reviews for: listing #100119 - Williams, Arizona House rental

Williams Railway Retreat
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,800 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Cozy and sweet place to stay in Williams, AZ

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

Family of 7, including 3 children were traveling first time to Grand Canyon.
At first, I was bit concerned with impoverished looking neighborhood, but turns out Williams is safe place to stay. Owner is extremely friendly and efficient.
Home had all the amenties you need with plenty of space for 7 of us to retreat from Grand Canyon experience. If you are traveling with families, this is one of few places I would recommend. Thanks to owner for providing memorable traveling experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the review, we appreciate it. I knew you guys would like the house, its a fun place to stay and relax. Thank you so much for staying with us and we appreciate your business. Maybe see you again in the future?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Great big family home

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We had 15 family members needing a place to stay for our birthday weekend extravaganza, this house is perfect!! The neighborhood is quiet till we got there. We had 4 bedrooms and the loft full of family we also had enough room in drive way to park our travel trailer and 4 cars! We had a great kitchen and breakfast nook for the whole family to gather round as we prepared meals. We made use of everything the house has to offer dishwasher,washer & dryer (kids got messy!!),BBQ grill, backyard trampoline and swing set! The line for using the double headed cave shower was quite long in the morning! We were there for 3 days/3 nights and enjoyed Sedona, Bearizona, Grand Canyon and of course Route 66 restaurants and bars, red raven restaurant and sultanas. We had a great trip and the owners were so helpful with everything! If you want to feel at home for your stay this is the place!!

Owners response: We are so excited to hear about your stay. We really try to keep everything as perfect as possible for our guests, and it makes us so happy to hear of a fun filled stay. Thank you for your review and your business we really appreciate it! Maybe we could have the pleasure of having such great renters again in the future. Thanks again, Williams Railway Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved this rental!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We had a great visit here. We love that we can see the train from the house, the fireplace and the hot tub! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly beautiful house!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay here in Williams. We were just passing through from Santa Fe, NM to California, but the accommodations were very pleasant. We enjoyed the fireplace and the living room. The children loved the playground and the trampoline. The house is truly beautiful on the inside- very restful and comfortable. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

Thank you so much for providing our family with such a wonderful place to stay while we celebrated Thanksgiving! There was plenty of space for all 11 of us, and it was wonderful to stay at such a relaxing place. We loved the trampoline and playset in the backyard, and appreciated how convienant and easy it was to walk downtown. Our family had a lot of fun riding the train to the Grand Canyon and had an amazing Thanksgiving experience in the house! Thank you SO much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all loved it!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Our extended family had a lovely time here, from our 88 year old Grandmother to the 4 month old baby. We all loved the architecture and decor of the house. Thanks for a great venue for family time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love Williams!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the "retreat" and fell in love with Williams. We hope to return- from my mouth to God's ears! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful visit!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time here and would DEFINITLEY come back! One of the persons in our party hope to bring her grandchildren along with their parents back to visit. We loved the train ride to the Canyon and found Bearizona just wonderful. Our best meal was at Red Raven, great food! All in all it was a great trip and we would come back and recommend the Williams Railway Retreat to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very comfortable stayover.

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

This was a very comfortable stayover for us, we really appreciated a chance for the children to play safely outside. I particularly liked the green pottery vase on the chimney, it reminded me of my own things at home. We live in a beach community overlooking blue ocean in New Zealand, so this is a complete change of environment for us and has been extremely interesting. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Right at home!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We felt right at home both in the house and the town! The locals are so friendly! We loved the deer farm and Bearizona and of course the beauty of the Grand Canyon. We hope to come back soon! For now it's back to the desert. Thanks for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place, great town.

