reviews for: listing #100862 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

From $49Night!WOW!!-Sleeps 6!HotTub/Whirlpool/ArcadeMachine
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $125 /nt
    $450 - $750 /wk

sort by:

Winter Vacation Bliss!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

Great place to cuddle up and enjoy the nice snow and mountain setting! Fireplace kept us summer warm, arcade kept our son thrilled and we enjoyed the hot tub. I cant say enough good things about how easy the owner was to communicate with, also the on site maintenance team was awesome !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Cabin

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

This is a very nice cabin. Comfortable for 4 adults and 1 child. Everything was as described and it was just as we expected. We only had one problem while there and it was that the toilet was loose from the floor. I contacted maintenance & it was fixed with no problem. Would definitely stay here again. Quiet location and convenient to PF and Gatlinburg. Even got to see some nice wildlife from the porch.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Samantha, Thank you for sharing your cabin experience with us, we are so happy you found everything you needed for your stay. Hope to hear from you again soon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First time cabin renters, AMAZING!!!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

This place feels like home. The only problem we had was that I could not figure out how to turn on the shower instead of the bath. I called the maintainence man who quickly called the owners and got back to me in 3 minutes. Reception was a little difficult to get but what do you expect?! We are in the woods :) my husband and I were very happy with the rental. We WILL be renting here again! Very affordable and beautiful! I don't care about spiders and spider webs, we wiped them off and they were back the next day. Like I said, it's the woods so creepy crawlers are to expected. Really great cabin! Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Leah we are so happy you enjoyed Chocolate Bear and look forward to hearing from your in the future, We do value our guests comments & concerns.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Cabin was very clean and comfortable. It is best suited, in my opinion, to younger or abled body people. It does have steep stairs and a very angled drive way & the hot tub is extremely heavy. It would also help to add a step later of some kind for the hot tub. I'm 5"2" and had some dificulty getting in. Luckily a went when my arthritis was not bothering me. It is super easy to find and extremely close to everything. I would stay at this cabin again and would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Telia Thank You for staying with us in Chocolate Bear and happy you enjoyed yourself. We do value our guests comments & concerns and will look into a step for the Hot Tub

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

mountain bliss!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

Couldnt have asked for a better vacation spot. Right in the center of pigeon forge and gatlinburg. Easy booking, and great communication with owners. Highly reccomended. Cant wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

I absolutely loved this cabin it was very clean, cozy, and everything was in working order. The beds was very comfortable except for the pull out, it is worn and the springs are broken. The hot tub was nice but the cover was pretty heavy but easily removed with two people. The cabin was easy to find and as the previous reviews stated the driveway is up hill, I just pulled my car up into the driveway next to ours and backed up to ours, I found it easier especially with having an infant and toddler. There is also 3 sets of stairs to go up to get to the front door so i suggest to pack light. When I get the chance I will definitly return.

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your visit with us, we do value your comments & concerns. Yes there are several steps, We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and relaxing stay

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

Our stay here was very nice, except for a few minor things. The wifi did not work which was a bit of a problem due to some work emails that needed to be answered during our stay (there isn't really any phone service either up in the mountains so couldn't use my own Internet either). The driveway was very steep and awkward to get up to but this was expected due to previous reviews. The hot tub outside was nice but could of been hotter.. And the cover was very heavy. Also the cabin looked a lot smaller than in pictures... Overall though we had a very nice stay and everything was clean and worked. We would definitely stay here again :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathryn. We are happy you enjoyed the cabin, we apologize the WiFi was not getting to signal to the cabin, We value our guests comments & concerns. Hope to hear from you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this cabin. It was a great location and very nice. Very spacious for two people! We will be back this year and may rent again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your enjoyable time with us, hope to hear from you in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great snowy getaway

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay. Our time at the cabin was good. We were there during a bad snowstorm which made the fireplace and hot tub very nice. We found the cabin to be exactly as described. The location is good, the driveway is steep but nothing our 4wd vehicle couldn't handle even with the snow. The cabin does have steps as mentioned but not bad at all. We found everything was in working order and the cabin is very cozy. Its definitely a bargain considering we have paid much more for less of a cabin. My only recommendation would be better sheets and a mattress cover because they are thin and worn..but nothing major..we definitely would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dena thanks for sharing your family's experience and we are so happy you found everything you needed and the cabin was in order. Thanks for your input on the sheets & mattress pads, we strive to give our guests the Best of the Smokeys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall Good

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Overall we had a great trip, however there were a few issues. Some were minor but others were not. 1) video game had no sound and joystick would not move properly 2) hot tub cover is VERY heavy, even with 2 adults lifting 3) parking spot is VERY steep, we found it easiest to back into the street and then gun it up the driveway 4) water slowed to a small trickle when we returned our 2nd night. We were able to brush our teeth but couldn't take a shower or wash dishes. Overall we had a great time and these were minor inconveniences for US, but I wanted others to be aware.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice time, but a few things to heed....

