Happy Clam

Happy Clam

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 15, 2014
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, 13 Sleeps

The Happy Clam is a stylish comfortable home with walls of windows, including a two story great room. This makes for wonderful viewing of the water and sky. Inspiring in any kind of weather. The location is ideal:

* sits right on the quiet south jetty with great views from the bay to the ocean - birds and seals are constantly in view as are fishing boats cruising by

* is at the epicenter of fun stuff, all within walking distance - a serene beach, clam beds, biking, pier for crabbing, marina, Rogue Brewery, marine attractions including the fabulous Aquarium, restaurants, shops, glass blowing, bike trails and miles of beach.

* is wonderfully comfortable for a great night's sleep, lounging, and fully equipped for fun activities including games, ping pong, pool table, foosball

* close to fun festivals, 5 min. walk to WINE AND SEAFOOD FESTIVAL and others.

MAIN HOUSE (Sleeps up to 11): The main part of the house is on the second and third level which is also why the views are so good. There we have 3 bedrooms (1-King and 2 Queens) plus a bunk room (very small room with bunk beds) and a loft area with a pull-out couch (full). The bedrooms all have walk-in closets and baths. There are 3 HDTV's and plenty of couches and chairs. The master bedroom has a double walk-in closet, so large we put a twin mattress in one side for an extra sleeping place.

The dining table seats 8 (10 can work) and the kitchen counter seats 3. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, pans, pots, cutlery, spices, flour, sugar.

APARTMENT (Sleeps 2): We have recently remodeled a space on the first level of the home into a cheerful downstairs apartment. It has a bedroom with a queen bed, a bath, a small living room and kitchen plus another HDTV. We do not rent this separately but it can be added to the main house. With this, The Happy Clam can easily open up handle up to 13 people. It's nice to have this space for those that are bit noisier or need more quiet time -- depending on the group.

The Happy Clam is great for smaller families and is also perfect for expanded family get-togethers, retreats, book and other clubs, reunions, birthday or other special days (including surprises) - or just plain getting away from the routine. There is no bad season to hang at the Happy Clam. It's always relaxing and never boring.

More Details
  • Sleeps 13
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Barbecue
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nine of us were here for a family reunion from grandparents to grandchildren. What a great house for all of us. Not crowded at all. Experienced storms and beautiful sunshine, visiting the lighthouse and long walks. All in all a fun relaxing time in an idyllic home
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 38

Reviews

business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
California
5

Beautiful home and location,

  • 5 of 5
The happy clam was clean and bright.... perfect for our family gathering. We used the upstairs and also the cozy downstairs apartment. There is plenty of space in the home for people to gather together or have some alone time too. We all thought the house was actually nicer than it looks in the listing photos. It was a fun and easy walk along the jetty to the beach and we all enjoyed walking over to the brewery for dinner one evening. We hope to stay there again sometime and would recommend it to others.
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time!
business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
Auckland
5

Fantastic family reunion from England and NZ

  • 5 of 5
We were a group of 9 who were gathering from across the globe (England, New Zealand and USA) for a family reunion. The Happy Clam was perfect for us all to spend time together and have space for quiet moments when we needed to. The house had everything we could have wished for - great views, very comfortable house with everything provided that we needed. The smallest details had been thought of and we all felt as though we were living in hotel quality accommodation but with all the comforts of home. The description of the house was accurate and the whole property was clean and smelt fresh on our arrival. The owners were exceedingly helpful, patient and friendly as we organised our booking from the other side of the world with all the complications of time zones and transfers of funds that this entailed. Diredtions to the house from both Portland and Eugene were accurate and helpful. Access to the house was easy. We would definitely recommend this house to others and will let all our friends know that if they are planning to visit Newport to book this house.
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
Salem, Oregon
5

Fantastic home away from home

  • 5 of 5
We rented the Happy Clam for a long Thanksgiving weekend for family from Salem and Minneapolis. We had 3 generations there and everybody had a wonderful time. The beds were really comfortable, the showers were great (and hot!) While we brought a lot of supplies and equipment to have nice family dinners, most of it was unnecessary as the place was well stocked. Next time I will bring bottled water, though, as the coast water did not sit well with all of our party :( Very enjoyable weekend and we hope to come back again. One of our party just had bilateral knee replacements and was able to be comfortable in the basement apartment as there were only a couple of steps going into the place.
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
Jefferson, OR, United States
5

Happy Clam Kept Us Happy!

