Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Jan 28, 2015
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Stunning year-round 4-bedroom, 3 1/2 bath contemporary house located on the east shore of beautiful Cayuga Lake, 15 minutes north of Ithaca. Finger Lakes region is renowned for its unique state parks, waterfalls and breathtaking gorges, wineries, and its great restaurants and local cultural events. Ithaca is a mecca of arts, science, tertiary education, film activities, and world famous restaurants. The house has over 100 feet of lake frontage, swimming beach, dock for fishing and boat mooring, and numerous decks to enjoy the magnificent sunsets. Relax in the hot tub overlooking the lake. Twelve miles to Ithaca and Cornell University, Ithaca College, and Wells College. Boating, fishing, water-skiing, kite-boarding, and wind-surfing abound. Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge is to the north on the lake, and is home to bald eagles and numerous migratory waterfowl.

  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 28, 2015

5 Reviews

based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sunset Lodge
-607 539-7922
Lansing Cayuga Lake
Washington, DC

Courteous owner, wonderful house for a group!

  • 5 of 5
We rented the house for a last minute reunion of young alumni from Cornell. Alan was incredibly accommodating and responsive with helping us make the reunion work on such short notice. When we arrived, he made us feel at ease in the house and graciously showed us how to use everything properly, including the hot tub, fire pit, etc.

The location is beautiful and secluded right along Cayuga Lake, though the neighbors are very close by. The deck is spacious and lent itself to eating outdoors every night. The fire pit and provided paddle boards and kayaks meant we were on the dock and in/by the water for much of the time!
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Sunset Lodge
-607 539-7922
Lansing Cayuga Lake
Bohemia, NY

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
This house was perfect for my family of five. It was very spacious and comfortable. The lake was crystal clear and great for the kids to gradually walk into. Beautiful sunsets and the hot tub is always a good way to start and end the day. Will definitely rent again.
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Sunset Lodge
-607 539-7922
Lansing Cayuga Lake
New York City

Great Stay at Sunset Lodge

  • 5 of 5
My group of 5 rented Sunset Lodge for a weekend stay this fall. The view was stunning, the house was beautiful and the location was perfect. The house is well appointed - beautiful and fully stocked kitchen, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, Pandora, Netflix and other amenities to entertain our group and a great hot tub! The owner Alan was great to work with and very responsive. We had a great stay and we'd definitely rent this place again.
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Sunset Lodge
-607 539-7922
Lansing Cayuga Lake
Groton,NY 13073

Not Happy

  • 3 of 5
I would like to tell anyone who wants to rent Sunset Lodge.....Don't the owner charged us for something that broke on the refrigerator? He said we would not of been able to see the crack but we broke it! We have rented places for 15 years and have NEVER broke or had to pay! Just to let you know if you choose to rent the place please becarful because the refrigerator is to big for the area it is in the door doesn't even open all the way.The carpet in the living room also are stained and when we arrived the place smelt like dog! we had to open up windows to air the place out. The beds are not very good either.We have paid less money per night and stayed in nicer places. Would not rent again or suggest it to anyone.
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Every year we get one bad rental. Last year a group of new york teachers broke the screen doors and put a stop on the damage deposit check! No recourse...$380 lost for new screens. This year a simple broken refigerator door shelf. The review is nothing but retaliation for depositing the security check...very sad. Each year we get smarter. From now on we deposit all security checks at the start of the rental..sorry it comes to this. The house is as spotless as the images show, and we've had hundreds of wonderful families and groups stay. And no dogs! Be happy to show you or an agent the property. Enjoy.
Sunset Lodge
-607 539-7922
Lansing Cayuga Lake
Henrietta, NY

Things you should know about Sunset Lodge

  • 3 of 5
I would give Sunset Lodge a 4 or even a 4.5 if not for a few things that we (4 adults, 2 children) felt were important to know.

Pros: The house is very nice. It's well-appointed with great amenities (plasma tv with cable, NetFlix, and more, spa, kayaks and more), great location and view, terrific deck, gorgeous kitchen, two master suites, etc.

Cons: Soft beds that killed our backs, dirty fridge upon arrival that needed cleaning, had a broken shelf and sporadic ice maker and practically no pots and pans (but probably 100 knives!) But our chief complaints are that we were told that trains ran about 1x/wk by the house (tracks 30' from house). Not only did 6 trains pass on M/W/F but they ran between 3 and 4 AM!! Did I mention they were loud and ear-piercingly squeaky? Finally, the contract states that the damage deposit will be returned within 45 days and that's accurate: our check was returned 40+ days after our stay.

Aside from the aforementioned Cons we really liked the place. The pictures don't do it justice - it's beautiful inside and out.
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Helpful comments. New batch of Calphalon pots in place and water system upgraded over the winter. Sorry you dont care for top-of-the-line pillow top mattresses...we love them. And of course the train runs weekly to supply the Milliken power station further up the lake, but demand for power sometimes bumps up the schedule and when the station says deliver, Northern Rail is on the way. And frankly we barely notice them, other than the friendly wave from the engineer. Cheers all. OCT 2012 ADDENDUM. Sadly the power station is being shuttered, so trains are now a rare joy indeed.


Activity and Interests

Sailing, wind-surfing, kite-boarding, swimming, kayaking, boating, fishing, golfing.

Cayuga Lake boat rental and delivery from marina 20 mile north of the house

Finger Lakes Wine Trail.

Minutes from Finger-lakes hiking trail, and Taughannock Falls State Park.

Ideal location for Cornell and Ithaca College graduation weekends.

Waterloo Premium Outlet Mall 30 minutes away.

Corning Museum of Glass.

Hangar Theatre in Ithaca.

The Museum of the Earth.

Science Center- a must for kids.

Cornell Ornithology Lab and Bird Sanctuary.

Ithaca Farmers Market.

Antique Shops.

Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art.

MV Columbia Dinner Cruise Boat

Treman Park, Ithaca Falls, Buttermilk Falls

Many great local Restaurants.

Two&half hour drive to Niagara Falls.


Enter dates to see total
Updated: Jan 28, 2015

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off season
Dec 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
High Season
Apr 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

  • Refundable damage deposit $1,200

Half of rent required as deposit when contract is signed

Nightly Rate: $600 - $600

Weekly Rate: $4200 - $4200

Monthly Rate: $4200 - $5600

$4200/wk April-Nov (7 nights; saturday through saturday)
$4,200/mth Dec-March (low season only).
Available for 4 night minimum stays year-round (600/night).
For graduation week and holiday weekends, $4,200-$5,000.
A $1200 security deposit is required, which will be held and refunded within 60 days if damages are


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub


  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf


  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Half Bathroom


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4


  • Private beach (over 100 ft.) and private dock. Use of kayak and windsurfer (windsurfer to qualified individual, at owner discretion). Fully furnished, including all bedding and towels. All cleaning supplies provided. Ceiling fans in bedrooms and living room. Three full baths with showers/ 1 with whirlpool tub and shower. Fully equipped kitchen area, including microwave, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, assorted small appliances. Wine refrigerator and dry bar area. Washer and dryer. Two fireplaces. Cable TV, Netflix, new Blu-ray DVD player. Wireless internet access. Four queen beds, one double sleeper futon. Gas grill, large lake-side deck with dining area. Picnic table, adirondak chairs and fire pit on the beach. Hot tub on one of the decks, overlooking the lake. Paved driveway, garage for two cars, and small parking area for one additional car. Suitability: The house comfortably sleeps 8. - No pets allowed - Children must be over 5. - Smoking NOT allowed

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.