Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise

Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Hi! Please note we have two identical townhomes side by side. Each townhouse sleeps up to 8 people comfortably.

Located on a quiet, tree-lined street, this spacious townhome stands apart with its gleaming hardwoods, airy, open layout, high ceilings and prime location on a quiet residential street. You will enjoy leaving your car at home and walking to all that Market Street and Ballard Avenue have to offer: cafés, eateries, movie theatre, bookstores and boutiques. Also a short walk to major bus lines. Only a 15 minute drive to downtown Seattle, 40 minutes to Sea-Tac airport. Flexible arrival times for late flights etc.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Pets welcome
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
Sisters, OR
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
This property has great potential. It is attractive and is well located. We found it not well serviced and in need of maintenance. We reserved it for eight people. When we arrived it had four bath towels and the closets were locked. When called, the owner brought more towels and temporary door racks to hang clothing. We later discovered the kitchen very well equipped for cooking but inadequate for eating - not enough glasses, coffee mugs or cereal bowels for eight. The toilets plugged five times - fortunately plungers were in bathrooms. The provided barbeque had no propane. The bedrooms had very dim light bulbs - impossible for reading. We had family representing three generations and none were able to get the TV to work. The owner is very pleasant and cooperative on the phone and I hope he will make this into the desirable destination that it has the potential to be.
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Janet, thanks for your review. As explained, the closet was locked for your safety because we had to repair damage to the drywall and the repair was not complete. I wish you had called during your stay to let us know you were unhappy, we would have corrected everything right then and there. The TV is working, you had it on the wrong input. We are creating a troubleshooting sheet as you are not the first to experience difficulty. There were less than eight towel sets through an oversight on our part. Apologies for that. We provide towels for eight. The glassware has been replaced, again our apologies for not catching that, we were preoccupied with getting the drywall repaired. We have tested the toilets and everything works fine. We are removing the barbecues as they are rarely used and difficult to keep clean.
business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
5

Just wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I had the best time in Seattle, and with all the sight seeing we did, it was just wonderful to look forward to staying in a home away from home. This apt was clean, spacious, comfy and we lacked nothing. The neighborhood was lovely with all its mature trees and blooming flowers. I not only would recommend it, I WILL be back, thank you
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
4

Early Family Christmas

  • 4 of 5
The space was great for our family gathering for an early Christmas with our grown sons and some friends from Seattle. It was great to walk to breakfast at the Portage Bay near the Ballard locks or the Hi-Lite firehouse restaurant, shopping and the Bay movie theater and many local dinners and shops. The home's layout is a bit different on three levels but that allowed us all privacy The table was great for computer work, eating and card games. The decor is a bit bland and the blankets were placed on top of the comforters because the purchased comforters were too small for the over-sized mattresses, which were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and having a washer and dryer was great. We would stay here again.
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
Chicago, IL
4

Comfortable Property - Worked well for our family

  • 4 of 5
The owner, John, was very pleasant to work with throughout the process. We had an infant with us, and he provided a pack-n-play for the baby to sleep in at no extra charge. Overall, the property was comfortable for our family. This townhouse is split into 3 levels, with bedrooms upstairs & down, and the main living room/kitchen on the mid-level. This worked out just fine for our group, as we spent most of our time together in the living room, but had a relatively quiet "escape" to our respective bedrooms.

My only (very slight) wish was that we had known the garage isn't actually large enough to fit a car. To his credit, John was upfront about this before we arrived, but the listing had led us to believe we would have room for our two rental cars: one in the garage, and one additional space. We parked one car in the space outside the garage, and one other on the surrounding residential streets. We never had much difficulty finding parking, so this didn't turn out to be a big concern, but a future renter out to be aware of it.

The amenities were pretty standard for a VRBO home, and it was perfectly clean when we arrived. All in all, it was a lovely stay for our family. Thank you, John!
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
3

Great owner, great location, lots of beds, but a few (hopefully) isolated incidents.

  • 3 of 5
THE GOOD:
First of all, John, the owner, is fantastic. He is courteous, responsive, and helpful. The house itself is perfectly fine, we had a team of 6 people staying there and there were plenty of comfy beds, lots of hot water and a good sized kitchen. The location is excellent as well - close to the ocean and lots of trendy restaurants as well as a grocery store only one block away.