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

We had a nice time, but there are a few things you need to know before going in.

Most importantly, there's black mildew and gray mold spores on the windows and doors. We developed sore throats and congestion the first morning which went away when we left, so allergy sufferers beware.

Secondly, it's a heat pump with no backup, so if you're there in winter, it's going to be very cold when you get up or return from outings. Each night was 70, each am was 58. It takes a few hours for the gas fireplace to warm it up.

There are 28 steps up, unevenly spaced and made of rock fragments. Very pretty, but NOT for the unsteady. There IS a rail going all the way up. The driveway is QUITE steep, with no flat space at the top. There are two large, heavy rocks on the side of the drive: use them for under your tires, especially if it's snow/ice.

Beds: The upstairs one is quite noisy and firm. The master pillowtop is comfy, but has a number of stains, no pad, very thin, see-through sheets. Most pillows had numerable stains. We brought our own linens, matt pad, pillows and blankets, and were we glad! The covers are thin; only 1 extra blanket and 1 bedspread. If you're using more than one bed and you're visiting in the winter, you'll need extra covers.

The floor is COLD. There are no rugs downstairs and no mats in the bathroom. Bring slippers. Throws are nice to have in winter.

Towels are okay but washcloths are small and thin. Bring large towels for the hot tub. The hot tub had a musty smell, but we thought it was the cover which is old and worn out. It's heavy, floppy, and has no handles; very difficult to maneuver. The tub's large and warm , though. You can turn off the lights and look at the stars.

The vid game joystick doesn't go up/down, so games like pacman are out. Many others that you CAN play. The air hockey doesn't work well: the puck sticks and we got frustrated. Kids would probably like it.

There is 1 book, no games or dvd's, so bring your own. Cable and wifi worked perfectly.

There are mini blinds but no curtains so bring a sleep mask if light bothers you at night.

Extra's we found useful: 1 good pot and 1 large frying pan. The ones there are shot. Favorite utensils and knives, tea towels, sponge, aluminum foil, drinking water (cabin's smells like sulfur), cookie sheet, paper products, detergents, and grill utensils if using that.

Just remember the price, relax, and enjoy this cute little cabin.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This vacation cabin was a great pick on our part. We had our family 5 and found plenty of space but not to big. The hot tub was always nice and hot, we enjoyed having a whirlpool inside also, the steps are not that bad and we were told they did have steps outside prior to renting in the vrbo page. The wifi worked well and having premium cable was a plus!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Location - Fun For Our Family!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Great location in mountains but roads are easy to drive and not to crazy or steep! Cabin was set up great for a couple OR small family, it sleeps up to 6 with no problem. The arcade game was a hit with our kids, it was nice to have a full kitchen so we could cook in and enjoy family time! Will hopefully be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Rental Cabin Yet!

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Third time visitor to the Sky Harbor area and this is the best rental cabin yet! Owners were super easy to communicate with, quick to respond! Cabin was in great shape, yes driveway is steep but it is the mountains and they told us that up front, its really not bad at all! plenty of space for our family of 6 and we would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin and great vacation

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

I rented this cabin for a weekend getaway. The cabin was exactly as described. Great place to stay! Had a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone looking for a nice cabin rental. Online reservations made renting a breeze.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ronald Thank you for sharing your weekend getaway with us, so glad you enjoyed the cabin, Hope to hear from you soon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cabin is nice but gross!!!!

