Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible

Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 9, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, 20 Sleeps

Not just a home rental, but a Private Island Retreat in the Ozello Keys. Experience the Real Florida here on the Nature Coast; only minutes from Crystal River and Homosassa.

Land bridge access with electronic security gate gives you the privacy and convenience of driving to/from your own private island with amenities you won't get from any other home rental! No traffic noise to hinder the awesome wildlife and beautiful serenity here.

Swim or relax in one of the 2 spas or the 45’ solar-heated pool with 2 32’ waterfalls and wet bar. As you relax in one of the stargazing chairs by the bonfire ring (wood included with your stay), watch one of Mother Nature’s night shows, unhampered by city lights.

All linens, towels and dishes are furnished in both units, each having a full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, stove and all cooking utensils, including glasses, dishes, pots and pans.

Rent both upper and lower homes (2 bedroom 1.5 bath each) and only your group will be in Paradise*.

When you rent here, you rent an island retreat with many amenities. Be sure you know what is included with your rental, as we have become aware of others making it appear they have enough kayaks for your group; most have 1 or 2 at best, whereas we provide 14. Whether it's paddling with dolphins or exploring some of the 300 islands with one of the 14 kayaks/2 canoes that come at no extra charge, this alone could save a family of 6 more than $500 a day!

Rent a private island, not just a home-in-a-row on a canal. 360 degrees of open water views with very few boats going by!

We also can set you up to snorkel with the manatee or have a private all day tour of Crystal River, including snorkeling and fishing on your own private pontoon boat with your own licensed guide.

Make this the vacation of a lifetime for just a few dollars more.

*Caretakers on property to take care of any needs you may have.

More Details
  • Sleeps 20
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Wheelchair access

Recent Review

About the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7072032
1-352-564-1757
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
homosassa
5

Great place to get away from it all.

  • 5 of 5
The description was very accurate the houses and property were very clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend this property to everyone. i loved the pool kayaking and just hangin out at the huge tiki bar the view out there was beautiful and really peaceful.
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. So glade you could come and enjoy this private island retreat. Feel free to come and stay again.Was great getting to meet your family
business
Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7072032
1-352-564-1757
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Atlanta Ga
5

We love to kayak and this place was paradie

  • 5 of 5
We loved this rental. We like to not be so public. We sat and played music and sang at the bonfire until the sun came up. The homes are not fancy but very clean,very old island decor and nice to stay in. Every thing is well maintained.It made me feel like we had taken a trip in time to a simpler and more basic time. The kids loved the pool/spa and waterfalls. We were pleasantly surprised at all the art around the island. You could tell the owner use to art shows. As every were you look is little pieces of art. We highly recommend this rental and will be back later in year after the heat breaks. This is very different than renting most homes, as here you are renting a private island complex with lots of extras. We saved about 400.00 over what we would have spent if we rented up town and paid for the extras we got at the island that were included
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It was awesome meeting your family. Look forward to you all returning to spend time in paradise.
business
Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7072032
1-352-564-1757
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Orlando, FL
5

Vacation in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
This property was the perfect getaway for our family of eight. We rented the downstairs unit for one evening and then rented the entire house for the remainder of our stay...would definitely recommend renting the entire place if possible. This made for a very peaceful, relaxing and beautiful vacation. The owners are very service oriented, extremley knowledgeable about the area and are completely in tune with anything you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The kids loved the pool but probably enjoyed the outdoors and the kayaks even more - the gorgeous scenery, the wildlife make for quite an experience. And, if you're into fishing, you don't have to go any further than the edge of the property. During incoming tides we caught a slew of fish including reds, trout, gar, catfish, lady fish, stingray, etc. They've got a great little baitshop less than a mile away that has shrimp and pinfish, very cool. There's also a fantastic fish restaurant, Pecks, less than five miles away that has some of the best seafood. Leave your IPhone and Laptop at home. Come to this property just to get away from it all and relax. We will definitely return.
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay in our area. Look forward to seeing you again some time soon
business
Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7072032
1-352-564-1757
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Lakeland, Florida, USA
5

our vacation

  • 5 of 5
after reading the above review, i was a bit confused as we had no problem with this at all. i think the poster was confused though. the deposit DOES NOT get REFUNDED because it is NOT taken out! the owner puts a hold on the credit card IN CASE there is damage thats expensive.
we stayed at this island and were more than pleased! we had a great time with no problems at all. the owner was close for anything we needed or questions that we had otherwise we really didnt see him. the pool was gorgeous! loved sitting on the deckside by the pool and just lounging and having a great time with friends.
i was a little surprised when we got there, the homes were much nicer and more comfortable than what the photos show.
ken, the owner, took us on a jet ski tour out to the gulf and we seen a ton of dolphins and some stingrays and even a couple sharks! great day!
what can i say other than GREAT VACATION!!
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Island Retreat ~1/2 way to Scallops- Land Accessible
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7072032
1-352-564-1757
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
South Florida
1

Owner Does Not Return Your Deposit

  • 1 of 5
Owner made up Ridiculous Excuses and Kept The Deposit. We rented the upper level. Downstairs was rented by another family. They decided to check out early & blamed the owner that we were loud. Even though they really left because it was raining, we were able to rent the lower level to another family that we knew so the owner was not out anything. We left both upper and lower houses spotless - laundered linens, vacumed the carpets, cleaned the kitchen and bathrooms, etc. The owner refused to return our deposit - said we left too much garbage and broke a sprinkler head in the lawn. Garbage was all bagged & outside. There were no special instructions for "excessive garbage." If this island is meant for gatherings of 8 people, the idea would be to stay & enjoy the island & of course, there is going to be garbage. For the amount of deposit that was retained, we would have taken the garbage off the island ourselves. Easy enough to put it in the back of a pickup and drive it wherever it usually goes. Such a ridiculous excuse from the owner. We go to the area once or twice a year and will never stay at this island again.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: If you are sure you have the right listing. My homes are both tile there is no carpet to vacuum. Please contact so I can send you copy's of what you were charged. We only put a hold for deposits. So your card is not going to show a refund, as it is not taken out. I have no idea who you are as the dates you listed, I had both homes rented to a Georgia family Sept 22 to 28 and no other rental until Oct 1st. Please contact me so we can find out what happened. Can you send me the invoice with the charge?

