reviews for: listing #100501 - Flagstaff, Arizona House rental

Pepper's Rock--secluded but close to town
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $170 - $195 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,100 /wk
    $3,200 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Weekend in Flagstaff

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Flagstaff to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday with her and her husband as well as their two teenage daughters. Upon arriving, my sister (the birthday girl) exclaimed, "I'm never leaving here! I love it!" The cabin was very clean, and more than we had hoped for for the excellent price. The information left by the owner said that checkout time was 12:00, but if you wanted to stay later in the day to call them, and if no one else was checking in that day, you could do so with no additional cost. We called the owner's assistant Judi, who was very nice and told us that since no one was checking in that day to feel free to leave whenever we wanted that day/evening! We especially appreciated this offer. There's a great place outdoors for a campfire, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and although there are other houses nearby, and you're very close to Flagstaff, since you're at the end of the road, it feels like you're away from civilization. The only thing I would suggest that the owner add is a larger pan, such as a soup pot, for cooking larger quantities of things like soup/chili. The beds and linens were great. We will definitely be returning to Pepper's Rock, hopefully sooner rather than later! It is a terrific place to get away to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Calm & clean getaway home

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Few? of my friends ?and me ?wanted ?a? lazy? and quiet ?place to enjoy the cool ?Flagstaff ?weather and visit Sedona and other nearby places. Pepper's Rock was the perfect place for our getaway. The owners were really prompt ?and nice ?about ?the booking process and provided directions and helpful information about the place.? ?

The place looked exactly as advertised on the website: big,? ?clean? house? ?almost in the woods? and yet close to grocery stores. ?All amenities ?were ?available for daily chores. There were a few trails ?starting ?right? from in front of the house?. We all had a great time and will highly recommend this place for a? refreshing? getaway from ?the ?daily humdrum of life!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, comfortable, excellent location!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We were three adults and a five-year old escaping Phoenix heat in mid August. We were planning to bring our dog with us and were allowed to do so by the owners, but then decided not to. The location of the cabin is excellent. It is close to the downtown, a supermarket is only 5 min. drive away. Yet, it felt very secluded and quiet. No railroad noise whatsoever! The house does not have air conditioning, but the temperatures at the time of our visit were very comfortable 70's, so it didn't matter. The kitchen had all the basics and was very clean, as was the rest of the house. One of the most memorable things about our stay were the walks along the one-mile loop trail which started right at the doorsteps of the cabin. We saw wild flowers, lots of birds, some small animals. A perfect way to start your morning! Overall, we felt it was great value for the money. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, comfortable, excellent location!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We were three adults and a five-year old escaping Phoenix heat in mid August. We were planning to bring our dog with us and were allowed to do so by the owners, but then decided not to. The location of the cabin is excellent. It is close to the downtown, a supermarket is only 5 min. drive away. Yet, it felt very secluded and quiet. No railroad noise whatsoever! The house does not have air conditioning, but the temperatures at the time of our visit were very comfortable 70's, so it didn't matter. The kitchen had all the basics and was very clean, as was the rest of the house. One of the most memorable things about our stay were the walks along the one-mile loop trail which started right at the doorsteps of the cabin. We saw wild flowers, lots of birds, some small animals. A perfect way to start your morning! Overall, we felt it was great value for the money. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable family vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

The description of the location was accurate. It was conveniently located and had a feeling of isolation due to open forest on three sides. The house was clean inside and contained the basics. Wendy was easy to deal with and made the process very easy. Had my wife, son, daughter in law, and two grand daughters (3-7)plus my youngest son showed up with his girlfriend for two nights. We had plenty of room and the place was comfortable. Just put the granddaughters on air mattress in our room. We visited the Grand Canyon and did the Lava Cave hike. The location to area attractions is good. It is an older house and could use a little maintenance in places, could use a couple more glasses, couple of light bulbs needed replacing, tongs for barbecue but we managed well enough. The price for the property was fair and we feel that we certainly got our monies worth. We would stay here again and would recommend this place to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pepper's Rock - rocks!

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

The property was just what we were looking for. Just as the listing says, secluded, but close to Flagstaff. The sleeps 6 is definitely accurate, could easily take a couple more with air mattress provided. Place was clean and ready for us when we arrived. Phone, TV w/cable, fireplace (and a stove), electric cook top and range combo, plus a covered space for your vehicle.

The property is located at the end of a street with easy access to several walking/jogging trails. Grocery stores, restaurants, etc. all within a 5-10 minute drive. Sedona is a 30-40 minute drive south via a beautiful scenic drive down Oak Creek Canyon. North and east, the south rim of the Grand Canyon is a little more than an hour's drive.

The property has lots of pine trees as shown in the photos. You can hear the wind whispering through them when it blows. If some peaceful relaxation is what you are after, this is it! The owners were friendly and accommodating. We are already talking about staying longer next spring.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great, super comfortable cabin

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We loved the house, great location, close to town and snowbowl. Everything was in excellent condition, from tableware to bed linens. We just had a little trouble with the DVD but then figured out that the cables connected to the tv were switched. The owner was out of town but left a person in charge who was very kind. We look forward to be back again! Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to begin re entry

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We stayed here after a 22 day rafting trip.
Comfortable, convenient...perfect

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Flagstaff

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Every thing was great, Beautiful place, well equiped, excellant location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet weekend in cool Flagstaff

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Enjoyed a cool and quiet weekend in Flagstaff. Just what we were looking for, out of the heat of Phoenix where we could go for a jog right out of our front door. The was house was on a street with other houses, in a neighborhood, but it felt secluded like you are in the woods away from civilization. We jogged on a trail through the woods for about 2 miles before turning back, could have gone much further...
Place was nice, had all we needed and then some. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent family vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

The house is incredible, has all you need, it´s in the middle of the pines, the weather, the silence, the darkness at night, we really enjoyed. We saw a lot of stars the sky is so clear, we already saw the milky way. There are many places to visit on an near flagstaff, Sedona, Grand Canyon, Lowell observatory, slide rocks, snow bowl. Go there you´ll love it as my family and I did. Thanks for everything. We hope go back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome time at Pepper's Rock

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

This place was awesome. It had everything we needed, plus more. I would recommend this to everyone and I am sure going back the first chance I get.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, perfect getaway!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. This cabin had everything we needed - plenty of space, beds were extremely comfortable, kitchen more than fully stocked, fast wireless internet and a really good location. It's at the end of the road and very quiet. We slept with the windows open and heard only the breeze in the trees all night! Running/hiking trails right outside your door, and just a few minutes from town. And Alan was the perfect host! We'll definitely be back, and already consider this our "home away from home" when visiting Flagstaff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review