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

When I first arrived I realized the driveway is very steep we had to park in between our drive way and the neighbors ( thank god there wasn't anyone beside us) the cabin is very cute. However I walked into the bathroom and the toilet was disgusting and stained Cobb webs on the light fixtures dirty mirror. The floors are buckled. The mattress in the downstairs bedroom is so squeaky and uncomfortable. The hot tub is amazing but does need a new cover. When I got a pot out of the cabinet my hand was covered in oil. If you are planning to cook at the cabin bring your own things. The pans are rusted and there's barely in pots and the can opener is broken. I did contact the owner about the dirtiness and was told to call maintenance as I was only there for a few days I didn't want to be bothered. It should have been clean before since I have to pay a cleaning fee. Will never return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Christmas Stay

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We had a great stay here. The kids enjoyed the hot tub and arcade. Great greataway for the holidays. Location was close to town. Only thing we didnt really enjoy was the parking..and dont use gps to get there (it'll take you around the mountain). Otherwise we had a pleasant stay. Thank you for keeping it up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for sharing your fun family vacation with us, yes you are right GPS can be tricky, we always recommend Google address as a back up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place but looks can be deceiving

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay but the pictures make it look a whole lot bigger. The fireplace was great the TV's were nice (couldn't get the closed captioning off the upstairs TV) and the games were fun to play. Note 27 steps to reach the front door. Needs some work with the cobwebs up on the windows and higher areas. Was just a short drive to all the attractions in Gatlinburg, but because of the short drive there were no views from the cabin. Make sure you bring your own toilet paper (one roll provided) For the price, you can't beat it. A very nice place to just get away and relax or enjoy Gatlinburg.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Cozy Cabin in a Great Location!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

First, the cabin is very easy to locate (via their directions) and is in a wonderful location between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It had snowed just a few days before our arrival and the drive up to the cabin was beautiful! The driveway is steep and a hard left turn off the main road. We were in a Dodge Mega Cab truck and had to pull into the "neighbors" side and back in. If you have a large vehicle like that there is only room for 1 to park. For the 2 of us the cabin was a great size - I imagine it would be a bit more cozy with any more adults - I also don't know where they would sit in the living or dining rooms. As far as paper goods, there is a new roll of TP and paper towels as well as the remainder of whatever was left to get you started. There was also 2 new bars of soap & a dishwashing packet. I brought my own towels to use so I can't comment on the quality of the bath towels. As mentioned previously the sofa has been replaced & the furniture rearranged and it was a little difficult to crane your neck up to watch the TV. Our biggest complaint was the downstairs bedroom mattress. It was VERY loud and creaky. One couldn't turn over without waking up the other. I brought my own pillows to use and was glad b/c the ones there are quite stained (noticed when I stripped bed for check-out). I sat on the bed in the loft when we were leaving and that mattress didn't make any noise like the one downstairs. Our only other complaint was it smelled a bit musty in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom. The flooring was buckled as though there had been water damage & smelled a little sour. There were a lot of cobwebs - in the bathroom light fixture, living room, & kitchen. I also agree that even though it was clean, the toilet seat lid was pretty gross looking & discolored. The hot tub is very nice and fairly private considering it's facing 2 roads, but I would suggest a new cover with handles as it is very hard (and heavy) to take on and off - especially in 20 degree weather when you are wet and freezing! =) We did not use the kitchen or upstairs at all, but the kitchen seemed to be stocked with the essentials. Although this cabin is on a corner lot, we were not bothered by the traffic noise - hardly heard anything. There are quite a few steps outside so if you have knee problems or small children I would be aware of that beforehand. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay in this unit again - it is a bargain after all!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy , Great Location, Super Clean, Very New Finishes!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

This cabin is NOT your normal "tired worn out cabin" we have stayed in plenty of those! This cabin was in like new condition, furniture was super comfy, loved having the arcade game, hot tub we all enjoyed and found the cabin to be spacious. The location is great as its a short ride to PF or GB.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pics are not accurate.

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

My biggest complaints includes a toilet that rocks on the floor with a cheap platic lid that was covered in pain stains (cheap to replace), and the couch was not the one in the pictures. Instead, there is a very dirty and old sleeper sofa that tilts down in the middle from overuse. We had to cover it with a sheet to feel comfortable sitting on it. We also got in late but felt the need to stay up in order to wash all the comforters (also not the pretty quilts in the pictures - cheap comforters instead) because they smelled so badly. There must be a leak under the kitchen sink because the dishes under there smelled badly too. The TV on the main level is old and didn't have as many channels as the TV in the loft bedroom. Lastly, I called the tol free number 3x before arriving (I had question about the date of the reservation) and it took 5 days to get a call back. I also called maintainence upon arrival since the toilet rocked so badly. I have yet to get a call back. We won't be coming back needless to say.

