Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jan 30, 2015
Apartment, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Why settle for less when you can have the best of both worlds? We are the only property in Panama that can offer you a 4 BR 3 BA home inside the natural tropical paradise of Ancon Hill, and yet only 10 minutes from downtown Panama City with all the attractions it offers. Location is everything when choosing where to stay, and our location is unbeatable. The Panama Canal on one side, and the City on the other. In a gated community with 24 hr security in exclusive Quarry Heights (former US base where all the top brass lived). Tall palms and tropical trees sway in the cool breeze that is unique to Ancon Hill. We have a private pool for our guests right in the backyard, along with 2 gazebos with hammocks and barbecue grills for your enjoyment. The four apartments each have 4 BR's, 3 with queen beds, 1 with full + twin beds. 2 1/2 bathrooms, fully equipped spacious kitchen, NEW central AC (beware: many condos in PC only have AC in the BR's), free WiFi, and much more. Perfect for groups.

  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Swimming pool
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 30, 2015

38 Reviews

4.8
based on 38 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
Austin, Texas
1

Disappointed and Duped

  • 1 of 5
We think most of the positive reviews are WRONG with the exception that Karolina (K) was nice and the location was good (Not great because you have to drive anywhere you want to go - touristy places, restaurants, etc). Our 4 bedroom apartment was AWFUL - it smelled like mold (the solution we were told was to buy a candle); the sheets had hairs all over them as though they hadn't been washed (we complained and Karolina did have a complete change out of linens done the next day). The dining room chairs had gross stains, living room couch and chairs were uncomfortable with such thin padding it felt like sitting on rocks. The bedroom pillows and other linens were very poor quality. Hard to believe it had been "totally renovated" unless they used vintage 60's in the redo. The photographer was impressive - made pool and backyard look much bigger than they are. Salt and pepper were the only "spices" provided - many pans were scorched or scratched and disgusting. The Internet worked only sporadically and the videos provided were too scratched to function properly. The limit on lowering the AC was annoying after a hot day of sight seeing. Also, there are a lot of stairs, so older people with arthritis issues in their knees should be wary of renting here. We have traveled all over the world, often booking places through the internet and we thought we were pretty good at reading between the lines of reviews (i.e. be wary if a place describes itself as eclectic), but if we visit Panama again, we will NEVER stay here!!
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since we usually get 5 star reviews, we consider anything less a chance to evaluate our operation, so thank you for leaving a review. Karolina was the most shocked by this, because other than when you brought the baggie to the office with 2 hairs in it, she had no idea you were upset. You said "these were found in one bed," but Karolina replaced the linens in all 4 bedrooms. We don't know how the hairs got on the bed, and are sorry you had this experience.
It has been 5 years since we remodeled, so we have removed text stating "recently remodeled" so the listing is more accurate. Regarding the smell you describe, our apartments have wooden furniture which is handmade in Panama. There is no kiln for drying wood in Panama, so wood products have more moisture, and some guests (not many) say they smell a musty smell. This is from the wood and I have smelled it myself in Mexico, Beliz, Costa Rica, and Panama.
We apologize for not removing the word "spices" in the listing when we removed the spices about a year ago. Most of them would become solid blocks due to humidity in Panama, and the VR industry has had a debate about food products used (or left) by prior guests. Most of our guests did not want them in the units, so we removed all but the salt & pepper. We have spices in the office left by others, and gladly share them with guests when they request.
The AC setting policy is described in multiple locations, and unlike many hotels in Panama that truly limit the AC use, we have chosen to include in the base rate a setting considered comfortable by 95% of our guests; 76 degrees (which is 2 lower than government suggestions btw). We welcome our guests to set it as low as they want, but there is a small fee to cover the increased cost. You could have set it lower, but chose not to I guess. There are 12 steps to get from one floor to the next, and the listing describes the unit as having stairs, so again, I don't know why you'd complain about that in a review. The cooking pots and pans were fine according to Karolina, and we gladly swap out cookware and/or utensils upon request, if you had mentioned it to her. As for your other complaints about the property, it seems you were not going to like anything about it (including what others LOVE) once you were upset, and we're sorry your visit turned out this way. It is certainly not the norm, but we thank you for providing us the opportunity to improve.
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
Denver, Colorado
5

Great Panama Vacation

  • 5 of 5
Our group of 9 (8 adults & one 5 yr old) had a wonderful stay at PVQ. Bob, Karolina & the entire staff were very helpful from booking thru return home. A wedding ring was left in a room and the house cleaner gave it to Karolina who made arrangements to send it back to the US. Our son loved the pool and wildlife in the backyard. We all enjoyed the hot showers, gazebo & walks up Ancon Hill. The location is safe, quiet and convenient. We used Francisco for our transportation needs so we didn't have to rent a car or worry about driving/parking. Especially since roads had changed significantly since I was stationed there 20 years ago. Thanks to everyone at PVQ for a great stay. We look forward to returning to Panama & PVQ again soon.
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
Summit NJ
5

