Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Apr 7, 2015
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Casa Abhayaa is ideally-located in Merida Centro Historico, less than a minute walk to the beautiful 17th century church, La Ermita de Santa Isabel, and only five minutes from San Sebastian, another of Mérida's fabulous churches. The house is convenient to Mérida’s central square, the airport, and all autoroutes.

Casa Abhayaa is a comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom home with high ceilings, gracefully-arched doors, and lots of light. Its construction and furnishings tastefully employ traditional colonial materials such as wrought iron, concrete pasta tiles, polished concrete floors, and wood. The living room opens onto a charming private courtyard with plunge pool, and areas for eating and lounging, surrounded by plants and fruit trees. The spacious kitchen contains all modern appliances and incorporates a large dining table for six. The guest bedroom with twin beds, and a full bathroom complete the lower level.

The entire upper level is devoted to the sumptuous master bedroom suite, including a king bed, massive custom wardrobe, desk, full ensuite bathroom, balcony overlooking the courtyard, and a generous rooftop deck, for cool evening cocktails, or daytime sunbathing.

Casa Abhayaa is equipped with high-speed internet, WiFi, cable television, audio system for CD/iPod/iPhone/FM/AM, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and a pressurized, softened, and purified water system.

Casa Abhayaa is unfortunately not suitable for children under 12 years of age.

No pets, please.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Swimming pool

Recent Review

About the Owner

Speaks:: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 7, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a truly delightful experience staying at Casa Abhayaa. It is located in between two churches so we could hear the singing on Sunday morning.

It is a friendly neighbourhood with roosters, cats, dogs and occasionally the guitar serenades right in the historical part of the city.

The house is so lovely, elegant and well maintain.

This was our first visit in Merida and we will definitely return and rent the same place.
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 1

4 Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
business
Casa Abhayaa, a quiet retreat
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7107502
Merida Yucatan
5

A place of serenity in midst of bussling Merida

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Abhayaa.
The home's high ceilings, cool colors, and spare decor invite feelings of tranquility and reflection. The spacious kitchen is great for preparing and eating meals. The attractive living room opens onto a patio oasis of tropical vegetation (in fact, lemons from the tree out back went into our margaritas!). A small sitting pool and lawn chairs invite you to outdoor time.
I really love the open stairs that ascend to the master bedroom, with a very comfortable bed and open-air patios on either side. The shower is a gem of design -- standing on the bathing stone, looking at the sky through the window, I felt happily spoiled.
Calle 77 is busy and noisy but after a night we got used to the city sounds. We were delighted two mornings to hear a wandering trumpeter work his way down the street. From Casa Abhayaa it's about a mile to the central cathedral and plaza -- an easy walk (taxis are plentiful as well).
Merida is a cultural gem, a vibrant city surrounded by historical treasures. We enjoyed our trip in large part because we had a nice home to go to.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Casa Abhayaa, a quiet retreat
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7107502
Merida Yucatan
College Station
5

Central but soothing

  • 5 of 5
My niece and I spent a magical week in La Ermita just before Christmas, 2014. We are walkers, so its central location for exploring the parks of Mérida, and shopping at the markets during the day was perfect. Wandering randomly after dinner in Centro to enjoy the holiday lights on people's homes was charming and we always found new routes home, since La Ermita is a center of activity. Breakfast we purchased from the ladies at the breadshop on the corner, on the mornings we didn't enjoy fruit from the market in the garden. There was always a fresh lime or orange on the trees to squeeze on the papaya. A small corner store supplemented anything we might have forgotten, or that Andrea had not provided for us on arrival. Two doors down towards San Sebastian a friendly couple supplied ice-cold beers from their front room for watching the sun set from the roof.

Previous guests have observed that the internet connection was intermittent. We found that also, but that for our few e-mail needs, late evening to early morning was always reliable. I should add, that even in the medium-sized Texas town where I use the internet for work, there are frustrations with service! The furniture was perfectly comfortable for our needs - mostly sitting at the ample kitchen table or on the patio. We never even thought to turn the television on, so can't comment on the adequacy of the sitting room. As far as cleanliness is concerned, we took our cue from our neighbors - they sweep their houses every morning, and clean up leaf litter daily as well. Unless a daily concierge service is part of the rental package, this is part of the ritual of living in the urban tropics with the windows and doors open. I swept daily when I lived in Panamá several years ago - it doesn't take long and is quite soothing.

