reviews for: listing #100962 - Big Bear Lake, California Chalet rental

Lake View Ski Slope View Log Cabin/pool table/BBQ Special!!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  North Shore East
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $800 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We had four couples and our children stay in this wonderful cabin! It was so amazing, everything is as the pictures show it. We will be going back very soon :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy but spacious cabin, close to lake!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

The cabin was the perfect size for my group, and I am 100% sure that everyone was comfortable there. It was large enough that we felt relaxed and it was very spacious, yet it also was a very cozy, intimate environment. Although part of the lake was right in front of the cabin, it wasn't a part that you could swim in or do any kind of lake activities in. However, if you walk about a mile or less out, there is an area for the lake activities. Overall, I would definitely stay here again! Sam and Carrie made it an extremely easy trip to plan. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A PERFECT COZY FAMILY HOUSE!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We stayed at this house for Christmas with other three couples. We had a great time. The house is located at the great location and very convenient to the ski resort. The rooms are super clean and the kids had a great time to stay in the house and play with each other. There are also a lot of recreation stuffs in the house. You will never feel away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Families Getaway

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We had a great time staying at this nice cabin. The owners are very nice and prompt at response to our inquiries and needs. We went there with a total of 15 people including four kids (age range from 11 month old to 4 year old) for two nights. It is great for families with kids and who enjoy cooking since it has a nice kitchen area. Our kids enjoy watching Disney channels in the living room and playing snow at the front of the house. The house is well insulated and has plenty of bathrooms which are good for the larger group due to lesser waiting time. Restaurants, markets, Snow Summit, and Big Bear snow play are 5-10 minutes drive from the cabin which is very convenient for the families with kids. You can also have a nice view of the lake from your master bedroom patio. We had a great experience overall and enjoyed seeing the snow falls when we were staying there.

The only thing that I would like to suggest is to bring extra sleeping bed for the person who does not like sleeping in a soft bed or has back problem.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Homeaway from Home

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The place had enough room for all the families and we really liked the big kitchen and 2 different dining room tables (1 for the kids, 1 for the adults!). The dads took full advantage of the pool table after kid bedtimes and my 5-year old daughter is a new-found air hockey fan. Who knew! We had great weather the entire time.
Couple of things to note (didn't change overall great experience, but I'd want to know if I were the owner): We struggled with the dishwasher. We tried to use it twice during our stay, and realized afterwards both times that the little soap insert hadn't been used at all when we opened it up afterwards. So not sure if we were doing it wrong? We ended up hand washing all the dishes we used after each meal. When we left on Sunday, we ran it with the soap door open thinking that might do it. It was still going when we left on Sunday so not sure if it worked better. Also, the freezer handle on the refrigerator became a bit loose so we got a little wrench at the store and tightened it. But not a biggie. You have a beautiful home and thank you so much for sharing it with us!
Cheers,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

<3 Comfortable House for a group of 12

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Sam is courteous and responsible. He responds to requests quickly and thoughtfully. His house is beautiful and a perfect spot to get out of the city for a weekend or longer. Can't wait to go back in the winter for a little snowboarding. I would definitely recommend Sam's place!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accommodations, I am glad I chose this place

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

When my friends and I walked into the cabin we were very surprised in a good way. The place is well kept, and its location is perfect. Two grocery stores near by, and plenty of good restaurants. The sleeping arrangements are perfect, this place housed 9 of us with no complaints. The owners are great to work with before and after your stay, and this place has almost everything you need as far as dishes, towels, bedding for all beds, pool table, air hockey, and nice chill spot on both decks. All you need to bring is food. I will stay here again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay for weekend!!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

We have a church event in this property on 8/9 to 8/10. This is a great place to stay if you have less than 16 people!! It is warm and cozy and most of all clean!! The owner done a great job to keep the area clean and simple for everyone to use. Also one more thing I have to mention; the bathrooms!! The property has 4 bathroom to use!! When going out with large group of people, the availability of the bathrooms in the morning could an issue. It has 4 total and I never heard anyone who stayed there complained about it!! It is very close to lake and shopping centers, about 5-10 mins driving and very close to hiking trails as well. Overall great place to stay and great area!! Very nice and quite during night time too!!! Highly recommend this property and for sure will come back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely House

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

Thank you! We had so much fun and loved the cabin and location so hopefully you will see us next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Mexico

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

Thank you! We had a great time at Big Bear.
My people want to get back next year!
Hopefully we stay in your cabin in 2014.
Best Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual Summer Vacation in Big Bear

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

I have brought my family to Big Bear every year for the last couple years, and this is what we look for. What a great place to get away from the L.A. summer heat, and relax. This house has everything you need--its cozy, comfortable, clean and convenient to all the local attractions and a variety of outdoor activities (fishing, boating, mountain biking and hiking). Sam was very to work with and let us check in early. It’s also very convenient that we don’t have to check in through a local office, just go straight to the house, and with the provided access code instead of traditional key we didn't have to worry about losing the key. This house would be perfect if it provides with an outdoor Jacuzzi. We are definitely looking forward to our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boys weekend

