Piccadilly Circus - Gardner Cottage

Piccadilly Circus - Gardner Cottage

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 20, 2014
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 13 Sleeps

Located in Palisades Park Country Club, Piccadilly Circus is a handsome beach cottage on Lake Michigan. Built in 1908 with minimal changes made that add to your having a true vacation that seems far away from the regular routine.

Perched right on the lake shore, this cottage has an incomparable view of the lake and amazing sunsets since it was built much closer to the lake shore than houses are now built. Most rooms have views of majestic Lake Michigan, but the screened in front porch that spans the entire length of the cottage really highlights it's beauty and has several different sitting areas; including a vintage 1930's glider couch. The living room has a large built-in sofa and couch plus a good-sized table and chairs that are great to play games on at night or a rainy day.

The kitchen has a ceiling fan to keep it cool when cooking, stove with double oven, microwave and view of the front porch and lake. There is no dishwasher, but we've always enjoyed divvying up dish duty and having good post-dinner conversations filled with catching-up and banter. The dining porch is next to the kitchen and also screened in so you can humming bird watch in the day and listen to crickets by night. It can accommodate fourteen and more can dine in the living room or front porch if needed.

There are two bedrooms that sleep four each, master bedroom with a queen bed and small adjoining half bath, plus a fold-out couch in the living room and a roll-away bed. Large couches can also provide sleeping for an additional three people, sleeping a total of sixteen if folks are not picky. All have screened in windows and doors that can be opened so you can listen to the waves and let them lull you to sleep.

Check out Piccadilly Circus Cottage on Facebook - more photos and stories

More Details
  • Sleeps 15
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Towels provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

The photo above is of Harriet Jane (Kipp) Gardner in 1939 on the Brandywine Beach next to the cottage. The cottage was originally purchased by her parents, but has been in her name since 1978. She recently passed away in Boca Raton, Florida, May 2014 at the age of 91. Myself, Kate Burns, am Jane's 4th grandchild and have been acting as the rental manager of the family cottage since 2012, when we decided to get with the times and list it online rather than just word of mouth. The extended Kipp/Gardner family is spread out across the country, mostly concentrated in Southern Florida where Granny & Grandpa Gardner moved to be close to her parents after they relocated from the Chicago area. I live in St. Paul, Minnesota with my significant other plus our two miniature dachshunds and make the 8 hour drive to the cottage as many times as possible in the summer. Once a year we have a family reunion where we cram as much family as possible in the Piccadilly Circus and our cousins' cottage up the hill, the Sunset. It is something everyone looks forward to all year; spending days at the beach and evenings on the front porch playing mah jongg and Settlers of Catan. While the cottage is not completely handicap accessible, I have Multiple Sclerosis and found the safety railings plus shower chair in the main bath to be very helpful. The walkways in the cottage are also wide enough to fit a walker which made it Granny friendly as she got older.

Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Reviews

business
Piccadilly Circus - Gardner Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7109574
6517693604
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Buffalo, NY
5

quintessential, magical lakeside retreat

  • 5 of 5
Piccadilly Circus cottage is a real treasure- the atmosphere celebrates the elegant simplicity of yesterday, though it is also very comfortable and features modern conveniences. The 2 large screened in porches create an enchanting feeling of being at home amidst the beauties of nature, with greenery flourishing all around the cottage and the waves of lake Michigan breaking on the beach nearby. The striped fabric of the window shades and the classic white woodwork combine with the sound of the waves to make it feel almost like you could be adventuring on a boat when you're on the lakeside porch, while the living room is perfectly cozy with tasteful, comfortable furniture and a fireplace to keep warm on a chilly night.

It is really special to be so close to the lake and able to easily walk down to the beach to enjoy sunny afternoons and beautiful sunsets. The 5 minute walk to the soda fountain for an ice cream cone or a hamburger is also a treat. There are trails to explore in the surrounding forest and dunes, tennis courts nearby and activities for kids at the "club house," so there is no shortage of things to do. However, the cottage is such a wonderful place to read a book, spend time with family or wander down to the lake shore we only rarely ventured to take advantage of these other activities.

Some practical notes: the water pressure in the shower is good, the kitchen has all the pots and utensils you need to cook large, delicious meals and the bedrooms are charming and cozy, with bunkbeds in two of the bedrooms.

Altogether a wonderful place, especially if you have a taste for shabby chic, or a romantic fantasy of a turn of the century lakeside getaway. Truly one of the most special places I've been!
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that other people have the same experiences and enjoy the simplistic beauty of Palisades like me. And I love making big family meals in the kitchen too! The double oven really helps multi-task I think, you can bake blueberry muffins (or a pizza for picky eater cousin) at the same time as you bake dinner. Thanks for sharing! :)
business
Piccadilly Circus - Gardner Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7109574
6517693604
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Indianapolis, IN
5

Best vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you for the best vacation ever! We just LOVED your cottage. It's style and comfort just fit our family perfectly. Nothing could beat the lovely porch and its view. We all had our favorite spots and would sit, read, and watch the view for hours! Your cottage is what Palisades is all about. Every room was comfortable, plenty of space for us to hangout, play cards, and the TV was a plus to watch the World Soccer games! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! We want to get our name in for next year! - The Mooney's
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Piccadilly Circus - Gardner Cottage
http://www.vacationrentals.com/listing/p7109574
6517693604
South Haven Southwest Michigan
indianapolis
1

Please save your vacation-rent elsewhere!

