Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


Property Details

Updated: Jan 20, 2015
House, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

If you're looking for the perfect couple's getaway or affordable small family retreat, you will love the Crow's Nest, a fun, cozy carriage house property. Making good use of every inch of available space, the Crow's Nest packs in a fully-equipped kitchen, an open living/dining area with queen sleep sofa, and a spiral staircase leads up to a loft with a ship-style, built-in queen bed and full bath. You'll enjoy its bright, tasteful furnishings and decor, and comfortable, convenient surroundings.

Should you need either larger accommodations, or enough additional room besides the Crow's Nest to sleep up to 12 persons (perhaps a wedding party or family group), you'll be glad to know that the Captain's Quarters, a lovely cottage built in 1887 and sitting adjacent to the Crow's Nest, features two additional bedrooms, each with its own bath, plus spacious living and dining areas, a working fireplace and a fully-equipped kitchen capable of producing cuisine from the simple to the sublime! In addition, the main house features a butter-soft, leather sleep sofa and, upstairs in the loft, a double-size futon to comfortably sleep, in all, up to eight additional individuals. (See more information at VRBO listing #83751.)

During your stay in either property, you can enjoy Savannah's warm, year-round temperatures in the homes' private courtyard, featuring tropical plantings and ample deck and patio seating. Both properties also enjoy plenty of free, on-street parking (not always a given in Savannah's busy downtown!) You'll also be well-positioned to fully enjoy the mystique of author John Berendt's "Garden of Good and Evil," wandering among Savannah's famous Spanish-moss draped squares, trying its delicious local cuisine (Paula Deen's well-known "Lady & Sons" restaurant and store is an easy walk away), shopping and strolling along famed River Street and exploring the fascinating, and sometimes chilling stories, of its colorful past and present.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Escaped from Michigan for a wonderful 5 days of relaxation & touring. This lovely cottage was the perfect getaway for both of us!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 7

5 Reviews

"Crow's Nest" - Cozy Cottage in Ideal Historic Downtown
+1 -912-236-8100
Savannah Coastal Georgia

Perfect for two, perfect for location but.....

  • of 5
Let me first say that dealing with Karen and Bob from Calypso was super great. Couple of things would have made the stay great. Light proof curtains would have made it possible to sleep upstairs. We could not because the street light is directly outside the window. We slept on the pull out sleeper sofa, everyone knows about that. Left blind in living area is broken. Toilet paper is in a ridiculous place, 12 inches would have made all the difference. And pet owners need to know that there is no way to secure the upstairs so pets can only stay downstairs unless in a carrier.
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yvonne, thanks for staying with us, and for taking the time to give constructive feedback. We will definitely talk to the owner about these small issues. We hope you will come back and visit again very soon.
"Crow's Nest" - Cozy Cottage in Ideal Historic Downtown
+1 -912-236-8100
Savannah Coastal Georgia

A great little place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the Crow's Nest and had another excellent stay. It's a small space, but perfect for a Savannah visit when you're going to be out and about a lot. It's conveniently located, clean, comfortable and safe. I would highly recommend it for your next visit to Savannah!
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback--we look forward to having you return again soon!
"Crow's Nest" - Cozy Cottage in Ideal Historic Downtown
+1 -912-236-8100
Savannah Coastal Georgia

Missed the mark

  • 3 of 5
We had a great experience working with the company that rents this property. They were extremely helpful! And this place is a great little property but there are some things that could have improved our stay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and, when all we really used this place for was sleeping, it was a big disappointment. We also found black dog hair everywhere. There was a boarded up property on the corner that has some shady characters going in and out of that made us feel a little unsafe. That feeling was further exacerbated when we were awoken one night by some random person banging on the gate at 11 pm the last night of our stay. With a better mattress and some upgrades I would have given this property and excellent.
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Dear Steve:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay at the Crow's Nest. I have to say this is the first time anyone has ever complained about the bed being uncomfortable, especially as the mattress is new within the last year. And I so wish you had alerted us to the fact that the property wasn't properly cleaned for you when you arrived, as we would have had the problem corrected immediately. As for the location, the house is located in a very safe area, but it is in the heart of a densely-populated, urban environment, which is what gives it its excellent proximity to Savannah's downtown attractions. Perhaps next time you might be happier in a more insulated setting further from the bustle of downtown.
"Crow's Nest" - Cozy Cottage in Ideal Historic Downtown
+1 -912-236-8100
Savannah Coastal Georgia