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at Williams Railway Retreat and enjoyed the town of Williams as well. We had some time to explore the shops in downtown Williams and also went on the town's zipline! At the house we enjoyed going in the hot tub, jumping on the trampoline and watching the prairie dogs! The house was a very warm place to start off the day and come back in the evening. We will never forget our stay here in the beautiful town of Williams, AZ!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful. The house was quite comfortable and accomodations very nice. Everything mechanical worked well. The children especially enjoyed the backyard and trampoline. The location was most convienant. We made 3 trips to the Grand Canyon Village, with one of the trips being via Grand Canyon Railway. It was a memorable stay which we all will speak about for a very long time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the Williams Railway Retreat!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We have thouroughly enjoyed the Williams Railway Retreat as well as the area. The retreat was a great place to start and end the day. Some of the places we visited were the Grand Canyon (2 days), Sedona and slide rock, Sunset Crater, Walnut Canyon and the ruins, we also explored Williams, relaxed and hiked the Key Hole Sink Trail. We loved the hot tub and trampoline. The kids enjoyed the games, books, grasshoppers and prairie dogs out in the field. We all had coffee/tea and read on the front porch every morning. It is a trip we won't forget and we hope to return when the kids are older. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent House Near Polar Express

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

This house is beautiful with great furnishings, updated bathrooms, and lots of space. Very kid friendly. The owner is helpful and responsive. I would stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home, convenient in-town location!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

This house was the perfect resting spot for our large group. Grandparents, adult siblings, spouses and young cousins met up to take the little ones on the Polar Express. The house is lovely, comfortable and clean. The owner was very easy to work with and responsive to email and phone calls. We will definitely try to book the house again when planning our trip for next year. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you next year again too. Merry Christmas and New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Grand Canyon Railway Retreat

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

We had a great time at this home. It is the perfect location for the Grand Canyon Railway. I felt it was very clean and well stocked. The decor was rustic and cozy. My only disappointment was that we did not have access to all 5 bedrooms. There was a lock on the door with the bunk beds where we had planned for our grandchildren to sleep. Instead we had to put them in the loft with the stairs. We worried all night that one of them would have to get up and fall down those stairs.I would have definitely given this home a 5 if we had had access to all the rooms. I would recommend you remove that room from the description if it is not going to be available for use. The outdoor space is very nice for young children.

Owners response: We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our home. I do apologize for the 5th bedroom not being opened, our policy is that if there is 8 people or less staying in the home we do not open the 5th bedroom to keep the extra cleaning fees down for our customers. I wish that you would of called me and told me the situation, I would of opened it for you no problem, we truly strive to make each stay as perfect as possible for our customers. I have 4 kids of my own and completely understand your concerns with the loft. I am happy to hear that everything else was great and you enjoyed the home. If you come back to Williams next year the 5th room is on us! Thank you again for your business and feedback.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property near the canyon and mountains

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The house is in a really convenient location for the Grand Canyon and hiking near Flagstaff, as well as going to downtown Williams. The house is very clean and well furnished. The is a wonderful hot tub and playground that our toddler loved. There was a little snafu with the hot tub and the gas for the grill, but as soon as the owner found out he was right over. Literally he arrived within 15 minutes or so of our call. This part of Williams is a little rough around the edges, which we had not anticipated given the beautiful photos of the home, but we felt very safe; the distance to downtown, the beautiful and practical home for a family gathering, and the backyard really made up for the aesthetics of the neighborhood.

Owners response: WE ARE SO HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU ENJOYED OUR HOME DURING YOUR STAY. IT WAS VERY NICE TO MEET YOU GUYS AND HOPE YOU HAD A GREAT FAMILY REUNION. WE APPRECIATE YOUR REVIEW AND RESPECT FOR OUR HOME AS WELL. MAYBE WE WILL SEE YOU GUYS AGAIN SOON?

THANKS AGAIN,

WILLIAMS RAILWAY RETREAT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Right at Home

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Very comfortable & very clean house w/ pretty much everything you need, if you're cooking meals. Or if you're not cooking, you can easily walk to town to eat at a dozen or so restaurants. The yard is very private & secure w/ a tall privacy fence. We will definately go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This rental cabin is a great place to stay and well worth the money! We just returned from a long weekend, with a large party of 9... 3 adults, 4 teens and 2 small children. Our 3 day/2 night stay was perfect... comfortable in every way.

