Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Apr 22, 2015
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 4

Stay in a stunning architectural house with spectacular ocean and mountain views. Our house is on twelve gated acres at the very west end of Malibu. We are five minutes up a canyon where you will find privacy and breathtaking views in a completely serene environment. The sunny house is furnished with a king bed in the master bedroom, a queen in the second bedroom, and twin beds in the den on the lower floors. The master suite had a large soaking tub and separate shower and the second bedroom has a full bath with a tub/shower combination.

In response to a negative review; since that review we have recently updated the flooring, refinished the cabinets, executed exterior work, and solved our water problem.

We are within minutes of the most beautiful beaches in Malibu and County Line surf beach. Hike on the trails on the property or hike to the top of Boney Ridge.

PLEASE NO INQUIRIES ABOUT PARTIES OF ANY SORT.

  • Sleeps 3
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Swimming pool
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

I am an architect and reside and work in Los Angeles. I purchased the property in 1976. The house was built in 1995 and was recently upgraded with new flooring and newly refinished cabinets.

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2015

7 Reviews

4.4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5
A superbly designed house which very cleverly maximises the outstanding location and provides spectacular, ever changing views in all directions. We witnessed some of the best sunsets we have ever seen in many years of travelling in Europe, the Caribbean and New Zealand. In an hours drive you can leave behind the dirt, noise and hubub of LA as if it was another world. Breakfast in the sun and then only a few miles to the best beaches of Malibu or mountain trails under the cliffs of Boney Mountain. For peace and tranquility it could not be bettered.
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

Hidden oasis!

  • 5 of 5
If you are looking for peace and tranquility then this place is perfect! Great floor plan inside and out. Stunning views. Easy access to hiking trails. Pool is amazing. Very quiet except for the lovely song birds. We will be back! Cory the owner is so sweet and helpful! Love it here!
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
Vermont
1

Anything But a Jem!

  • 1 of 5
In our 20 years of renting from Home Away or VRBO this was the most disappointing home we have ever rented. It is very tired and worn and was extremely dirty. The water had an over powering sulphur smell and despite the 110 weather we were told we shouldn't run the AC! The furniture is old water stained and reminiscent of a garage sale. We left after 2 days! Beware keep looking!
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This particular renter was a last minute renter. I explained that I had not had good experiences with last minute renters and that all rent and deposits for the 5 nights requested would need to be paid in cash upon arrival. I also explained that I live an hour away but would wait for them to arrive, which they did not do until 10:30pm (their plane had arrived at 7pm). They presented me with less than half of the rent and deposits in cash and the balance in the form of an out-of-state check from a bank I had never heard of. They were in a hurry to get the keys and return to town for a late meal. I had no choice to either accept their suspect payment or ask them to leave. I did the former, which I see now was a mistake. The next day they called to say they would like to stay three nights and head to the wine country instead of staying on for 5 nights. I agreed to this and said I would be up the next day to pick up the additional rent in cash, since I had not deposited their check. The husband immediately changed his mind and said they would stay two nights (covered by the cash they gave me). Clearly they had no intention of honoring the check they gave me or paying for the third night. They will be my last last minute renters.

In regards to their complaints about the house, I made a comment that my neighbors hear the AC condensor, to please use it sparingly at night. I did not say not to use it. The husband emailed me at 2pm to say he could not sleep because there was no AC upstairs. He was about 20 feet away from the thermostat that controls the AC on the upper floor but did not bother to look for it or read the instruction book regarding the AC.

The cork floor is showing its age after 20 years but is perfectly clean. It is to be replaced at the end of October with a bamboo floor, already purchased. The period mid-century furniture would look 'old' to anyone uneducated in modern period furniture; many of the pieces are quite valuable. There is not a single water stain on any of upholstered furniture.

In an email the next day demanding their $50 security deposit (he shorted me $250 on this payment), I replied that I would return their deposit but that I did not consider their actions towards me honorable. From there spewed forth the threats to contact HomeAway and various other insults. This was a very unpleasant experience; I wish I could warn other homeowners to beware of this renter.
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
Buffalo, NY
5

Beautiful home with stunning views,

  • 5 of 5
Stayed here for 2 weeks in December 2013. Partner and I have been coming to Malibu every winter for 10 years. Renting this beautiful home was a truly unexpected lucky find. The property & house itself is large, but with a layout that feels cozy (open concept kitchen-dining-living room with fireplace). Kitchen has top-end appliances and cookware, floor to ceiling windows throughout home let in lots of light with spectacular views to ocean & canyons. We felt at times like we were living on a movie set because everything was so beautiful, especially the outdoor area and the master bath with enormous soaking tub and views of the canyons & ocean. The weather was a little cool during our stay to use the huge swimming pool, but the pool guys kept it clean and we spent a couple of afternoons sunning in the yard
The owner left very detailed instructions about the house and surrounding area/attractions and promptly responded to any questions we had. There is a definite positive difference when staying at a house that has been both built and lived in by the owner as opposed to a managed rental property.
Didn't have cell phone signal at the house, but the wifi worked great. We plugged in our apple tv and watched netflix & hbogo every night on the large screen tv in the master bedroom. The beds were comfortable and linens were high quality.
This home is truly a hidden gem. We loved the solitude and privacy, and appreciated being off the beaten path. It's a ~5 min drive from the house down to the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) and Neptune's Net restaurant (which also sells some staples and beer/wine). From there, it's another 10 mins down the coast to a Pavilion's shopping center by Zuma Beach (restaurants, fitness center, etc), and keep heading down the PCH to the Malibu Farmer's market and Santa Monica. It's about 40 mins-depending on traffic--to drive the other direction over the mountains into Thousand Oaks/Westlake (large mall, restaurants, movie theaters, etc). We planned our outings accordingly and enjoyed returning to our quiet and calm retreat away from the crowds & traffic. 10/10 would recommend this home, and definitely plan to stay here again in future visits.
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
Maastricht, the Netherlands
5

