reviews for: listing #100625 - Chautauqua Lake, New York Cottage rental

Bonnybrook Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $750 /wk
    $2,800 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

This cottage is cozy,comfortable, and you can clearly see the love and thought that went into making it a home. Bonnie and John are two of the nicest people we've met and they have absolutely thought of everything from covering a portion of the back deck so regardless of the weather you can still enjoy the brook and the view, to an abundance of firewood, to the games supplied to get back to having quality family time. The Hot tub was amazing and we used it several times, which was fantastic after a morning of hunting in the woods.

They left us a bottle of tasty local wine with a wonderful havarti cheese with dill (my new favorite) as well as coffee for the morning. We took Bonnie's advice on visiting some of the local wineries (Noble and Johnson) and stopped to view lake Erie which is amazing! I have to say that most of time i just wanted to sit in front of the fireplace and enjoy the serenity of the moment with a glass of wine.

From the trails to the stocked pond it didn't even matter to us that it did rain all week it's a perfect place that i fell in love with the moment we arrived! We've already booked two more weeks this year and will be returning year after year as long as they will have us!

I would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

Thank you so much Bonnie and John!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: This little house in the woods has been a refuge for family and friends since it was built in 1929. We have been fortunate to be able to keep it in the family since then and we truly enjoy sharing it's many wonderful qualities with others. Our guests have been some of the nicest people you could hope to meet and many of them have become friends who return each year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice to Be Back

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our week at the cottage so much last year that we decided to come back again. Like before, everything we needed was provided and we had no troubles whatsoever. Such an amazing place to relax and unwind, and the weather was nice. Days spent enjoying the outdoors, evenings in the hot tub and star gazing. The leaves were just starting to show a hint of color as the seasons changed. On the cooler nights there was plenty of firewood to enjoy a fire. Bonnie and John will do everything they can to ensure your comfort and enjoyment! They don't miss any detail to make the cottage feel like home for you. Thanks for another wonderful visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Cottage with Amazing Hosts

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

First of all, Bonnie and John are amazing. They treat as you are a family member. My girlfriend and I stayed from Sept. 26. - Sept 29th. It was the pefect time to see the fall colors starting to show.

The cabin was nice and cozy and very clean for being a cabin. The fireplace was great to sit and relax by. They provided everything you need to make you stay enjoyable. There is even a washer and dryer if you want to do some laundry before you head home.

The land and pond were great. There is plenty of hiking trails that are real easy to walk on. My one piece of advice would to wear hiking boots/shoes or an old pair of sneakers. Some of the trails were a little wet but still hikable. I saw a couple small mouth bass and plenty of blue gil in the pond if your kids want to go fishing. There was also a rope swing and zipline there too.

The location is perfect. It is out in the woods, but real easy to find. But it is close enough to everything else to make it very convienent.

Thank You Bonnie and John for an amazing vacation. It was just want I needed. We will definetly be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything we hoped for and more!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of renting John and Bonny's cottage for the week of August 26th - Sept. 2, 2013. What a wonderful time we had, very relaxing and extremely homey! It reminded me of my childhood and spending time at my grandma's house in PA. Everything we needed was supplied. All we had to do was bring our food and we were set to go. Our daughter and her family joined us for the last weekend and we simply had a fun, family-filled time. Our grandson, only 16 mths. just loved running freely on the well maintained grounds. Even our dog, Sam, enjoyed himself swimming in the pond and running freely. Thank you, John and Bonny for sharing this wonderful cottage with the rest of us! We will definately be making a return visit in the near future....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing time

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

family visit from Maryland and California, what a great time we had from day one till the end. great people with a wonderful cabin in the woods, fires at night and the hot tub to top it off, caught lots of fish in the pond. released them all in hopes of catching them again next year. for sure we will make a repeat visit, thanks john and bonny, you made our moms mothers day one to remember

Owners response: These are the things that we enjoy about the cottage also, and we are delighted to share the experience with people who appreciate the quiet,relaxing beauty of the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bonnybrook Getaway from Heaven

