Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: May 27, 2015
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Directions:

Directions from the Twin Cities: Take I-94 west to Sauk Centre, then MN 28 west to Glenwood. At the stoplight turn left on MN 104 and go five miles south. Turn right on Pope county road 18 and go five miles west. Turn right on 275th Ave. and go to the intersection with 215th St and continue straight ahead into the driveway.

Contact Information:

Connie & Neil live in adjacent home on the property, and are usually around to assist you or answer questions.

Charming 3 bedroom/2 bath year round house. Originally built in 1900 as home to the family that farmed the adjacent land. The house is completely updated, and sits on 2 acres, with 150 feet of wooded shoreline on the south side of Lake Minnewaska. This is much more than a cabin, inside and out. Washer and dryer are now available.

With prior written permission, friendly pets are welcome. There will be an additional cleaning fee. Smoking outside only please.

Great for fall pheasant and waterfowl hunting, country getaway retreats, winter ice fishing and snowmobiling. Rates vary by season, but we believe they are always affordable, even for a family on a budget.

Private boat dock with boat bumpers. Weekly slip rental available at the marina next to Hobo Park in Starbuck.

Call for address, directions or any other questions.

More Details
  • Sleeps 12
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015

7 Reviews

4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
Small town
5

Comfy cabin on beautiful lake

  • 5 of 5
Really comfortable cabin
3 bedrooms upstairs - nice beds, great linens, ceiling fans in 2 of the rooms
Central air - we stayed when it was 90-95 outside & the AC was a blessed thing!
Nice kitchen - well-stocked, spacious, handy
Good tv for late night watching - welcome surprise!
Nice deck for late afternoon cards, etc.
Good firepit
Convenient location - 5 minutes from Starbuck for gas, groceries, bait
Great lake! In my opinion, one of the best in the state.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that the house, location, and lake lived up to your expectations. We have created a place and space that we really like, in the hopes that our guests will enjoy it as much as we do. The place seems to be an especially good fit for families.

The nicer sheets and new kitchen utensils can be credited to Connie. I work to keep up the house, yard, fire pit, etc. because the outdoor experience is important to me.

We enjoyed meeting you all, and the occasional chats were fun for us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
Phoenix
4

Nice trip!

  • 4 of 5
Our family (me, my husband and our seven-year-old son) enjoyed staying here on a trip back for my husband's high school reunion. All features were exactly as described. The home was clean and comfortable. Neil and Connie were very nice and easily accessed for questions. The property had a very private, quiet feel. Short drive to Starbuck for groceries and laundry facilities.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks. We enjoyed hosting you, and hope to see you back here some time.
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
Prior Lake, MN USA
4

Nice Stay at the Lake

  • 4 of 5
We take a trip to Lake Minnewaska every summer to visit my wife's family in Starbuck and have rented a place on or near the lake each time. This year we found and stayed at the Twin Spruce rental and had a great stay. As advertised, the house sits up on the hill from the lake and has a nice classic feel.

Upon arriving Neil & Connie (owners) greeted us and immediately made us feel welcomed, they are very friendly and made sure we were up to speed on everything. Even though they live on the property as well, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. They were around if we needed them or had a question, but otherwise we did not see much of them.

The place is perfect for those who are interested in an easy going and relaxing place to spend some time. The house is comfortable and has a welcoming charm. We found the beds to be comfortable and there were windows in the one upstairs bedroom that overlook the lake - a beautiful view to wake up to each morning!

My 5 year old son had his first fishing experience on the dock at this house and caught his first fish ever - a 7" Blue Gill. He proceeded to catch a dozen or so of them that day and we had a great time "just fishin".

We had a great stay and would highly recommend the Twin Spruce property to anyone looking to stay in this area.
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
Prior Lake, MN USA
4

Nice Stay at the Lake

  • 4 of 5
We take a trip to Lake Minnewaska every summer to visit my wife's family in Starbuck and have rented a place on or near the lake each time. This year we found and stayed at the Twin Spruce rental and had a great stay. As advertised, the house sits up on the hill from the lake and has a nice classic feel.

Upon arriving Neil & Connie (owners) greeted us and immediately made us feel welcomed, they are very friendly and made sure we were up to speed on everything. Even though they live on the property as well, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. They were around if we needed them or had a question, but otherwise we did not see much of them.

The place is perfect for those who are interested in an easy going and relaxing place to spend some time. The house is comfortable and has a welcoming charm. We found the beds to be comfortable and there were windows in the one upstairs bedroom that overlook the lake - a beautiful view to wake up to each morning!

My 5 year old son had his first fishing experience on the dock at this house and caught his first fish ever - a 7" Blue Gill. He proceeded to catch a dozen or so of them that day and we had a great time "just fishin".

