tub, Satellite TV with over 150 channels, king bed, futon, VCR, DVD, Stereo, CD Player, ceiling fans, Fully equipped Kitchen, Refrigerator, Cooking utensils, pots & pans, Coffee Maker, Coffee Grinder, Linens, towels, board games, Private screened covered porch, Charcoal Grill, No Smoking inside. Pets welcomed with pre-paid fee.
Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.