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Thanks for welcoming us into your home. The boys had a great time and the cabin was lovely! We are looking forward to visiting again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family time in Big Bear

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Thank you for letting our families enjoy your home. Great laughs, games, food & conversations. it was my first experience with falling fresh snow and I am thankful it was here with my family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time in Big Bear

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

First time in Big Bear with our kids & it was great! Beautiful cabin, great location & wonderful during this time of year. We enjoyed the air hockey & pool table.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A big MESS

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The rental was filthy and very worn out and poorly maintained. Kitchen filthy! We had to re-wash all dishes and silverware. Great Grill but had to scrub before we put any food on it. 2 coffee pots and both were unusable. One broken, the other with mold. we have rented from Homeaway the lasts 3 years and have been more than satisfied, but, either the reviews are phony or this place has been trashed.
We do not recommend. The beautiful view of the lake is very questionable. from the side of the deck you can catch a small glimpse. The house sleeps 14, but 2 bedrooms are for 5 people. Only 5 chairs on deck, but with two broken, seating was limited.

I asked the Owners to refund my cleaning fee since it was so dirty and they just ignored my request. hey offered a 10 percent discount on our next stay. we would not return for a 100 percent discount!

Owners response: With as many guests as we get, things do occasionally break with use. Since we don't live in Big Bear, we rely on our cleaning service to let us know if there are problems, and appreciate it when our guests take the time to inform us as well. This group checked in early without informing us, prohibiting the cleaning company's final walk through which would have eliminated any cleaning issues. With these guests, we offered a discount and also requested to send the housekeeping company to take care of the cleaning issues immediately, but the guests refused. Sometimes when people don't let us send someone in to fix the problems it's because they are trying to stay for free. Unfortunately it's difficult to assess the integrity of potential guests before they stay. Nonetheless after these guests checked out, we personally spent a considerable amount of time doing a thorough inspection to make sure all the furniture and kitchen appliance are in good working condition. We are committed to satisfying our guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice retreat in Big Bear

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We spent two nights here for our church small group retreat. This cabin is big enough to host our 4 families with 3 babies. The cabin is clean and well stocked with all the amenities so that we only need to bring food, clothing and personal hygiene products. The big screen TV is a big plus for our worship time so we don't need a projector. Thank you to Sam the owner for the wonderful tips of all the activities in Big Bear. We had so much fun and will definitely consider to rent this house again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice weekend getaway

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

Comfortable and clean. This cabin is welcoming with modern mountain lodge flavor. Thank you so much for everything. We had an amazing weekend getaway. Will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely enjoyed it

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your house. It was roomy and cozy and the house is more than we expected. We absolutely enjoy it. Hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Nice President’s Day Getaway

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Three families enjoyed a wonderful President’s Day weekend stay in this cabin. This place lived up to our expectation. The cabin is conveniently located to all the local attractions, everything from ski resort and tubing park to super market and the village is within 5 minutes drive. This cabin is well equipped with dishes, glassware, silverware, utensils, and appliances including a nice 50 inch LED TV and high efficiency washer and dryer. The owner Sam and Carrie are very helpful for all the tips we need during our stay. We will definitely stay here for our next Big Bear visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

After many, many days of searching for a getaway for our group of 14 young students, we were finally able to find the perfect place with the help of Sam and Carrie, the wonderful owners.

We arrived at the rental property a little bit sooner than expected, however, the cleaner was extremely nice and let us hang out in the front of the house until they were done. We were able to walk into the property as soon as they were done, and did not have to deal with a rental office due to the code provided to us that let us straight into the house.

The property was very nicely cleaned, it had an ample amount of dish soap, paper towels, toilet paper, and other household items.

The fact that the house had large gathering areas was a very big plus, as it allowed our group to bond. We were able to play our guitars, keyboards, sing and dance in the living room. The garage was also a very big help, as we did not have to park all the cars on the street. The patio was great place to gather as well. There was ample space to sleep and play.

In all, our group had an amazing experience at the house and we look forward to returning next year. Sam and Carrie were really easy to deal with and allowed us to have our privacy during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Annual Big Bear Getaway

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We had our annual big bear trip in this house. Prior to our stay, Sam was very responsive to all of our questions, and all the information that he provided were very useful. The house is as advertised - nice, quiet, and clean, close to lots of amenities. We loved the layout, and the fully equipped kitchen is a huge plus for making meals and packing lunches for day outings. This house is a great value for the money we paid when we looked at getting hotel rooms versus sharing this house. We are hoping to return to the same house next year for our annual visit.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful cabin in a great location!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

My family and friends go to Big Bear every year for Oktoberfest and this year we stumbled upon this beautiful cabin to rent. We loved it! Everything you need is there and it's very close to the convention center and lake. The cabin was mostly clean we arrived. There was one small issue, but we contacted Sam, and he was very prompt in his reply and very helpful! The pictures on here don't even do the cabin justice. It really is beautiful. I would absolutely recommend this cabin and would stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with your family and friends for your annual Oktoberfest. We hope to see you back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice house in a Good location

