reviews for: listing #100798 - Austin, Texas House rental

Charming Country Ranch House, Family Friendly
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $210 /nt
    $525 - $1,475 /wk
    $1,820 - $1,820 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful and Beautiful

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

Our stay was awesome. Everyone loved it!! Our only complaint was, we didn't want to leave. The master bedroom's bed was so comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed, even extras. Ana was so gracious and accommodating by also having a bowl full of apples and snacks in refrigerator. Ana and Robert provided great customer service. We were able to go to enjoy the great bar-b-que in Lockhart for dinner, then go to the river in San Marcos another day, and then enjoy San Antonio the next
day. We cannot wait to be able to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such a cute, clean house.

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

Anna was extremely helpful with answering questions and giving directions before our stay. The house was clean and cute, with everything we could need from towels, to sheets, to blankets, to crackers and cheese, to beer, water, tea and fresh eggs!!! We enjoyed our stay very much and my cousin especially enjoyed bonding with The Wagners' dogs!!

Owners response: So glad you and your cousins enjoyed the stay! We also have a wonderful time with our dogs and the latest addition to our K9 family 'Elle', is settling in quite nicely. We look forward to a return visit from ya! Stay safe, the wagner's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have been better!

Review submitted: August 1, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

We had a great time at the ranch house. My kids loved it so much they didn't want to leave! It's such a peaceful place to be and it just feels like home. It was extremely clean and just about anything you would need is there. Robert and Brittany were very accommodating and helpful. We visited Lockhart, Austin, and San Antonio...San Marcos and Greune too. Everything is a short drive away and there is so much to do. We will definitely be back again!

Owners response: We're delighted ya enjoyed your stay at the ranch. Thank you and we look forward to seeing ya again! Stay safe, The Wagner's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightfully peaceful

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

Staying at the ranch house was one of my better travel decisions. Everything about the house was perfect, from the cleanliness and hospitality of the owners, to the size of the rooms and availability of items that made our stay more comfortable. We stayed at the ranch house 5 nights. During that time we made 2 day trips to San Antonio and one to College Station. We also visited San Marcos several times, the Austin airport a few times, and made a trip into Austin to eat at one of our favorite Tex-Mex places. In addition, we enjoyed BBQ in Lockhart one evening and LOVED it!

The 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms, plus extra twin day-bed and full-size sofabed, accommodated additional sleepers in our family on different nights. The kitchen, fully stocked, allowed us to prepare meals as we needed. And, prior to our arrival the owners stocked up on snacks and drinks to our liking and provided fresh eggs and coffee,

We were provided our own door key and gate access remote for secure access and safety. In addition, free and secure wifi, TV with satellite/cable, and all the books, games, and movies meant our stay was just that much easier.

We loved the ranch house and all of its surroundings, including the very friendly dogs, chickens,cattle, and horses.

If you're in the area, be smart and stay here. We definitely will stay again!

Owners response: We're so glad you and your family enjoy your stay! Especially that everyone was confortable and felt at home here at our ranch! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing ya again.
stay safe, the wagner's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

This was by far the best house/hotel stay that I or my friends have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Robert went above and beyond any notions I previously held on how courteous and helpful a person could be. There isn't enough space to write how amazing the place was and how many ways they accommodated us much more than is even described on this site. We plan to stay here again in the near future even if to only enjoy the scenic landscape of the farm, all of his animals (especially his 5 dogs who we all loved), and Robert's wonderful hosting. Austin was our original main attraction, but I think we fell in love with the property even more than our original purpose of making the Trek to Texas.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words! The pleasure was ours...we look forward to your next visit to our Country Ranch House : )
robert & anna

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Exceeded Expectations - Highly Recommended

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. The house was warm and welcoming, very clean and tidy with everything you could possibly need. Location wise it was excellent - peace, quite and lovely views, without being too far away from the nearest town. Anna and Robert were really friendly and helpful. This was the first time we had visited Texas from the UK, the purpose of which was to spend Christmas with our daughter who is studying at UT. Anna and Robert made us all feel really welcome putting up lovely Christmas decorations. Made our Christmas really special. Anna and Robert really went the extra mile, not only did they provide food and drink on our arrival (and during our stay), but they also provided us with a Christmas meal. Lovely, lovely hosts, couldn't ask for better. I have to mention the dogs. They had to be the friendliest, most well behaved dogs I have ever come across. Sad to leave it all behind and hope we can revisit one day soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spoil Yourself!

