reviews for: listing #100006 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Ala Wai Terrace
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,300 - $3,300 /mth

sort by:

Very good location

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Our stay was great and its close to everything. I would recommend this place to anyone. We simply can't ask for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful condo !!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful week at this condo. It is perfectly located with a beautiful view from the front and back. The rooms have air conditioning, and there was a wonderful breeze throughout if you kept the doors open. Being on a busy street, you do hear some traffic, but it never bothered us at all, and building itself was very quiet. We were within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and beaches. There were four of us in total, and we had lots of room. The condo was clean, bright and had everything you needed including wifi. We would defiantly stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

Barry was very easy to work with. In fact, months before our stay, when I was still looking for a place to stay, my parents just happened to be in Honolulu on their vacation. Barry allowed them to come over and look at the condo for us. Lily, who manages the place, was great and very helpful when we arrived as well. We had a party of 4, 2 adults and our two sons ages 20 and 16 and the condo had plenty of room. Easy walking distance for us to the Ala Moana Mall, which had a huge food court in it. Red Lobster and Outback Steakhouse are right across the street. McDonalds, ABC store and Wild Wings a very short walk. A close drive to Wal Mart and Sam's Club as well. The Ocean/Beach is about 2 blocks away, also a easy walk. One day we made the walk to the International Shopping place and that section of the Waikiki Beach. That was a very long walk, and we decided to drive the next time we went. The condo itself has a partially blocked view of the ocean. Can see the harbor very well, which is also where the sun sets at night. Great view of the Friday night fireworks. There were boogie boards, beach towels and beach chairs for our use, which was great. If you do get a rental car, the condo comes with a small parking space, which was perfect. If you don't have a rental car, you are close enough to everything to get along without it. We would stay again!! Thanks Barry and Lily!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

NICE CONDO, GREAT VIEW

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

OUR STAY HERE WAS GREAT !!! THE PROPERTY MANAGER WAS SO EASY TO WORK WITH, WAS ALWAYS THERE IF WE NEEDED ANYTHING. VERY INFORMATIVE ON ANY SUGGESTIONS OF THINGS TO DO AROUND THE
ISLAND. THE CONDO WAS VERY NICE, AND NEAR MANY RESTAURANTS
AND JUST A FEW BLOCKS WALK AWAY TO A BEACH AREA. CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ON HOW ACCOMMODATING THE PROPERTY MANAGER WAS WITH
ANY CALLS WE HAD. THANKS !!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mahalo

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time! We spent 8 days in Oahu and everything about is condo was great! The location was perfect as it was within walking distance to the Ala Moana Beach Park which we found to be our favorite and within walking distance to the Waikiki area. We would definitely choose this property again. Our experience with the rental process was great and without any difficulties. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Traveler!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

We found the location of the condo to be fantastic! Very convenient and easy to find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Welcome to Hawaii!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

This was our first stop during our 2 week stay in Hawaii. Location was easy to find. Condo was exactly as described. The view was great! Enjoyed sitting outside in the early morning and evening. We had 4 adults and 2 kids and had plenty of space. Plenty of towels and linens as well. Loved the collection of beach items left by others - left a few items ourselves. Great view of the Friday night fireworks done by the local hotel. While we drove to the beach most of the time, we could walk to the shops, restaurants, and other Waikiki attractions without difficulty. Great home away from home! Also had great communication with the owner before and after our stay. Would love to stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay! Enjoyed the Fireworks!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our party of five -- mom, dad and three daughters (12, 17 and 20) really enjoyed our stay at Ala Wai Terrace. The property matched the description and pictures exactly. There was ample room for the five of us. With two futons and a single bed, as well as the queen bed in the master bedroom there were comfortable beds for all of us. The condo was well-stocked with everything we needed, including beach chairs, boogie boards, beach mat, cooler and condiments as well as the usual supply of dishes, towels, etc. The large lanai was a great place to watch the Friday night fireworks as well as the fireworks toward the north on New Years Eve. We used the Hilton Hawaiian Village as a pick up for activities and that worked very well ... a quick walk and you had access to all the tour buses. Waikiki is a manageable walk or you can easily catch The Bus or trolley. We found it enjoyable to walk back to the condo from Waikiki along the beach at sunset. Ala Moana Beach Park is a great beach, very calm and the sand is much smoother than Waikiki. We enjoyed using our rented paddle boards, but snorkeling would also be great along the reef. The Ala Moana Centre provides everything you need from basic groceries to designer fashions and the ABC store on the corner is very handy for milk, bread, etc. Lilly was a great help providing good information and orientation. The A/C kept us very comfortable. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Met Our Needs Perfectly