We really appreciated how clean the cabin was. With two small children this was a concern. The carpets are very clean and no issues with either the bathrooms or the kitchen.

The kitchen is very functional.. well equipped including a crock pot and a blender! The coffee/espresso maker was a nice bonus that we used each morning.

Large grill in the backyard with all the right grilling tools. For those with small children the backyard is nicely set up with a play set and trampoline. Even the teens enjoyed playing in the backyard.

The cabin has enough room that people could easily do what they wished (nap, read, visit etc) without bothering others. At night the small kids slept while the teens played cards at the table and the adults visited on the front porch.

The owner was very responsive to my multiple emails and checked with me several times during our visit to make certain everything was in order.

We brought up food but did buy some items at the local Safeway. Very nice store with the same selection that I can find in my home town. Williams has lots of fun shops and restaurants to visit.

We all had three very restful days and intend to rent this place again in the future.

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to hear that other people enjoy the house as much as we did. It was perfect for our kids too. We sincerely appreciate your business and respect for our home, it truly a blessing to have renters like you guys. We would love to have you in the future just give me a call whenever you plan on coming up, maybe Polar Express? Thanks again for everything & God Bless You.

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

The home had plenty of space with a warm, cozy rooms. This was my first experience using Home Away and met all accommodations for my family while visiting the Grand Canyons. Although the neighborhood was not what I expected, I would recommend this place due to the close proximity to the town, Williams, and the house amenities.

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and respect for our home. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Thanks again,

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place to stay for our Grand adventure!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

We stayed here in April of 2013. We had tickets for the Train in the morning and needed a place close to the depot. With a party of eight, we could not afford 4 rooms at the Railway Hotel and I found this place while searching for a hotel. The place is beautiful! The decor is western and kitschy and the layout is welcoming without being too "cozy". There are four bedrooms for sleeping, although the loft with its steep stairs, no railing and twin beds would best serve only children. Those dormers are quaint but LOW.

The kitchen was well set up for company. My mother had carted in enough food for 2-3 complete meals and heating up, chilling and storing food was not an issue. We even used the dishes and the dishwasher. Likewise, the eldest of our crew appreciated the complementary coffee in the mornings.

The living area has a large sectional that seats most people and we played cards at the high pub table in the dining area. It was cold (45 degrees!) but my kids (ages 13,11 and 8) still jumped on the trampoline outside when we got there. The location of the house gives a PERFECT view of the train coming and going. We watched it come into the depot the evening before we left. That said, the place was quiet and an easy place to sleep.

Although a couple of us used the shower, we had forgotten shampoo, soap and the like and there were not any of these things provided. My kids thought it was hilarious that mom took a shower with only hand soap but she sure didn't. Some little toiletries could have been placed in the 2 bathrooms for convenience sake. Also, with a $125 cleaning fee, it is hard to do your dishes and remove your trash with a smile. We are used to treating property respectfully and felt that the fee to clean was high.