  • 1 of 5
Owner is a really nice lady on the phone. She told us about this "magical" cottage, we rented it w/excitement! She has many memories of this place (which is wonderful)but this is NOT a vacation rental! We arrived to find out we could only bring back 1 car at a time & we had to park the rest of the cars outside the gated community. Issues we had:
1.We arrived at 4:20pm (after check in time, it was not ready for our arrival. Said they needed another 30-45 minutes to CLEAN.
2.Cleaning lady told my sister & I not to put the blankets in the dirty wash as they were washed last week (yuck!)
3.Fridge was leaking(cleaning lady pointed out it was leaking and she didn't think it was working told us to tell Paul). It was broke, we had about $400 worth of food to load back in to coolers & hope it didn't spoil!
4.After cleaning lady left we realized she didn't clean the shower, the old dirty washcloths were still in there!
5.Toilet in small bathroom was rocking & felt like it was going to fall through the floor.
6.Both sets of bunkbeds were unstable, so old they "rocked/leaned" back & forth. No way would I sleep under & top bunks had absolutely no safety rails & w/the leaning was afraid to let any of my kids (ages 9 & 12 sleep on them)
7.Arrived to find an old musty smelling rollaway bed/mattress on the "majestic" view porch! Wow, great way to view the lake w/that nasty old thing sitting there! I wouldn't let my dog on that thing. House was so small there was no place to move it either.
8.Chairs in the front room were broke & left there! Again the cleaning lady told us to "tell Paul".
9. The ANTS-infested all over the kitchen/dishes. We were left w/ant traps & bug spray on the counter for our "use". The kitchen was a tiny little galley kitchen not good for cooking for 4 let alone 12 as the house lists! They were even crawling on me as I stood in kitchen!
10.FIRE HAZARD! Electric extension cords stapled to walls for the electricity in rooms. Extremely old lamps + bad wiring makes for a FIRE HAZARD!
11.Old "junk" sitting around, dirty/mildew & musty smells!
12.The doors really didn't have any "locks" they had little hooks on the screen doors, fans were running which means cords were everywhere & the fronts of the fans were tied on w/bread ties & safety pins. So HOT in the cottage!
13.DISH TV but the service not working-no TV either!
We left 15hrs into our arrival, hopefully this posts saves your vacation!
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Piccadilly Circus is exactly as portrayed in the photos and description, a non-pretentious, turn of the 20th century beach cottage right on the shore of Lake Michigan with amazing views. Some unfortunate timing of events happened during this renter's time with some non-realistic expectations. Since we really do care that you have a great vacation, we tried to resolve all issues immediately. However, they did not consider this an option so we gave them a full refund of their rent, deposit & cleaning fee the day they left.

I would like to confirm there are 2 parking spots assigned to it as listed, if someone is parking in your spots, please let us know so we can have that car removed.

The previous renters left the cottage in a terrible state including broken furniture and an old rollaway bed on the porch. The cleaning crew has 5 hours to clean from one renter to the next & did not plan on it being such a big job. This is not normal or acceptable & have spoke w/the cleaning staff who are committed to getting the cottage completely clean before your arrival at 4pm so this does not happen again.

As done in most hotels, the top comforter is not washed after every renter but the sheets & other linens are always freshly cleaned ones, just for you. The bunkbeds are safe to use and do have a ladder/safety-rail sitting directly behind the headboards.

There are not extension cords tacked to the walls - the cottage is up to code with a circuit breaker and no frayed wires or cords to any lamps or appliances to cause a fire hazard.

Unfortunately, the fridge did decide to die & the moisture leaking from its icemaker attracted ants which compounded the situation. Once the defunct fridge was removed & leak cleaned we had an exterminator out who gave it the all clear. There have been no more complaints of ants & there is a brand new fridge w/icemaker for you to use. The kitchen has full-sized appliances including a range w/2 ovens & enough pots/pans & equipment to cook meals for more than 12.

A massive storm on 6/19 blew our dish and many others out of alignment, but it has since be re-aligned and all channels restored.

The screened porches have only hooks for the door 'locks' but the next doors in have actual locks.

If you have any other questions about the cottage or this review before you rent, please contact me and I'll give you honest answers. We get repeat renters because most people do have a wonderful vacation at our cottage in Palisades.

