reviews for: listing #101061 - Lanikai, Hawaii House rental

Newly Renovated Beach Home on Secluded White Sand Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,100 /nt
    $7,000 - $7,000 /wk
    $25,500 - $25,500 /mth

sort by:

private, beautiful piece of paradise

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

We just spent a week at this beautiful home and after traveling all over Oa'hu there was nothing more wonderful on the island than the view out the front window. this house had everything... and was built to capture all the ocean breezes. With ceiling fans in every room, we kept the windows open the entire visit and enjoyed the sounds of the ocean each night. It was clean, exquisitely decorated while being comfortable and family friendly. There were many extras (tons of beach towels..information..hot tub.. books..internet).. the landlord was nearby if needed but not invasive. Neighborhood was gated but safe, and outside the gate we enjoyed hikes & walks. Besides our private beach, there was a great public beach and park about 2 miles away. While we toured the island.. the time spent enjoying the property was just as memorable..even grilled supper. We had 6 adults but could of added 2 or 3 more comfortably. Only drawback for some would be the stairs to gain entrance to the home. While trying to choose a house online, some reviews seemed to be too good to be true, however..this house is one in a million.. We nailed it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Beach Home

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

This beach home was everthing that was advertised. We have never had such a relaxing vacation, falling asleep with the sound of the ocean was amazing. We rented kayaks, and paddle boards to use on the semi private beach, paddled out to the Mokes and flat island great views from their of Lanikai and Koolaus. We had no need to talk with the owner as we had everything we needed but knew she was available if needed. Overall the best vacation ever!! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal holiday!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

This is a rare find with spectacular private beach of fine sand and crystal clear blue ocean. The house has lovely charm and character with beautiful beachy decorating. Finer details noted were things one never finds in a rental-- good sharp kitchen knives, brand new clean sponge, new towels, a welcome gift of coffee and chocolates.
We are grandparents who brought our daughter, son-in-law and 7 mo. old grandson. We rented and used stand up paddle boards & kayaks for use at the house, and brought kite boarding gear which was used in town off the beach at the park.
We loved it here and will return! Our thanks to Gina who was perfectly accommodating and, as others have noted, came by to meet us and introduce herself. She even bought a beach umbrella which we really did not need because there is a shady area under a tree on the beach all day long.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for all ages!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We have just departed today from two amazing weeks at this lovely home away from home. The first week we had our children with 4 grandchildren under 4. The second week we had our other adult children and their 88 year old grandmother. The private beach was perfect for all. The large kitchen dining table (not shown in the photos) was also just right. Gina was so helpful and provided every last detail for us. This home is absolutely charming and very well done. We had a kayak and paddle board delivered locally. Everyone especially enjoyed sunrise paddles out to the "Mokes". We will definitely find our way back to this little slice of paradise again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation for the Whole Family- VIEWS!!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

This is THE place to go on Oahu for a family! Renting this place with my family and both sets of grandparents made it a magical vacation that our 3 year old is still begging to go back to! There are views everywhere and everyone had their own space and bathroom. The private soft white sand beach was wonderful for our small kids to walk on and the waves were so small as the break was out by the Moukas. Thank you for an amazing house to use while we were there, it was a vacation of a lifetime! Gina, you were wonderful! Thank you for all you did for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Absolutely stunning setting and home. Private beach, amazing views, fantastic owner/operator. I can say nothing wrong about the experience. Our family had the vacation of a lifetime. Home is gorgeous and in perfect condition and has all needed amenities for a beach vacation. Owner was always available and insanely nice without being nosy or intrusive. You are literally perched over the ocean. Kid friendly and also made a great "adult time" setting. Loved the hot tub, too! If you are looking for a Lanikai paradise experience, look no further.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven on Island

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Magnificent views of Mokuluas. Lived here all my life but never had a staycation on this side of the island. Bedroom for 4 kids was PERFECT. Master bedroom fit for a King (and Queen). Hot tub overlooking the ocean was the highlight amongst the kids. Interior decorations were clean/simple/refreshing! Convenient washer/dryer inside. Grandma loved the deck just past the driveway that gave her front view of the ocean and the children playing. Crabbing at night was a highlight--just be considerate not to shine light toward homes. ;-0 Ooopsie! Overall, best get away my family of 11 has taken!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Celebration of birthdays