Owners response: We want to say how sorry we are this guest did not enjoy Chocolate Bear. We checked and the toilet was found to be in great operating fashion. This guest is right we did replace the sofa, it was replaced with a newer sofa than what is shown in pictures. We strive to keep the cabin updated and work hard to provide a cabin loaded with features at the lowest rate frankly cheaper than a hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Repeat Renters!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We have rented 2 cabins from this particular owner during the last year. I had forgotten to write feedback on this stay and I was browsing VRBO and seeing this property reminded me of the need to leave some feedback. I reviewed a few other feedback and am shocked! First where can you find a cabin for 49-79 per night that has 1) hot tub 2) whirlpool 3) 2 bedrooms 3) arcade 4) WIFI/phone/cable and is a real log cabin? We always stayed in hotels but this owner has given us the chance to stay in a REAL cabin for less than a hotel! The cabins are always perfect, clean, and the staff on site is awesome! We say take the time read all reviews then pick a cabin! Happy renting!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean cabin, but very small, even for two adults and one child...needs better furniture.

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

The Good: the area where the cabin is located is safe, easily accessible and located conveniently to both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. The cabin was clean when we arrived and appropriately stocked with soap and cleaning supplies. There were plenty of pillows and blankets and the beds were comfortable. The deck seating was fine, two nice sized rocking chairs and a wooden double rocker. I think we spent as much time out there as we did inside. The weekly rate is less than others in the area but there is a reason for that (as I will now explain). The Bad: the interior furniture is sparse and what is there was not very comfortable. The one recliner was broken and unusable and the couch really needs to be replaced as it is dated and worn. The eating area has a picnic type square table with small stools (no chairs with backs). There is no dresser or chest of drawers for storing folded clothes in the main bedroom or the loft area so we had to keep those items in suitcases. I highly recommend that the owners should consider replacing the existing furniture and purchasing a dresser or an armoire. Also, If you want a bath sized towel, you should plan to bring your own, the ones that are provided are very small. Overall, the cabin was average and was okay for us since we were only there during the evening hours however, if you plan on having others over or planning on staying at the cabin for long periods of time, you will not be happy with the sparse accommodations.

Owners response: Hi Michael, thank you again for picking Chocolate Bear, we are glad you enjoyed the way the beds slept and some other great features this cabin has. We have upgraded our towels/sheets and will look at some of your other suggestions to make guests stay the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cheaper is not better.

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We arrived Saturday evening, finding our cabin was very easy. When we arrived, our cabin was not locked, and when we walked in I walked right into a spiderweb. The cabin is much smaller than it looks in the pictures. I expected the cabin to be cleaner than it was. There were cobwebs and daddy long leg spiders in every corner. We found a live scorpion in the bathtub. When we left to go out that evening, our door wouldn't lock. I called maintenance and the guy I talked to was very nice, he walked us through getting the cover to the locking system off. We discovered the batteries in the door were dead. Luckily, we had batteries with us. The maintenance guy told me someone would replace our batteries the next day. We also found out the batteries in the tv controllers were all dead also. On Sunday, we found out the tv is going bad. Half the tv screen is blacked out, so I calls maintenance again. He said they'd be out to replace our batteries and a new tv the next day. The drain plug in the bathtub is broke , so we had to use the one from the jacuzzi to bathe our daughter. By Tuesday, we never heard anything so I messaged management, didn't get a response until Thursday night, and all he asked was if maintenance ever helped us. Still haven't heard back, an we leave tomorrow to go back home. The rocking chair in the living room is broken, the couch looks old and is hard and very uncomfortable to sit in. The beds are very squeaky and uncomfortable. We had our 1 year old with us and she woke up every time someone moved in the bed in the room or upstairs. The pillows are disgusting, they have drool and sweat stains all over them and are paper thin, and the quilts on the beds are thin and itchy fabric, not nearly enough blankets to go around. The tv is up way too high, you get a neck ache trying to watch it. And the kitchen appliances need some serious updating. We cooked at the cabin almost every night and neither can openers would open our cans, we had to use a knife we brought, because the knives in the cabin are very dull. There were no metal utensils to use for the grill. We had to go buy tongs. There are no measuring cups, and I would strongly suggest the stove be cleaned or replaced. The burners are uneven, and everytime we turned one on they smoked and smelled awful. The dishwasher is very loud also. We have still thoroughly enjoyed our time here, just wish things could have been nicer in the cabin. But, you get what you pay for.

