Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi

Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Nov 18, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Lock In Your 2015 Peak Summer Vacation Rental Now With A $450.00 Deposit.

2014-15 Fall/Winter/Spring 5 Night Min. Rental

2015 PEAK SUMMER SEASON: Available For Weekly, Saturday to Saturday Rentals Only.

Deals:

10% off...Three consecutive weeks...Take 15% off***

A $450.00 non-refundable Rental Deposit (applied to your rental) secures your vacation at the beach! V/MC/AMX/Discover Cards accepted. Taxes 12.75% (6% accommodations, 6.75% sales) plus $120.00 end of stay cleaning charge.

Traditional Ocean Isle Beach Vacation Cottage

Before there were beach McMansions, there were beach cottages.

Originally built in the early 70's three rows back, this cottage is

one hurricane from ocean front and two from becoming Youngs Reef (thanks

in part to inlet dredging)! Now available with free hi speed Wi-Fi.

Enjoy spectacular million dollar ocean, inlet, and island views from

the front deck. Clear views of Holden Beach and Oak Island across

Shallotte Inlet, too. How close to the ocean? You can toss a football

into the surf from the front yard at high tide. Island's End (a.k.a. Almost Oceanfront) is a well kept, older beach cottage. Only rented four seasons!

Please Note: We do not reply to incomplete inquiries. Please include you phone number when contacting us! Thanks.

To Rent Our Beach House/Deposit:

Be sure that the house is available. Check the calendar. We welcome your weekly or monthly rental.

You may reserve your dates with a $450.00 non-refundable rental deposit, applied to your weekly rental, using a V/MC/AMX/Discover card by phone. With your rental deposit, we will: 1) reserve your vacation dates and remove availability from our web sites, 2) execute and email a Vacation Rental Agreement/Terms for your signature.

About two weeks prior to your arrival, (provided that we have received your signed Agreement and full payment), we will forward 1) A door code number, 2) driving directions, 3) list of things to bring, 4) recommendations for fun things to see and do. It's that simple!

CANCELLATIONS/REFUNDS- BEFORE February 15, 2015- If your reservation must be cancelled, for any reason, all money paid will be forfeited unless the house is re-rented for the entire cancelled period and for the full rental amount. If re-rented, monies will be refunded less the reservation rental deposit. No Refunds AFTER February 15, 2015. No refunds for mandatory evacuations. In case of mandatory evacuations, we may (totally at our discretion) offer you a reduced rent or alternate date(s). You may also purchase vacation rental insurance from a 3rd party.

PETS and SMOKING: We are absolutely convinced that your pet is clean, well behaved, perfectly adorable and exceptional in every way possible. However, guests that are specifically looking for smoke and pet free accommodations expect and deserve what we advertise, 100% of the time, without exceptions. This is a smoke and pet free rental. Sorry, we don't make exceptions for any reason. Thanks for not asking.

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

We have vacationed at Ocean Isle and Sunset Beach since we were kids. Now grown with our own grown kids, Ocean Isle still holds its magic and allure. We love OIB, we hope you will too.

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

If there were anytime to visit the Atlantic, fall is it! The water is warm, the air is crisp and the beach is uncrowned. We had a ball. The views from the front deck of this house were second to none. The house was so easy to be comfortable in with family and friends. It felt like a second home. The walk to the beach was a breeze. Great biking and running. Great cooking and eating accommodations. Fresh local seafood was easy to cook in the giant steam pot and outdoor grill. If we come back to North Carolina, we will come back. Islands End and it's owner gets 5 stars!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Great place for a quiet family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time at Island's End. We just loved the location at the East end of OIB that is so quiet and uncrowded. The house was very comfortable, clean abd well maintained. We really enjoyed the room under the house that was full of beach items that the owners share with the guests. It cut down on having to bring chairs, pails, shovels, etc. Two of my boys occupied the loft and had a ball up there!
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

THE BEST!

