Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Mar 2, 2015
Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Newly renovated (2012) 3-bedroom condo, 2 bath unit with FANTASTIC ocean views. 1st floor unit in main building, easy access from parking lot, and even easier access to pool and beach from back patio. Our condo has new AC system, new water heater, new flooring, new carpet in bedrooms, completely renovated kitchen, w/granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. New furniture through-out entire unit. 3 outdoor pools with Ginger's Cafe being at main pool. Sportsplex across from our unit has a newly indoor heated salt-water pool and sauna. 2 hot tubs, 1 kiddie pool. Lighted tennis courts,2 racquetball courts,and outdoor grilling area. Fully equipped exercise room, arcade games, 24 hour security in gated community. Free wi-fi internet. Close to nearby NC Aquarium, miniature golf, parks, 2 nearby movie theaters, restaurants, and ferries for sight-seeing, shelling, and wild-life to see the wild ponies at Shakelford Banks & Carrot Island.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Swimming pool
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 2, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Carey -

Thank you for opening your condo to us – it was beautiful. We fell in love with Emerald Isle. The slow pace, peace and quiet and southern hospitality is just what we needed. NC will be our new vacation spot.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 4

40 Reviews

based on 40 traveler reviews

Write a Review
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina

We LOVED this condo! Beautiful place, SUPER CLOSE to beach and wonderful insider tips from owner!

  • 5 of 5
We had an amazing 2 weeks at this condo! It was just as beautiful in person as the photos show. The Master Bed was super comfy! And my kids loved their rooms too! It was a perfect place for a family with 3 kids (or more). We all had plenty of space and was so easy to carry all our "gear" down to the beach because the unit is so close to the beach (around 25-50 yards) and the pool gate is right out of your patio door. Carey & Tom do not miss 1 detail...they are so thoughtful and considerate. Just 1 example is that we were there during the threat of Hurricane Arthur and they brought over extra water, flashlights, glow sticks for our kids and kept checking if we needed anything. Carey gives tons of great restaurant, spa , and kid friendly attraction advice to go see & do--all of them we awesome! It is like have your own "trip advisor". The resort is super family friendly as well. It is close to several great restaurants, a mini golf place and so much more! We ordered our groceries from "Lowe's grocery store" and the delivered all of our groceries an hour after we arrived so we could just unload the car and not worry about getting food. It was great! Thank you Carey & Tom for sharing your wonderful condo with us!
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the outstanding review!!! We are so happy to hear that you all had such a great vacation and enjoyed all the amenities of our condo and the complex. Thanks for being so easy to work with throughout this experience, including Hurricane Arthur!! Your family treated our condo as if it were your home and took excellent care of it. Many thanks for choosing our condo for your family vacation this year, please keep us in mind for future trips to the beautiful Crystal Coast!! ~Carey & Tom
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina

Beautiful Condo, Beautiful Beach

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this condo and would happily rent it again! The 3/2 condo is well updated and tastefully decorated and furnished. The condo property has lots of amenities, namely beach access right outside the condo. I imagine it would be pretty crowded in the summer, but off-season it was quiet and the beautiful beach empty. Perfect for a family getaway and near the aquarium, hiking, shops and shelling. We have some great memories! A huge plus is the helpfulness of the owners and quick response time to any questions that we had.
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at our condo and the beautiful Crystal Coast!
We hope that you'll consider us for future trips..
~Carey & Tom
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina
Cary, NC

Wonderful, relaxing autumn stay at the beach

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I were privileged to stay at Carey and Tom’s condo for the second time on October 24-26, 2014. The minute we walked through the door, we again felt at home and bathed in luxury. It felt like we were walking into the “reveal” on a HGTV remodeling show. The light streams into the condo and we could see the ocean from the living room and master bedroom windows. Everything is high end, from the gleaming granite counter tops to the beautiful linens on the beds. Carey and Tom anticipate every need. There are bountiful, soft spa towels in baskets in every bedroom. There are games and puzzles for all ages in the living area. The kitchen is well stocked with every dish, kitchen tool, and pot that one might need. There’s a coffee maker and dishwasher. The refrigerator is huge, immaculately clean, and has an ice and water dispenser. (We ate breakfasts and snacks in the condo and didn’t cook because there are so many great seafood places nearby. Carey and Tom provide a notebook full of suggestions. We can highly recommend the shrimp burgers just a few minutes down the road at the Big Oak Drive In for lunch!) In the condo, there is a comfortable dining table ready for family meals or games. Right outside the patio is a grassy area leading to a gorgeous pool area. It was a little cool for the pool but not for sitting in the sun or the hot tub! Thank you, Carey and Tom - we enjoyed our relaxing autumn stay at the beach, and hope to return again with family some day soon!
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our condo two times now! :) We were hoping that you would have a relaxing weekend to celebrate your retirement.
Thank you again for the lovely review!
~Carey & Tom
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina

beach get away

  • 5 of 5
My family enjoyed a beautiful, super clean home away from home for the week. The condo was very comfortable and newly renovated. The location to the pool and beach was only steps away. The large pool was salt water and was a treat, no smelly chlorine. I especially appreciated that the bedding and towels were soft and of a better quality then is normally used in a vacation rental. I will definitely keep this condo's information handy for our next vacation.
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina
Cincinnati, Ohio

Beatiful condo!! But do a good check upon arrival!