Location

From the Owner

This cottage has been in the family for seven generations now - it was purchased by Harrison and Clara Kipp in 1937 after many years of the family renting cottages in South Haven/PPCC. Granny (Jane Kipp) and Grandpa (Jack Gardner) met on the front porch at the white wooden table (still there) while Granny was writing a letter to another suitor at college. By the time Grandpa and his parents were done with their visit, he had charmed Granny into writing to him at MIT and that was the beginning of their subsequent marriage and six children. After Great-Grandparents Kipp moved to Pompano Beach, Florida; they sold the cottage and it was out of the family for several years until Granny and Grandpa purchased it back from the VanBurens. For decades my grandparents spent the entire summer in Michigan enjoying/studying the nature, landscaping and trying to beautify the park. Grandpa did a lot of documenting and mapping the plants and ecosystem; there are now trails in the park dedicated to him as the 'Jack Gardner Nature Trails'. There are his maps and guide books available in the cottage if you would like to take a nature walk through the woods. We have intentionally left the cottage much the same as it was in the 1930's to enjoy the simplicity that today's busy lifestyle has lost. We love spending time together as a family and enjoy listening to the waves and crickets while playing a boardgame rather than watching tv or wasting time on smartphones. We want to keep this special cottage in our family for years to come and thank-you for renting it and helping to make that possible. :)

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Kalamazoo/Battlecreek International, MI at 52 Miles Nearest Ferry : Lake Express LLC, Muskegon, MI at 65 Miles Nearest Train : Amtrak, Bangor, MI at 10 Miles Nearest Motorway : Blue Star Highway, A-2 at 2 Miles Nearest Beach : Lake Michigan Car: necessary

At the park: Private beaches - Swimming - Boogie boarding - Kayaking - Canoeing - Sailing - Tennis - Hiking - Bicycling - Fishing - Bonfires - Sand dunes

Nearby: Golf - Wine tasting - Jet skiing - Water skiing - Tubing - Horseback riding - Shopping - Antiquing - Dining - Berry picking - Petting zoo/Deer Forest - Fideland Fun Park/minigolf, bumper boats

Availability

Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Email Manager Contact Me
Updated: Sep 20, 2014
12
Available
12
Unavailable
12
Today

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May & June
May 23 2015 - Jul 3 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Fourth of July
Jul 4 2015 - Jul 11 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
July & August
Jul 12 2015 - Aug 29 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
September
Aug 30 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

  • Refundable damage deposit $175
  • Cleaning fee $150
  • Tax Rate 6.0%

Deposit is due at time of booking and return of rental agreement. Additional payments are staggered, with complete payment due within 30 days of rental date. Payments can be made via PayPal, check, money order or thru your bank's online payment services.

Weekly Rate: $2000 - $2400

$2000/week May and June
$2200/week July and August (week of July 4-11, 2015 $2400)
Saturday-Saturday bookings
Check-in 4pm, Check-out 11am
*State use tax of 6.0%
*Cleaning fee of $150
<*>Refundable deposit $250 for renters with pets

Amenities

From the Owner

The view of the lake and sunsets from the front porch is unrivaled and my favorite thing in the world is to sit on the glider couch and watch the boats and birds, listening to the waves, maybe reading a book. Being so close to the beach is fantastic for if you forgot something or need a snack you can just hop back up to the cottage. We also have a tradition of one night making a beach bonfire, roasting hotdogs and marshmallows, and chasing fireflies around the beach.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Telephone ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board

Kitchen

  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Microwave
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster ...

Dining

  • Dining Room
  • Dining ...
  • Child's Highchair

Entertainment

  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Games ...
  • Books ...
  • Toys ...

Suitability

  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • children welcome

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Rural

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • golf

Bathrooms

  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Main Bath - toilet, combination tub/shower, tub, shower
  • Half Bath - toilet, Small bathroom attached to master bedroom.
  • Cottage is on park water system and has a septic field, so no large amount of toilet paper flushed is appreciated.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Master Bedroom - 1 double, Has a half bath attached.
  • North/Large Bedroom - 5 twin/ single, Two twin beds, one set of bunk beds and a rollaway bed.
  • South/Smaller Bedroom - 1 double, 2 twin/ single, One double bed and one set of bunk beds.
  • Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon, Couch is pullout queen-sized bed.

Outside

  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • *Historic private gated community *Private beaches *Tennis courts and lessons available *Sand volleyball nets *Free Wi-Fi at the Soda Bar down the sidewalk *Lakeview/on lakeshore *Wood fireplace *Charcoal grill *Full kitchen with dishes & utensils *Microwave *19' TV with DVD & VHS players *Satillite tv service *Cabinet of board games & puzzles *Linens & towels (bath & beach) *Folding beach chairs & umbrella *Box fans (no A/C but with lake breeze rarely missed) *Shower has railings & shower chair in closet *Two designated parking spot for cottage plus more parking 3 cottages down **Dogs 30 lbs and under allowed with $250 deposit - please contact us if you have another type of pet you would like to bring <->Also please note that smoking is only allowed on the screened porches
Email Manager Contact Me

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.