reviews for: listing #100573 - Nashville, Tennessee House rental

East Nashville 5 points Gem: The Forrest House!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lockeland Springs
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $400 /nt
    $1,850 - $2,600 /wk
    $4,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful House and a great time in East Nashville

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We rented the house at the beginning of July with my husband and son who is 2 ½ years old son in this wonderful part of Nashville that we discovered. The house is in a beautiful neighbourhood, it is so nicely decorated inside. The kitchen is incredible (so wonderfully equipped) and we had the best time cooking in it and preparing and having nice diners at this splendid dining table. (Nearby there is everything including a wonderful organic store and liquor store you can just walk to) We finished our nights with a glass of wine on the swing and started with a coffee with my son sitting right next to me on the same swing. Wonderful family souvenirs! The bathrooms are as well very nicely decorated, just loved everything in the spacey master bedroom upstairs as well. The decoration is unique and beautiful and even gave us ideas for our own home. The area is full of energy, the owner recommended some great places and restaurants nearby where we could walk. The owner welcomed all of the family so nicely, her son even lent some toys to our son during his stay: unbelievable. The owner was helpful during all of our stay if we had a question or asked for a recommendation. We would recommend renting this house to anyone who goes to Nashville. Obviously, it is great for a family and I would go back with friends anytime. You can walk in the neighbourhood, enjoy the lifestyle and discover Nashville from there very easily. We fell in love with the place and we are even keeping in touch with the family. The whole stay was a remarkable experience. Lily

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It's always an added bonus for me when wonderful people stay in my home, love and appreciate it. Lily was awesome and we have stayed in touch! Thanks again for the yummy food you guys prepared and left behind for me!! It was wonderful. Don't be surprised if I show up in Montreal asking for French lessons!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Overpriced for quality/cleanliness of accomodation

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We provided the following feedback to the owner -- we did not receive a response.

First, your home is truly unique and reflects a lot of thought and attention to each decision you made to assemble it’s one-of-a-kind art, furniture and design. It was appreciated by each member in our party of six. Our Thanksgiving meal was prepared in your spacious kitchen which made it a fun. We found the neighborhood to be eclectic and urban – something we enjoyed from our days in the Lincoln Park area of Chicago.

We did find, however, that we also often felt we were just staying “in someone’s home” and not in a rental home in the following ways:

o All rooms had “mood” lighting, and were much too dark for reading or “getting ready”

o There was nowhere that all six of us could sit together(other than at the dining room table) to talk or watch a movie

o The kitchen in particular was very dirty – mouse poop was found on the counters, the kitchen sink itself was filthy/unpolished, all kitchen items were dusty and disorganized.

o While the commune style of a full refrigerator may appeal to some, we found the refrigerator contents and shelves dirty, items expired or opened/half-used (and went way beyond sharing condiments); we threw much stuff out as it was disgusting and there was no room for the Thanksgiving meal items we brought

o Upon arrival we were given one towel per person for a stay of 5 nights! Only upon request did your person provide an allocation of 4 additional towels, we did find a couple of other random towels in one of the bathrooms.

o We couldn’t find any extra blankets (it got quite cold during our stay) or pillows. The downstairs (child’s room) lacked bedding suitable to adults and a get-ready station at the dresser







As owners of rental property ourselves, the items mentioned are very basic. Cleanliness is priority one – if you have a cleaning service, you need to hire a new one. Based on the rate we paid, our conclusion is that you are over charging by $100 per night based on the accommodations provided. We can provide *** (3 stars) for the unique home furnishings, and 0 stars on cleanliness and quality of accommodations expected for the rate paid.

Owners response: There are some things that just aren't for everyone. The initial response I penned was quite verbose, as many of the complaints didn't add up. But in the end, I felt a more brief response was needed.
The most important aspect here, is to look at the response of the other renters and judge for yourself. I will say that when I go to a nice restaurant, order a meal, ingest the entire thing, then complain, it would seen unfair to ask for my money back.
When you have people available to you to "fix" any kind of problem, it's a good idea to take advantage of it instead of bringing it up after the fact.
If I'm not available, I always have an associate available to address any needs should they arise during someone's stay(just as I did then).
This home is the same from renter to renter, however the responses aren't always that way. In the end, negative criticisms usually bode well for future improvements!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

East Nashville home

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Great house! Super owner! Shauna is very nice, super helpful and easy to work with! You can tell right away a lot of time and effort was put in to restoring and decorating this house. We felt at home immediately. Kitchen is huge and well equipped! Master bedroom is very unique. Enormous, but still cozy! We really enjoyed the neighborhood of East Nashville. More crunchy than country. Lots of great restaurants, bars, shops and grocery within a few blocks. We stayed for five days and were extremely comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing home in trendy area of Nashville!!!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

I rented this home for five days (June 20-24, 2012), to enjoy my birthday in Nashville with my girlfriend and two of our close friends. I have traveled to Nashville several times on business and pleasure, but it was the first time for my girlfriend and our friends, so I wanted to stay somewhere comfortable and with a southern feel. Let me say, that is EXACTLY what we found! The home owner is a pleasure to work with and was very responsive throughout the process! She even text me a couple times during our stay, to see if we were enjoying ourselves or if we needed anything. Let me start by saying that the home is even more perfect in person than the pictures here show. The home is quite large, has plenty of space to enjoy, and the kitchen is beyond INCREDIBLE! The living room has a baby grand piano, upon which I was able to display my impressive "chopsticks" skills, lol...as well as a couple acoustic guitars, which was a nice touch. The kitchen is huge and there is a nice dining room table that easily sits six people. The two downstairs bedrooms are very nice and each has it's own private bathroom with shower & tub. The master bedroom is enormous and takes up the entire second floor!! Trust me, space and comfort are in no shortage at this home. The other great aspect of this home was the neighborhood. There is a great bar (Red Door Saloon West) half a block away, as well as a nice pizza-style restaurant and bar. The area is trendy and has all the necessities close by. Also, it is a quick five minute drive to downtown Nashville, with easy access to all of the keys areas around town. I cannot say enough good things about this home, from the owner, to the neighborhood, to the home itself. I would highly recommend staying here, as I'm sure I will be staying there again soon! If you are looking for a comfortable, upscale, trendy home with a southern flare to rent in Nashville, you need to stay here...you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, what an awesome first review. How can that be topped?! Thank you so much, and I so look forward to having you all here again. P.S. Happy belated birthday!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review