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

An absolutely fabulous position with views to die for. We were a party of nine ranging from 5 to70 including three teenagers and everybody had a wonderful time. The small secluded beach was awesome and the huge table in the kitchen got lots of use. We played musical chairs so that everyone got a fair share of the view. I would recommend this house to anyone and we can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible spot!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This house has to be in the best spot in Hawaii. I can't imagine a house closer to the beach. When we pulled into the property, we couldn't believe it. The house is beautiful and was plenty big enough for the whole family. It was great being lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the waves.
The little beach in front of the house is great. There's even good snorkeling. We saw a different variety of fish every day.
This was an incredible place to stay. We've been back three weeks now and I think everyone still thinks about this house.
Gina was great to deal with and everything went smoothly. We hope to return again sometime.

John & MarySue
Whitehall, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location and Support Staff Best on Oahu

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The views from anywhere on the property were stunning, even to our local relatives and friends. Hard to be happier than waking up with the sunrise putting on a different show every morning thru the bedroom windows. The kids and grandkids were out the door and in the water shortly thereafter, snorkeling, kayaking, and swimming with the daily passing seaturtles....how often and where else does that happen?
The house restoration is remarkable, tastefully modernized without spoiling the cozy, antiquated look and atmosphere of the original house. Every practical and useful convenience was provided.
Lanikai is adjacent to Kailua town and everything you might need is handy. Honolulu/PearlHarbor is only 20 mins thru one of the three tunnels over the Koolaus.
Our contact Gina was always available and eager to solve every issue no matter how trivial.
I would bet the farm that my entire family would return tomorrow if invited to.
Thanks Gina for all your help and support!
Bill&Frances&family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Down a private drive, this house is a quiet retreat on an otherwise busy island. You can see from the pics that the views, are indeed amazing. The little stretch of beach is not huge, and you share it with another house, but it filled the bill for playing in the water right outside your door, and never felt crowded. The house is well maintained, and little extras like Charmin in the bathrooms, and sweet-smelling, fluffy towels were appreciated, and the owner was available and accommodating.
My only criticism is that some of the water toys and chairs in the garage should be replaced.

All-in-all we had a great time, and would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

This is truly the most beautiful house on the island! We had 4 couples staying in the house and had plenty of room for all of us. We used the hot tub every night and loved having the BBQ for a couple nights in. You go to bed listening to the waves and wake up to amazing views. The beach is perfect! Just walk down the steps and you can snorkel or just relax on the white sand. I never want to stay anywhere else on the island, you can not beat this house. The location is great, in a quite neighborhood, but centrally located to drive to North Shore or Waikiki if you want to leave (which you never will). Gina is so sweet, she really wants to make your stay great. She stopped by the house so we could meet her and was always available if we needed anything. The house is ever more amazing in person than the pictures and description. I can not say enough how much we loved staying in this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely secluded property with the ultimate private beach at your doorstep.

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Gentle surf and white sands. Wonderful older house with lots of windows affording cross ventilation
in every room. Only sounds to be heard were from the ocean. Magnificent water views!! Well
equiped kitchen, good showers, comfortable beds. Exceptional service from owner/agent, Gina N.
Yes, would recommend as exceptional opportunity!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My First Hawaiian Trip

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

What a wonderful spot! The home was great. We couldn't ask for anything nicer. If the beach was any closer, it would be under the home. The home was neat, well appointed, and extremely clean. The beach was grand and we could swim with the turtles there or watch them from the living room window. The water was so clear.

It was a great idea to rent kayaks and boards.

I'd go back tomorrow and wouldn't change a thing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

I can't say enough how about how beautiful our stay in this house is. It is absolutely paradise. We were a party of ten, ranging in age from 8 to 70, and every one of us was overwhelmed by how lovely it is.

The setting is amazing. The pictures are accurate, though they hardly do the landscape justice. The house is huge and beautifully kept. It's luxurious while feeling perfectly comfortable. The house was clean and the beds are comfortable.

Though several houses have access to the beach, it felt completely private. We only came across other people there a few times during our week long stay. We would get up early every morning and visit with the sea turtles that come by.

