Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!

Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!


Property Details

Updated: May 22, 2015
New Orleans, Louisiana

Filled with lovely street-car lined streets and populated by stately oaks, the Carrollton area has a rich history, being where the erudite once summered in New Orleans.

This rental property is situated mere steps from the St. Charles Ave Street car. This 3 bedroom apartment is one of six flats in a lovely historic home that has been faithfully restored to it's original grandeur with a mix of the historic and the modern, featuring 3 bedrooms, each with a Queen bed, full-closet and one with an en-suite full bath. At the heart of this home is a cozy kitchen with a large eating and lounging area, flat-screen Cable TV with DVD player, and WiFi. The apartment has plenty of room for all to gather and pass an evening, host a dinner party, or settle in for a quiet dinner for two. Spacious yet intimate, this retreat is perfect for families or several couples traveling together.

Before being annexed by the city of New Orleans, the town of Carrollton was a summer resort community where the well-to-do kept a summer cottage and enjoyed the shady woodlands, meadows and breezes from the nearby Mississippi river. Your home away from home is a stone's throw from beautiful Palmer Park which plays host to many community and cultural events. The St. Charles Streetcar - the oldest streetcar line in the world - runs directly past your abode, rolling on to destinations like the French Quarter, Canal Street, The Garden District and Lafayette Cemetery. Here you’re also in easy walking distance of Historic Oak street and it's eclectic shops, boutiques, and various restaurants of all sorts, local groceries, pharmacies, and everything else you need to enjoy your southern escape!

Key Residence Features: 

- Historic Victorian building with updated interiors

- Full kitchen and dining area

- Prime location to explore New Orleans

Bedroom Configuration:

- Master Bedroom: Queen-sized Bed, en-suite bathroom

- Bedroom 2 (Second Master): Queen-sized Bed

- Bedroom 3: Queen-sized Bed


- No smoking

- Pets allowed with an additional fee

- Must be 25 years or older to book

- No parties or large gatherings

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- Monthly discounts available!


More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Manager

Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for travelers. Our dedicated Travel Advisor Team is available 7 days a week and our simple online reservation system allows you to book securely with a credit card! Please feel free to call us at 1.877.818.1013.

Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks:: english, french, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2015

Guestbook comments from the manager

The apartment was perfect for us. With 6 of us on a girl's weekend, it fit each of us sleeping, getting ready, and hanging out in the common area perfectly. It was very comfortable and clean, and the houses on the street were beautiful. It felt like a very safe area. I'd absolutely stay again in the future! One thing to note...the street car line that runs directly in front of the house was under construction, so we ended up taking cabs instead. However, United Cab had dispatch just down the road, and they were the best cab company I've ever used, so it ended up being fine. I was under the impression construction was going to wrap up soon.
May 2013
  • 1 of 5

13 Reviews

based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown

Went Perfectly

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time visiting for our daughter's graduation. As you would expect, we were there to sleep and nothing else but the apartment is very nice, clean and best of all great location with parking. The access was really easy because of the digital lock on the door and since it was 5 adults not all coming and going at the same time, it made it really easy access with no wasted time for key exchanges. This is not a 5 star hotel, you can get those on This house has the charm of the older homes of the area and we have a great time there.
  • Submitted: May 19, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown

Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
This location was perfect for the five of us! We arrived by car, very late at night after weather-related issues and did not have to worry about contacting our host and bothering them to meet us and let us in. The apartment is secured with a keypad locking system, we felt safe coming and going at all hours of the day and night. Getting around is done quickly and easily with the streetcar system, taxi's and buses located nearby. The apartment itself is charming with plenty of towels, pillows, and dishes/cookware if you are planning on trying your hand at cooking up some local dish. There is a wonderful grocery store just two blocks away with fully prepared foods as well as fresh meats, seafood, bakery and deli. To be honest we did not spend a lot of time in the apartment as there is so much to see and do, the time we spent there was very comfortable and I will use this host for future accommodations and happily refer others to them!!
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again in the future! Cheers, Evolve Team
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown
Reno, NV

French Quarter Festival

  • 4 of 5
This was my first experience with VRBO. There were 5 of us staying at the Claiborne. Everyone was really pleased with the accommodations. The place was clean. Although an updated paint job is definitely needed. And, some gaps in the floor boards could be repaired. It was extremely easy getting around on the streetcar. And it is walking distance to a nearby store and great restaurants. The entire group would consider renting this property again next time we are in New Orleans.
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide valuable feedback. We will make sure the proper person is aware of your suggestions. We are happy you enjoyed the stay and hope to host you again on your next visit!
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown

Unsatisfied Renter

  • 1 of 5
Dates at this property: Feb28-Mar05 for Mardi Gras 2014.