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

First, I would like to say the owner, Barry, and his local manager, Lilly, were very easy to work with. We arrived earlier in the day than expected and they were able to accommodate us without any hassle. The condo was clean and well stocked with towels, linens, dishes, etc. The furnishings were nice and the beds were comfortable. There were flat screen TVs with cable & wi-fi. Beach chairs, mats, boogie boards, etc. were all available and in good condition. There was even a UofH soft sided ice chest that we used frequently to carry our lunch & snacks. The view of the marina from the lanai is exactly as depicted - gorgeous. There are the two towers of the the hotel across the street directly in front of you, but you still have a fantastic view between them and on either side. We didn't find they detracted much from the overall experience of sitting on the lanai and they certainly didn't obstruct the view of the Friday night fireworks at all. What a show! I will say the condo is on Ala Moana Blvd. which is a busy, noisy street a lot of the time but it quieted down late in the evening, so it didn't disrupt our sleep. The location is good with the Hilton Hawaiian Village a short walk away, but it's a bit further to walk to the heart of "Waikiki Beach". Other than that, it was easy to find and in a good location to head in any direction on the island. Having a dedicated parking space behind the building was a real plus. A brand new Safeway, multiple banks and gas stations were close by (as well as the Ala Moana mall). We had our 81 year-old mother with us, so the short flight of stairs to reach the elevator was a challenge, but she managed. All in all, it was a really positive vacation rental experience. I would recommend this place for people who are there to explore the island. It's too noisy to be a peaceful or romantic getaway where you spend your time relaxing on the lanai, but if you're someone who spends most of your time on the go, this place is for you. We wanted a clean, comfortable place to sleep that also had a kitchen and that's exactly what we got. It was a great value for the money and met our needs perfectly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Worked Really Well For Our Situation

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

First, I would like to say the owner, Barry, and his local manager, Lilly, were very easy to work with. We arrived earlier in the day than expected, and they were able to accommodate us without any hassle. The condo was clean, and well stocked with towels, linens, dishes, etc. The beds were comfortable. Beach chairs, mats, boogie boards, etc. were all available and in good condition. There was even a UofH soft sided ice chest that we used frequently to carry our lunch & snacks.

The view of the marina from the lanai is exactly as depicted - gorgeous. There are the two towers of the the hotel across the street directly in front of you, but you still have a fantastic view between them and on either side. We didn't find they detracted much from the overall experience of sitting on the lanai and they certainly didn't obstruct the view of the Friday night fireworks at all. What a show! I will say the condo is on Ala Moana Blvd, which is a busy, noisy street a lot of the time. It quieted down late in the evening, so it didn't disrupt our sleep. The location is good with the Hilton Hawaiian Village a short distance away, though it is a good walk to "Waikiki Beach". Other than that, it was easy to find and in a good location to head in any direction on the island. Having a dedicated parking space behind the building was a real plus. A brand new Safeway, multiple banks and gas stations were close by (as well as the Ala Moana mall).

We had our 81 year-old mother with us, so the short flight of stairs you have to climb to reach the elevator was a challenge, but she managed. All in all, it was a really positive vacation rental experience. I would recommend this place for people who are looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place to sleep. It's too noisy to be a peaceful or romantic getaway where you spend your time relaxing on the lanai, but if you're someone who spends most of your time on the go or at the beach, this place is for you. We wanted a clean, comfortable place to sleep that also had a kitchen and that is exactly what we got. It was a great value for the money and met our needs perfectly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so glad you had a good trip and that the condo met your needs. I hope you enjoyed the volley ball match at U of H.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Rental in Waikiki

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This condo was perfect! Our friends had a destination wedding in Hawaii and this rental was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean, had everything we needed; kitchen supplies, air conditioning, beach stuff, plenty of towels! and a BEAUTIFUL view!!! It was in the perfect location too, just minutes from the beach, mall, harbor, and hilton hawaiian village. The owners and onsite manager were very helpful in making sure everything went smoothly. This was such a great place and a great deal. We had 5 people in our group and it easily could have fit 6. Thanks again for making our vacation so amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's sounds like you had a great trip. I am very happy that the condo met your needs. I can't wait till I get to go back in October.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

