reviews for: listing #100336 - Healdsburg, California House rental

Healdsburg Vacation Rental: Renovated Cottage on the River
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $225 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Lovely cottage

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We were very happy with this property: a well-equipped kitchen as stated, clean, well taken care of and quiet. What was promised was delivered. The one thing we were quite unhappy about, however, was the lack of broadcast TV. What we got instead was Netflix through the Internet, which was abominably slow. For the money we paid, we cannot understand the owners not offering what basic motels offer: broadcast TV. Other than than, a lovely place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad to hear how happy you were with the property and how much you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that there were problems with the speed of the cable modem. I wish you would have called and I would have come over and reset it for you. The properties up here have occasional service disruptions and resetting the modem usually fixes it. This is only the second report we have had so it's usually okay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wolfie's stay in Healdsburg!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

We arrived knowing not what to expect & found the most perfect holiday cottage we could wish to find! All the home comforts were thought of from fat bath robes, home cinema & a cozy sofa with blankets through to books, music and the all essential coffee machine all of which were greatly appreciated after our travels. There was wi-fi & telephone to keep connected with the world with all the practical essentials for day to day life if you wished to embrace them (washer/dryer/dish washer/kitchen essentials etc etc etc). The cute mezzanine floor up the spiral staircase to the open plan library & second bedroom made the stay feel extra novel & holiday like (we chose to stay up there whilst shutting the baby to sleep in the master bedroom!). Having the river at our doorstep was so great as we could just stroll out without making a plan for the entire day & packing the kitchen sink (although that option was also catered for with all the picnic equipment & tourist info you could need + close drive to town/countryside).

Anyway we had a really great time our only regret is we didn't get to use the BBQ garden/patio & our stay was a little short... fingers crossed we'll return

Thankyou very much Jem, Mischa & Woflie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad we could accommodate you!!! Your son is completely adorable!! Thank you for visiting :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved It & a Great Value

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

*** Review copied as published on another booking site ***

Owners were very nice people to deal with. Great location for touring that part of wine country. Cottage was very well equipped. Slept soundly every night.

If I say too much good about the place I'm afraid they will raise the rates when they realize what a value it is.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oregon visitors

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

Property was very clean and comfortable. The biggest issue we had was the somewhat remote location from Healdsburg over dark winding roads that are in a poor state of repair. Some neighborhood homes are in poor repair.

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed the cottage. We work very hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are sorry to hear that you had a hard time on the two mile stretch of Fitch Mountain Road. I wish you had told us because we would have gladly suggested an alternate route.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cute Little House

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Great little house close to town. Had everything we needed for a quick stay in a healdsburg. Would definitely rent here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that your family enjoyed your time at our cottage. Healdsburg is a great little town!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely cottage, somewhat disappointing experience

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Although the cottage was very clean, cute, and well maintained, it was somewhat deceiving as advertised. TV-movies and music available but no network stations available, news or otherwise. The cottage is not on or in sight of the Russian River. The access is about 1/4 mile down the road from the cottage with a steep path to a small rocky bank. No beach or bank to sit and enjoy the river although it could be used to put in a kayak or canoe. Be very careful to check the property for existing damage if you expect a full damage deposit refund. We did not and were penalized for damage that we did not cause. Lesson learned. Distance-wise, the cottage is close to town, but it is not as easy as one would expect per the property description. Located on Fitch Mt, expect winding, narrow roads not great to drive in the dark or in bad weather.

Owners response: I'm so sorry that you didn't see in the description that the river is a five minute walk from the cottage. There is a lovely rocky beach about 200 yards past the small kayak put in. The houses across the street are actually on the river so it is right there. Sadly, I did have to charge you $25 for the gouge in the dresser. As you may recall, I said I would not charge you if the damage wasn't yours and you agreed to absorb the cost.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Awesome cottage on Fitch Mtn.

