reviews for: listing #10054 - Big Bear Lake, California Cabin rental

Abigail's Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $225 /nt

sort by:

A great family getaway!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Abigail's Cottage! It was very cozy and comfortable. We really appreciated all of the decorating touches that made it feel like a home. Our son loved the bunk beds - a real treat! We also enjoyed the huge TV and collection of DVDs and Blu-rays. The weather was perfect on our stay and allowed us to enjoy a beautiful hike (just a short drive from the cabin) that overlooked the slopes and the lake. Thanks for creating this wonderful home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I really appreciate wonderful guests like your family. I'm so glad you found a great place to hike. My son keeps my DVDs and Blu-rays well stocked! I will tell him how much you enjoyed them. Please come again.....many times!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate Cabin

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We have stayed at many cabin rentals over the years and Abigail's cottage was by far the cleanest and best laid out of all. It was smartly decorated with every convenience available without it being overdone. We brought our own bedding and linens to avoid the linen fee, but we prefer to that anyway.

The kitchen was a little small for doing a a lot of cooking, but we ate out since the best restaurants in Big Bear are very close by. We would recommend Mandarin Garden for Chinese food and Madlon's for amazing French cuisine.

We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I was so appreciative of these guests, who left my cottage so nice. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Big Bear and my Abigail's Cottage. I haven't tried Madlon's Restaurant, but will soon. You are welcome anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Friendly

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

We stayed at the cottage for 2 nights in January and my children loved it!! It was well maintained,cozy and close enough to everything while still maintaing an intimate feel! I am sure we will be back! Thank You!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad these guests enjoyed their visit to my cozy cottage because I try really hard to provide a comfortable experience. I believe this is why I have so many repeat guests and many referrals.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to get away to

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We spent a few days here in August, and had a great time kayaking around the lake, and hiking about. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood and close enough to town to make quick trips to the market. The charcoal grill was nice to have for cookouts and smores. We felt right at home in the cabin, and the WIFI was very convenient to do quick research of local restaurants and attractions. The owner is easygoing and a pleasure to deal with. It was nice to find a place that was clean and didn't smell like dogs. The second bedroom would be a nice place for other guests and children, and the DVD collection offers a wide variety of choices for both adults and children at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy that these guests enjoyed their visit to my cottage. These nice comments are what keep me interested in renting my cottage to nice folks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Everything was described to a tee for the property listing. Our second time there and we will be there again. The wife and i agreed that this would be an ideal second home where it is or on a lake. It's peaceful and quiet in the area and minutes away from the mountians in the rear view and provides a beautiful scene from the kitchen window. We are amazed at how clean and neat the site is , almost as if it was never used. It's only minutes away from the "town" and a short trip down the hill to Redlands and only minutes away from Lake Arrowhead. The accomodations within the cabin are absoutely adequate, Id recommend it to all. AND WE BELIEVE THE PRICE IS MORE THAN FAIR AND WOULD FIT MOST FOLKS BUDGET. The town has a lot to offer and hiking the trails is a ball. I enjoyed the LUMBERJACK CAFE for breakfast and lunch and attractions are as you make it. We visited the WOLF resort and hiked the trails and there are a number of small shops to keep you entertained. 3 hours to San Diego for the Zoo ( a 1-2 day trip depending on your desired drive time ).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy these repeat guests enjoyed their week in my cottage. I strive to provide a pleasant experience and nice decor. I also enjoy staying here myself!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pleasant Cottage Feel

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

The moment we drove up to the cabin, we already had a smile on our faces. The owner definitely tool some pains to create a nice cottage experience. We had 6 people in our party and it fit us comfortably with just the right amount of space for sleeping, dining, and sitting around the living room. The cabin is very well kept and clean. I have bug phobia and I didn't notice 1 bug anywhere. The guys were impressed with the 50 inch TV with the large library of DVD's and the gals were loving the cute touches of the cabin inside and outside. The kitchen was stocked with enough pots, pans, utensils, plates, etc. to cook up a feast. The neighborhood is quiet and good curb appeal for surrounding properties.

The only tip I would recommend is bringing some paper towels. We found 1 roll of paper towels and went through that pretty quickly. Another tip is to bring a wire scrubber for the BBQ grill (sorry, we're a little uptight about dirty grills). The one they had was kind of old and left outside. Other than these minor things, it was a great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm sorry this guest ran out of paper towels, but I thought one roll would last through the two night stay. I have since replaced the wire brush for the BBQ. I make every effort to provide a positive experience in my cozy cottage, so I'm very glad they considered my cottage a 5 star experience!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Hi Phyllis,

I just wanted to send you an email thanking you for providing such a wonderful getaway cabin for us for the New Year's weekend. We forgot to sign the guest book, but had an amazing stay. Thank you as well for the quick return of the security deposit, we would love to visit again. My boyfriend's parents who were visiting from England and are in their late 60's and early 70's had a blast, they had never been to a ski resort and watching the torch parade on New Years was beautiful and then we took them to Snow play and watching their faces as they flew down the mountain on innertubes was priceless!