1. The view from the lanai is partial. You can check the Google map to see which hotels are blocking the view.
2. Noise at midnight: Motorcyclists love the road in front of the Ala Wai Terrace. if you sleep in the main bed room, it is OK. If you are sleeping in the second bedroom, you may be bothered by noise. The lanai is pretty noisy day and night.
3. No wi-fi provided during our stay: We had chosen the condo b/c of the wifi. if we wanted a condo w/o wifi, we could had a better one.
4. Good manager: The manager did her best to make ourselves at home. Thank you.
5. Other than that, it was a convenient condo.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: When Mina booked the condo there was no promise of free wifi. After her complaint and a complaint by a previous renter, I ordered it installed in the condo at the beginning of her stay through Oceanic Time Warner. I added the feature listing free wifi after it was installed in June. The installation did not happen until after she checked out. I even wrote an apology that the installation took so long. As for the views it is simple if you look straight ahead you look between to the towers of the Prince Hotel. If you look right say 30 degrees it is a completely unobstructed coastal view. I am very sorry that you were bothered by the noise on Ala Moana blvd. it is a major road running into Waikiki and would be considered a urban area with public transportation. We find that closing the doors to the Lanai do wonders to keep the noise out when watching TV or sleeping in either of the front rooms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, Stunning views in beautiful Waikiki

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We arrived on a Friday night, Lilly was very helpful in getting us our keys. The place was exactly what we needed for our stay. We had 4 adults but we had enough room if we would of had guests. The location was great, close to everything. We did rent a car and did have off street parking which we found helpful. I love that we had access to use the beach umbrella, beach chairs and boogie boards. we did make good use of them. We really enjoyed the Lani with beautiful Ocean Views first thing in the morning with our coffee and in the evening while relaxing after an exciting day. We didn't cook there as we had a very busy adjenda each day but could of. I would recommend this place to anyone and have. It offers everything you need and the owners are very helpful in answering any questions or concerns you have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lawrence and Jenny Toronto

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

We 3 adults and two children stayed 7 days at this beautiful two bedroom condo and were very impressed by the location and size for the cost, we were surprised to find that the condo had everything we would need, from the on sight laundry room to the full kitchen and anything you might possibly need for the beach. We also found plenty of local grocery options, there is a Food Pantry right around the corner and also a Foodland at Ala Moana centre, The Large shopping mall right next door. We also had a nice Barbeque on the beach and enjoyed the Friday night fireworks, but if you don't feel like cooking, there is no shortage of great restaraunts in Waikiki.
We were kind of last minute but were accomodated in every way, communication was easy and everything was as promised, we were met upon our arrival by Lilly a resident of the building who was glad to answer our questions and provide very useful local advise and suggestions. We would definitely recommend (and have) this listing to anyone looking for the perfect place with a great location for their next trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

Good location with a partial view of the Yacht harbor. Condo is one of the oldest buildings in the area and the unit has not been upgraded except flooring. We satisfied our stayed for just to sleep and able to cook breakfast before head out for most of the day, were out exploring the Island the entire week stayed. Some construction road going on during at night but we're tired so able to sleep good by closing the lanai sliding door. But the downside have no internet connection and cannot able to search and read email for local appointments. My recommendation for me is an internet connection is a must so you can able to explore more in the area, we had rental car to explore the Oahu Island.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am a little confused by the first comment partial view of the Yacht Harbor. The photos in the Ad are from the Lanai. The second comment about it being the oldest building while true 1968, They did a complete redo of the exterior and Laundry room in 2010. While the kitchen and bath are original I am sure you will find them both clean and fully functional.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Two strait weeks of beautiful sunny days.

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

Comfortable and affordable accommodations in Waikiki within walking distance to many beaches, shops and restaurants. Two strait weeks of beautiful sunny days. Watching the fireworks from the Lanai on Friday night was certainly a highlight of our stay. The view of the harbor was wonderful, just like the picture. We even watched a taping of Hawaii Five O right across the street. The owner was very helpful and knew the area well. I would definitely recommend this apartment to my friends and family, and we plan to go again.

I was so surprised to see that the Regis and Kelly show was taping the show live right across the street
at Duke Kananamoku Beach and I just missed it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review