Owners response: We regret this guest had problems w/door lock like the previous guest. Until this Guest Jennifer alerted us we were not aware of it, new door lock ordered as old one was eating batteries thus the problem. We have also ordered a new TV. The cabin will also be receiving a nice good deep clean. We have had so many positive review for many years and want to keep that up! We also personally took some items to cabin and car was at cabin, we knocked and waited for 20+ mins no one came to door so we did not enter as we did not want to enter an occupied cabin, We made every effort to deliver items needed. We hope potential guests will read all reviews.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Will not recommend it

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

The cabin looks fairly new itself. But too many negative details make this one a one shoot only. This cabin is called "Bear Chocolate" but should be called "Bear Minimum". If you plan to stay 2 night for 2 persons, it will be OK. If you stay 10 nights for 4 persons, you'll know what one towel for the 10 days means. Minimum kitchen ustensils, minimum of everything. Now, the main part, at least for us, the cleanliness. This cabin was dirty, spider web, dust, dirt, hairs on sheet, hairs in tub, etc...that was pretty disgusting. So we cleaned the cabin the first day to make it decent. The main tub is useless since the drain top is lose, the TV screen has a problem since the half left side is dark. Well, to make it short, this was our first time in that cabin and the last one. At the price we paid, we could find much better. 2 others things you can't really do anything about it are the stairs to get to the cabin and the corner lot on Silver Poplar Rd which is the main entrance road and therefore very noisy. Oh, and one last thing, don't forget to bring AA batteries. You'll have no key. It's a code where the lock use old batteries. We locked ourselves out because we couldn't open the door due to the fact that the batteries were dead...
Lots of those things are not mentioned on VRBO. The only thing that is mention is don't call if you have a problem of any kind :-(

Owners response: We really hate this guest did not enjoy Chocolate Bear. We would share we had numerous(tons) of positive reviews prior to this guests review. When we got this review after so many good ones we were very concerned. We found that 1) Lock which is electronic which has never had an issue was going out thus eating batters we have replaced this lock 2) The TV did go out and we ordered a new TV and it is on the way 3) We have NEVER had a complaint about sounds, road etc. It is a private cabin with a road way down below it that is in a private residential area. We also after this and 1 other review will be shutting cabin down for 2-3 days for a deep clean. I think potential guests can read all reviews to see that this cabin has a stellar reputation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Chocolate Bear

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We arrived on Saturday or find the driveway exactly as described...on a very steep hill. Remember to use your parking brake. Vehicles with low clearance or a low hanging tow hitch, watch out....you'll bottom out. Takes an afternoon of feeling the driveway out to get the hang of pulling into or out (get a nice start at the top of the court). Lots of stairs and you'll learn just how out of shape you are but it's great practice if you plan on doing any hiking in the mountains. The home was very clean and DID NOT smell musty at all for a cabin home. Everything you need for a great vacation was available! If you are wondering how to work the shower...just pull down on the spigot collar. The arcade was handy but very loud in a home with cathedral ceilings. The bed in the main level bed and sofa bed weren't as comfy as the loft bed but were suitable for a decent night's rest. Laundry was handy. Hot tub was very hot (seemed to love being at 104) but the son lived in there when we were home. Would recommend one or two more blankets for the beds. Overall the home was found to be very clean and we enjoyed sitting outside on the porch enjoying the quiet. The were starting to pave the court while we were there but they must have known we wee there because they never finished the remainder of the street until we left. Point to remember....follow the directions that are included in your paperwork. Coming in the "back way" is hairy....Great Vacation Home for the Price! And with a preteen and teenager the WiFi was a nice touch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nicole- Thank you again for picking Chocolate Bear for your family vacation, we really value your rental and hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at this cabin. It had everything you needed. The cabin is very clean I only saw two bugs inside the cabin during our week long stay. Which is pretty amazing since you are literally surrounded by woods. Only negative thing during our stay was when we arrived the pac-man arcade was broken, but by Wednesday it was fixed which was great. The location was great, it was secluded and centrally located between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Benjamin, thank you again for your rental, it means so much to us! We are so sorry the arcade game was done, it did get hit by a storm, we have as you mentioned promptly got it fixed! We cant wait to have you back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Cabin For The Price!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This is definitely one of the best cabins you can buy for a reasonable price. It is in a wonderful location between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, and it is a clean cabin inside and out, with everything you will need to have a relaxing stay. I booked this cabin for my honeymoon for 6 nights and had very few problems. However, there is some lack of privacy because of the surrounding cabins. the appliances and cookware are rather old and worn out, and the downstairs bed is very squeaky and rather uncomfortable. For a cabin as cheap as this one, not everything will be perfect, but I am still very happy with my stay here and the price is hard to beat!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Trenton, thank you so much for picking Chocolate Bear, we were so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have also upgraded some of the appliances and cooking items! Thanks again and come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Winter Vacation- A Christmas to Never Forget!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