I would recommend the house to any family group of 8 or less. I know that it says that it sleeps 10 but due to our family set-up, my teenage son ended up on the couch one night and the pull-out bed from the couch the other. Both were not comfortable. There are extra blankets provided that help cushion the feel of the springs but for the price, no one should have to sleep on these two places. The couch was too narrow for a teen or an adult.
This was a great place to spend with the older generation especially. We even turned on the fireplace for effect. Thank you to the owner for maintaining and offering such a welcoming place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Good afternoon, and Thank You for your review on our vacation rental home. We are happy to hear that you guys enjoyed our home with your family. During the inquiry process we strive to make sure that all of our guests questions are answered about the sleeping arrangements and bed locations. We are sorry the couch did not turn out to be a comfortable bed for your son, this is the first complaint that we have had on the couch and we are looking into trying to make it more comfortable for future guests. We are also in the process of adding another bedroom that will have a bunk bed with a full mattress on bottom and a twin on top to sleep 2-3 more guests in a bedroom. Our cleaning fee covers the costs of a 5 hour cleaning per stay and the necessary supplies needed to clean the home the way we like it cleaned. I know that we are a little higher on the fee then most, however I know we strive to be cleaner as well. I sincerely appreciate you bringing to my attention the problems that you ran into which we will find a remedy for them to prevent any further complaints. I don't know if Vacation Rentals usually provide shampoo & conditioner for their guests but we most certainly can in the future. I hope that your vacation in our home was an enjoyable and memorable one, and maybe we will see you guys again in the future. We greatly appreciate your business and input.

Thanks again,

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We so very much enjoyed this beautiful home. We especially enjoyed the spa, the front room full of windows and the master bathroom shower (it's amazing)!! Thank you Cameron for making this an unforgettable weekend away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. What a privilage to be a part of a vacation so special. You guys are welcome anytime!!

Thanks again,

Cameron Maebe
Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home in Williams

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Cameron was an excellent host. His home in Williams was the perfect jumping off point for our adventures to the Grand Canyon. The house was spotless and provided the comfort and luxury of a rental twice the price. The hot tub was such a treat after hiking in the canyon all day. We highly recommend this lovely home for families as the backyard was the perfect place for little ones to get out their energy on the trampoline or slide. Most importantly Cameron is very responsive and is ready to help make sure your vacation is very relaxing. Thanks again Cameron.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our anniversary/Valentine Weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We were looking for a weekend to just get a way and have some fun. I loved the photo of your place-but the place was so much more. It was exceptionally well kept up. It is located at the end of the road-so no traffic. There was a sitting area that was glassed enclosed that had southern exposure that was so warm . It had a water feature that has the sound of running water that was so serene. The house was spotless. I loved the decorations and personal touches that truly made you feel right at home. We felt very taken care of. The shower in the Master Bedroom was awesome!! My son, who is 10 fell inlove with the tic tac toe game-something so simple!! We loved walking in downtown Williams and went tubing at Kaibab National Forest!! There is so many shops and restaurant. The people were so freindly everywhere we went. If you are looking for a great getaway -don't overlook this little piece of heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow what a review, thanks! We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your Valentine \ Anniversary trip to Williams & The Railway Retreat. We really appreciate the respect and care you had for our home, renters like you guys are truly a treat for us. Thanks again for your business and hope to see you guys again some day soon.

God Bless,

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter vacation

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Thank you Cameron for a great vacation retreat! My family and I had everything we needed for our stay. The place was very cozy and updated. We loved the front sunroom. We were able watch the kids play in the snow for hours...without having to bundle up. With trips to the polar express and Grand Canyon tour, we had a great place to come home to every night. Thank you again!
Jenny n family

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute, Comfy & Cozy

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Williams Railway Retreat. The home was a perfect fit for our family. With over a foot of snow on the ground the kids loved playing outside and warming up in the hot tub or with hot chocolate next to the fireplace. The home offered everything we needed. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Polar Express stay

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Williams Railway Retreat the weekend we took our children and grandchildren on the Polar Express. This is a lovely, extremely clean home. Although our family is large, we never felt cramped in this house. The grandchildren enjoyed the trampoline, the playground set and the sandbox in the backyard. It allowed them to be outside and run off some steam.
We could walk to the train depot and into town; something we also enjoyed
The owner of this property couldn't be more accommodating and friendly, which I find to be very important when putting travel plans together.
We would definitely return to this property when we visit Williams again and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in Williams.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A family vacation

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

The Williams Railway Retreat was a perfect location for our family of 10 -- Grandparents, sons and their wives and four grandchildren. The house was centrally located for the various sites we wanted to visit, the Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam, Painted Desert, Petrified Forest. We enjoyed the option of walking to Williams. Our first day we took the Grand Canyon Railway and from that time on, the children would hear the train whistle and run to watch the train go by. The swing set and trampoline were great for downtime for the children. The floor plan was ideal for coming together or private time and the children really enjoyed the loft bedroom. The WiFi was a good feature as was the washer and dryer. Our last day we enjoyed visiting and shopping in Williams and grilled some steaks that evening.