We probably won't be staying in Casa Abhayaa again, because Andrea is putting the finishing touches to our house, very similar in conception, a few blocks away. But we will always pass it with feelings of affection, and call in at the church before catching a cab in the square and embarking on a journey.
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
business
Casa Abhayaa, a quiet retreat
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7107502
Merida Yucatan
Merida, MX and Winnipeg, Canada
2

Overrated Property - Problems Persisted

  • 2 of 5
Although a Beautiful Home, lots of problems with the property... For example, gas problems (cannisters were not full upon arrival), so no propane - no Hot Water, plus no water pressure, floors were dirty/black upon our arrival to the point we had to wear flip flops in the house, Pool area was also Black and Slimy, so one had to be careful not to slip. Then, we had persistent Cable Outages... which also affected Internet, and the last 2 weeks without cable. Plus, we had frequent mailings coming to the house with disconnection notices for garbage... plus our electricity was disconnected for an extended period of time... half a day... In addition, the property is right by Ermita Park.... Busy... and on a Bus Route... we had to run the fan/air at night because the street noise was so bad... Bugs in the Back Yard, Mice in the Backyard, then we saw the rats... crawling up the wall... I had to use a shovel on one... The Backyard was full of falling fruit so the rats/mice had a feast... The furniture, although stylish, was very uncomfortable... So, overall... the house is nice... but it was all the little things... and we have lived in Belize for a couple years so we do understand the little things and are pretty flexible... but really not the 4 star experience we were hoping for.... and, a long way to get groceries from Ermita to Centro Mercado... Overall... 2-3 star and disappointing experience... Oh, and upon leaving... we were overcharged for the electricity bill but just wanted out of there.... Terry
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Terry,
I was devastated reading your review of my property Casa Abhayaa.
Up until now we had only received compliments and rave reviews.
While I am away, the property is maintain by Andrea. The grounds, the house, the pool are kept immaculately clean.
I am sorry I was not made aware of your troubles until now.
And I am surprised you did not communicate with Andrea at the time, since you had met her when you came to assess the house on a previous visit to Merida.
Andrea and her team is available to make your visit a delightful one.
I have been staying at the house for several weeks every year and I have never encountered mices nor rats.
The house is always perfectly cleaned and welcoming.
Rest assured that your complaints will be carefully considered.
The owner
PS: I had a chance to review your comments with Andrea (my property manager). She was totally taken aback and felt "back stabbed" by you. You had been raving to her about the house. Issues that were brought up, at the time of your stay, were dealt with diligently (this is my experience too).
I spoke with neighbours about your finding mices and rats in the courtyard. I was told that there has not been any rodents in this neighbourhood for over a century!!!
As far as your complaint about the noise level. It sounds as if you have not travelled much and never lived in the downtown cores (Vancouver, New York, London, Paris, Rome, Stockholm...)
La Ermita is a charming and very safe district of Merida historical center. Neighbours are kind and friendly.
Casa Abhayaa is walking distance from points of interests. Being on the bus route makes it a breeze to explore the city without the need for a car.
business
Casa Abhayaa, a quiet retreat
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7107502
Merida Yucatan
Ontario, Canada
4

Wow

  • 4 of 5
Wow, what a surprise. First off, my wife and I bought a home in the La Ermita neighbourhood so we wanted to rent a home close by to get to know the area while our home was being renovated. This home is laid out perfectly. So much so that we just had to find found out who the architect was and met with him. This home was also on an HGTV episode. The backyard isn't huge and the pool is a little chilly (even by Canadian standards) but the home itself, is perfect. The upstairs master bedroom is a work of art. I almost don't want to give this home a great review because we want to rent again next time we are in Merida (which will be often due to our home being renovated).

One last thing, our vacation was for two weeks, the first week we rented this home, the second week we treated ourselves to one of the more expensive homes in the Santa An area. We paid three times as much a week rental and we felt like we wasted our money. We kept comparing it to Casa Abnayaa and it failed in every area.

I'm giving this review a 4 only because the backyard is a little small and pool is a little chilly. Aside from that, GREAT HOME!!!

Casa Adnayaa is a one minute walk to the Ermita square, trust me, you'll LOVE this place. Just please don't rent it while we want to...hahaha.
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Location

Activity and Interests

Mérida is a special city in the heart of the Mayan Yucatan. Beaches, cenotes (large fresh-water natural cisterns), and ancient Mayan archaelogical sites are all within easy driving distance.

Mérida offers excellent shopping, cultural, sports, and a wide range of other activities. Check out the many online resources for events and activities. You can be very busy or very quiet and peaceful here.

Availability

From $125 Per night

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low season
Apr 30 2015 - Aug 31 2015
1 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$160
$1,100
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Weekly Rate: $500 - $1200

Monthly Rate: $1500 - $2500


High Season Oct 1 - Apr 30. $800/wk
Low Season May 1 - Sep 30 $500/wk
Holiday Seasons - Christmas, New Year, Easter $1200/wk
Refundable security deposit required
Electricity not included
Long-term rentals - please inquire

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: Apr 7, 2015
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Notes:

  • Secure, private Fully-equipped kitchen -- refrigerator, gas cooktop and oven, microwave, coffee-maker, blender, toaster, quality china, glassware and cookware Washer/dryer Private courtyard with plunge pool 2 full bathrooms HD flat-screen TV with DVD player Cable TV service High-speed internet and WiFi iPod/USB/CD/FM/AM Sound System Pressurized, purified, softened water system Quality linens Custom-designed iron and wood furnishings Weekly pool and maid service Professional local property manager

Partner Offers

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.