would be a great house with some little tune ups

  • 3 of 5
I visited this vacation house with three other friends. When we got to the house we instantly loved it. The style of the house is lovely and unique, and it is in a good walking area. However the longer we stayed we realized that the house wasn't exactly all that we expected. The first problem we discovered was that the shower leaked down to the first floor after use. It slowly dripped onto the couch (the first time this happened it landed on one of our heads while we were sitting on the couch) so we decided to angle the sofa out of the way and we discovered a water damage spot on the floor. When we called the company they told us they knew about it and thought it was fixed.
We were also not thrilled with the pull out sofa mattress which was thin and you can feel the springs. I know pull out mattresses aren't the best but after driving 800miles (for us) it would have been nice to have a comfortable place to sleep. The bed upstairs was quite nice though. We didn’t end up sleeping a lot on our vacation anyway because, the people and cars that were passing by our house until 4 in the morning were very loud since the house is close to the curb. There were several times when we were woken up by cars, people talking, and even once by loud singing. I feel bad about writing this review since the staff that we spoke to seemed very friendly and nice. However I was disappointed that there was NOTHING they could do to help us, since in our contracted it stated we will get no money back for anything wrong with the house. I just wish they would have told us about the issues with the house before we rented because they can't really help you when you get there. We decided to leave the vacation house 2 days earlier then we intended, even though our last two nights were paid for and we did not get our money back. :(
I’m not saying don’t stay here but discuss these issues with the company before you book.
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your feedback. The issue you mention with the shower leak has been resolved and a new mattress ordered for the sofabed. There's not much that can be done about the noise--it sounds like you might be light sleepers and the cottage is in the heart of an urban area, which is what makes it convenient and walkable to all of downtown Savannah's activities. Next time you might want to stay further out of town, or perhaps at one of our beach properties if you'd like a little quieter experience.
"Crow's Nest" - Cozy Cottage in Ideal Historic Downtown
+1 -912-236-8100
Savannah Coastal Georgia
New Windsor, MD

Exactly as described--we loved it!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I were a little leery of booking this property at first, since it didn't yet have any reviews, but felt better when we talked to one of the property manager's representatives, who explained that the property had just come on the vacation rental market, after enjoying a long period as a successful long term furnished rental. 'The gamble paid off! We loved the unique design--it almost felt like living on a boat--and thought its location was great--within a very easy walk to Forsyth Park, River Street, City Market, etc. I tell you, for the price, it can't be beat, and we'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to Savannah!
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway


Activity and Interests

* Museums

* Restaurants

* Pubs

* Galleries

* Tours

* Cooking Classes

* Health/Beauty Spas

* Sailing

* Kayaking

* Golf

* Tennis

* Hunting

* Cycling

* Fishing

* Jet Skiing

* Basketball Court

* Water Skiing

* Parasailing

* Surfing

* Wind-Surfing

* Fitness Centers

* Horseback Riding

* Antiquing

* Wildlife Viewing

* Miniature Golf

* Boating

* Sight-Seeing

* Shelling

* Shopping

* Zoo

* Cinemas

* Live Theater

* Swimming

* Hiking

* Parks & Historical Sites


Enter your travel dates
Updated: Jan 20, 2015

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
Feb 1 2014 - Feb 1 2015
1 night minimum stay


  • Nightly Rate: $89 - $109

    Weekly Rate: $550 - $695

    Monthly Rate: $0 - $0

  • For all specific rate information and the ability to book online, please go to our website (search keywords "Calypso Vacation Savannah").
    Higher rates & minimums may apply during holidays and special events--please call.
    Local tax and cleaning are in addition to above rates.
    Pets allowed with prior permission and payment of a pet fee.


Property Type

  • house


  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic


  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Downtown


  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1


  • Outdoor Grill


  • * Kitchen & Dining * Refrigerator * Microwave * Kitchen Appliances (Toaster, Blender, Coffeemaker, etc.) * All Pots & Pans and Cooking Utensils * Amenities * Air Conditioning * TV & DVD Player * Queen-sized built in loft bed * Full Bath * Sleep Sofa to accommodate up to 2 more adults or children * All Linens & Towels Provided * Parking On and Off Street * Other Amenities * Award-winning architectural design, easy walk to all historic downtown attractions * Entertainment * DVD Player * Satellite / Cable * Communications * Private, Secured Wireless Broadband Internet * Outdoor Features * Patio/Courtyard

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.