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, the house was cosy and comfortable. It was fully equipped for any occasion even emergency's, great thought and planning by Anna! Bob and Anna were the best of hosts, welcoming and friendly, we had a beautiful plate of food and drinks ready for us when we arrived. They were so helpful with lending us a Sat Nav and with giving us information about the area. The ranch is perfect, peace and quiet, lovely views. The dogs are wonderful and perfectly behaved with children, my grandaughter aged 9 and grandson aged 5 played with them everyday, they cried when we left, especial over leaving Phin and Pearl. I would recommend this place for anyone of any age who wants to be spoilt a little in the Texas country. We will definately try to visit yall again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The most homey and friendly place ever!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Anna and Robert are the nicest peeople in the world. Their "little house" is so warm and welcoming. We stayed with them while our house was in the closing process and even thru the stress of that it was so nice to stay at such a nice place.

The ranch and all the animals are fantastic my son had a great time exploring and meeting all the animals. I am very glad to have meet them and am glad that I have made some new friends. I highly recommend staying at the ranch!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely would recommend.

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Wonderful place and owners. Robert and Anna are above average property owners/host and made us feel very welcomed. I have already recommended their property to friends coming over the holidays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best guest house around!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay near the Austin area, look no further! All of the amenities one needs are right here. This place is perfect for many different types of guests including couples to families with small children. For those who have families, some books and toys are already there and there are many different tv stations available for children of all ages. For those seeking a romantic getaway, there is a beautiful porch and rockers to sit on and the scenery is wonderful. For those who love animals, look no further! The friendly dogs love to greet you and definitely do not mind any love you give them. There are chickens, cows, cats, horse, dogs, and even a donkey! I haven't even revealed the best part. The owners of the property, Anna and her husband, keep a very tidy guest house and are very kind and friendly. There was a nice size cheese and fruit platter waiting for us when we arrived along with a dozen fresh eggs. While this may not seem like a big deal, I had only made the reservation that morning! The second day, Anna brought over some fresh, sliced watermelon. My girls devoured it! We will definitely be staying here the next time we need to come to Austin!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We found the perfect vacation home for our family!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Truly a charming country ranch home! A beautiful home with beautiful landscapes and views! A very peaceful place to relax! Example: my husband dozed off in the lounge chair on the back deck, while the kids played in the yard, within 15 minutes of our arrival.

The home was more spacious than we were anticipating, with plenty of room for our family to spread out and enjoy.

The home is very well maintained outside and in. Very well kept indeed! And clean! Very clean! I was very impressed! The home has all the amenities you would need on your vacation and all the appliances are newer and in good working order. The home is completely air conditioned - pleasant in the southern sun. And the showers have good water pressure.

A very special thank you to the owners. They are the reason this home is so very special!

Our vacation was last minute but the owners made it stress free for us by replying to our inquiry promptly and calling to confirm the details.

We were instantly pleased with our decision and even more so when we pulled up to the beautiful ranch.

The owner was just putting the finishing touches on the home as we pulled up and welcomed my family and showed my kids to the beautiful fenced-in backyard. Such a wonderful owner for making us all feel so at home! And all of the special fishing touches... Is that southern hospitality?

Thank you so much for all the little things you did to make our stay so very special!

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer and enjoy the beautiful ranch even more!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Property is bigger than the photos show you. We stayed here for a week and could have stayed forever! The Wagner's are very hospitable and the farm animals quite engaging! The surrounding area's are quite easy to get to and even the bigger cities : Austin, San Antonio etc just a short drive away also. The guest house is super cute and very comfortable, you won't lack for anything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Property is bigger than the photos show you. We stayed here for a week and could have stayed forever! The Wagner's are very hospitable and the farm animals quite engaging! The surrounding area's are quite easy to get to and even the bigger cities : Austin, San Antonio etc just a short drive away also. The guest house is super cute and very comfortable, you won't lack for anything!