  • 5 of 5
The Happy Clam is an amazing location and a lovely home. Our group of 9 ladies was very comfortable there. One had a little trouble with the stairs but had a great time anyway. We had a card game going at the main dining table, a puzzle going at the table in the loft and liked that sense of still being in the same room. We were together for great meals at that dining table and got to watch 7 sailboats during one dinner. There were pleasant walks right from the front door. We went out to a pier halfway out in the bay, and also walked down the road to the south jetty. We saw killer whales heading into the bay on that last walk! The beach by the jetty is quiet and uncrowded. Even watching the bridge and the vehicles UP THERE was fascinating. We got out a little to antique stores or to pick up something we needed, but we were quite content to "live" in that wonderful house for a couple days. Thanks for sharing it. Everyone enjoyed it so much, I do expect you will here again from some of us in the future.
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much and we so look forward to having your group back soon. You described all the things we love about the house as well!
business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
Oregon
5

EXCELLENT Home, EXCELLENT Service, EXCELLENT Location! Already planned our return visit!

  • 5 of 5
The view is absolutely amazing! Our group was delighted to find this treasure. The Owners are very nice to work with and super helpful. The service provided was perfect. The Owners are proactive in keeping the home in great shape and it shows!
Our friends enjoyed the "apartment" guest house section of the home- it provided an extra hint of privacy. PRICELESS.
We have already made arrangements to return. The deposit was refunded in a very reasonable time frame... sooner than expected.
As we left this beautiful home, we were all discussing what adventures our next visit will bring. There is so much to do and enjoy within a mile radius, we simply did not have enough time!
Thank you Sherie and Gary for sharing your wonderful home!
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We love it when our home is enjoyed and folks have fun.
business
Happy Clam
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071021
+1 541-342-3400
Newport Coastal Oregon
Sweet Home
1

We were ripped off!!

  • 1 of 5
This place was not clean when we got there, not filthy, just not sparkling. We were told they were keeping our entire deposit to clean the carpets etc. This is my worst experience renting a home at the beach ever, and it was the weekend my father passed away......nice....
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had a lot of large groups and have never kept a full deposit before. We hated to do it, especially because of the circumstances. However, there was tobacco spit jars all over the house, some spilled and our carpet was permanently ruined in two places. There was also smoking and other things. Perhaps Beth had to leave the house before the rest of the group and maybe she did not see the condition of our home at the end.

Location

Activity and Interests

* Beach combing

* Surfing, horseback riding and bike trails near home

* Great restaurants, live theatre, art galleries

* Fishing, crabbing, clamming

* Nearby Lighthouse

* Oregon Coast Aquarium, Hatfield Marine Science Center

* Rogue Brewery Headquarters with restaurant & picnic tables

* 5 min to WINE AND SEAFOOD FESTIVAL

* Glass blowing

* Golf

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Sep 15, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$499
From
$499
From
$3,465
 

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $225 - $499

    Weekly Rate: $2075 - $3465

    Monthly Rate: $2075 - $3465


  • Summer Season and Holiday Rates: June 13 - Sept. 7 $395/night main house; $495 main house with apartment ( 4 night minimum)
    Seafood & Wine Festival: $1850 for 3 night min.
    Winter season Sept. 8 - June 12 (excluding holidays) Main house: $225/night Tues-Thurs $275/night (Fri-Mon) main house with apartment; $325 (Tues-Thurs) $375 (Fri - Mon) 2 night minimum stay in winter season.
    All guests pay a 9.5% city tax and a 1% state tax.
    cleaning fee: $175 main house; $200 main house with apartment and all groups over 10 residents
    $350 refundable securtiy deposit

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Family
  • Adventure

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Suitability

  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4

Bedrooms

  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • * Open, two story living room and kitchen with deck * King bed in master * Queens in two of the bedrooms * Bunk room and pullout couch * Additional APARTMENT (1 gueen bed, 1 bath, second small kitchen and living room can be added to main house, access off entry hallway) * Large kitchen, stocked with spices and cooking supplies * Large dining table, seats 8 to 10 * Kitchen counter seating for 3 * 3 TV's, stereo, ipod players * Game table with board games and books * Pool Table, Ping Pong and Foosball Table * Crab Pots to throw out off the pier (within walking distance)
Email Owner Contact Me