  • 5 of 5
I rented Island's End for a week with friends and it was an incredible experience! The house is absolutely gorgeous, beautifully decorated and very comforting. I've been staying on Ocean Isle for years and I have never stayed in a place with such a well stocked kitchen!! We had a list of things to buy and only ended up having to buy about half because so much was already provided! Lots of cookware at our disposal, i was very impressed! Beds are clean and very comfortable. The porch has lots of seating and was great for watching the sunset over the ocean. The storage room has lots of beach goodies! Can't say enough how wonderful the house is. The walk to the beach is painless and brief. I love that this house is away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the island. I'm used to staying oceanfront near the island entrance and this has converted me. So quiet!! And I can't recommend renting from Michael enough. He was such a gracious host. We had a mishap while we were staying at the house, a bathroom mirror broke. We contacted Michael right away and he was very kind and efficient in dealing with the situation. He even accommodated us when we were unable to pay for the mirror right away. He is an amazing person to rent from and I hope to rent with him again next year!

This place is a treasure. Do yourself a favor and book it! Great price, beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet. :)
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We just got back from the beach. The fresh ocean shrimp are massive in late August!
Thanks so much for your kind review. We try to keep our house nice enough to enjoy but not to nice that you would not feel comfortable getting comfortable. Islands End is what a beach house should be...a summer escape and a place to recharge, relax and unwind. We love that our guests treat our house like their home. And while mishaps happen, nothing is so valuable that it can't be replaced. We appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again next summer. Be on the lookout for great book early deals in January-February of 2015. We will be sure to put you on our IContact email list. Safe travels
Michael
business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
4

nice view

  • 4 of 5
We had a great stay here at Ocean Isle. The view was amazing, the owner's were nice, everything was easy and simple, and I would stay here again.
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Anna. The ocean and inlet views are second to none and make for lasting vacation memories. We are pleased that you and your family would consider coming back to Islands End again. Please watch for our IContact emails in January (when you are up to your eyeballs in snow and ice) for great 2015 Spring and Peak Summer Season rental deals. Returning guests that book early get the best rates and dates! Safe travels, Michael
business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
5

Great House ! Great Location !

  • 5 of 5
This was our first time visiting OIB. For the past 22 years we have been going to OBX but it;s just getting too darn crowded. We found this little gem using the HomeAway web sight. The owner was wonderful to work with and answered my countless questions. The payment plan it a nice option. Islands End is located almost on the end of the north end.of OIB It's a very quiet area. The front of the house has a wonderful porch that faces the ocean. We sat on the porch every morning and night. Every night we drank our beer and wine and smoked a few cigars while listening to the ocean and watching the fisherman. The view and ocean sound is wonderful. There are plenty of rocking chairs for everyone, Beach access is exactly 1 min and 45 seconds, I know, I timed it. LOL There is a new entrance practically right across from the front porch. The house has lots of extras. Beach chairs, umbrellas, gas grill, steam pot, and lots more. The only thing missing is an umbrella for the porch table. We had 9 people and had plenty of room to spread out. Great kitchen. Overall the house and location are 5 stars. We would and will go back next year. We loved the area and the quiet. You go for nice walks down the street and not worry about being run over. We rented bikes and took rides the coffee shop in the morning. So,,,,,,,,Hello OIB goodbye OBX !!
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Our satisfied guests are our best sale force. We try to insure that our August guests find the house in the same tip top shape as our spring guests. Unfortunately, the porch umbrella was a wind casualty (probably blown into the next county). We will be sure to replace it. We appreciate being able to share our little piece of paradise with you and your family. Safe travels! See you next year.
business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
High Point, NC
5