THE BAD:
We experienced a series of unlucky incidents (at least I hope they are only unlucky). The internet was terrible, up one minute down the next 5. We were there for a technology conference, so this was a real drag for us as we didn't have internet on the showroom floor, and needed it when at home for the night. According to John it was Comcast for the entire area. Regardless, over 6 days we had very, very minimal internet.

The fridge stopped working - something John warned us might happen only once we arrived in Seattle. We lost a little bit of food in the freezer. To John's credit, he followed up immediately and offered to bring us whatever groceries we lost. I do hope the fridge gets replaced - it is a pretty big inconvenience.

If the above incidents hadn't happened I would have given a 4/5 maybe a 4.5. At the end of the day, if I came back to Seattle, I would consider talking to John again.
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow, our first less than 5/5 review in over 5 years. Sorry Caley.
Comcast insists we have 23mbps and everything is working now.
Although the fridge has been working fine since your stay, we have replaced it with a brand new fridge to avoid future surprises. Thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to Seattle.
John
business
Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7058674
+1 206-965-8205
Seattle Washington
5

Comfortable home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
Our daughter was getting married in Ballard so we chose to rent the house for a week for our family. The house was very clean and the owner was very responsive to the one problem that we encountered. The only negative was that the owner did not communicate well before we arrived so we did not know how to get into the house and we needed to call a few times before the call was picked up. This created a little bit of tension, but other than that our stay was perfect.
The house is well stocked and the owner has thought of everything that we would need to spend time away from home. House is very conveniently appointed in Ballard. Just a short walk to the grocery store and Starbucks. The charming shops and restaurants of Ballard are only a 10 minute walk as are the Locks. The town of Ballard has many vintage stores and great restaurants. If you are Australian we found the best Aussie Pies in the USA right there in Ballard.
We had rented a car, but chose to walk everywhere. A great place for a vacation and for peace and quiet. We would definitely choose to stay here again.
A word of warning for people who have trouble on stairs - the house is a tri-level, so you need to be able to climb stairs. My husband and I stayed in the ground level room, but we still needed to climb stairs to get to the bathroom and to the living area. Our 4 adult girls stayed in the top level of the house so had no problem with the stairs, however if you have young children I think the stairs could be an issue. We enjoyed the exercise :)
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Location

Activity and Interests

This home is also situated very close to popular outdoor destinations: Ballard Locks, Golden Gardens, Burke-Gilman trail and Discovery Park. Sit quietly by the Ballard Locks just a few hundred yards away from our townhome and read a book while boats and ships glide by or view the immense salmon run through the famous fish ladders at the Locks. Barbeque with friends at the Golden Gardens beach. Take a sailboat or kayak and explore the Puget Sound. Whatever your tastes, our townhome in Ballard is located in a safe and friendly neighborhood with a unique character and unrivalled amenities. The location of our townhome is perfect for vacation and is the type of home we would like to stay in ourselves when we travel.

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$350
From
$350
From
$2,450
From
$6,000
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $136 - $350

    Weekly Rate: $950 - $2450

    Monthly Rate: $3800 - $6000


  • Rates vary by season and availability between $136 - $350/night
    Partial weeks and nightly rates are available.
    *Rates do not include: taxes, pet deposit, cleaning fee
    All rates subject to change at any time.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Spa
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Budget

Suitability

  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3

Notes:

  • Home features & amenities include: - 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms (sleeps 6-8) - 32" HDTV TV with Cable TV, DVD player and DVD library - Wifi enabled - Fully stocked kitchen - 3 Queen beds, two twin beds plus a couch that converts to a double - Linens, towels etc. provided - One-car garage (unlike most townhomes, you access the garage directly from the street), plus off street parking for an additional car - Vaulted ceilings, skylights - Ceiling fans - Tiled gas fireplace - Large kitchen with gas range - South-facing, sunny balcony (a view of trees!) - Fenced side yard - New, energy efficient washer/dryer
Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.