We had the pleasure to spend Christmas at this cozy, adorable, clean cabin! It was something we will for ever treasure! The location of this cabin is supreme to all others as you can quickly access Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge, that only makes this cabin our favorite= no traffic to sit in! The next quality feature is how clean the cabin is, sometimes when we stay at places we have to re-clean, well not at this cabin it was clean and spic & span as momma would say! The owners you can tell take pride in the cabin and as a result we enjoyed our vacation! Yes a few steps to cabin but hey its the mountains!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldnt Have Been Better!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

We haven't been able to get back to the Smokies for a long time. It is exactly as described and was exactly between gatlinburg and pigeon forge. The owner was amazingly sweet! The cabin was immaculate. I slept better than I do at home.We loved it and were very sad to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Cabin in the Woods!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Very private setting but only a few minutes to pigeon forge and Gatlinburg, plus not way up the mountain so drive is easy. you really couldn't ask for more this cabin pretty much has everything, the arcade is a nice touch and the big whirlpool is great to relax after going out shopping all day. communication with owner was always super easy and they responded super quick!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly as described; we were very impressed!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this cabin and would definitely consider returning. We stayed here for our honeymoon and found it charming, peaceful, and well-equipped. The kitchen has just the space and all the amenities for creating home-cooked meals. We spent most of our time on the idyllic back porch (specifically, its rocking chairs) looking out at the mountains. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 6 Vacation - Plenty of Space - Great Mountain Time!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

My family of six really needed to relax after each days events. It had everything we wanted It was very clean and well managed. It was close to everything The decor matched the setting of the national park. Great cabin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, Beautiful very clean cabin!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the TN at the Chocolate Bear Cabin. The cabin was just beautiful and the surrounding area was very scenic. The pictures on the website are skewed to make it appear a bit larger than it actually was. There were just 2 of us staying there and it was the perfect size for us. Although, it would be very comfortable for 4 people as well. We spent most of our time in Tennessee out adventuring, climbing Mt. Leconte, hiking to the Laurell Falls, etc. The time we did spend in the cabin was great and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in staying in Tennessee. The layout of the space is very nice and comfortable and super clean. The bedroom upstairs looking over the living room and out the massive windows to the trees outside was a really neat feature. The kitchen was nicely stocked and offered a good space to cook in. There was a washer/dryer combo which was great and we made use of it a couple times. The following issues we had are just minor, but I think should be addressed. There were several bee hives located on front and back decks and so the cabin had a constant buzz. I was uncomfortable sitting out and enjoying the back patio because of the many bees that hung out there. Second the TV above the fireplace is FAR too high to view from the couch. Also, we could not get the DVD player to work on the upstairs TV so we were out of luck with the couple movies we brought for evenings in. I think the pillows and bed linens could have been nicer. I would recommend bringing your own. We wished we had.

All in all, it was very nice and we would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jalyn, thank you so much for taking the time to review our cabin and we value your rental and feedback! Per your suggestion the pest guy went out to spray for bee's which is something we have in the Mountains this type of year. We have replaced the DVD player, pillows, etc. We hope you can visit Chocolate Bear again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Affordable Action Packed, Clean & Newer Cabin

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Loved this great log cabin! Unlike lots of the cabins this place is not out dated, it is furnished with newer furniture, décor & style! The owners put cute bear décor which is a nice extra touch. The cabin pretty much has everything 1) hot tub 2) whirlpool 3) gas logs 4) arcade machine 5) air hockey + more cool stuff! Also found it to be clean, the one site folks Jimmy & Gina were awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

This was the perfect retreat for a quick break from work. The cabin was spacious, clean and full of amenities. I enjoyed spending a long weekend there. I went to the outlet mall, wine tasting, and even drove my car up the mountain. The view was gorgeous in the snow covered woods. I highly suggest staying at this cabin, and hope to stay there again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As close to perfection as you can find!