This house and owner keeps us coming back

  • 5 of 5
We vacation at Ocean Isle Beach on our own, with friends, with family, visiting in the spring, summer and fall. This owner and house is the best. Clean, comfortable, great location, easy beach access, accommodating with many extras...like beach chairs and beach umbrella and gas grill and steam pot and free high speed Wi-Fi, an extra (beer) fridge, functional kitchen (saves money eating out) and great front deck with ocean and inlet views that are unobstructed, outdoor shower and cloths line. Really, every need was anticipated and thought out. Even making it easy to pay. We really like that we can pay with a credit card or bank routing number on line over several weeks or months leading up to our stay! That is helpful with our budget. If we ever had problems getting online, locking ourselves out or stopping up the plumbing, the owner was Johnny on the spot with a quick fix. We have stayed in many OIB homes and condos over the years but this one keeps us coming back. We recommend it!
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Fall is a great time to vacation at Ocean Isle. The water is still warm, the air is dry and crisp, the beach is not crowded, the seafood is thousands of miles fresher and best of all... great value season rental rates! Thanks for coming back this fall. Our satisfied guests are our best sales force...please tell your friends.
Next year will be our forth summer renting our beach house. Renting directly to folks like you (and not through a faceless rental company), has created a great group returning families that treat our house like it was their home. It has also allowed us to respond faster and better to our guests needs. Something that is very important and always gets shortchanged when a third party handles rentals. We appreciate your return visit and kind remarks. Hope to see you again soon.
business
Islands End a.k.a Almost Ocean Front GREAT OCEAN VIEWS-Wi-Fi
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7049453
+1 -704-798-6429
Ocean Isle Beach Coastal North Carolina
3

Ocean Front?

  • 3 of 5
Never could get the internet to work. I do feel I was misled with the almost water front. I ask about this and as I recall I ask for more pictures of the ocean front. Until I got down there I did not know what almost ocean front meant. I was disappointed in this. I ask the owner could I sit on the deck and watch my child at the beach and he said yes. That is NOT TRUE. We always get a ocean front house every year, true ocean front. This is VERY IMPORTANT to us.Other than that the house is nice.
Elizabeth Brown
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I am very sorry that you could not log onto the internet. I am sure that it was very frustrating. Being accessible our guests and responding in a timely manner is something that we pride ourselves on. Please be understanding. We could not help you without knowing that a problem existed.
We call our house "Almost Oceanfront" because there is a street in front, then a dune, the beach and ocean. If this was an oceanfront home, I would proudly say "oceanfront home" for rent! But we don't. We are "Almost Oceanfront". I feel we are pretty spot on with our description of the house and its "Almost Oceanfront" location, but at your urging, we will review our description again. We do not want to confuse anyone.

Location

From the Owner

The house is located on the far east end. It is quiet with amazing ocean, inlet and island views from the front deck. Few homes enjoy such great views without being oceanfront. Walk to Shallotte Inlet (end of island) or to the Atlantic Intra Coastal Waterway and fish, crab or watch the boats go by. Bike, walk, run, to the center of the village. Fish from the pier or the surf. It is easy to get comfortable in this house and surroundings.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Myrtle Beach, SC or Wilmington NC at 45 Miles Nearest Barpub : Many on and off the island at 2 Miles Nearest Ferry : Sourthport to Ft. Fisher, Southport to Balk Head at 30 Miles Nearest Golf : Many world class golf courses off the island at 10 Miles Nearest Train : Laurenburg at 120 Miles Nearest Motorway : US 17 Ocean Highway at 5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Many on and off the island at 2 Miles Nearest Beach : Walk out the front door at 0.01 Miles Car: recommended

Lodging Amenities:

Air Conditioning/Central Air Internet Access

Ample Parking Loft

Answering Machine Microwave

Balcony/Lanai/Patio No Pets

Beachfront No Smoking

Blender Off Street Parking

Boat/Fishing On Street Parking

Cable/Satellite TV Outdoor Grill

Clock Radio Oven/Cooking Range

Coffee Maker Refrigerator

Cookware/Utensils Stereo System

Covered Parking Telephone

DVD Player Television

Dining Room VCR

Dish Washer Washer/Dryer

Freezer Wireless Internet

Full Kitchen

Onsite and Nearby Lodging Attractions:

Basketball Hiking/Biking Trails

Beach Park

Bike Trails Playground

Boat Ramps Restaurants

Boat Rentals/Charters Sailing

Canoeing Scuba Diving

Casino Sea Kayaking

Deep Sea Fishing Sightseeing

Eco-tour Snorkeling

Fishing Surfing

Game Room Swimming

Golf Tennis Courts

Also: Winery, Myrtle Beach, NC Aquarium, USS North Carolina

Availability

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Nov 18, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2014-15 Fall Winter
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
5 night minimum stay
$250
$1,695
$5,995
 
 
Spring 2015
Feb 2 2015 - May 22 2015
5 night minimum stay
$285
$1,695
$5,995
 
 
Peak Summer Season 2015
May 23 2015 - Sep 5 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,195
$7,995
 
 
Fall 2015
Sep 6 2015 - Dec 31 2015
5 night minimum stay
$285
$1,695
$5,995
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$250
$1,695
$5,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • End of Stay Cleaning $120 + Tax
  • Tax Rate 12.75%

Peak Summer Rentals (June/July/Aug) are Saturday to Saturday ONLY
All other dates require a 5 night minimum stay (no change over day)
Add tax (12.75%) and cleaning end of stay cleaning ($120.00)
No smoking or pets 100% of the time (thanks for not asking)
Parents may not rent for unaccompanied minors under 18.
Payment Terms are available for the asking.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.

Amenities

From the Owner

Close by amenities like groceries, restaurants, shopping, entertainment and recreation. Far enough from the chaos to enjoy million dollar ocean, inlet and island views. The perfect location.

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 1950 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, Master Bath (shared) clean and modern
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower, Common bath with linen closet. Modern and clean

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen, Master bedroom has new queen mattress and flat screen TV
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 queen, Shares modern bath with Master Bedroom. Queen mattress
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 queen, Front bedroom with new queen mattress.
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single, Back bedroom with new twin mattresses.
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 double, 1 twin/ single, Loft over kitchen. Twin daybed (new mattress) & sleeper sofa

Outside

  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • About this Cottage: If you are looking for modern and/or the bustle of Myrtle Beach, this is not it. This cottage is the 5th house from the east end of the island on a dead-end street. Not much traffic. Great for walking, running, biking, fishing, sunning, relaxing and the like. Beach access is a very short walk out the back door, down 3 houses to the 4th Street crossing. We call this house 'Almost Oceanfront' because it has a street in front, then sandbags, then beach. Clear unobstructed views of the ocean are like being oceanfront, but we can't call it oceanfront. Occasional lunar high tides, high winds and noreasterners send ocean water into the street. Not harmful, just a spectacle. The Intra Coastal Waterway and new fishing pier is just a few blocks away. Great place to fish, launch a kyak, swim, crab, shell and watch boats and barges. A great new nature/walking trail with long wood bridges along the Intra Coastal Waterway has just been built. Our kids love it, yours will too! This 4 bedroom 2 full-bath cottage sleeps 8 adults comfortably. The loft is great for younger kids in sleeping bags or mats on the carpet. Kid tested, mother approved. Great for kid-less and older couples, too. The two full-bathrooms are modern, clean and up to date. The ground level storage room is great for heavy/sandy items, bikes, boards, chairs and has a spare (beer) fridge. Abandon your car for the week, kick off your shoes and relax. Now with free Wi-Fi, beach chairs, umbrella, gas grill, gas steam pot. More About the Cottage: BR 1 Queen BR 2 Queen (new mattress and boxspring) BR 3 Queen (new mattress and boxspring) BR 4 Twins (new mattresses) Loft Queen Sleeper and Twin Day Bed (new mattress) Sleeps 8 adults comfortably. Max Occupancy 10 (8 adults and two children under 12). No house parties/pets/smoking. You must be at least 18 years old and have a credit card to rent our house. Parents may not rent for unaccompanied minors under 18.
Ask a Question Contact Me Ask a Question Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.