reviews for: listing #100352 - Boston, Massachusetts House rental

Victorian
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $800 - $1,000 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and comfortable, and the host was extremely helpful and cordial. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, etc.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice and friendly

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Very nice place to stay for a few days in Boston's area. The apartment is very clean and comfortable, perfect for a family. George is a wonderful host, very friendly, it was nice to speak with him and he helped us finding where to eat and where to go. Lynn is a nice town, lot of beautiful houses, the environment is very safe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Staying in Lynn

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

I was over in Boston from the UK to pick up my daughter from college. The flat was perfect in terms of offering us spacious and convenient accommodation and a much more attractive rate than other options in the area. It was great to stay by the sea with lots of options for eating out. I did some business in Boston by train and again this worked out really well. George is a great host and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Owners response: I am doing my best to make you feel you are in vacation and in the same time at home

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Victorian House

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

The place was just as described. We had a parking spot in garage, and our host George was wonderful. He took all our luggage upstairs and carried it down when we got through. He gave us directions to places to eat and to the subway. The subway was about 4 miles but was easy to find and park our car while we took it to Boston each day. Allowed us to stay out of the Boston traffic. Kitchen was great although we did not cook, all the stuff was there for us to use. He furnished coffee and sugar, had a complementary bottle of wine sitting there for our use. Would definitely stay there again. Probably not good for people who have difficulty climbing stairs as there are 2 sets and they are steep, although you only have to climb them once a day. Real safe and quite neighborhood, just one or two short blocks to ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: I try my best to accommodate people and make them feel as being home.
I encourage people to give me reviews since this way I can improve
the others stay.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this apartment

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

This apartment was perfect for us. You can walk to a beautiful commercial district in Swampscott. There is a wonderful fish market in Marblehead, a short fifteen minute drive. The apartment is clean, well furnished, and the kitchen has everything you need. The beds are comfortable, and the neighborhood is historical, a block from the beach, and full of fabulous houses. We felt totally safe walking at night. I will warn you that the stairs are very steep, so if you have a problem with that,this is not the apartment for you. Other than that, the location is perfect, the launch off to public transportation is very close, and the public library is one of the most gorgeous I have ever seen. George was out of town but his brother and sister-in-law were wonderful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. It is a wonderful bargain. Actually, I would live in this apartment. There is plenty of closet and dresser space, so if you are looking for more than a week stay, this is a good choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The "steep stairs" are normal standard stairs since there are 13 of them. I agree they look kind of steep but in reality they are not.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

George is the perfect host. This is a 3rd floor apartment in a beautiful old New England home. We traveled with 4 people and this was large enough for all of us. The apartment was spotless and had everything that you could need for a stay. The stairs are steep but didn't bother anyone in our group. The house was in a great central location for trips to Boston and Salem. We would definitely rent this apartment again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent apartment

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We're a couple with four children from Italy, and we stayed in this property for a week.
The apartment is in excellent condition (maintenance and clean). Location is perfect to visit Boston and other glamourous locations as Rockport, Gloucester.
As it can acommodate up to 6 people, I'd suggest this as an ideal choice for families with kids.
The owner was very friendy and helpful. He makes us feel at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please see the reviews.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We're a couple with four children from Italy, and we stayed in this property for a week.
The apartment is in excellent condition (maintenance and clean). Location is perfect to visit Boston and other glamourous locations as Rockport, Gloucester.
As it can acommodate up to 6 people, I'd suggest this as an ideal choice for families with kids.
The owner was very friendy and helpful. He makes us feel at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

George and his family take great pride in their property and the comfort of their guests. This is a typical grand old North Shore victorian home that has been well-maintained and lovingly cared for. If you're in a lazy mood, it will take you 5 minutes to walk to the beach, but an eager pace will carry you there in about half that.

If you're not comfortable with a stairway climb to this tidy apartment, this might not be the place for you. It is, however, the same quaint New England architecture that many of us grew up with and now have fond memories of.

Less than a mile from the Commuter Rail, this is a beach-side gem with ready access to all the offerings of downtown Boston.

We did not expect the hospitality of this property owner -nor was it advertised-, but our cordial conversations with him and his family are some of the charms that make coming back to the East Coast worth the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Please see the reviews.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review