Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Palm house

Palm house


Property Details

Updated: Dec 12, 2014
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Beautiful four bedroom two bathroom home with private fenced yard within walking distance of downtown and petco park. Five minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, Coronado, San Diego international airport, the trolley, Sea World, beaches and many other world class spots in and near downtown.

  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 0 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2014

Guestbook comments from the manager

We enjoy the house and San Diego very much, Thank you .
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 3

6 Reviews

Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County

Clean and Comfy

  • 5 of 5
Great place. My family and I enjoyed it. We came down from LA for a few days to get away. We are a family of six and sometimes finding a place to accommodate us is pretty hard. The house had more than enough room for us. The area was good, we enjoyed buying some ice-cream from the ice cream truck, a lot of kids in the area, mostly because there is a school two blocks away. We let our kids play with some children while we were on the porch. Overall we liked our stay. Its not a modern house, but it has character and most importantly it was comfortable for us.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County
London uk

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
We just love the house very clean, and big. It's in a good central location. No problem what so ever, the owner, she was very nice. We love San Diego perfect weather. We will take nice memories back to our country in the UK. Thank you Xochitl for everything .
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County

Joyful Stay

  • 4 of 5
We enjoyed our stay at The Palm House very much. It is comfortable, perfect for 8 women, well located for getting around the city and well appointed. for us Texan's the weather was fabulous. Thanks for the good weather also.

Many thanks.
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County

Family coming to San Diego

  • 5 of 5
We arrived at the house and it looks just like the pictures. Its a clean house and the house was nicely decorated. We enjoyed the living room because it had a flat screen tv and the couch was an automatic reclinable, all we had to do was press it button. The kitchen was big and we liked the little goodies that were provided for us. All the room were fine. The neighborhood at first looked kinda sketchy but we realized that it was a friendly neighborhood. In the afternoon we saw parents and children walking to school which is near by. We also liked that the freeway is near by as is the trolley. Downtown and the gas lamp were minutes away. Overall we enjoyed our stay and San Diego.
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County
Houston, Texas

Too high of expectations

  • 3 of 5
The house was very clean and properly furnished. We were allowed to check in early and prior to arrival had good communication with the owners.

Upon arrival, we discovered there was no Air Conditioning in the home. This may have been assumed by other renters, but we had not anticipated no air conditioning. The weather was record high of over 103 the day we arrived. Therefore, the house was unbearably hot until well after 2am. Of course, the property owners can do nothing about the weather. I would have only preferred to know in advance no a/c. We were also slightly concerned with the location. It seemed to be in a less safe part of town. Although, we experienced no trouble during our stay.

Prior to arrival we had called to ask about the kitchen and if it was a fully stocked kitchen. We explained we had plans to cook a large meal for family to celebrate our son's USMC Bootcamp graduation. We were assured the kitchen was fully stocked. Upon arrival, we discovered one small pot and a few skillets, a broken can opener, plenty of plates and glasses etc. We had to go out and purchase a pot and a can opener (two different trips). We were unable to locate additional trash bags as well. There was trouble with the wi-fi, so we sent a msg and were told the wi-fi is actually located at the house behind the rental and given instructions on going outside for better reception. It did end up working later in the evening.

The following morning, I went to make coffee and the coffee pot was full of mold. I sent a text to the owner, explaining we would be leaving a day early due to heat and also explaining what I found with the coffee pot, and lack of trash bags. The owner did not respond.

We cleaned up, and prepared to leave. I placed a call to the owner to confirm he knew we were leaving and why. He answered and indicated his sister-in-law was heading over with fresh coffee and trash bags. I told him there was no need at this time. He made no offers to try to get us to stay another night and did not offer any form of partial refund.

Overall, had it not been unbearably hot, we most likely would have completed our stay, yet not rented there again, due to location and the coffee pot incident sort of left us with a bad taste.....

The owners were friendly and the house was clean and well furnished.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Dear Anne,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I want to explain some concerns that you had regarding the house. In Texas people are used to having AC and in San Diego about 90% of the houses do not have AC. The reason for this is because we have perfect weather all year round. Unfortunately we went through a heat wave that has not happened in quite some time. In the amenities we never stated we have an AC and since the house is near the bay there is always a breeze coming in.

You mentioned the location of the house being in a bad location. Actually it's a family residential area. If you noticed there is a huge building boom. Condos, Walmart, trolley station, stores and so forth are being built. The city has decided to change some things but leaving the neighborhood as it is because of it's history. The house is convenient located to all the hotspots of San Diego such as the zoo, old town and only five mintues away from Coronado, a world class beaches. There they charge around $1000 to $2000 a night to rent. This can be enjoyed with out paying the big prices on our vacation house which are affordable.

Regarding the kitchen, within the stove there are plenty of pots and pans inside, maybe you did not see them. Since the can opeaner was not working you could have told us and we would have got you one. About the coffee pot we are real sorry about that. I talked to my cleaning crew they said since you were coming in early they tried to do everything as fast as they could but that is a unacceptable excuse.

We tried to answer your message but currently I was at a meeting. By the time we had a new coffee pot and trash bags you were gone.

Overall we enjoyed having you as our guest and sorry for the inconvenience. Please give us another chance and we will give you a free night. Thanks a lot for taking your time for the review we will try to improve.


Xochitl Miller
Palm house
-+ 619 414-4538
San Diego San Diego County
los angeles

Great house

  • 4 of 5
The house was great, very confortable and accommodating. water pressure was a bit weir, other than that all was good. We have unlimited movies and it helped make some time go by. I had the bunk bed room so thet was fun, the owner left nice notes and provided us with water and bath towels.
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm glad things went well and you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you next year in comic con again.Thanks for your nice review.


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : San Diego at 5 Miles Nearest Barpub : Downtown San Diego at 3 Miles Nearest Ferry : Downtown San Diego at 4 Miles Nearest Golf : Coronado island at 2 Miles Nearest Train : Downtown San Diego at 4 Miles Nearest Motorway : #5 at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Mexican food at 1 Miles Nearest Beach : Coronado at 3 Miles

Just minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, Coronado, San Diego international airport, the trolley, Sea World, beaches, old town san diego, balboa park or if you want to visit Mexico it's just 25 minutes away.


Enter dates to see total
Updated: Dec 12, 2014

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Low season
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
Shoulder season
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
High season
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

  • Cleaning fee $120
  • Damage insurance $69

Nightly Rate: $220 - $30

Weekly Rate: $1540 - $1850

Monthly Rate: $1540 - $1850

Low season is December through February, Shoulder season is March through May and September through November high season is June through August. There is a $120.00 cleaning fee added to the total plus $69.09 insurance which covers damage to the unit and vacation cancelation. This protects you as well as us.


Property Type

  • house


  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub ...


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible


  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Floor Area

  • 1680 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 2 - shower
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double, 1 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single, Bunk bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 double


  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill


  • Guests provide their own meals


  • Satellite TV, New 42 inch Icd TV. DVD Player, WI-FI. Large Propane Power Barbecue,Washer and Dryer, fully Stocked Kitchen, AM Fm CD player stereo. Welcome bottle of Wine, Coffee, Water, Snacks, and feel free to use the Essential Condiments. Jacuzzi for 7 people.
Email Manager Contact Me Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.