Location

Activity and Interests

Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park is one of the best places in the state to view manatees, some of which are treated here before being released into the wild. An excellent value at $13/adult, $5/child, spend the afternoon at the zoo and research center (15 minute drive from Paradise).

Rainbow Springs State Park offers swimming, snorkeling, canoeing and kayaking, hiking and wildlife viewing (squirrels, otter, turtles, alligators, songbirds, hummingbirds, red-shoulder hawks, osprey, barred owls, and various water birds).

Weeki Wachee Springs is where underwater performances by mermaids (women wearing fish tails) can be viewed in an aquarium-like setting. Visitors can swim at Buccaneer Bay, see the Misunderstood Creatures Animal Show, or take a riverboat ride down the Weeki Wachee River.

Crystal River Archaeological State Park is a 61 acre National Historic Landmark, activities include salt and fresh water fishing, bird watching and a boat tour of Crystal River.

Yulee Sugar Mill Ruins Historic State Park contains the remnants of the once-thriving 5,100-acre sugar plantation, serving as a supplier of sugar products for southern troops during the Civil War.

Take a manatee snorkel trip for as little as $30 (let us know and we can book it for you).

Many Orlando area amusement parks and attractions are just a day trip away.

Availability

Enter your travel dates
Total estimated amount
Updated: Sep 9, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
From
$999
From
$999
From
$4,888
 

Notes


  • Private Island home, land accessible, many amenities you will not get with an in-town home.
    * Specializing in groups of 12 to 20, great for family reunions or gatherings.
    * FREE use of 14 kayaks and 2 canoes (save up to $700/day).
    * FREE firewood for nightly bonfires.
    * We offer the ultimate in privacy and security for your group.
    For the cost of renting a kayak each day, your group of 6 can stay on a private island!
    Lower Home Rental Rates, 2014
    2 bedroom, 1.5 bath, 3 queen beds, 1 queen sofa bed, 1 queen air mattress
    * Sunday through Thursday Regular Price $272 Sale Price $199*
    * Friday/Saturday w/ other nights Regular Price $300 Sale Price $225*
    * Friday/Saturday Only Regular Price $367 Sale Price $275*
    * 6 nights/7 days Regular Price $1688 Sale Price $1099*
    * 7 nights/8 days Regular Price $1888 Sale Price $1299*
    Rates based on 2 people, additional guest $15/person/night, $70/week
    Pet friendly, $10/day each
    Call for holiday and special pricing
    *Sale pricing not valid Memorial Day to Labor Day, or holidays

    Upper Home Rental Rates, 2014
    2 bedroom 1.5 bath, 2 queen beds, 2 sofa queen bed, 1 queen air mattress
    * Sunday through Thursday Regular Price $350 Sale Price $261*
    * Friday/Saturday w/ other nights Regular Price $399 Sale Price $299*
    * Friday/Saturday Only Regular Price $466 Sale Price $349*
    * 6 nights/7 days Regular Price $2300 Sale Price $1483*
    * 7 nights/8 days Regular Price $2548 Sale Price $1599*
    Rates based on 2 people, additional guest $15/person/night, $70/week
    Pet friendly, $10/day each
    Call for holiday and special pricing
    *Sale pricing not valid Memorial Day to Labor Day, Spring Break and Scallop season

    Entire Island Rental for Your Group Only
    4 bedroom, 2 full bath, 2 half-baths, 5 queen beds, 3 sofa queen beds, 2 queen air mattress
    * Sunday through Thursday Regular Price $667 Sale Price $540*
    * Friday/Saturday w/ other nights Regular Price $805 Sale Price $604*
    * Friday/Saturday Only Regular Price $899 Sale Price $749*
    * 6 nights/7 days Regular Price $4172 Sale Price $3096*
    * 7 nights/8 days Regular Price $4888 Sale Price $3368*
    This pricing is for renting both homes, first 8 guests, use of 14 kayaks and 2 canoes and all the other amenities we provide that no one else does.
    Additional guest $15/person/night, $70/week
    Pet friendly, $10/day each
    Call for holiday and special pricing
    *Sale pricing not valid Memorial Day to Labor Day, or holidays

    Pricing subject to change until booked; see our website for absolute pricing and sales.

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Budget

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool
  • Hot Tub

Suitability

  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Waterfront

Bathrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill

Notes:

  • FREE use of 14 kayaks/2 canoes (enough for 23 to paddle together ~ save hundreds a day in rental fees!) 45' solar-heated pool 2 32' lit waterfalls 45’ Tiki hut with wet bar and sound system 8' 9HP spa with 6 water features at pool Private double-pump Jacuzzi on deck of upper home 2 Picnic area with charcoal grills Bonfire ring with furnished wood coin-op washer and dryer 61” Sony HDTV in upper home, with over 200 channels 42" HDTV in lower home, with over 200 channels Queen-size beds Full kitchen in each home Screened-in patio and deck for each home High-speed wireless internet Awesome wildlife viewing and so much more... check our website for more details.
Email Owner Contact Me