The only good thing worth mentioning about the property was the location and the neighborhood. Everything else was quite disappointing, far from our expectations, and was certainly not worth the money that we spent. The first thing we noticed upon entering the apartment was the filthy rug that included multiple stains from multiple liquids. Before my head could make a complete ninety-degree turn, I noticed the broken kitchen table chairs. The stretchers on at least two of the chairs had collapsed and fell to the floor, which caused the chair legs to distend and therefore made the chairs unstable. The inside of the oven was encrusted with old grease and some of the dishes contained what appeared to be mold due to improper washing. Already disgusted and thinking we had seen the worst, we proceeded to one of the bedrooms where we discovered the dirty accent chair. The armrests and the headrest was terribly smudged to the point of discoloration and made me want to do everything other than sit on it. The dresser in the room had been propped up with a piece of wood. I am not sure if this was due to the floor being un-leveled or if the dresser was broken, either was very tacky. In the second bathroom, the tub drain lever was missing which left an unsightly hole in the bathtub. I am assuming that all the apartment units of this property shared the same water heater because the warm shower made a quick transition to arctic blast within a matter of minutes. The list of flaws could go on, but I am certain that our point has been made by now. We expressed our concerns to the property owner shortly after our arrival, who was very understanding and apologetic for our discomfort; however, no attempts to resolve any of the issues took place during the entire week we spent there. I would not reccomend anyone to vacation at this property, and we most certainly will not waste our time nor our money here again.
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry for these issues. We have found a new cleaning crew and will not have these issues again.

Evolve Team!
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown
Kansas City, Kansas

Great location

  • 2 of 5
The Claiborne is in a great location with adequate parking. Nice tiled floors. We were a party of 7 for which one slept on the couch quite comfortably. The bedding and towels were adequate. Fully stocked Kitchen which we really only used the coffee maker not wanting to cook on vacation! We did have to buy coffee filters. There was a nice welcome basket with small bottles of wine, jellies etc. We encountered a few problems (such as tub & shower issues, lack of hooks for towels and dirty living area rug) which we addressed with the owner and were assured these would be taken care of. I am certain this is true as our correspondence with them has been very polite and respectful. The owner also responds quickly when contacted.
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Charming 'Claiborne' 3BR Apartment in New Orleans - Historic Building w/ Updated Interiors!
+1 -(877) 818-1013
Marlyville - Fountainebleau Uptown
Columbia, South Carolina

Great Place Except for the Noise Above

  • 3 of 5
We found the property to be as advertised and was enjoyable other than the loud noise overhead each night in the front bedroom off the kitchen. It seems the occupants, a big dog, and other rolling sounds and heavy objects dropped were a regular feature between 2 a.m. and 3 a.m. each of the three nights we spent there.
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway


Activity and Interests

Steps from the St. Charles Street Car Line, Palmer Park, near Tulane and Loyola Universities. Shopping, boating, parasailing, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, health/beauty spa, basketball court, miniature golf


From $200 Per night


  • Additional fees and taxes may apply
Enter dates to see total
Total estimated amount
Updated: May 22, 2015
Available arrival
Available stay (no check-in)


Property Type

  • apartment


  • Internet
  • Linens Provided


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • DVD Player
  • Stereo


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only


  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants


  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Complete Bath linens for all.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen, Master Bedroom
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen, Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen, Bedroom 3
  • Complete bed linens for all.


  • Outdoor Grill


  • Washer/Dryer in shed on property. Smoking allowed outside.

Partner Offers

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.