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful, peaceful cottage. The owners go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The environment is so peaceful with every detail attended to. You can wake up in the morning in the loft bedroom and look out and watch a large grey squirrel jump 6 feet to a feeder from a tree and land on the feeder for his breakfast. The hot tub was a wonderful addition for every family member. The trails through the wooded areas are fun and refreshing. The fire place and wood stove create a wonderful warm ambience.
We received the warmest welcome with a fire in the fireplace, cheese and crackers and wonderful wine waiting for us. The owners also provided coffee that lasted the whole week. Way above and beyond. We plan to make this trip from Wyoming every year to stay at this quaint cottage for a peaceful break from our busy lives. Thank you for sharing your wonderful cottage with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The quiet peacefulness and beauty that only nature can provide are present at the cottage in all seasons, and it's wonderful to share it with people who enjoy the surroundings as much as we do

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy place for couples and families

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We arrived at the property greeted by John and Bonnie with a fire burning, wine chilling and cheese/crackers served. (they even gave our dog a bag of treats and welcomed her into their home with open arms) I cant describe the property better than saying it has a little bit of everything for everyone. Trails for walking thru the woods, a grassy yard for playing outdoor games, a stream that you can hear from the deck, a lake for fishing/swimming/skating, & firepit right next to the lake for the starry nights. Unfortunately, we arrived to 8" of snow on the ground so we could not enjoy most of the outdoor things. What we could in fact enjoy was all the things offered indoors. They seemed to have thought of everything. Everything you need is there. From the original fireplace, to the soothing hot tub; the bag of tasty coffee to the split wood for the fire. This cottage takes you back to simpler times when you could enjoy each other and your family together, but if you opt to watch a movie or listen to XM music while playing 1 of many board/card games there, you can do that too. Like I said, this place a little bit of everything you would want for a couple or family. It is also very close to Chautauqua Lake activities. Thanks again Bonnie and John. Lisa, Myself and Corona(bark-bark) want to thank you for a great weekend. We will be back soon this time when the snow is gone.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect quiet getaway

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

The cottage was beautiful. we really appreciated all the xtra touches. They really seemed to have thought of everything. The wine, cheese, and coffee special was great. We loved the fireplace and all that all the wood was provided for us.

It was great to warm up in the hot after being outdoors.

The property is beautiful with the pond and lots of trails. It was fun to watch the birds and squirrels out the windows. It was just what we were looking for as a quiet getaway to celebrate our anniversary.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always wonderful to hear how others appreciate and enjoy our very own little "slice of heaven" in beautiful western New York State.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Winter Getaway

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We stayed at Bonnybook for our 5th anniversary and had a fantastic time! The cottage was quaint and had everything we needed. We were stocked up with wood, and enjoyed the cheese, crackers, and wine upon arrival. Gorgeous town and lots to see in the local area. We spent hours walking the snowy trails and surrounding areas with the dogs and had a blast! Definitely coming back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The privacy and beauty of Bonny Brook make it magical in any season....our family has been enjoying it for four generations and we hope that your family will make many pleasant memories here also!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Honey Moon

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We arrived on Sunday and spent the next 6 days in heaven. We loved how warm and cozy the cottage was and the awesome deck out back. It was so relaxing watching the birds and squirrels feed on the feeder and the view was amazing. It was so nice and quiet and the hot tub was great to get in and relax. It was just cool enough to enjoy the fireplace, nothing better than a cozy fire to warm the room,and the wood was all provided,along with everything we needed to feel right at home. They,John and Bonnie thought of everything and their arrival gifts of wine and cheese was perfect. We enjoyed our stay so much we are making plans to return next year.if you love quiet days relaxing and enjoy the outdoors the Bonnie Brook cottage is what you are looking for.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had a great time during our week at BonnyBrook! We had no problems and everything we needed was available. The cottage is cozy and comfortable. We had fun fishing, swimming in the pond, exploring the well-marked trails, relaxing in the hot tub and watching the birds and cute red squirrels and chipmunks. The night sky out there was breathtaking fulk of endless stars. Living near the city I have not seen that many stars in years! The nearby town of Bemus Point is very cute with a great view of Chautauqua Lake. We were cozy on the cooler nights with a fire going and sitting on the very comfy couch, watching TV and there were plenty of DVDs and books for entertainment as well as board games. Bonnie and John were great hosts and because everything was explained to us and amenities available we did not need to contact them during our stay and we did not have any problems. We are likely to come again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Stay