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This log cabin is probably as close to perfection as you will find. Everything down to the last detail was exactly as described. It was clean, (I am a clean nut and it even met my standards), the hot tub was a great place to relax and enjoy the sounds of the creek across street(nice added touch), we slept well we had 6 adults and found we had plenty of space to spread out but not get in each others way!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

This cabin was the perfect size for my family of four, any more than that would have been pretty crammed. We absolutley loved our time in Tennessee!!! The best part of the cabin by far was the location btwn Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, about 5 minutes to both. We loved having a grill and the hottub was amazing. Now since I'm taking the time to fill this out, Ill list my concerns.
The T.V. was so high that it literally hurt your neck to watch it, also, if you were having your children upstairs in the loft, they can see the T.V. from their bed better than you can from the couch. Another thing we did notice is the pictures make the cabin look double the size that it actually is. So like I said 4 would be a good number. The bed in the master bedroom was SOOOO loud and not comfortable at all, the bed up in the loft was actually more comfortable. I would recommend having a fan ava. to your guests as well. You do park on a pretty steep hill and it is a good amount of steps to the front door. Their is really no view of the mountains either. But like I said this was such a amazing time for my family we fell in love with Tennessee. The kids loved the pacman. Also I will point out that the cabin was very clean!! That is def a plus.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We want to thank you SO much for being a guest, we really appreciate your business :) Based upon your suggestions we have just replaced the mattress w/brand new one, we also have just replaced AC and installed ceiling fans. We really value your business and hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Couples Getaway

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

My husband and I needed this getaway! We loved the cabin and all the bells and whistles that came with it! The location was perfect, went to both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We also drove up to Cades Cove which was 30 mins from cabin and we highly recommend you go see it! The snow that weekend was just an added bonus! This was a great experience from the start and the owners have done a great job with keeping it a wonderful experience till the end!
Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Class Cabin

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

My wife and I had a long weekend at Chocolate Bear! The cabin has great furniture and the kitchen has everything you would need to enjoy cooking while you are there. While there are neighboring houses, none of them are close enough to infringe so you think you are totally secluded from the rest of the world. you are within only a few minutes drive of Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg ! We would absolutely recommend this house to anyone looking to vacation in that area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Get Away

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We love Tennesse! The accomodations were warm and cozy. Due to an ice
storm we lossed power along with many other homes in the area. Thankfully
there was so much to do during the day and we had the gas fire place to give light and warmth at night.
The addition channels for the cable was not function and a couple of other minor
issues, however, maintenece was very accomadating.
Some families may have found it rustic for those reasons, but we loved being
in the Smokies and it was nice to be away from all the noise for a week.
And the videos games were hilarious!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Get Away!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

ME and 3 of my girlfriends from high school(a number of years back) rented this cabin and had a great little vacation! Cabin was easy to find and well equipped!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Cabin! WOW! Nicer than we thought we could ever afford!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I don't even know where to start! My husband just got back from being stationed abroad and things are tight, our 3 kids have been dying for a vacation and we were so blessed to rent this cabin! I searched for 2 weeks and honestly this was the best rate/price cabin! Yes there were a few other "old" "worn" looking ones for 5-10 a night cheaper but this one is out of the world nice! I had a dream list of a hot tub, whirlpool, games for my kids, fireplace, wifi and this one had it all! I am very blessed to have been able to take my family and my husband had such a good time just relaxing!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Cabin!

