Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Nov 5, 2014
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with a

garden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.

This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.

A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.

A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family. A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.

A place to let your soul fly free.

Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage).

We rent our new bungalow with two separate rental units, located on the dune:

LA PALMA: Upstairs bedroom with kingsize bed and sofa for 2-3 persons, private bathroom, terrace with amazing view over the ocean, access to communal kitchen

LA DUNA: downstairs bedroom with two matrimonialsize beds for 2-4 persons, private bathroom, terrace with oceanview, access to communal kitchen

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Pets welcome

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 5, 2014

1 Reviews

1 traveler review

Write a Review
Playa Selva - LA PALMA and LA DUNA
+41 -79 792 63 14
Tulum Quintana Roo
Brooklyn, NY, USA

I wanted to love Playa Selva, but....

  • 1 of 5
Our family stayed at Playa Selva for our Christmas Holiday this year, but had to cut it short. The beach is beautiful - talcum powder sands and warm blue water. The staff, Javier and Maria, were nice. Joana, the caretaker was friendly, accessible and helpful. Even the house and bungalows are nice and clean. The big caveat is what is NOT made clear is that the location is NOT what they advertised. We feel they have grossly misrepresented their establishment as "as place to relax, away from the rush and the noise. A place to recharge your energy", considering their knowledge of their on-going problems with Camping Chavez next door for the past two years. There is a campground next to their bungalows, with as many as 40 tents at a time on the site. Many of the tents encroach onto their property during the night and you have people from the campsite wandering onto their property after dark. When we were there, sounds of drumming and a saxaphone drowned down the ocean from morning until night. We experienced around the clock drum circles from 7am to 11 pm with maybe a fews days of reprieve. Marajuana smoke was constant and lingered in our bedrooms. We tried to just go with the flow and make the best of it, but when you are charged as much as we were while we were for staying there, it is unacceptable. Manuela refused to refund our money. She did offer a day trip to Sian Kaan as a consolation. She did make an attempt at refunding as long as she was able to rent out the rooms. It's unfortunate and we sympathize with Manuela's grievances with their neighbor, as it is something that they cannot control, but we were sorely disappointed and we felt that Manuela could have handled the situation better for as much as we had shelled out to her.
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all; thank you for your comment and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us, but we did our very best to accommodate you and are working hard to make sure this never happens again. But the timing of your vacation was very special. i want to get the facts together:
The Christmas season in Tulum is always busy. And this year, 2012 on the 21st of December, was widely publicized that the world would end as the Mayan Calendar ended on that day. A good percentage of those who believed the world would end came to Camping Chavez, next door. As Tulum has become more popular, the camp sites have decreased. But on the 21st December, demand for camping did not.
We reported to the authorities to put some limits to the campsite. The police helped but most of the authorities who could do something on a bigger scale were on vacation. Here in Mexico things like that take some time.
I know I cannot apologize enough but we had very little warning that you were so unhappy since you never complained until the day you wanted to leave.
We were all surprised when you told us on the 6th day of your 14 day stay that you needed to leave the next day. We were totally booked during your visit. The other guests did not complain. Joanne, our manager, had no idea that you were so unhappy even though she saw you daily. After we understood your situation, we tried to find you another place but Tulum was totally booked. Joanne and I spend the better part of a day looking and making calls but there was nothing available except a place in Cancun but you did not like it. In the meantime I tried to rent out your last week so that I could refund the money. And I successfully did that and could have refunded full amount, you decided to stay, confirming twice with, "yes we will stay so no need to rent the cabana". There was also a couple in la Torre Pajaros that actually wanted to take your time once you left. But then you changed your mind to stay.
I don’t think you realize how hard we worked to try to help you have a good vacation, nor should you. But it is not as if we left you to fend for yourself. And when you again changed your mind to leave, we rented 4 of your last 6 days and I refunded that money – completely contrary to our cancellation policy.
No one else said the sound of drums drowned the sound of the sea. Nobody else complained about the camping.
We try our best to get that situation resolved.


Activity and Interests

All you can do on one of the best beach in the world; hammocks, lounge

beds, beachvolleyball, children playground...

Diving, snorkeling, kayaking, kitesurfing, windsurfing, buggyboards,

biking,... could be fun on the beach. Rental places are nearby.

We offer exclusive tours to the Biosphere Sian Ka'an and Cenotes.

There are a number of great restaurants located within walking

distance: Try Tita Tulum, La Zebra, Casa Banana, Hartwood, Om,

Casa Violeta... - all are close.


Rental rates


  • Please ask for last minute offers!!!
    Prices 2014/2015:
    * High season (December to May): 1400.- usd per week
    * Middle season (May - August, November): 1200.- usd per week
    * Low season prices (September, Oktober): 900.- usd per week
    * Christmas/New Years Week 2014/2015: 2500.- usd per week (only weekly rental from saturday to saturday; 20th until the 27th of december and 27th of december until the 3rd of january)
    Rates are for 2 persons, extra person additional 20.- usd per night.

    * High season (December to May): 1300.- usd per week
    * Middle season (May- August, November): 1100.- usd per week
    * Low season prices ( September, Oktober): 700.- usd per week
    * Christmas/New Years Week 2014/2015: 2400.- usd per week (only weekly rental from saturday to saturday; 20th until the 27th of december and 27th of december until the 43rd of january)
    Rates are for 2 persons, extra person additional 20.- usd per night, max. 2 children under 12 years free.
    we charge 3% service fee extra which will be paid to our staff.
    17% taxes are included in the prices.
    Payment methods: Bankwire, Paypal (+ 5% taxes).
    We charge 50% by reservation and the other 50% one
    month before renting.
Enter your travel dates
Updated: Nov 5, 2014
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Property Type

  • cabin


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic


  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2


  • Completly equipped outdoor kitchen (no fridge, but big ice cooler with ice blocks) Hot water Light and electricity (solar energy) Mosquito nets Safe Daily cleaning Sheets Towels (bath and beach) WIFI Lounge chairs Hammocks Barbecue on the beach Buggyboards Bycicles Children Playground Babysitter, babybed (30.- usd per week), babychair and babytub if required Windsurf Tours Massages, Kosmetic, Pédicure Babysitter and babybed if required Private Yoga Classes on the beach

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.