The owner was very easy to work with before the rental and made sure we were comfortable when we arrived.

The only suggestions would be to get a better mattress for the smaller bedroom, some additional towels and washcloths for large groups, and a few more utensils for the kitchen. But all, in all, it was a wonderful time of family fun and bonding and Thanksgiving! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Polar Express Weekend

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We rented the home for my family and my brother's family. The owner was great to work with. He made sure we made it safely to Williams and checked again to see if we had any other needs the next day. The walk in shower was fantastic. The home had plenty of charm and comfortable sleeping options. My 7 and 3 year old especially loved the loft. The kids had a front row seat to watch the trains pass the house. The Polar Express was very close and highly recommended by our entire group. We even visited the Grand Canyon Saturday morning a quick drive just an hour away. A must see. The backyard provided entertainment to the little ones on the swing set and trampoline between activities. We highly recommend this home and hope to visit it again ourselves.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Comfortable House

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Would definitely recommend this one! Williams is a cute little town on Route 66 with all of the daily amenities you would need. Flagstaff is about a half hour away and has the Arizona Snowbowl with a ski lift and restaurant. Cameron suggested we check it out because the Aspens had changed to golden yellow already, and it was absolutely gorgeous. The South Rim of the Grand Canyon is about an hour away, so we made a few trips there because there was so much to see. We took some down days to just hang around the house, which was equipped with everything a family needs to relax. Not to mention, every room was very clean and decorated in family and western themed decor, which made the house more inviting and comfortable.

Owners response: Jennifer,

I appreciate you reviewing on two different sites for me, I know it takes some time. Once again, I really am glad that you guys enjoyed your stay in the Williams Railway Retreat, and it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Thanks again for taking great care of our home on your vacation. Maybe see you guys again some day?

Sincerely,

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Comfortable House

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Would definitely recommend this one! Williams is a cute little town on Route 66 with all of the daily amenities you would need. Flagstaff is about a half hour away and has the Arizona Snowbowl with a ski lift and restaurant. Cameron suggested we check it out because the Aspens had changed to golden yellow already, and it was absolutely gorgeous. The South Rim of the Grand Canyon is about an hour away, so we made a few trips there because there was so much to see. We took some down days to just hang around the house, which was equipped with everything a family needs to relax. Not to mention, every room was very clean and decorated in family and western themed decor, which made the house more inviting and comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Property

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Cameron was very easy to work with. We decided to rent the property for a weekend just about 2 weeks prior to the arrival date, and Cameron had all paper work /payment processed quickly. The property itself was very nice, you can tell it has just been remodeled. Would visit it again if we are back to the area in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

VERY clean, tastefully decorated, and owner easy to work with. Our family of 7 was quite comfortable in this home. Williams is a quaint, little town, just 60 minutes to the Grand Canyon. Close to Sedona and Flagstaff as well.
Great experience. Would recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A family vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

The Williams Railway Retreat was a perfect location for our family of 10 -- Grandparents, sons and their wives and four grandchildren. The house was centrally located for the various sites we wanted to visit, the Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam, Painted Desert, Petrified Forest. We enjoyed the option of walking to Williams. Our first day we took the Grand Canyon Railway and from that time on, the children would hear the train whistle and run to watch the train go by. The swing set and trampoline were great for downtime for the children. The floor plan was ideal for coming together or private time and the children really enjoyed the loft bedroom. The WiFi was a good feature as was the washer and dryer. Our last day we enjoyed visiting and shopping in Williams and grilled some steaks that evening.