  • 4 of 5
My family loved this condo. We've stayed at many condos and this one was very nice. It was well stocked in the kitchen and is a very pretty condo. We loved how close it was to the pool and the ocean. I do have a few helpful tips if renting this condo and if you have children you may want to reconsider this condo. The owner is very nice and helpful but she is picky about wear and tear on a condo. We stay at condo's every year on vacation and I've never had an owner so picky before. After getting home she emailed me and had 4 pictures of things damaged. The first was a white towel with some stains on it (I've been racking my brain about what was on the towel), the second looked like a sheet or mattress pad with a couple small spots that looked like blood. I'm thinking someone had a scratch that bleed during the night. I didn't see those spots and I didn't even think to check the sheets or mattress pad for stains when we first arrived. So I have to take her word that it was from us. The third was a stain at the bottom skirt of the white couch. I did notice that stain but was unsure if it was there before we came. The white couches did make me nervous and I told the kids they were not allowed to eat or drink in the living room and I questioned the kids about the stain and they all said it was there before us. Since I did not do a good check upon arriving, I do not know if the stain was from our family. The fourth picture was a broken spatula and three cups showing that the 4th was missing. The spatula handle was loose and on the verge of breaking when we got there and I have no idea where the missing cup went. With 3 kids maybe 1 carried it to the pool and left it. Who knows! The homeowner thankfully didn't charge us for everything, just to get the spot cleaned on the couch. I just thought it would be helpful to let others know who rent this condo to please look around for anything that looks like it's getting ready to break and also do a good check from the beginning for stains/ spots (even check the sheets & mattress pad). Like I've said we rent condo's every year and never experienced anything like this, so the first check upon arriving is important!! If you see any spots or think something is broken call the homeowner and let her know immediately. Hope that helps!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our condo and the Summerwinds resort, it really is a unique place to vacation.
We recognize that wear and tear may occur during a stay, we too have small children. We acknowledge however, that there is a difference between wear and tear and actual damage. It is an absolute last resort for us to ever withhold a guest's damage deposit. We tried multiple cleaning methods to remove the stain to the sofa skirt and while we were able to overlook the other items as wear and tear, the sofa skirt had to be sent out for professional cleaning since we were unsuccessful in removing it. We regret having to charge you a small fee for that damage.
We take great pride in our home, as reflected by all of the positive feedback we have received from our guests throughout the years. We hope you and your family enjoy the rest of your summer. ~Carey & Tom
SummerWinds Condo
+1 -919-810-5755
Emerald Isle Coastal North Carolina


  • 5 of 5
The unit is amazing! It's by far the most beautiful unit at Summer Winds. Carey is also so kind and welcoming to to work with. Wouldn't stay any other place from now on. Thanks Carey!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at our condo and we would love to have you back again. ~Carey & Tom


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Activity and Interests

NC Aquarium located few miles down the road from Summerwinds complex in Pine Knolls Shore (Summer of 2012 new penguins are arriving). Watch for Loggerhead Sea Turtle nesting and maybe you might even be lucky enough to see a nest being born. Beaufort, NC is a small historic town with many day excursions, like shelling, hiking/camping, sight-seeing of wild ponies. Emerald Isle has wonderful beaches, great shopping and miniature golf, movie theater, restaurants, and pier for fishing.


Rental rates


  • Nightly Rate: $141 - $300

    Weekly Rate: $950 - $2175

    Monthly Rate: $1395 - $1395

  • Rentals are Sunday-Sunday. Check- in time: 3:00pm, Check- out time: 10:00 am.
    Value Season: Jan. 1- May 3, 2014 ($950) ; In Season: May 4 -June 7, 2014($1275);Summer: June 8-14th ($1675); Prime Season: June 15- August 9, 2014 ($2075);
    Mid Season: August 10-September 13, 2014 ($1550); Value Season: Sept. 14- December 31, 2014 ($950)
    ********The weeks of June 22nd, June 29th,and July 6th rates are an additional hundred dollars.***** $225 refundable or $50 non-refundable damage deposit.
    We do offer nightly rentals in the off-season (3 night minimum) please inquire about rates. Homeowners do not use a third party property managment will always communicate with the owners. Thank you!
Enter your travel dates
Updated: Mar 2, 2015


Property Type

  • condo


  • Family

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool


  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3


  • Master bedroom has King size bed with 32" flat screen wall-mounted TV and DVD player. Guest room two has Queen size bed, and guest room three has 2 twin bunk beds. Living room has 42' flat screen TV and Blue-Ray DVD player. Both bathroom have been renovated. New furnishing through out. Plantation shutters in each room. Washer & Dryer, Iron and Ironing board. Numerous board games and vast library of books available for your enjoyment. Linens & towels provided during your stay. Fully equipped kitchen.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.