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

This was a great house in a great location. EVERYTHING we needed was there. Nice lake and mountain view from the upper deck. And the oversized lower deck can hold a big BBQ party for all of us. The layout inside was great and comfortably accommodated 7 adults and 5 children. During our stay the owner Sam & Carrie were available to answer the questions that we had. Also, we loved the fact that we did not have to check in at an office location to get the house key as owner provided a code to access the cabin. Very convenient. All in all, we had one of our best trips to Big Bear! Can’t wait to do it again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

30th Birthday in Big Bear!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We had my husband's 30th birthday party this past weekend. We had a blast! There were no surprises as the description and pictures of the house were very good. The property was mostly clean. Sam and Carrie were extremely helpful and accommodating. We did have one issue, but we called Sam and were very pleasantly surprised that he had someone out there to help us within 30 minutes! A very spacious house and 4 full bathrooms! I would recommend this property absolutely!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Three State Reunion

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

The owners of this property were very helpful and easy to work with. This was our home away from home. With my family visiting from three states and a limited amount of time, we booked this home to be together under one roof. The home has one master bedroom on the first floor which is excellent for seniors (my parents loved that). Plenty of additional sleeping space on the 2nd floor was more than enough for us. This home has a formal dining table where we ate meals cooked in a well equipped kitchen. A spacious deck was also enjoyed where we bbq'd on the first night. The propane grill however should be looked at for service because it took about two hours to cook our chicken dinner. We took it as an opportunity to catch up and just keep talking and talking and talking. The fireplace in the living room was another bonus for our visit after dinner.

The home is located in a really nice neighborhood which meant nice short walks after each meal. It's located minutes from groceries, downtown shopping and even the marina where we rented a pontoon boat for an afternoon on the lake.

It was a wonderful home that made our visit memorable. I do have a couple of suggestions however, the home needs a little sprucing up: Formal dining area could use a little paint, a few chalks for the pool sticks would have helpful.

To the next visitors: Bring additional bowls for salad or mixing; dish sponge; washcloths, extra toilet tissue, kitchen paper towels. They provide plenty of blankets. I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our cabin for your family reunion. We have noted about the propane grill issue outside, and we will try to switch to natural gas instead of propane so our future guests will never have to worry about propane gas running low or refill the tank. We will also do some touch-up for the paints on the wall in the dining room. We will try to refill our pool sticks chalks every month. Regarding dish sponge, washcloths, extra toilet tissue and kitchen paper towels, we will inform our cleaner to make sure there are enough for our guests. Thank you once again and we hope to see you back soon!
Sincerely!
Sam & Carrie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Clean, Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

First of all, I just want to thank the owners Samuel and Carrie. They have been just wonderful helping us out and accommodating to our needs. Also, they were so kind enough to hold the cabin for us even though we were taking some time to get the funds ready.

The cabin itself is very clean and just wonderful. Great location and just an awesome place for a large group. Thank you so much. We hope to return soon. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that our cabin was able to accommodate your church group. We hope to see you back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect blend of relaxing and fun!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this big & beautiful cabin. We had a large group (4 families, two of which had kids) and there was plenty of room for everyone, especially with the 4 full bathrooms! No waiting in line to take a shower in the morning! The setup with two master suites is perfect; one suite on the bottom for those that want to avoid stairs and one suite on the second floor with a giant bathroom complete with jacuzzi big enough for two as well as a giant private deck overlooking the lake and mountains (next time I get dibs on that room!). The walk-in closets are quite huge in two of the bedrooms and can easily fit sleeping space for one or two, perfect if you have babies or little kids that need their own quiet space for going to bed earlier than everyone else, or if you're staying with a big group and want more privacy (this place can function as a 6-bedroom if kids like to have their own little sleeping room).

This home really was a perfect blend of fun and relaxing. It's on a very quiet part of the lake, perfect for sleeping in and enjoying a peaceful time reading on the decks, but with the pool table, air hockey, board games, intercom system that plays CDs, and large screen TV, even our teenagers were always entertained. We spent our afternoons cliff-jumping into the lake by China Island and strolling the shops in town.

Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that your family and your friends enjoy our cabin and the surroundings. Hope you return soon. Best regards, Sam & Carrie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

English professor

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

The listing description and photographs reflect the reality very well. When we arrived, the house was immaculate. The owner had given us very clear information. He answered questions well and promptly. We would recommend this 'spectacular lake view log cabin' to friends and family. All ages enjoyed the pool table, air hockey for all age groups. It was a great place to watch the Olympic Games Opening Ceremony. The gas grill worked fine for a celebratory meal for the whole (pretty big) group.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You will love it

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

It was great to get a chance to spend the weekend here with a group of friends. The kitchen is fully equipped and bedding/bath towels are all provided. Everything is provided for so it's easy to kick back and simply have fun. Great weather as always in California and it is very relaxing to see the lake from the back yard.

Overall, the facility is spacious, clean, and very comfortable -- truly a home away from home!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review