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

Since we grew up in the area and wife lived only miles away at one time, we were taken back at this great retreat--in a great setting--at a beautiful time of the year (mid September). Our cocker spaniel enyoyed the red squirrels and chipmunks that visited the spacious back deck with a great senic view. This location was convenient to Lakewood, Jamestown and all around the Lake without traffic problems. Minor problems dealt with instant resolve. Close to internet service at the local library (real nice staff). You will be glad you choose this
facility---we were.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: The BEST part of renting our wonderful place is meeting all of the wonderful people from all around the country!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Heaven

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Very relaxing and enjoyed by all including our guests. The lake and games kept all the kids busy while the adults enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful deck. The cottage was clean, cozy and comfortable. Any thing you needed Bonnie and John made sure it was there.
As soon as we pulled up, all we could think of was a beautiful swedish cottage with all the beautiful flowers. Relaxing on the deck we were entertained by all kinds of birds, hummingbirds, squirrels, chipmunks even saw deer and wild turkeys. We are so pleased that we found this place and want to thank Bonnie and John for sharing it with us. We will be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The cottage is OUR favorite retreat and we hope that it will be YOURS also!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Top Notch Cottage and Amennities

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Where do we begin? This is a wonderful cottage with awesome amenities and is run by really great people. My wife and three young daughters loved it all!

We hiked the on-premise trails and swam, paddled, and fished at the pond. We enjoyed the hot tub and bird-watching on the large deck, playing the supplied outdoor games, and sitting at the campfire.

This cottage is very clean. It has all that you need for cooking in the kitchen or grilling out. The temperature range during our visit allowed us to be comfortable with use of the fireplace (with supplied starter and wood) and the furnace at night. Sleeping arrangements are quite nice. Our kids loved the loft!

Bonnie and John were very personable and really cared that we enjoyed our stay in every way possible. It is easy to tell that they spent many wonderful times here themselves with their own family and invited us in as "family" as well even though they did not know us. That said, they were readily available if needed, but in no way intrusive. We talked to them at booking, check-in, and once during the week because they wanted to make sure that our trash was taken care of. This stay was for us and they wanted it to be as peaceful as it could be. It was. Thank you, Bonnie and John!

Sincerely,
Mark and family

P.S. We had never been to the Chautauqua area. There is a lot to do away from the cottage. If you have small kids, I recommend the resonably-priced amusement park and free ferry across the lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It is wonderful to know that guests like the cottage as much as our family loves it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the best !

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

perfect setting, very nice cottage...it is really a home. very clean well kept

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Our home is your home....we look forward to sharing it with you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Ultimate Relaxation

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

My husband, mother, sister and myself throughly enjoyed our stay at Bonnybrook Cottage. We loved the seclusion and quietness of the area. The cottage was spacious but cozy, and we appreciated the amenities. We loved the hot tub! It was relaxing sitting on the deck in the evening listening to the brook and wildlife. One morning we saw a hawk on the deck railing. We had fun using the zip line and swimming in the pond, and sitting around a campfire my sister built one night. It was enjoyable riding our bicycles around the area and a good work-out too. Bemus Point is a quaint town with good restarants and shops.
We will come back again if we get the chance. Thank you Bonnie and John for sharing your cottage with us and making us feel at home. We were happy to be the first ones to rent it.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's easy to be a good host when you have such wonderful guests!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review