Owners response: thank you for the nice review. most appreciated. your wrap is on the way, i mailed it out yesterday. Best regards to all.
robert, anna & all our critters

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Farmhouse Vacation!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

My family & I stayed at this ranch house in April 2013. We could not have asked for more gracious & welcoming hosts! Their guesthouse is in such a peaceful & beautiful area. We were greeted each evening after we came home after a busy day by their friendly dogs. Our two girls had such a wonderful time waking up each morning to the sounds of the farm & playing each evening with the dogs & talking to the cows, horses, donkey, & chickens. They have made their home such a great place for families as there were children's books, blocks, & a tire swing which my girls thoroughly enjoyed! My husband & I really enjoyed the wonderful platter of goodies upon our arrival & the morning of our departure along with all the other items stocked in the fridge & cupboards :) THANK YOU for the BEST vacation home experience we've ever had!!! If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful place to stay filled with Texas history & gracious hosts while also being close to Austin, I would HIGHLY recommend this ranch home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Farmhouse Vacation!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

My family & I stayed at this ranch house in April 2013. We could not have asked for more gracious & welcoming hosts! This ranch house is in such a peaceful & beautiful area. We were greeted each evening after we came home after a busy day in Austin by their adorable dogs. Our two girls had such a wonderful time waking up each morning to the sounds of the farm & playing each evening with the dogs & talking to the cows, horses, donkey, & chickens. They have made their home such a great place for families as there were children's books, blocks, & a tire swing which my girls thoroughly enjoyed! My husband & I really enjoyed the wonderful platter of goodies upon our arrival & the morning of our departure along with all the other items stocked in the fridge & cupboards :) THANK YOU for the BEST vacation home experience we've ever had!!! If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful place to stay filled with Texas history & gracious hosts while also being close to Austin, I would HIGHLY recommend this ranch home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing time

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Good Morning,
 
I wanted to personally say that we had an amazing time on your property. All of my party enjoyed the dogs…I think one person even “adopted” them for the duration of our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great hospitality

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the great hospitality. We truly enjoyed our stay at your place. The kids loved the animals! It's nice not staying in a hotel when you have a large family as we do. Also, thank you for sending the stuffed animal back. We will keep your info for the next time we would like to stay in the area. Thanks so much! P.S. The breakfast was all so delicious! :)
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Stars

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 11 days while on vacation. We were a total of 6...2 adults, 3 teenagers and one child. So we needed a place to accomidate us. With exception of the pull-out couch's matress, everything was just perfect. Plenty of space for everyone and the kids loved being around the animals, especially their very friendly dogs (2 big and 2 small). The small dogs pretty much lived with us when we were at the house. Our girls wanted them to be inside and the owners didn't mind.

The owners are just fantastic. When they found out that we were going to buy a GPS, they loaned us theirs for the duration of our stay, even though we were out of town for several days.
We arrived on New Years Eve, and they had Cheese and Wine waiting for us! An apple pie in the fridge, some beers, and liquor in the cabinet.
Everything we needed for our stay (toiletries, washing detergent, hair dryer, coffee etc.) was already there for our convenience.

We were also suprised with muffins one morning and coffee cake on another!

We would strong recommend this place for anyone staying around the Austin area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

My husband, four year old daughter and I came to Austin for the formula one race. We were very happy with the property and the owners. The property is just as described and the owners treated us more like family than renters. The house is very roomy and larger than expected, but still felt cozy. The owners provided a variety of movies, books and games for entertainment. My daughter really appreciated the children's books. The bed in the master bedroom is extra comfy and provided a great nights sleep. The guest house is far enough from the main house that you have your privacy. The property feels very secure and the car park is a good size.

We could not have chosen a better location. The drive into Austin was easy and quick. We also had a smooth drive to the Circuit of the America's parking lot. We were able to avoid most of the traffic due to the location of the house.

Lockhart is a quaint town and we recommend going for an afternoon to see the sights and eat some BBQ at Blacks. Best brisket and pecan pie we've had in years.

We'd return in a heartbeat and highly recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't Be Happier

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

My husband, four year old daughter and I came to Austin for the formula one race. We were very happy with the property and the owners. The property is just as described and the owners treated us more like family than renters. The house is very roomy and larger than expected, but still felt cozy. The owners provided a variety of movies, books and games for entertainment. My daughter really appreciated the children's books. The bed in the master bedroom is extra comfy and provided a great nights sleep. The guest house is far enough from the main house that you have your privacy. The property feels very secure and the car park is a good size.

We could not have chosen a better location. The drive into Austin was easy and quick. We also had a smooth drive to the Circuit of the America's parking lot. We were able to avoid most of the traffic due to the location of the house.

Lockhart is a quaint town and we recommend going for an afternoon to see the sights and eat some BBQ at Blacks. Best brisket and pecan pie we've had in years.

We'd return in a heartbeat and highly recommend this property to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review