Magnificent house

  • 5 of 5
A beautiful house in a breathtaking environment in one of the canyons of Santa Monica mountains. The house has been designed and built by the owner and if one appreciates good architecture, this is the perfect place to stay.

Magnificent view on the pacific ocean on one side and the mountains on the other, a perfect place to enjoy the quietness of live outside the big city. It fullfilled all our expectations, with as special attraction the variety of birds visiting the terrace on a daily basis, amongst others humming birds and quails. There are trails nearby for hiking lovers.

The swimmingpool is stunning and probably a necessity in summer. Shops and restaurants are a 20-30 minutes drive away, the house has a fully equipped kitchen and we took care of our own meals most of the time.
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Ocean View Architectural House
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7091293
-3104723373
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

exceptional serenity

  • 5 of 5
I loved the place. It is perched on a side of a canyon, situated precisely so that the ocean is in one view and Boney Ridge in the other, yet the spot itself is flat and solid. The setting was peaceful, almost monastery-like, profoundly quiet except for the birds and wind. Without gushing, it was a stupendous spot, one I will remember. I spent mornings sitting on the patio at the table reading, to the sound of the hummingbird's wings as they went at the birds of paradise flowers, and the song birds that fed at the feeder, surrounded by sky and looking down at the clouds.

The house itself is sweet: the kitchen is well-equipped with top-of-the-line appliances, including a Thermidor 6-burner gas range. It is minimally furnished, which I like in a rental, so the owner's personality doesn't crowd you. The main floor has the kitchen, counter with seating for two, dining and all-purpose table in the middle, a couch and chair and best of all, by the fireplace, a built in large-scale slab covered with a cushion that was spacious enough for two or three to sprawl out on. There is also a half bath. Downstairs has two rooms: a bedroom with two singles, and a large open room with a piano overlooking the pool, also with built-in seating area. Upstairs is the master bedroom and an enormous bathroom with toilet, bidet, a shower, and a huge bathtub. Views from every room.

Fabulous beaches - the best in Malibu, in my opinion, are at the foot of Yerba Buena, 5-10 minutes down the road on PCH. No cell at the house, only down on PCH. The internet isn't speedy, but I was able to do everything I needed, although I did not try to stream movies. (There are DVDs in the master bedroom, with a TV screen.)

The first days were gloriously sunny, but then "June gloom" set in, and it was cloudy and the views hovered in and out of sight the rest of the time.

It is less than 30 minutes to the center of Malibu where the shopping plazas are.

I went hiking one day - about a 5 minute drive up YB Road are some trailheads, and I took a lovely trail to Balanced Rock for a 4 mile hike that was spectacular.

It is an extraordinary home, and the feeling of isolation contrasted to the swarms of Southern Cal. is especially pleasing.
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Location

From the Owner

This quiet property and stunning views holds my heart. We use this house as a weekend or vacation house. Nature surrounds and intrigues us endlessly. It has been the perfect vacation house, far enough from the city to feel a visit is a true escape but close enough to return for events if desired.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : LAX at 43.6 Miles Nearest Barpub : Geoffrey's at 16 Miles Nearest Golf : Malibu Golf Club at 13.9 Miles Nearest Motorway : Pacific Coast Highway at 2.5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Neptune's Net (other restaurants about 14 miles) at 2.5 Miles Nearest Beach : beaches are 5 to 12 minutes away at 2.5 Miles Car: necessary

We are minutes from the most beautiful beaches in Malibu. At the bottom of our canyon is the world renown surf beach, County Line Beach, and a fish restaurant where you can select live lobster, crab, or shrimp to take home or have cooked there. There are hiking trails on the property or up the canyon you can pick up the trailhead to the second highest peak in the Santa Monica Mountains, Sandstone Peak.

Availability

From $2,400 Per week

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
$7,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Nightly Rate: $300 - $350

Weekly Rate: $2100 - $2400

Monthly Rate: $7000 - $8000


We have a 4 night minimum, except in the summer where we ask for long term stays. We charge a $150 cleaning fee and a refundable security deposit of $300. for short stays.

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Apr 22, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

From the Owner

The views of the ocean and Boney Ridge are breathtaking. We are in a remote part of Malibu where stars shine brightly at night and neighbors respect the peace and quiet unique to our neighborhood. Fine restaurants and grocery stores are less than 15 minutes away. Movie theaters (several) and factory shops, restaurants, Trader Joes, and box stores are 30 minutes away in Camarillo.

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Romantic

Dining

  • Dining Area

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Rural

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 3600 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Our house is designed as a passive solar house but also has a fireplace and a forced air heat and cooling system. The patio has a bar-b-que, lounge chairs, and tables all facing the ocean view. There is WiFi, a land line telephone but no cell phone reception.

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.