Great stay in Panama City

  • 5 of 5
My extended family of 6 adults and 5 children were fortunate enough to find this rental. The four bedroom, 2.5 bath apartment accommodated all of us comfortably. The apartment itself is very clean and tidy. The staff is very accommodating and helpful with tourist tips, laundry services, and providing spare keys as we were a large group. The location of the building, in Quarry Heights on Ancon Hill, is perfect for hikes up the hill and spectacular views of Panama City on one side and the Panama Canal on the other. It is situated in a quiet area that is only a 10-minute cab ride from Casco Viejo and the Causeway. It was absolutely wonderful to cool off in the swimming pool after busy days sightseeing. And from the beautiful garden of heliconia and bird-of-paradise plants you can see birds of all kinds, monkeys, and we even saw a sloth! I cannot recommend PVQ highly enough!
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
5

Great Family Rental

  • 5 of 5
We rented two units for our family for 9 days during a family wedding. Great place for kids with the pool., birds and monkeys! Kitchen very convenient and the staff shopped for our groceries so we were well stocked upon our late arrival. Convenenient with taxis readily available, the staff is excellent and willing to assist in any way they can. Very clean and nice.
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Fantastic home away from home

  • 5 of 5
We came to Panama for a relative’s wedding and the opportunity to explore Panama City, countryside and beaches. There were 6 of us (4 adults and 2 teenaged boys) staying in a 4 bedroom town-home- the facilities were excellent! The full kitchen was a huge benefit as we enjoy cooking, especially breakfast before starting the adventures of the day. The locale was peaceful and beautiful; we hiked up Ancon Hill and the view was awesome! The staff was very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We even had the opportunity to see monkeys in the back yard as well down the road. The traffic on the main street was busy at rush hour but otherwise good- there isn’t a whole lot within walking distance but there are plentiful taxi opportunities. The poll was clean & nice; the barbecue made cooking easy & the laundry service was very good. A very good experience.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical Paradise, Pool, WiFi, Natural Park over Canal
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7071158
-+1 9155819388
Panama City Panama
Chadds Ford, PA
5

More than I could have hoped for or dreamed of

  • 5 of 5
We had 15 people (6children, 4 teenagers & 2 young kids) they all enjoyed the time, the adventures, the accommodations. The company, the food and the pool. They had an incredible time here and together. An experience that will count for eternity.

As adults we all enjoyed everything, the accommodations, the animals, the view, the location, the service, the staff, the experiences all over the canal, Atlantic & Pacific. Ancon Hill, the causeway – met old zonians on vacation. Everyone was kind and considerate, helpful. The young boys at Rey’s were energetic and gather sweets
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Location

Activity and Interests

Attractions:

* ATM-bank

* museums

* forests

* playground

* marina

* rain forests

* eco tourism

* groceries

Leisure Activities:

* freshwater fishing

* gambling casinos

* beachcombing

* outlet shopping

* sight seeing

* bird watching

* hiking

* snorkeling

* surf fishing

Nearby Attraction - Facility:

* restaurants

* scenic drives

Nearby Services:

* massage therapist

* babysitting

* medical services

Availability

Rental rates

Notes

  • Nightly Rate: $224 - $300

    Weekly Rate: $1400 - $1950

    Monthly Rate: $4900 - $6500


  • Minimum Stay is 4 nights. I'm sorrybut we do not keep this calender up to date. Please click on our website link where we have up-to-date available and online booking.
    Semi-Peak May 15th thru Nov 19, 2011 - Nightly $224, Weekly $1400, Monthly $4900
    Peak Nov 20 thru Dec 17, 2011 - Nightly $245, Weekly $1500, Monthly $5500
    Holiday Dec 18 thru Jan 7, 2012 - Nightly $300, Weekly $1950, Monthly $6500
    Notes: Rates are for up to 6 people in the 4 BR apartment. We have four of these apartments.
    * * Jan-Dec .. $1350-$1950/week (Depending on unit and season)
    * We had a 25% occupancy rate in 2005, our first year open. Our 2nd year, 2006, we had a 48% occupancy rate. In 2007, it was 85%!!! Come stay with us and see why. Our property is very special.
    * Contact us about additional properties - We offer 8 total units, four of these large 4 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath apartments plus four studio (1 bedroom 1 bath with kitchenette) apartments, fully furnished and custom decorated in tropical theme.
Enter your travel dates
Updated: Jan 30, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4

Notes:

  • General: * accept credit card * safe * laundry soap * towels provided * toilet paper * linens provided * air-conditioning * daily maid service * ceiling fans * hair dryer * soaps basic * concierge * alarm clock * paper towels * telephone Kitchen: * freezer * refrigerator * blender * microwave * coffee maker * stove top burners * oven * toaster * iron & board * ice maker * cooking utensils * dish washer Dining: * dining room * seating for 8 people Bathrooms: * 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath * Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Combination Tub/Shower Bathroom 3 - Toilet Bedrooms: * 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10 * Bedroom 1 - 1 Queen Bedroom 2 - 1 Queen Bedroom 3 - 1 Queen Bedroom 4 - 1 Double, 1 Twin/ Single * 3 bedrooms with queen beds, and 1 bedroom with a full and twin. All out mattresses are posteurpedic. Entertainment: * TV * video library * books * DVD * satellite or cable Internet Access: * wireless broadband * computer available * broadband access * internet access Communication / Internet: * cell phone * computer PC Outside: * outdoor grill gas * outdoor grill * parking off street * gated community * garden * barbecue * parking * patio stone/concrete Swimming Pools: * communal pool * outdoor pool * private pool Suitability: * non smoking only * low allergen environment * wheelchair inaccessible

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.