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

Highly recommend this cabin to a couple or a family looking for a getaway. It was charming & clean! Everything was wonderful, and it was only minutes away from both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. I would stay here again and would encourage others to.. There was no hassle from the owners; they were great, and answered all my questions super quick!. This cabin has a wonderful jacuzzi, hot tub, cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Time at The Chocolate Bear!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

We had a great time at Chocolate Bear! The owner was very easy to work with, and the cabin was very charming. It has everything you need to cook, hot tub, whirlpool & the games were great! Our kids loved staying there and are still asking to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Cabin!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This cabin was perfect for my husband and our 6 year old! The location was perfect for quick access Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Cabin was clean and well maintained. The game area kept our child entertained while we took time to enjoy, he loved the arcade game machine! . The pictures on the website accurately reflect the appearance, and we have already reccommended this property to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome, Affordable cabin!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

This cabin was everything we thought it would be. My husband and I stayed with our 3 young children and the arcade/air hockey table/big screen tv (with movies, appeared not to have cable or not be in working order in that room only, which was NOT a big deal) kept the little ones occupied while my husband and I got to drink coffee on the deck and get warm by the fire place after getting out of the hot tub. The washer and dryer were a HUGE plus since I cleaned our clothes every evening and made unpacking back home a breeze! Kitchen had everything we needed to enjoy meals from the cabin and save money on eating out. We enjoyed the cabin so much that other than visiting some of the sights that the owner gave us a list of, we pretty much stayed in..which was VERY relaxing. A little lighting outside near the driveway at night would have been nice but we were usually back by then anyway. The cabin was very clean, with the only blemish being the area under the couch, which was only noticed after searching for batteries that my toddler dropped. The driveway was a little steep but I was glad to see it wasn't as bad as some of the others we saw during our trip. Will definitely be renting this again (and again) at the price and quality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Our stay at this cabin was fantastic. It was located perfectly in between pigeon forge and gatlinburg. Definitely follow the owners directions to the cabin to avoid confusion. It's a short ride up the mountain with maybe one somewhat steep road. The cabin itself was very well kept and even more appealing in person. It is not a huge cabin but definitely cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay so much we can't wait to plan the next trip out there. The owners were great to work with and we look forward to renting from them again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You don't get what you pay for

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

There was no lighting outside from the driveway up the very steep stairway which made carrying a 20 pound baby plus a diaperbag a very dangerous task. Also after paying an $80 cleaning fee I was highly dissapointed when I received a "check out to do list" a page long consisting of all the cleaning duties! I would have rather kept my $80 and washed the linens myself as thats the only thing we weren't required to do on the list! The location was amazing but better directions would have been appreciated since you say not rely on the GPS (which brings you up the mountain on a narrow road) But we were only given vaugue directions so had no choice but to use our GPS. I would not use this company again, we are already planning another trip through a different rental comapny.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Spacious and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Overall it was a great stay which we plan to make a yearly tradition. Highly dissapointed that the WIFI did not work the entire time and I lost several hundred dollars in client business. Even though I called maintenance, who said he would call me back, I never heard back and he didn't ask for my number. The upstairs tv did not work and the main tv started having issues. I think it is starting to go. As I know the homeowners just purchased the property, there are always glitches to work out so no big deal, except for the WIFI for me. We loved the fireplace and fought over the arcade game. Nice touch! lol We plan on going back next year for longer and would definately stay in this cabin again! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maria, we are so very sorry for the break down of WIFI, Cable & Phone during your stay. Sadly it was something we couldnt fix due to the cable provider that provides all 3 (wifi,phone,cable) having a line cut during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin and once again are sorry for the technical problems due to service provider issues.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Chocolate Bear - Super Nice and Better Than Even Pictures

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Super nice cabin the pictures dont do it justice! It is high quality, very clean and our son loved the arcade game. I want to thank the owner Donna for letting us have a vacation we never thought we could afford! Thanks again God Bless!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cool Cabin

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Nice cabin seems to be nrly brand new! We liked the fact it was at bottom of mountain so no crazy roads to get to the c abin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Choice!

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Great choic for our yearly family vacation! Spacious cabin that is newer and very up to date. Everything was in good working order and very clean! My kids loved the arcade game & air hockey! Nice to also have both a hot tub AND a whirlpool inside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Cabin

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Outstanding cabin, kids loved air hockey table & the arcade game it was awesome! This cabin had it all, hot tub, whirlpool, seclusion and good location! CAbin was clean and owners were great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Honeymoon

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

Me and my wife spent our honeymoon at this nice cabin! We enjoyed it and look foward to coming back! Easy to find great location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury Cabin So Affordable!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Where do i even start, awesome price for a luxury cabin! It has everything, hot tub, whirlpool, arcade, wifi, etc! The location is also great b/c its only a few minutes away from both downtown Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge! Owners were the bomb to work with, very good at communication!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review