We had a great stay and would highly recommend the Twin Spruce property to anyone looking to stay in this area.
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed their time here. Hope to have you all back some time.
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
b.c. nv
2

disappointed

  • 2 of 5
no sandy beach or public beach within walking distance as told.
poor beds & insufficient air conditioning in upstairs bedrooms.
crappy cooking utensils.
no adjustment for early departure.
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate feedback, so that we can improve our guests' experience. In fact, if we are told that something is not up to expectations while you are here, we will address it right away. We have never gotten feedback on "crappy cooking utensils" before, but now that we have they will be upgraded immediately.

Not everything can be changed so easily. We don't want people to think we are something we are not. We do our best to answer all questions as honestly as possible. Of course we want to point out all the positive things we have to offer, but we go out of our way to tell you about things that could be seen as negative. There must have been a misunderstanding on the beach, as we always tell people that the south shoreline is rocky, with a sand bottom starting 20' out. The Starbuck public beach is about 2 1/2 miles away, a short drive.

As for the "poor beds", we are completely confounded. There are two full size and one queen, all with high quality pillow top mattresses. Most lake cabins do not have air conditioning, but we do. The house was built in 1900 with no central heating. When it was added, the owners had to be creative when adding duct work, so it is not perfect. Normally the nights are cool enough to open the windows, but much of July has been hotter and more humid than normal.

We do everything we can to keep our rates very affordable. You may not need an entire week, but another party may. Because of that, we have to charge for a full week, even if you leave early.

One of the reasons our rates are as low as they are, is that we realize that the place is not perfect for every group. Please make sure that our place is a good fit for your group prior to reserving. We don't want anyone to be disappointed with their stay here.
business
Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7052593
-6128891359
Glenwood Minnesota
Grand Forks, ND USA
5

Fall Weekend

  • 5 of 5
The lake cabin is actually a 3 bedroom house on a bluff overlooking the beautiful lake. There is lake access from the house and only requires a very short walk down the handrail/stairs to the dock. The lake is very clean as well. Both towns of Glenwood and Starbuck are less than 10 minutes by car.
The house has two full baths, one upstairs and one down. All three bedrooms are upstairs. The kitchen has all the appliances and plenty of room to cook. No washer and dryer. All three bedrooms have at least a double bed and I believe there was a fold up bed in one of the closets.
I highly recommend this property to anyone considering a weekend, week or longer stay at the lake.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Chuck for the kind review. I'm so glad that you would highly recommend our property to people. Unfortunately at this time, we are not able to rent the house to the public for less than a week at a time.

Thanks for the "Chippers". I'm going to have to get to Grand Forks sometime soon just for more of those chocolates. And, of course to see you.

Have a great day,
Connie

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : Water's Edge at 3 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Nutcracker Cafe at 4 Miles Nearest Beach : Starbuck Beach at 3 Miles

Restaurants on the lake include the Water's Edge, Captains Bar & Grill (fka Torgy's), and the Lakeside, all accessible by boat or car. Several golf courses less than a half hour away. The public beach in Starbuck has lifeguards and gently sloping sand bottom. The Pope County Historical Museum has free admission all summer, and a number of our guests have commented on how much their family enjoyed a visit there.

Community events include Heritage Days and Waterama in July, and Dragon Boat Festival in August. Those are the big events, but there are many events throughout the year, like Lefse Dagen in May, and the Terrace Fiddlers Festival in September.

Availability

From $400 Per week

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
May 24 2015 - Sep 6 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$400
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

  • Pet Fee $75.00 + Tax
  • Refundable damage deposit $200.00
  • Tax Rate 6.88%

$200 security and damage deposit will reserve your week. Full payment due on arrival. Deposit fully refunded after your stay, provided there is no damage or excess cleanup necessary.

Our weeks run Sunday to Sunday. $400-1100 per week, depending on season and number of guests. Most summer weeks are $1000 per week (plus tax) for up to 6 guests, and run Sunday to Sunday. We can make exceptions during the off season, or any time when adjacent weeks don't fill up. Additional nights, when available, will be quoted at a nightly rate.

The full amount is due at check-in. Personal checks or cash accepted. Paypal accepted for advance payments. (There is a fee only if you use a credit card).

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 27, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double, 1 twin/ single, Full size pillow top plus bunk beds with full size bottom
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double

Outside

  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Lake Minnewaska, at 7,110 acres is the 13th largest lake in Minnesota. Excellent for fishing, boating, swimming, etc. We are located on the south side of the lake, approximately 2 1/2 hours northwest of the Twin Cities, 25 miles south of Alexandria. You will have use of the dock, swim raft and paddle boat. There is a large deck, two fire pits and a charcoal grill. Games and movies are available for kids and adults alike. We have a fishing boat and bicycles available for rent. Something fun for all ages.

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.