Thanks again and hope you had a wonderful New Years.
Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Abigail's Cottage

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Abigail's cottage was very warm and cozy. Lots of cute nick-nacks decorating the cabin. Very clean upon arrival and lots of warm blankets for the cold winter. Backyard is nice to sit and relax. Great chose of movies to watch on a great plasma TV. Another TV in master bedroom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We found our new winter home!!! My boys (6 and 9) and niece (8) loved it!! The cottage was cozy, warm and clean!! We will be returning for Christmas '10 and many more.. :)

Owners response: You and your family were terrific guests. It would be a pleasure to have return....many times!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Charming Place...

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

Ownership matters...this cabin shows all the signs of an owner that spends time here and cares about the details. How great to have a 50" plasma set in a cozy cabin - fun DVD selection for our 5 year old and the bunk bed was a hit as well.
Close to the unhurried side of Big Bear and still close enough to the hills - a relaxing getaway for family or couples.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad that my guests enjoyed my cottage. I spend lots of time there myself, both to enjoy it and also to do the maintenance that is necessary to keep it in tip top shape. These type of guests are why I continue to share my cottage with others!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Review submitted: December 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

My husband and I had a very romantic getaway weekend. The cottage cabin was very clean and cozy. We felt like home, and we really enjoyed the fireplace and the 50" Plasma TV. We had such a good time that we are still thinking about the cabin.

Owners response: Thank you so much for visiting my cozy cottage. I hope you come again....many times!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

This was the perfect base of operations for all our Labor Day weekend adventures in Big Bear. We had a great time and the cabin was close to everything we wanted to do. Also, it was great to relax and watch movies on the new plasma TV. People at my office laughed as I spoke of "roughing it" with wifi, DSL, and big screen plasma TV.

Thanks for such a great time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Big Bear Cabin

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Just returned home from your rental cabin, had a great time! It's so cute and charming, we'll be renting again for sure! I would definately recommend your place to other's going to Big Bear!

Owners response: It pleases me to have great guests who really appreciate staying in my cozy cottage. I do hope they come again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

We enjoy your cabin a lot. It's so nice and clean. Our boys like your new bridge across the river. We like your King bed size and all your decolation for summer and winter. We did not see this bed from last year. This cabin must be improved all the time. I promise my family that we will come back again. One of my boys looked so sad when we lefe this cabin!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Thank you for letting my family stay in your cabin. Every time, we stay in your cabin makes us feel comfortable and safe. You improve your cabin all the time. This summer, you put a new bridge across the river in your front garden. It looks so nice. My two young kids enjoy the bridge a lot!!! WE LOVE TO COME BACK SOON.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

What a wonderful cabin! Very clean and cozy. We will be back and we hope to continue a family tradition here at this cabin.

Owners response: It was a pleasure having your family visit Abigail's Cottage. Thank you for taking such good care of it. I hope you come many more times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

loved this home

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

truly loved this little stone home...very cozy, very cleanboth the front and backyard are beautiful...can't wait to go back in the winter time...inside and out is even better than shown on the web...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I was so glad that you enjoyed my cottage and my beautiful garden that was in full bloom for you. Thank you for leaving my cottage for nice and please come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

Very nice cabin. Has all the amenities one needs on a vacation.

Will definitely stay there again!

Owners response: Thank you for leaving my cottage in such nice condition. I would be happy to have your family visit again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Abigail's Cottage! The cottage felt like home away from home....we hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Our winter visit to Abigail's Cottage was terrific! The owner was very responsive and personable. The cottage is furnished in a charming turn of the last century upscaled motif. It was wonderfully comfortable and everything was spotless. The cabin has all amenities and we needed nothing except our food and skiis. This is a pride of ownership properity and I storongly recommend this gold star Big Bear cabin rental.

Owners response: Having wonderful guests like you Bill makes my day! I hope you come again with your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Thank you so very much for our Father's Day weekend in Big Bear in such a welcoming cabin. It was wonderful. Very cozy, cute and nice. Hope to use it again some day!!

P.S. Dear Phyllis: I loved the bunk beds and the old timey desk. You had very nice nick nacks. The blooming poppies...bunkbed was so comfortable. Hope to come again!!! Your guest, seven year old Ava Jackson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We really enjoyed this cabin! Kids loved the bunk beds and the soft toys that came with them. We would definately come back here! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

By far the prettiest cabin! Warm & cozy-location perfect for quiet after a busy day skiing. Thanx! We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

Thank you for the great weekend in your cabin. We will have many fond memories, especially all the snow! The kids loved the bunk beds and everything was cozy. We'll be back next chance we get!
P.S. I loved your cabin. It was a great experience. The snow was great and I hope to come again. Thank you. Kelsey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Our family greatly enjoyed staying in your cozy cottage! It was perfect for a family of five and terrific to come back to after a day on the slopes! We hope to come again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful cabin. We'd come back next year for sure!!! All the thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

Great experience with the snow and good memories of the cabin! Thanks for being part of it all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Once again Abigail's Cabin was our home away from home! Warm, cozy and extremely comfortable. We had a great time skiing and having snow ball fights in the backyard. We're already planning our trip for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review