Though we didn't get to meet Gina during our stay, she was very communicative. When the BBQ ran out of gas, it was replaced within half an hour. She answered all my questions prior to arrival and has even been in communication since we left, trying to help me track something down that I lost.

I couldn't recommend staying in the the house more. I think you could have a great trip and never leave the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible Views

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

My family (including 2 teenage girls) and my brothers-in-law enjoyed 9 days in this property for spring break this year. The view from this house are simply breathtaking. The house itself is wonderfully appointed and has everything one needs on vacation including a washer and dryer! We rented kayaks and paddleboards for the week -- worth every penny to get on the water every day.
The description of the property was completely accurate and we arrived to find the house clean and well-kept. The owner was available to answer all of our questions and help with a rental car. There are a lot of stairs on the property, so I would caution anyone who has trouble with them.
Dinner at Duke's in Waikiki is a must and the sunset at Roy's in Hawaii Kai was beautiful on Easter Sunday.
A fabulous find!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible House in Fabulous Location!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We had a great time on our vacation staying in Lanikai! This house had plenty of space for our family of six and had all the amenities. We loved the private beach, hot tub, grill and the beautiful home! The view is magical - the house is right on the ocean.

We love all the activities in Lanikai. We hiked to the pillboxes above Lanikai, swam in the ocean and paddled to the Mokuluas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House Review

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

This well maintained beach house is a great choice for a family vacation. It is located on a gated road so it is quiet and traffic past the house is very minimal. The beach is right out the door, and it is essentially private, being shared with only one other house. The house is clean and well supplied, and the owner was very helpful. If you want to spend time on the east side of Oahu, this property is hard to beat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We spent a week in the house over Christmas with our family(8 people) and there was plenty of room. The house is very comfortable and nicely decorated. The beach is a few steps away and is beautiful, we felt like we were on a deserted island, it is that private. The staff are wonderful and for the few small issues we had they were addressed immediately. The gated community is very friendly and helpful with places to visit and recommending restaurants. It was great to fall asleep to the sound of the waves every night and wake up to the great views in the mornings. I would highly recommend this rental to families of all ages!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii Getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Great family vacation, enjoyed our stay in the home and woke up every morning to the sound of the waves....would do it all over again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our expectations were very high...and they were exceeded!!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

This Lanikai Beach House was a completely unique and wonderful vacation experience for my family. It's located in a gated family compound on what is an essentially private section of one of the world's most beautiful beaches...Lanikai on windward Oahu. Don't think Waikiki...this is be best, most beautiful, quiet beach location on Oahu and I've seen most of them. You won't want to leave, but everything else, including Waikiki is a short drive. The owner family is located right there to take care of anything you haven't anticipated, which isn't much. The family is represented by Gina, who is outstanding. The house is exactly as represented, but better. If you're looking for first class, but you don't want Four Seasons or Ritz this time, this is it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We rented this home for our family vacation and it was perfect! Cute and well decorated, very clean, and most importantly, with amazing views of the ocean and the mokulua islands. We rented kayaks for the week and spent our days kayaking to the islands, snorkling with fish and turtles, and enjoying the wonderful view from the many decks. The private beach was just a few steps away. We are all still talking about this trip and we can't wait to go back...again and again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

This is the perfect place to spend a family vacation. The home is perfectly placed on a small private beach directly across from the Mokes. It's clean, cute, and up to date. The home has stairs to the front door and up to 3 of the 4 bedrooms. You can walk to Kailua Beach Park - 1 hour round trip - with nice beach access. We walked it every morning for exercise. You're close to the
Ho'omaluhia Botanical Garden...about 45 minutes to North Shore and 30 minutes to Waikiki (with no traffic). Also, There's a nice jacuzzi and a BBQ with Whole Foods Market a 10 minute drive away. Great restaurants too - a must for breakfast is Cinnamons...rent a kayak for the week and explore the coast and the Mokes. All in all one of the best vacations in years. We'll be back next year for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

You will never find a place like this anywhere else in Lanikai, or even Oahu. The place is beautiful and the privacy was very nice. It was like having an exclusive ocean front home. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review