The owner was very easy to work with before the rental and made sure we were comfortable when we arrived.

The only suggestions would be to get a better mattress for the smaller bedroom, some additional towels and washcloths for large groups, and a few more utensils for the kitchen. But all, in all, it was a wonderful time of family fun and bonding and Thanksgiving! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay for Grand Canyon / Route 66

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

This home provided the perfect base for visiting the Grand Canyon and experiencing Route 66. Very clean throughout and seems to be recently redecorated, all the fixtures are high quality, in fact identical to those we had in a high price suite in Las Vegas. The wireless internet worked flawlessly and was fast enough to keep three kids online with no complaints. I marked it down to 4 instead of 5 as for some reason the loft bedroom and the second double bedroom had no window blinds or curtains, something I am sure the owner will likely take care of in the future, he was very helpful and all our transactions went like clockwork. The town of Williams is a very friendly place with a number on nice restaurants. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I can agree with your review and the 4 stars you left because of the blinds in the rooms. I had actually forgot to finish those, so thanks for the reminder. They will be hung next week. I really appreciate your time in reviewing our property and giving us an honest review, they are the one that mean the most. Thank you again for your business, and maybe we will see you again one day?

Thanks again,

Williams Railway Retreat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay for Grand Canyon / Route 66

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

This home provided the perfect base for visiting the Grand Canyon and experiencing Route 66. Very clean throughout and seems to be recently redecorated, all the fixtures are high quality, in fact identical to those we had in a high price suite in Las Vegas. The wireless internet worked flawlessly and was fast enough to keep three kids online with no complaints.
I marked it down to 4 instead of 5 as for some reason the loft bedroom and the second double bedroom had no window blinds or curtains, something I am sure the owner will likely take care of in the future, he was very helpful and all our transactions went like clockwork.
The town of Williams is a very friendly place with a number on nice restaurants. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place for a family visiting Grand Canyon

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We brought our parents (visiting from Europe) to Grand Canyon and decided to stay in Williams. My parents as well as our kids (age 7 and 9)really liked this house. It was very clean and comfortable.

Our kids loved the play structure and trampoline outside and we adults enjoyed the hot tub! I wish we had more time to enjoy the house but we were so busy with sightseeing around. Williams is a wonderful historical town and it was just about 10 minutes walk to the downtown. We also drove to Grand Canyon but the train station is very close to the house. (We liked waking up to the sound of the train).

Cameron (the owner) was very easy to work with and we are looking forward to our next vacation in Williams! Ivana & family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ivana,

Thank you for the Review! I was glad to meet you guys, your family is blessed. We are happy you liked the house and Williams, AZ. Thank You again for staying and maybe we will talk to you again some day??

Cameron Maebe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay in Williams Az.

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Our stay at this home was great! We were able to walk to town for all our needs. Eating.shopping,and alot of sight seeing. The home itself was perfect for us we were able to cook/bq in the backyard. The kids were able to play in a fenced yard. The main house was also perfect we all enjoyed our sleeps and the master shower is something to see. We cant wait to book our next vacation Thank you Cameron and Devon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

It was clean and comfortable, has all the needed amenities. Everything was great.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: I am really glad that you enjoyed our home. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate the respectful renters that you are. We would like for you to keep us in mind for your next possible stay in Williams.

Thank You again,

Cameron Maebe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

JWD Ins. Inc

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

What a beautiful home it is. It had every amenity that we wanted or needed. Decor was very pleasant and comfortable. Alot of work went into this home especially the master bathroom, WOW what a neat shower. The driveway to house may need a little work, but over all the house itself was clean andcomfortable. the property mgt. was easy to work with. If we have another dierctors meeting in Williams, Az. we will surely book this house again. JWD

Owners response: Jeff,

Thanks for the review, appreciate your time.

Cameron

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review