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We stayed at this cute cottage for a week. We asked for an early check-in which was easily accommodated by the owners who met us with a key and showed us around the property. It was so cozy and comfortable with so many thoughtful touches provided by the owners. All those little things you normally have to buy were provided (paper towels, laundry detergent, TP, coffee, etc.). The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were of high quality, both important when staying a week. Everything was spotlessly clean. The washer/dryer and dishwasher came in handy, although we didn't really cook in, mostly just breakfast. The kitchen was fully stocked, including paper plates and plastic cups. There were ample bath towels, etc. There's a cute little loft bedroom upstairs with a library full of interesting books, and there were games for kids. The internet TV and wi-fi were appreciated by us so we could stay connected, and to research nearby wineries and restaurants. Unlike other properties nearby, this one was on one level with no stairs to climb. We would definitely stay there on future visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad we were able to make your stay comfortable!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely cottage near the river

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This charming cottage was immaculate and very well maintained. Perfect for a single or a couple. Nestled in the foothills of Fitch Mountain, it is an easy drive to Healdsburg and wineries. The proprietors, Monique and John, were delightful and very responsive to our questions. I would highly recommend this place for your next wine country stay

Owners response: So glad to accommodate you!!! We're glad you enjoyed your vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memorial weekend

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The place was great: they provided for all our needs. We brought our 2 grown daughters and had a great time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad we were able to make you comfortable for a great weekend in the Wine Country with your daughters!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute Cozy Cabin --

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding we were attending. There were lots of activities going on so we spent limited time at the cabin but it was cute and comfortable! We had 2 couples and found the space to be more than adequate for all of us. The location is just a short drive from Healdsburg square so very convenient. Overall I would say our experience could be summed up in 3 words -- Cute, Comfortable and Convenient!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice small cottage

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Very clean well equipped small cottage for a couple or young family. Very pleasant helpful owners. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We are glad to have made you comfortable during your visit to Healdsburg :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream cottage in the woods

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

This beautiful cottage was the ideal place for my husband and I to explore the Healdsburg area. Just far enough from town to feel like a retreat. The house is stocked with everything we needed. A quick walk to the Russian River where one could watch amazing bird life. The location is ideal for touring around this beautiful countryside. Our hosts were incredibly accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad we could make you comfortable during your stay in Healdsburg!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Stay

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was very comfortable, thoughtfully equitpped, and the owers were very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Healdsburg!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful respite perfectly located

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

The perfect spot for us to relax and refresh for all the Healdsburg and wine country activities! Very quiet and a very short drive to downtown Healdsburg.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed your getaway!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT Getaway!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My husband and I completely enjoyed our stay at this cottage! The location was on a unique road with a relaxing atmosphere nestled among the river & beautiful trees; but close to downtown Healdsburg & the Dry Creek Valley. The home is a perfect size for a couple or a small family. Photos were exactly what we expected. The amenities were plentiful. The owners were helpful and easy to contact to coordinate and close out our stay. We will stay there again during future trips to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure to accommodate you! Thank you so much for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl's weekend

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

This cottage was perfect for me and my girlfriends on our wine tasting getaway. It was very clean and comfortable and only a short drive into Healdsburg! Would be perfect for a couple or a small family as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was so nice to meet you. I'm glad you had a great weekend in Healdsburg and we were able to accommodate you comfortably!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My wife and I brought our mother to Healdsburg to celebrate her 50th birthday, and could not have had a better time. This home is absolutely beautiful and is perfectly outfitted for guests. We enjoyed a wonderful nature walk around the property, and felt right at home both in and around the cottage.

The drive into town is easy, which allowed us to spend our days wine tasting and enjoying the shops and restaurants around the square. We would recommend this property to anyone looking to spend time in Healdsburg, but who also values the perfect little escape that this cottage provides.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad we were able to make you comfortable during your stay in Healdsburg! Thank you so much for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sweetest Place

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

OMG - what a cute place! We walked to the river and spent a day lying in the sun. We rented bikes downtown and had a great ride. The cottage was so nice and private and clean. The sleep number bed was great and the kitchen had everything. The owner was super nice and helpful. I would totally recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Healdsburg. Thank you so much for leaving the house spotless!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Camper

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

this was truly a great place to staty for my daughter and I! she had the loft to play in and the river to walk to and float! the back yard was a great place to work on painting the rocks we collected at the river and the herb garden was a treat.

There were plenty of games for all ages and the kitchen was perfect for entertaining my cousins adn their kids!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Connie. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Comfortable, well situated

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the nice note you left us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded expectations

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Very clean, well furnished, mostly new appliances. I was expecting it to be tiny, but that wasn't the case at all. We were two adult couples and were very comfortable. The upstairs bed is a little bit small, but it was fine (if you're 6 foot 3, stay in the master bedroom). While the property is very close to the neighbors, the outside porch is completely surrounded by a privacy fence, so it was quite private. The owners are friendly and truly aim to please. I would recommend to friends and would be happy to stay here again.

Owners response: It was great to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Healdsburg. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you comfortably!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review